The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

smbarton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was an absolute delight. Of all the places I have ever been in my life, Isle of Skye is perhaps the most beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Karina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and great tour guide Keith. I had a great time visiting Highlands and Isle of Skye. I definately recommend this tour for anybody who wants to explore the beauty of Scotland.
The tour itself was planned very well, our guide adjusted our itenary to the weather conditions the B and B was very nice.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Justin W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an amazing tour. 3 full days, with lots of stops on the journey, so you are not just driving the entire time. Helen, the tour guide is great, funny and knows all about Scottish history. She made the tour even better. The sights are amazing, the highlands, and the isle of Skye are breathtaking. The overnights in Portree are good, a nice small village, good food and views.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Jane S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. The tour was well paced. The accomodation on Isle of Skye welcoming, comfortable and convenient. Our Rabbies Tour Guide and driver was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved my Isle of Skye Day Trip with our amazing driver Gary, who was very informative, funny and so helpful that I would do the tour again. Our day started of cloudy as we passed Loch Ness and cleared up when we got to Eilean Donan Castle...which being a huge Highlander 80s film was my favorite of the whole trip, I got some amazing photos and we got and hour to explore...still smiling. We then headed to the beautiful Isle of Skye where we had lunch and the headed home stopping at some of the most glorious sights I have ever seen. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Gayle S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend the 3 day Isle of Skye group tour with Rabbie's. Heather Mac was our guide and although it rained 2 out of the 3 days, she kept our whole group interested and happy. Her knowledge of Scottish history and her Scottish stories gave us a true taste of Scotland. Isle of Skye is truly magnificent and should be on everyone's Scotland itinerary.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Lee was exceptional! We learned the history of Scotland while viewing Loch Ness , and the Highlands and the Isle of Skye. The view was beautiful and the funny stories Lee told helped make the trip exceptional.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

kutsunai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I took the 3 day Isle of Skye tour with Rabbie last week. The tour spend 1 day driving to Skye, 1 day exploring Skye, and 1 day coming back down. Driving to and from Skye our driver made lots of stops to stretch our legs and take some photos. Our driver was Doug. He made the tour enjoyable. He was knowledgeable of the landscape and kept our tour entertained the whole time. The landscape and sights were beautiful, the stops were great and our driver was the great! We are 2 younger travelers in our late 20s, but we had all ages on the tour with us and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

simon s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour around the isle of skye with our driver/guide Ian Sutherland, would highly recommend this for price, knowledge of the driver and overall experience.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ty H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip review will come in two parts... the Viator portion bad and the actual trip through Rabbies good!. The Bad: Viator - We booked a specific tour, and the tour ended up being completely different than what was listed on the Viator site / sent to us. One whole day said free day in Portree, but it was actually a tour day through Skye... that we almost missed if the guide didn't tell us! We also booked specific accommodations like a double bed for couples and ended up in a room with single beds. If I were you, I'd go directly through Rabbies!
The good: Rabbies was FANTASTIC. The tour ended up being far better than we hoped but wish we had the right itinerary in advance. Our guide was great though he didn't love us for having large suitcases and we heard about it a LOT. he took us to the most incredible places and we actually got time to BE there. Not just on and off the bus. Speaking of the bus, it's a smaller van and much more cozy than a huge bus. Again, we'd recommend you book through Rabbies and have a blast! The Isle of Skye was the absolute highlight of our trip!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Joseph A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our 3-day tour that took us from Edinburgh to Isle of Skye on May 19, 2016, was a wonderful excursion with Keith as our guide. Seeing the Isle of Skye is well worth the trip. We also took a side tour with Isle of Skye Tours to see Dunvegan Castle. Beautiful

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Martha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My 3 day Isle of Skye tour fulfilled my expectations - and more! While the scenery and the company's organization would have made the trip, our guide Audrey really topped it off. She was so energetic, knowledgeable and entertaining!
I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in spending 3 beautiful days in the Scottish highlands.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We crammed in a lot over three days -- stops at castles, distilleries, breweries, loch ness, little towns in the highlands, and beautiful spots across the isle of skye. Our guide, Tony, was super informative, giving us background on the local history and folklore, once-upon-a-time stories, and funny anecdotes. Even when things went wrong on our last days, an accident closed the rode leaving Skye, and then our ferry left early with no notice so we had to catch a later one..., he was calm and organized and got us where we needed to be, when we needed to be there.

I was a little apprehensive about taking a bus tour, but we never spent too long on the bus without a stop, and all the stops were long enough to stretch your legs, use a restroom, or see whatever there was to see. Even if you're not a bus tour person, I would recommend this as a great way to see a lot and get a great overview of the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour, a great sampler of the highlights of Isle of Skye. Our tour guide, Al was knowledgable, professional, and entertaining. I would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was awesome. I wish I had booked a longer visit. The Isle of Skye is amazing. Our guide, Stewart, was wonderful. The B and B was great. Really, my only regret is that I did not book a longer visit!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Brena P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is a poorly planned tour. I do not fault the guide but the tour company. Most of the tour involves sitting on a bus and the only place stopped at in the Isle of Skye is Portree, probably the least interesting place to see on the Isle.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Brad W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We just finished the tour and I am not sure I would recommend it. While the Isle of Skye was beautiful, our tour guide was not very informative and sometimes the tour was boring. On the way back to Edinburgh, the tour bus broke down and we arrived more than three hours late.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour. You don't get to see all of the Isle of Skye but what you see is well worth going for. Very knowledgeable guide Duncan. Came back to Inverness via the 'high road' and saw some fantastic scenery and wild life.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jeniffer A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The stop at Eilean Donan Castle was nice, it was self lead through the castle. We stopped for lunch in a small village on the Isle of Skye and saw the Skye Bridge from the restaurant. Vegetarians and vegans should definitely pack their own food. The town of Portree was a cute little town, but if you're hoping to see the cliffs at the Isle of Skye, this is not the trip for you. It was nice that we took a different path back to Inverness rather than the same course. The guide, Gary, was very entertaining and we heard a few funny stories and some local legends.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour, which gives you the opportunity to see magnificent scenery! Our driver/tour guide, James, was great I even liked his corny jokes! and very knowledgable about the areas visited and the history behind them. The small group size is perfect 15 people on our tour so you don't have to worry about the logistics that go with larger groups. The B and B accommodation booked for me was excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful. If you want to experience what the Scottish Highlands and Isle of Skye has to offer, this is definitely the tour to choose.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Margie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! Our guide Joe was absolutely great. He took us to places not on the regular tour schedule, had great information and was very entertaining. The incredible views both in the highlands and on the Isle of Skye were breathtaking and the steam train was a real highlight of the trip. Don't miss this tour.
The Canadian Gals

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dave was a good driver, a good story teller, a DJ, and a passionate Scot. There were 23 people on this tour, most are couples, friends and families, and 5 solo female travelers including me. We got along well. I was constantly awed by the stark beauties of the Scottish Highlands and the lochs. The landscape of the highlands are so different from the lowlands. We visited Loch Ness at Fort Augustus, the southern tip before turning west to the Isle of Skye. We visited Eilean Donan Castle often called the most picturisque castle in Scotland before crossing the bridge to the Isle of Skye. The B and B I stayed in Portree capital of Skye was very clean and comfortable. The landlady made me porridge hot oatmeal upon my request, before a full Scottish breakfast. We experienced typical weather on the island, fog, gusty wind, rain, stop, rain, stop, etc. on the second day. We went to many places on the Isle of Skye and took breathtaking pictures of the sea and rocks and heathers. There were sheeps and cows, more of them than people. More castles. The 3rd day we took the ferry to Malliag, beautiful view but very windy and cold. Took the Jacobite Steam Train from Malliag to Fort William, the Hogwart Express going over the famous viaduct. Taking pictures on the train is not easy, best to drive and take the pictures from below. Overall, I highly recommend this 3-day tour and I love the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Francisco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a wonderful trip! We have never done a guided tour like this before. We always have tried to find our own way. After the 3-Day Isle of Skye tour we are converts. What a wonderful way to see the highlands and learn some of the history we would never have learned on our own. Our tour guide was wonderful and I would recommend this tour to a stranger in a heartbeat. It was that good!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Arlene S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very nice day. Beautiful scenery. Our driver made a few unscheduled stops for pictures as the views were too spectacular to miss. The bus was very comfortable. Driver was very knowledgeable. The only drawback was that we didn't actually get to go to Urquhart Castle at Lock Ness, which I thought we would do, but instead we went to Eilean Donan Castle, which was spectacular. We will have to take the drivers advise and come back and spend at least four days on the Isle of Skye. The tour there and back was just barely the tip of the ice berg. Very Magical.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

MaryAnne United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a amazing three days with a fabulous guide. It was rainy and/or overcast almost the entire time, but it didn't matter we still had an incredible time. The trip packed in a ton of stuff in three days, but we never felt rushed and still had a fair bit of time on our own in the evenings. I feel in love with the Isle of Skye, it being one of the most beautiful natural places I have seen. Also, leaned a ton of Scottish history from a fantastic guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message