Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Holyrood

The Palace of Holyrood House, sometimes called Holyrood Palace, faces Edinburgh Castle along the length of the Royal Mile. Like its majestic companion, it's riddled with some of Scotland's most potent history.  The Abbey in the grounds was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gail C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Make sure you organize your time really well, especially if you accept the admissions for the bonuses -- too me, all must sees. We were there over the holidays so it was important to know when the Royal Yacht Brittania was open Saturday vs Edinburgh Castle AudioGuide NOT included and Holyrood Castle AudioGuide IS included. I'm hard pressed to say what was my favorite - I had no idea Holyrood Castle existed so I really was most impressed with that. Comparing Edinburgh Castle to Stirling Castle was really interesting. Seeing the only double bed onboard the Royal Yacht Prince Charles took onboard for his honeymoon was funny. Wish the hours of the bus were not so restricted so that we could have gone on all three routes completely, but there is a challenge when things are abbreviated due to local celebrations. I appreciated their efforts on our behalf once we finally found them

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Brenda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You have to go to the kiosk at Waverley Bridge where all the buses start from to exchange your voucher for actual tickets but that was no problem, you'd probably go there anyway at least once. The buses were good and the 3 venues - The Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyroodhouse Palace were all excellent and very well worth visiting. They had really good audio tours included for Britannia and Holyrood, though I believe the Castle audio was an extra but they offered a free guided tour. We also used the buses to visit 2 National Trust properties, one in the old town and one in the new town. A busy and rewarding 48 hours.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

raci88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Royal Mile Palace of Holyroodhouse Scottish Parliament Arthur's Seat. Hop-on Hop-off buses are so easy to catch all over town! Very convenient, helps you get your bearings as well. I highly recommend advance purchase of Edinburgh Castle so you don't have to wait in the long line. I took the Hop-On Hop Off to the Royal Mile it drops off right by Edinburgh Castle where there are lots of pubs, restaurants and shopping. Give yourself a few hours at Edinburgh Castle. Edinburgh Military Tattoo @ Edinburgh Castle, St. Margaret's Chapel. I had lunch after right by the the Castle at the Witchery, delicious splurge! try and make a reservation ahead of time. Worked by way to Holyroodhouse where Scottish Parliament is as well and you can begin your ascent up to Arthur's seat comfortable hiking shoes, water, camera and give yourself 45 minutes or more for the climb, absolutely worth it!! Sunrise or sunset the best!! Finished with dinner at at Whiski Bar and Restaurant, flights and delicious food!!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kelsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best purchase I made for our entire 2 week trip to the UK. You can get to everything you could ever want to get to from the buses available with this pass. Not to mention the fast pass for Edinburgh Castle and admission to the Palace of Holyrood. Time did not allow for us to get to the HMY Britannia but we did take the bus that goes out to Leith and the Britannia which was highly enjoyable just in itself. My recommendation is to start your day early because the buses do not run very late into the evening. If I had one complaint it would be the fact that none of the tour buses include evening tours, which would have offered a different view of the city as well as being able to get around easier for more dinner options. Overall, EXCELLENT experience and a MUST buy if you plan to stay in Edinburgh!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was well worth the money and enabled us to see far more than would otherwise have been possible in only two days. The ticket included entry to the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh castle and Holyrood Palace and a choice of 4 different bus tours. We saw lots of the city and also went to the royal Horticultural Gardens ans St Arthur's seat. The only trip not included and which we did on our own was to Rosslyn Chapel another great experience. Would highly recommend this tour the Majestic.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. It's so easy hopping on and off the buses and with the Royal Edinburgh Ticket you can take any of the different hop-on buses to see different parts of the city. It was a great value having Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Yacht Britannia. Just a note, if you use the red buses, you cannot get to the Yacht Britannia, but the red buses will take you there. Be sure to ask when getting your ticket. Other than that, great value.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Taryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the multiple stops just around the corner from our hotel. We loved it - seeing all the sites, getting on and off as we liked! Castle Edinburgh and Holyrood house were spectacular, but we ran out of time and never saw the royal yacht. Still a great deal.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sharon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good value for money. Having pre-booked tickets for the Castle. Holyrood and Britannia saved loads of time the queues for tickets were VERY long. Also being able to use all the tour buses was very convenient as I just got on the next one to come along instead of having to wait for a particular bus.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see the city, it gives you an overview so you can decide where you'd like to visit again. Being able to get on and off was perfect, we got off at stop 6 to visit the scotch whiskey experience which was very good then jumped back on to go to Holyrood Palace.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

byrerlj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved seeing both the Castle and Holyrood in our short stay in Edinburgh! Such a great way to get an overview for reference. Now I'm already looking forward to my next trip, only it will be much longer, so we can fit in deeper exploration.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

marcia b b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hop on hop off two day bus ticket was perfect. We rode four different buses going around the city for two days and it took us to everything we wanted to see. The green bus is an excellent introduction to Edinburgh with a live guide. We stopped at Holyrood House, the Royal Botanic Garden, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Bobby, and saw more sites than we could visit in our time in Edinburgh. The only drawback is that some of the buses stop running by about 5 pm and that wasn't always late enough to catch one back to our hotel area, so we ended up riding a city bus one evening. Not a big deal, but it would be convenient if each route ran until 7 or 8 pm. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hop on hop off two day bus ticket!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Hop-on Hop-off tour is the only way to become familiar with a City you haven't visited before. Most of the buses had guides or earbuds with commentary. Driving around in Edinburgh is in my opinion, horrendous and even walking can be difficult trying not to get lost. There are numerous sights to visit with The Museum of Scotland, Dynamic Earth and Royal Yacht Britannia being highlights.Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse are alright but i'm about castled out at this point.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kay T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed using the hop-on and hop-off bus for two days while touring Edinburgh. We did have to wait quite a while to get the correct bus after we toured Holyroodhouse. Several other buses passed us before the correct one arrived. Something to consider is knowing exactly where they stop and where you want to go because we missed our stop on the Royal mile the first time because the driver didn't make an announcement.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Christopher C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I am a huge walker and so I could have easily done without this tour. However, the great aspect of this tour is the fact that you also get a fast track ticket to the Edinburgh Castle which could easily save you hours in line depending on the time of day you go. You also get tickets to the Holyrood Palace and the Royal Navy ship. I didn't have any inkling of venturing out to the harbor to hop on the boat been on too many in my life. I also couldn't utilize the Palace ticket as the Queen was in town and that is her residence while in Scotland. I feel like I was one of the few to get on AND OFF at locations. Most people just stayed on through the whole ride. If you want to get a nice tour of the most touristy parts of the city, and also learn a little bit of history to boot, then it's worthwhile. I personally wouldn't use it again and wish I could get a partial refund of my unused Holyrood and Royal Ship ticket. I'm not upset about it though and would say to use this to get around the city. It's a beautiful city.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Debra C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Edinburgh is a beautiful and fabulous city. Unfortunately, the day we were there, it rained pretty much all day and most of the buses were open top and too crowded below for sufficient seating. Also, the Queen was in residence the day we visited so although we paid additional for the tour of Holyrood Palace, it was closed for tours that day. We ended up cutting our tour short and returning to Inverness by train

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

leslie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

holyrood house and the royal yacht were my favorites. enjoyed the history in the yacht especially. didn't realize the royal family had a royal yacht since the 1600's. royal tour worth the price of the ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Lorraine D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This ticket is ideal, the on/off buses are an ideal way to get around Edinburgh. The only negative was that Holyrood house was closed and I didnt get a refund.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant value-for-money tour. We enjoyed 48 hours of sightseeing all the major sights of the city - including the Castle and Holyrood Palace and Royal Yacht Britannia on the Quuens 90th as an added bonus. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible with limited time availability

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Annette R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful day at castle ,walked down Royal Mile to Holyrood palace. Used hop on / off bus to see the Britannia ship-great time, then did 3 routes around Edinburgh. Worth the value of ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour is quite simply fantastic value for money and one of the best ways to see as much of Edinburgh as possible in a short space of time - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going there. Also great value for money with fast tracked entry to Britannia Yacht, Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse. It's worth knowing that attractions close at 4pm at weekends in winter?? so you should plan your day with that in mind.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laurelee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day we had with this one!! We used our Hop-On Hop-Off pass which included passes to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. These two attractions were simply amazing and wonderful. especially the castle.
The tour itself around Edinburgh was entertaining and interesting as well. The commentator was informative and amusing as well. Highly recommend if you are in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

glendahall13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very cold wet weekend in Edinburgh but this 3 in one tour ticket experience we felt well worth it.
Hop on bus good value and stops located well.
Holyrood House well worth it too
Really enjoyed the Royal Yacht.
and Edinburgh castle was excellent even though we did get wet through doing the visit.
Both Holyrood , Castle and Royal Yacht we had straight through entry with no waiting included in the price

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message