Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Dungeon

Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Can't say as it would spoil someone's visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Oleg G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good and fun time spending in Edinburgh,recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

believe0587

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. All of the actors were hilarious and well versed. Perfect amount of time in each area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth a visit..photos are a must buy for the memories and laughs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved the tour, thought it was very well done and a credit to Edinburgh and the performers.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

anne.doig

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good fun for all ages. Our group varied from 12 to 78 and it was enjoyed by all. There was a long wait at the beginning but otherwise it was enjoyed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

kim.stewart8

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very fun tour but not the real Edinburgh Dungeon. A great way to start off the trip because they gave you great history about Edinburgh and how they lived in olden days. It would be kids and a way to learn about the city,

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

theaterlover

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Cheesy and waste of time, no separate line for skip the line had to wait with everyone else. Would not Reccomend

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the 'dungeon experience' The whole 'cast' were good at what they do. Once they find their 'victim' it was hilarious. highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Sylvain P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent activity to do, very much appreciated by all. It is funny with lots of unexpected which makes this attraction so popular.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Agnes D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time visiting the Edinburgh Dungeons, well worth the money. Actors were all good and staff very pleasant and helpful. That was my 3rd time visiting the dungeons and I'm sure I will return.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Ishtar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

My partner really enjoyed this tour and would give it a 4/5. I thought it was OK and I'm happy to say I've done it. My favourite room was the one with the Green Lady, very spooky in a '19th century ghost story' kind of way. Some clever theatricals went on and we all had a good laugh at times. The part in the boat was far shorter than I had imagined, it was over in a jiffy. The staff were friendly. It can take a long time to get in, even with the skip the line tickets we waited almost half an hour in a dark hallway full of obnoxious teens - and we were about 20th in line when we got there. Tours are split in to groups and everyone gets their picture taken first which really holds up the line but I suppose they need to space the groups out somehow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The charactors were class!

Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

john B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic entertainment, well worth the price. would definitely recommend. Not a gimmick to take your money and come out disappointed. You will want to do it again!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

GERARD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable experience, with a great cast. Brilliant for all ages.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Sandra A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was a lot of fun,though a little cheesy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Laura V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

If you are looking for a theatrical replication of what a dungeon is about this is for you. This was entertaining but not what I was expecting. If I had known what I was in for I would have spend my money on something else.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Alexandru A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Could not attend the tour due do the awful smell. When descending using the stairs and reaching the tickets area, the smell was horrible...we had to give up from going through with the tour - in addition to this, we were requested to wait 30 minutes due to the groups of children that were already on the tour - lack of reliability when booking the tour for the people at the dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

acstrachan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the price, fast track and easy to use

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message