Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Dungeon

Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Biju J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

we really enjoyed the Edinburgh Dungeon experience. It was so much more than walking through dungeon. How ever, we still had to stand in the Q because most people had bought tickets in advance. Still, advance tickets helped as tickets were quickly sold out.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Dennis K

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

I would like to start with the on line no need to queue we had to to get in when we got to scan our pass they gave us a receipt it said sixteen pound for two yet you charged twenty four pound and still had to wait in line

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fun, enjoyable experience! The guides were great and really made sure the visitors got involved and enjoyed their time. Would certainly recommend for a unique, fun time.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Nancy N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our family enjoyed the experience. The cast did a great job. They really mixed it up between boat rides, drop rides, walks, and interactive shows. Involving the people on the tour makes it much more fun as long as you are aware beforehand that you may be picked to participate.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Paul T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very enjoyable journey through the dungeon, and also very informative. Scary at times too. Definitely worth a visit.
Paul.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Kim L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Interesting experience. Didn't like the creepy actors, as they were a little to freaky for my taste, but hey that is all part of the performance.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Can't say as it would spoil someone's visit

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Oleg G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good and fun time spending in Edinburgh,recommended

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

believe0587

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. All of the actors were hilarious and well versed. Perfect amount of time in each area.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth a visit..photos are a must buy for the memories and laughs.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved the tour, thought it was very well done and a credit to Edinburgh and the performers.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

anne.doig

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good fun for all ages. Our group varied from 12 to 78 and it was enjoyed by all. There was a long wait at the beginning but otherwise it was enjoyed.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

kim.stewart8

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very fun tour but not the real Edinburgh Dungeon. A great way to start off the trip because they gave you great history about Edinburgh and how they lived in olden days. It would be kids and a way to learn about the city,

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

theaterlover

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Cheesy and waste of time, no separate line for skip the line had to wait with everyone else. Would not Reccomend

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the 'dungeon experience' The whole 'cast' were good at what they do. Once they find their 'victim' it was hilarious. highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Sylvain P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent activity to do, very much appreciated by all. It is funny with lots of unexpected which makes this attraction so popular.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Agnes D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time visiting the Edinburgh Dungeons, well worth the money. Actors were all good and staff very pleasant and helpful. That was my 3rd time visiting the dungeons and I'm sure I will return.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Ishtar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

My partner really enjoyed this tour and would give it a 4/5. I thought it was OK and I'm happy to say I've done it. My favourite room was the one with the Green Lady, very spooky in a '19th century ghost story' kind of way. Some clever theatricals went on and we all had a good laugh at times. The part in the boat was far shorter than I had imagined, it was over in a jiffy. The staff were friendly. It can take a long time to get in, even with the skip the line tickets we waited almost half an hour in a dark hallway full of obnoxious teens - and we were about 20th in line when we got there. Tours are split in to groups and everyone gets their picture taken first which really holds up the line but I suppose they need to space the groups out somehow.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The charactors were class!

Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

john B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic entertainment, well worth the price. would definitely recommend. Not a gimmick to take your money and come out disappointed. You will want to do it again!!!

Doing what: The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message