Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Dungeon

Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

theaterlover

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Cheesy and waste of time, no separate line for skip the line had to wait with everyone else. Would not Reccomend

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the 'dungeon experience' The whole 'cast' were good at what they do. Once they find their 'victim' it was hilarious. highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Sylvain P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent activity to do, very much appreciated by all. It is funny with lots of unexpected which makes this attraction so popular.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Agnes D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time visiting the Edinburgh Dungeons, well worth the money. Actors were all good and staff very pleasant and helpful. That was my 3rd time visiting the dungeons and I'm sure I will return.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Ishtar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

My partner really enjoyed this tour and would give it a 4/5. I thought it was OK and I'm happy to say I've done it. My favourite room was the one with the Green Lady, very spooky in a '19th century ghost story' kind of way. Some clever theatricals went on and we all had a good laugh at times. The part in the boat was far shorter than I had imagined, it was over in a jiffy. The staff were friendly. It can take a long time to get in, even with the skip the line tickets we waited almost half an hour in a dark hallway full of obnoxious teens - and we were about 20th in line when we got there. Tours are split in to groups and everyone gets their picture taken first which really holds up the line but I suppose they need to space the groups out somehow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The charactors were class!

Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

john B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic entertainment, well worth the price. would definitely recommend. Not a gimmick to take your money and come out disappointed. You will want to do it again!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

GERARD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable experience, with a great cast. Brilliant for all ages.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Sandra A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was a lot of fun,though a little cheesy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Laura V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

If you are looking for a theatrical replication of what a dungeon is about this is for you. This was entertaining but not what I was expecting. If I had known what I was in for I would have spend my money on something else.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Alexandru A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Could not attend the tour due do the awful smell. When descending using the stairs and reaching the tickets area, the smell was horrible...we had to give up from going through with the tour - in addition to this, we were requested to wait 30 minutes due to the groups of children that were already on the tour - lack of reliability when booking the tour for the people at the dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

acstrachan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the price, fast track and easy to use

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG this is fantastic, the guys really get into role playing throughout the tour. The ride at the end wow really gets your heart pumping but in a great way. Highly recommend this tour, and definitely skip the line as the lines can be very long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Melissa W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was great fun. This was our first stop after checking into our hotel, and it was a hilarious introduction to the gritty underbelly of Edinburgh's criminal history. My only feedback is that even though we purchased this skip the line thing, we still had to wait quite a bit 20min or so? before we could begin the tour. Not too much of a problem, just fyi especially if you're running from place to place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic. The perfect balance of laughs and scary bits but not too much for the younger children. A must see

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

John G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

ISABEL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

loved it ! was very interesting certainly pays to pay for the trip via Viator it was only 11.25 each yet to pay on the day in The Edinburgh Dungeon it was 16.95 each quite a difference in price but i do recommend this trip its very entertaining

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Melanie J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable. My 12 yo daughter thought it was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Bianca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just wonderful...really funny, original, and sometimes scary.

Loved it. The staff is amazing.

Bianca

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message