Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Dungeon

Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The charactors were class!

Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

john B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic entertainment, well worth the price. would definitely recommend. Not a gimmick to take your money and come out disappointed. You will want to do it again!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

GERARD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable experience, with a great cast. Brilliant for all ages.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Alexandru A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Could not attend the tour due do the awful smell. When descending using the stairs and reaching the tickets area, the smell was horrible...we had to give up from going through with the tour - in addition to this, we were requested to wait 30 minutes due to the groups of children that were already on the tour - lack of reliability when booking the tour for the people at the dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

acstrachan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the price, fast track and easy to use

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG this is fantastic, the guys really get into role playing throughout the tour. The ride at the end wow really gets your heart pumping but in a great way. Highly recommend this tour, and definitely skip the line as the lines can be very long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Melissa W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was great fun. This was our first stop after checking into our hotel, and it was a hilarious introduction to the gritty underbelly of Edinburgh's criminal history. My only feedback is that even though we purchased this skip the line thing, we still had to wait quite a bit 20min or so? before we could begin the tour. Not too much of a problem, just fyi especially if you're running from place to place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic. The perfect balance of laughs and scary bits but not too much for the younger children. A must see

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

John G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

ISABEL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

loved it ! was very interesting certainly pays to pay for the trip via Viator it was only 11.25 each yet to pay on the day in The Edinburgh Dungeon it was 16.95 each quite a difference in price but i do recommend this trip its very entertaining

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Melanie J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable. My 12 yo daughter thought it was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Bianca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just wonderful...really funny, original, and sometimes scary.

Loved it. The staff is amazing.

Bianca

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

j.l.graham

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

great tour... but after purchasing viator beat the line tickets were told to queue and ticket stated they accept evouchers but they weren't happy they wanted a print out as they can't scan barcodes but after sum huffing and sighing from myself they said they could sort it and we went in

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Aphrodite Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was not what we thought it would be at all, I thought it would be a dungeon-turned-museum but in fact it was people acting out the gruesome history of Edinburgh. I didn't have high expectations when I found that out, but by the end I was scared less so they must've been good!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

ivette m

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was okay. There were some cheesy bits and a couple of good screams. The best bit was that I didn't pay full price because I booked through Viator

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fun and silly very enjoyable

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Valerie B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great hour of entertainment. Lots of scary moments. Keep in mind there are lots of stairs and it is dark so if you have walking issues you may was to rethink. One of our party members moved slowly but the cast members just included the lack of speed into the program. Lots of fun, great pictures too

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Carrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very scary, includes a boat ride and a twist at the end......Great characters, great dungeon

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Doreen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Scary for 10/11 year olds? Yes! Had to leave half way through tour as she was hysterical. So if you want to scare the life out of your kids then this is the tour for them!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Scary, educational, entertaining. Fun! Takes at least an hour and a half.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good experience! We were both very wary of a cheap thrills type of place. Edinburgh dungeon far passed our expectations. It seemed like everyone in character was frighteningly enthusiastic. All guests in our tour were very into it, and although it wasn't tear your hair out scary there were some really good spooks along the way. I reccomend it to anyone stopping by the city of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

C K V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun for the teenage boys and those watching them have fun. A good way to introduce some history while getting a fright. Would highly recommend to families with older children (not little ones) as it gives the kids a break from serious travel itineraries while at the same time giving them a lesson.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Janette D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour around Edinburgh dungeons was excellent entertainment for a rainy morning. However, we had to queue for quite some time before gaining entry, so it was hardly the 'skip the line' experience that was advertised. Also, showing the e-voucher on a smartphone was insufficient to gain entry. We had to email the booking to the Dungeons and wait for it to arrive before we were allowed in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message