Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Also known as the Hogwarts Express, Scotland's legendary Jacobite Steam Train is photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts from Platform 9 3/4 at King's Cross ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cpirlot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After many mishaps out tour company and their guide were amazing to help us catch up to the group!!! The accommodating and helpful nature alone has sold me and I will use them again! Tony you wee a fantastic guide, great storyteller and an all around pleasure to be around.....you love what you do!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

zoifoka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guides, Tony and Sinclair, were extremely well-knowing and amusing and they managed to show us the essence of Scotlande in just three days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Fiona V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this tour was amazing. Our guides, Tony and Sinclair, made it even better with their vast knowledge of local history and myth. Their tales of Elfin, the fairy king, and others, was fantastic. I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Kathleen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was exceptional! Our guide , Duncan, was brilliant- great knowledge of history, entertaining stories, music, where to find Harry coos.... The places we visited were beyond beautiful and lodging perfect.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Katrine Emilie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great trip and an amazing guide. Sandy was such a lovely storyteller. Thank you!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour and a great way to see the highlands! The guest houses were great as well. Everything was well organized and professional. We had a great time!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Auri P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide John Paul was excellent and provided entertaining commentary on the sights and history of Scotland. The scenery was utterly gorgeous and of course the steam train ride capped it all off in a grand way!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Stephanie A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour! Our guide, Steve had some great stories to tell on the way and he also took into account the requests of all the passengers and where possible, accommodated them. The Highlands and Skye were remarkably beautiful. I want to go back already. Definitely in love with Scotland

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

iran

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I arrived on site on schedule and had several mixed companies and sought information with an attendant who told me to stay in a wrong line and thought the bus was late. I was wrong to trust, but when I went to the representative of the correct agency, she was extremely aggressive, yelled at me saying it was not mistake the company, in fact not was not but it was a terrible indelizadeza, besides losing my trip I programmed for more than five months I was humbled by the English resposavel on site. I never come back to buy something with this company because the service of a non-qualified staff to meet tourists, bad signage, so this company should meet English tourists. I do not recommend. The fame that the English are cold was proven, people without psychological preparation to meet customers.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Katelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One really cannot say enough about this trip. It was the highlight of our holiday in the UK. Everything about this trip that was set up by Highland Tours was amazing. The most special part of this trip was our tour guide, Scot. He is an invaluable resource. His genuine passion for everything Scotland bled through every story he told making the trip so enjoyable. What could have been many hours on the bus listening to music was broken up with his stories about the history of Scotland. While I certainly cannot speak to the other tour guides available, I cannot imagine doing the trip again without Scot. We chose the B and B option, and had a lovely accommodation with an excellent view of the sea and mountains in the background from our room. My only suggestion for the future would be to offer a trip geared towards younger/outdoorsy focused people. One piece of advice for travelers is to sit on the left side of the bus on Day 1 and 3, much better views!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Bryan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We got off to a rough start as our guide, Joe, was a bit of a drill sergeant. But by day 3 we found him to be funny, very knowledgable and quite enjoyable. The scenery and the places we stopped couldn't be beat. It was an amazing tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Brenda M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gary, our tour guide, was a delight! He ensured everyone's needs were met and we were safe as a group. The Jacobite tour visited several Outlander sights, drove through the beautiful Highlands, and stopped often for photo opportunities. We chose the option of a hotel stay and was not disappointed as our room overlooked Loch Ness. The train was nice, however, I would recommend when choosing a seat you choose one on the side of the platform. We expected the train to turn around for the return trip where we would have an opportunity for photos. The view from our side of the train was less picturesque.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We crammed in a lot over three days -- stops at castles, distilleries, breweries, loch ness, little towns in the highlands, and beautiful spots across the isle of skye. Our guide, Tony, was super informative, giving us background on the local history and folklore, once-upon-a-time stories, and funny anecdotes. Even when things went wrong on our last days, an accident closed the rode leaving Skye, and then our ferry left early with no notice so we had to catch a later one..., he was calm and organized and got us where we needed to be, when we needed to be there.

I was a little apprehensive about taking a bus tour, but we never spent too long on the bus without a stop, and all the stops were long enough to stretch your legs, use a restroom, or see whatever there was to see. Even if you're not a bus tour person, I would recommend this as a great way to see a lot and get a great overview of the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was amazing. We had so much fun. We were expecting a full 2 day tour on the train but it was actually a bus tour for the 1st day and the Hogwarts train for the 2nd day. Our tour guide was funny, entertaining and knowledgeable. The B and B we stayed at was one of the best we had stayed in during our entire trip. I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Connie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great trip. Michael was a superb group leader, stopping at many scenic spots for us to take photos. And, he is a great story teller! So, the history was interesting and the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was wonderful. Joe our guide was very knowledgeable and took us to some really exciting spots and places that we were not expecting. He gave us a lot of history and background, an awesome guy! My only gripe was the hogwarts express ride left a bit to be desired. Would book again with Joe !

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

April R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was awesome! The scenery, the history, and the people were great! And having a tour guide who knew the history made it better. Scott was amazing and kind. He even made a little detour so we could see something we wanted to see but wasn and #39;t on the itinerary.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

nest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip and must congratulate Jamie and Highland tours for this excellent package. Great sites visited and the excellent knowledge of Jamie brought each to life in a historical sense or visionary picture. From Oban to Inverness a pictorial delight with lochs, mountain ranges, castles, great music in the evening and food. A tour must

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Douglas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Tony, was amazing. He added so much to the tour. His stories were fantastic and his knowledge of history was impressive. We definitely want to go on another tour with him in the future.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

LYNN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful experience in spite of the weather - cold, windy and often wet. Our tour guide/driver was Joe and he provided a wonderful experience and information we would not have received form most guides. He being a true Scottish Highlander, with the accompanying brogue, provided above and beyond service. Can't thank him enough for all he did.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Cindy C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A great tour with a wonderful tour guide (Michael). Wish we had more time in Pitlochry and Fort Augustus. Really glad we got to spend the night in the picturesque village of Fort Augustus. Loved the guest house. Michael made a special stop for us to see and feed the highland cows- what a treat!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Roma B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall very enjoyable. We had a very good B and B in Fort Augustus. One of the best we have stayed in. Others were not so lucky. We would have paid extra to have been seated in the First Class of the Hogwarts Express to have sampled a cup of tea, but that was a minor detail.
Thanks

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message