Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Jacobite Steam Train

Featured as the fictional Hogwarts Express in the Harry Potter  films, Scotland's legendary Jacobite Steam Train offers a magical opportunity to see the rolling Scottish countryside. You'll recognize the train from the movie scene in which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to see the country. Much easier than driving it myself with the added bonus of a very informative tour guide. Worht every penny.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent Trip and our guide Tony was fantastic. Lots of interesting stories and facts. A safe and very happy trip. Thank you Tony and Highland Tours. Duncan and Teresa F

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Heidi G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Everything was organized very well, great tour, Gill our guide was the BEST.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

mikechalverus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were on a two week tour of Scotland and England and the highlight of the entire trip was our three day guided tour of the Isle of Skye and the Scottish Highlands. What made the trip so outstanding was due in large part to our tour guide, Tony. His knowledge of the countryside, the history of Scotland and its origins and the historical characters that played such a defining role in its past were just mind-boggling. his knowledge was so complete that we felt like we had gotten a college degree in Scottish history by the time the tour was over. He took us to so many historical sites during our three days that we felt like we had covered everything of importance there was to see and that we had a real appreciation for what the real Scotland is all about. Tony's easy going manner and eagerness to answer any questions we had made it such a pleasurable experience. I can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Jacquelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! You get a good amount of history and pop culture knowledge about Scotland. Doing the train was a great highlight. Loch Ness is beautiful as well.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Chelsea H Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really excellent tour! I would have loved a bit more historical commentary, but otherwise, the trip was fabulous. Chris was very accommodating and knowledgeable. He runs a tight ship, but does it with a smile - we made it to all our destinations on time and even had time to stop off at a few great photo opportunities to stretch our legs now and then. I don't think we were ever confined to the coach for more than an hour. We saw beautiful locations, admission to all the attractions went without any hiccups. All we had to do was sit back and enjoy the experience. Would definitely do a tour with Highland Experience again!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

zakiah.jamali

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The highlight of the tour was just the train ride. The duration was abt an hour each way. The trip included both ways.
Do sit on the left hand side of the train, in the direction where the train leaves the station. Simply put, same side as the platform. From there u get to take the picture of the viaduct. To and fro, just sit on the same side.
If you want to get the picture of the front of the train, you can only take it at Fort Williams, when you bought the train. At mallaig, its impossible to take the picture from the front. And even if you get back to fort williams, at the end of the journey, the steam engined part would have derailed and moved away. No chance to get a picture then.
We visited Loch Ness, some of the group members even went on a cruise. I feel that it was just a waste of money as you will be driven past them. Experiencing the sights on water and land to me is equally the same. Except that on land, its paid for.
I stayed at the Lochness Guest house with a few other guests. It was a 1 night stay. Within 5min walking distance to the shops and gas station where there was a convenience store. The room was super cozy, with a bathtub in the toilet. Very accomodating hosts and fruits were provided well into the night.
The only downside was that, our guide Jean Paul, was not entertaining. He made me fall asleep throughout the entire journey. He was not great at telling stories, which on the contrary, i was told that most Scottish people are best at. He was wayyy too serious as a driver guide and was only seen as enjoying the trip at the end of it.
If you're into just the jacobite steam train...then go for it, otherwise, you can just book ur train tickets yourself and make your own way to Fort Wiliams and save that much money.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Michael J T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I have already created a favorable review for this tour last week and have heard nothing re: publication.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Elisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour ever!!! 3 perfect days, we visited amazing places, the bus was great, and the driver/guide Kirsty was the best!! She really made our tour so much better!! Also the B and B was really great. I really recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Could we have asked for a better guide than a red-haired, bearded, kilted Scot with a degree in Scottish history? Dave gave us a great tour, pointed out pubs and restaurants for our lunches and dinners, made lots of photo stops and really helped everyone connect to Scotland's history and culture.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Leah Michele A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were very fortunate to have Jamie S. as our guide! He was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and funny. He was also an excellent driver.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Arsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Possibly one of my most favourite tour experiences in Scotland. Our guide, Martin, was very knowledgeable about the areas we visited. I loved the ride on the train, and I am a big HP fan so it was pretty awesome! I did a one hour boat tour in Mallaig which was amazing as well. Colloden also gave me the shivers but was worth it. Loved the night I spent in Fort Augustus, especially because I'd been in city lodgings the whole time. However, it was a bit scary walking back to the B and B that night because there were barely any lights in the little town and my B and B was not close to the town centre. But this just made it all the more fun. Loved Loch Ness!! Loved everything - a great experience which I highly recommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

judithparr49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was amazing! The scenery spectacular! Great group of people and our guide, John Paul made the whole trip. He was extremely informative and made the whole experience so much more enjoyable. A lovely, funny man.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

LINDA K Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an exceptional trip with so much natural beauty and history. Our guide Tony made history come alive and made sure everyone had a great experience. Would highly recommend touring the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Dori S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Sandy a kilt-wearing Scot! was fantastic--funny, engaging, concerned about safety, and an excellent tourist-herder. He went out of his way to be helpful to his charges, and had a wealth of knowledge and hilarious stories. This tour covered the high points of the Isle of Skye, and we were INCREDIBLY lucky to have gorgeous sunny weather for our trip, so it was spectacular! The only real downside in our minds was that the B and B rooms were original to 1972 or so when the place was built, with no ceiling fan if we opened the window screen the midges came in and ate us alive and awful wood paneling. The bathroom sported a tiny shower no tub, and, inexplicably, a chair. A coat of paint on that paneling and a ceiling fan would make the room 1000 better. Breakfast was great, the owners couldn't have been nice, and the location--about 6 blocks from the center of town--made for a nice walk since the weather was good. If I were going to do this tour again, I'd opt for the hotel, since it was right in the center of things Portree is tiny, though--nothing is very far away.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Susan K United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Do not hesitate to book this tour. Your guide will be from Highland Explorer Tours and if you are lucky and get Tony, you will be in safe hands with an experienced driver on a private bus. He will educate and entertain you with stories of Scotland both funny and melancholy, and the tour will be always fascinating as you journey through Scotland and stop in many beautiful, scenic places for castle tours, whiskey or beer tastings, and photo opportunities galore. The only reason I gave this tour 4 stars i/s/o 5 is because of the train. It is not the Hogwarts Express however, the scenery during the ride is stunning and the train from the outside is picture worthy. The Scottish people are welcoming and friendly, the food is fresh and delicious esp. the seafood and most of the restaurants are fabulous esp. on I of S. Book this incredible excursion through Scotland and you will be very glad you did.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Jacey A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Highlands are beautiful and Scotland was my favorite part of the United Kingdom. Our tour guide was a little emotional or maybe on edge at times, he even got short with people. He also gave inaccurate facts along the way. BUT the places we seen were stunning!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Lui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guided tour! Our guide was a wealth of information and sensitive to individual needs.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Anita L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Definitely brings you to places that and #39;s hard to get to unless you drive yourself! Guide was extremely friendly and helpful. The hogwart express was awesome - a must for Harry Potter fans!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour exceeded all our expectations. Tony our tour guide and driver made our tour so enjoyable. His knowledge of facts of the area, and mythology along with song were wonderful. Tony also was very sensitive towards all the guests' needs. Everything ran on time and very calm. Highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Adolfo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a nice tour. Michael, our driver was cool.
The stops in Dunkeld, Hermitage, Newmore and culloden were good. We also got a couple of stops in between like the highlands border and Loch Ness for photos until we reach the absolutely amazing Fort Augustus, located at the bottom of Loch Ness. Be aware that the bus does not stop in Inverness, it just goes through it. I think they should make some time, at least 30 minutes to include a photo stop there.
Oaklands Bed and Breakfast in Fort Augustus was amazing. The hosts were a lovely elder couple.
The second day was really good. We went to Fort William to take the Jacobite train. Although it only reached Glenfinnan because the rail was closed due to some mud collapse, it was a nice ride. The viaduct is beautiful. Then we had lunch in Glencoe, an amazing valley.
HE was kind to take us to Doune Castle as a way to replace the time gap in the Jacobite train. It's a cool castle. Then we got two photo stops in Stirling Castle and Falkir before heading back to Edinburgh.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots of activities crammed into those 3 days. The best was the afternoon spent at Dunvegan Castle

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

lornavuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was truly amazing. We were fortunate to have 3 glorious sunny weather. Our guide Sandy was really fun and told us a lot of folk tales. The sceneries were breathtaking.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Wing Yan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love the tour and love the whole highland experience which the scenery are gorgeous! Howard lead a good tour and bring us to a perfect view for viewing the Hogwarts Express!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message