The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide is engaging, wonderful and informative there is plenty of stops for photos and to explore. My only wish is more time on the isle of Skye exploring rather then in town. I would have like to have seen the fairy pools for example.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

LINDA K Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an exceptional trip with so much natural beauty and history. Our guide Tony made history come alive and made sure everyone had a great experience. Would highly recommend touring the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Dori S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Sandy a kilt-wearing Scot! was fantastic--funny, engaging, concerned about safety, and an excellent tourist-herder. He went out of his way to be helpful to his charges, and had a wealth of knowledge and hilarious stories. This tour covered the high points of the Isle of Skye, and we were INCREDIBLY lucky to have gorgeous sunny weather for our trip, so it was spectacular! The only real downside in our minds was that the B and B rooms were original to 1972 or so when the place was built, with no ceiling fan if we opened the window screen the midges came in and ate us alive and awful wood paneling. The bathroom sported a tiny shower no tub, and, inexplicably, a chair. A coat of paint on that paneling and a ceiling fan would make the room 1000 better. Breakfast was great, the owners couldn't have been nice, and the location--about 6 blocks from the center of town--made for a nice walk since the weather was good. If I were going to do this tour again, I'd opt for the hotel, since it was right in the center of things Portree is tiny, though--nothing is very far away.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Ronald T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip was great. The main focus was on Eilean Donan Castle. As for Isle of Skye, it actually stopped and walked around Portree. However, the way to Isle of Skye already had many stunning views.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour was a disappointment. While we loved seeing Eilan Donan Castle and Portree, we feel we missed out on things due to the mismanagement of the tour company. The had cancelled train tickets for people on other tours so we had 3 unscheduled stops in the morning and 2 in the evening. This delayed us significantly and cut down on the amount of time we spent seeing things. We must have run out of time because our tour guide never took us to see the highland cattle, which was a huge disappointment. We also got to spend less than an hour on Portree so no time to get lunch which was part of the itinerary. Had no choice but to grab a snack at the Co-op. Overall, we really wanted to see Isle of Skye and less than an hour in Portree and one stop to take photos of the Black Cullins Mountains didn't cut it.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Arsh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I was really disappointed in this tour, namely because of the guide, Grant. Skye was really beautiful and all the places were great, but the Rabbies guide BARELY told us anything about the places we were visiting. Like no history or culture about Neist Point or Portree or wherever. He seemed to drive past a bunch of places and misled us about where we were going. We all thought we were going to go see the fairy pools, but instead he took us to the fairy glen and just made us walk around up to one of the top of the hills for 10 minutes until we had to come back on. The worst of it was probably that he kept focusing his attention on his pretty 'co-pilot' and the ladies sitting in the front celebrating their 50th birthdays. It just felt like we were going on a very long drive looking out windows, and listening to okay music. Nothing about what we were looking at, or the importance of certain monuments, places, or castles. He had NO knowledge on Dunvegan castle for example, but told us we were going to stop there. He couldn't answer the simplest of questions.

He was a nice guy and all, and took us on a few hikes which seemed to be about the only thing he did offer to do, but it really was such a waste because I was MOST looking forward to going to the Isle of Skye and it turned out to be pretty crummy.

This was my first trip with Rabbies and I was not impressed. Neither were the other passengers on board who were with me. At least 2 complained to me about his lack of knowledge and his focus on the woman sitting next to him, and 1 man seemed worried about his driving ability. I did a few of the other Rabbies tours afterward which I had already booked and they were really fabulous, with great guides who really made them great experiences so I know Rabbies is a great tour company and I recommend them. But this tour really blowed, and I'm sorry if you'll have the misfortune of being on this tour with the tour guide I had, no matter how nice he seemed.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

smbarton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was an absolute delight. Of all the places I have ever been in my life, Isle of Skye is perhaps the most beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Karina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and great tour guide Keith. I had a great time visiting Highlands and Isle of Skye. I definately recommend this tour for anybody who wants to explore the beauty of Scotland.
The tour itself was planned very well, our guide adjusted our itenary to the weather conditions the B and B was very nice.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Justin W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an amazing tour. 3 full days, with lots of stops on the journey, so you are not just driving the entire time. Helen, the tour guide is great, funny and knows all about Scottish history. She made the tour even better. The sights are amazing, the highlands, and the isle of Skye are breathtaking. The overnights in Portree are good, a nice small village, good food and views.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Jane S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. The tour was well paced. The accomodation on Isle of Skye welcoming, comfortable and convenient. Our Rabbies Tour Guide and driver was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved my Isle of Skye Day Trip with our amazing driver Gary, who was very informative, funny and so helpful that I would do the tour again. Our day started of cloudy as we passed Loch Ness and cleared up when we got to Eilean Donan Castle...which being a huge Highlander 80s film was my favorite of the whole trip, I got some amazing photos and we got and hour to explore...still smiling. We then headed to the beautiful Isle of Skye where we had lunch and the headed home stopping at some of the most glorious sights I have ever seen. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Gayle S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend the 3 day Isle of Skye group tour with Rabbie's. Heather Mac was our guide and although it rained 2 out of the 3 days, she kept our whole group interested and happy. Her knowledge of Scottish history and her Scottish stories gave us a true taste of Scotland. Isle of Skye is truly magnificent and should be on everyone's Scotland itinerary.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Lee was exceptional! We learned the history of Scotland while viewing Loch Ness , and the Highlands and the Isle of Skye. The view was beautiful and the funny stories Lee told helped make the trip exceptional.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

kutsunai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I took the 3 day Isle of Skye tour with Rabbie last week. The tour spend 1 day driving to Skye, 1 day exploring Skye, and 1 day coming back down. Driving to and from Skye our driver made lots of stops to stretch our legs and take some photos. Our driver was Doug. He made the tour enjoyable. He was knowledgeable of the landscape and kept our tour entertained the whole time. The landscape and sights were beautiful, the stops were great and our driver was the great! We are 2 younger travelers in our late 20s, but we had all ages on the tour with us and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

simon s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour around the isle of skye with our driver/guide Ian Sutherland, would highly recommend this for price, knowledge of the driver and overall experience.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ty H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip review will come in two parts... the Viator portion bad and the actual trip through Rabbies good!. The Bad: Viator - We booked a specific tour, and the tour ended up being completely different than what was listed on the Viator site / sent to us. One whole day said free day in Portree, but it was actually a tour day through Skye... that we almost missed if the guide didn't tell us! We also booked specific accommodations like a double bed for couples and ended up in a room with single beds. If I were you, I'd go directly through Rabbies!
The good: Rabbies was FANTASTIC. The tour ended up being far better than we hoped but wish we had the right itinerary in advance. Our guide was great though he didn't love us for having large suitcases and we heard about it a LOT. he took us to the most incredible places and we actually got time to BE there. Not just on and off the bus. Speaking of the bus, it's a smaller van and much more cozy than a huge bus. Again, we'd recommend you book through Rabbies and have a blast! The Isle of Skye was the absolute highlight of our trip!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Joseph A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our 3-day tour that took us from Edinburgh to Isle of Skye on May 19, 2016, was a wonderful excursion with Keith as our guide. Seeing the Isle of Skye is well worth the trip. We also took a side tour with Isle of Skye Tours to see Dunvegan Castle. Beautiful

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Martha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My 3 day Isle of Skye tour fulfilled my expectations - and more! While the scenery and the company's organization would have made the trip, our guide Audrey really topped it off. She was so energetic, knowledgeable and entertaining!
I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in spending 3 beautiful days in the Scottish highlands.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We crammed in a lot over three days -- stops at castles, distilleries, breweries, loch ness, little towns in the highlands, and beautiful spots across the isle of skye. Our guide, Tony, was super informative, giving us background on the local history and folklore, once-upon-a-time stories, and funny anecdotes. Even when things went wrong on our last days, an accident closed the rode leaving Skye, and then our ferry left early with no notice so we had to catch a later one..., he was calm and organized and got us where we needed to be, when we needed to be there.

I was a little apprehensive about taking a bus tour, but we never spent too long on the bus without a stop, and all the stops were long enough to stretch your legs, use a restroom, or see whatever there was to see. Even if you're not a bus tour person, I would recommend this as a great way to see a lot and get a great overview of the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour, a great sampler of the highlights of Isle of Skye. Our tour guide, Al was knowledgable, professional, and entertaining. I would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was awesome. I wish I had booked a longer visit. The Isle of Skye is amazing. Our guide, Stewart, was wonderful. The B and B was great. Really, my only regret is that I did not book a longer visit!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Brena P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is a poorly planned tour. I do not fault the guide but the tour company. Most of the tour involves sitting on a bus and the only place stopped at in the Isle of Skye is Portree, probably the least interesting place to see on the Isle.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Brad W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We just finished the tour and I am not sure I would recommend it. While the Isle of Skye was beautiful, our tour guide was not very informative and sometimes the tour was boring. On the way back to Edinburgh, the tour bus broke down and we arrived more than three hours late.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour. You don't get to see all of the Isle of Skye but what you see is well worth going for. Very knowledgeable guide Duncan. Came back to Inverness via the 'high road' and saw some fantastic scenery and wild life.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jeniffer A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The stop at Eilean Donan Castle was nice, it was self lead through the castle. We stopped for lunch in a small village on the Isle of Skye and saw the Skye Bridge from the restaurant. Vegetarians and vegans should definitely pack their own food. The town of Portree was a cute little town, but if you're hoping to see the cliffs at the Isle of Skye, this is not the trip for you. It was nice that we took a different path back to Inverness rather than the same course. The guide, Gary, was very entertaining and we heard a few funny stories and some local legends.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message