Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Linlithgow Palace

Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely day at thre palace good for families.

Doing what: Linlithgow Palace Admission Ticket

Kimberlly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so glad we bought this pass! If you are going to visit several places that are listed on the pass, it's well worth the money. We even used it a couple of places that we hadn't planned on.
Go to the Explorer Pass website to see what places are included. There are about 75 throughout the country.
When you purchase this pass on Viator, you print off a voucher, and the turn the voucher in for the pass at one of three places listed on the voucher. It's very simple.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

BeachyCal United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We liked the ease of using our passes, however, I truly feel that a mention of where the passes can be used at prior to purchasing it is necessary. We didn't realize that the passes are primarily used for the castles and few other historic places...but mainly castles. Since we visited 2 castles during our stay Stirling and Edinburgh, it paid for itself. We weren't able to use it at the St. Andrews Castle or the cathedral since we were not able to redeem our vouchers at one of the four locations prior to arriving in St. Andrews. If you don't plan to be near one of the 4 redemption stops...you may want to re-think as to whether or not you will be able to at least get your money's worth.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Creasy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Easy to use and definitely a bargain.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Chloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Save money and easy to use!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A breeze to swap our vouchers for the passes and they have saved us lots of money on entrance fees, well worth it.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Dennis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was brest going to customer service and picking il our pass and then using it immediately to go into the castle.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Thomas W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Having the pass did save time lining up, but it was still a requirement to convert it into a ticket for entry - the Viator voucher was not the access ticket alone.

The guides are very helpful though and it was awesome visiting historic Scotland!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Christy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So glad we purchased the tickets ahead of time, helped with the lines. We discovered the Holyrood House was not included. Had to buy additional tickets for the tour.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Graeme M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value, would recommend the pass to everyone I know who will be travelling to Scotland.
Regards,
Graeme

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Richclift

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see multiple, avoid ticket lines and prepay.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Edson Brasil

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Don't buy if you just go to Edimburgh. Hollyrood House is not included. Save your money and buy the tickets individually.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Carrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. favourite castle near Edinburgh was Craigmillar. Top Abbey - Dunfermeline.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

C K V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to save money, see multiple sites, and avoid lines.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Lianne B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Unfortunately I hardly got to use these passes...many of the castles I wanted to visit in Scotland where not on the list. The only place we used the tickets was the Edinburgh castle and the lineup was only about 10 minutes, so we really didn't save much time.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Lorraine H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great deal if you plan on visiting a lot of castles. We purchased the 7 day so in 14 so we were able to get to enough to we'll pay for the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

David B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Didn't realize that we would get a small discount through our tour company so we ended up paying more with this pass. It did avoid the queue but there weren't really any lines so it wasn't really that big a deal.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

M'lissa H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

barry r

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I really enjoyed my first stop at Edinbrough Castle (5 hours). Next I was redirected by staff to another castle at the opposite end of the Royal Mile only to find they "were not" part of the pass program. The next day I walked a couple of miles to Leith to see the Mariners Museum (free) only to be told that it was closed. Overall I was not impressed by the "bargain" I received from the pass. You really need to research much more before stepping off to see things. This should be told in the sales literature.
Regardless my wander about in Edinbrough was absolutely wonderful and I would recommend this fabulous city to any traveler. Pubs are great, people are friendly and the food is outstanding. The tram from the airport to the city is excellent with a 8 pound round trip fare with many convenient stops. The tram is new, clean and a nice way to see the countryside (30 min ride). Cheers from a New Yorker and Arizonan.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are into old castles and/or abbeys and you have your own car this is awesome!! We were able to see only 12 out of 78 but definitely got our moneys worth. I will buy one again when we go back!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

james gang

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We bought the pass but only used it twice. Should have just purchased the two entries separately. The skip the line feature just sent you to different lines that were just as crowded. Also some of our other tours offered the same discounts.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Kaitlyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great deal! Easy to use. Allows you to bypass long lines.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was very good, telling historical facts interspersed with fun stories. This short trip gave us a taste of Scotland and certainly made us want to come back again and see more of the country.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

SarahB Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Worth the money if you can actually get all the sites in a small amount of time. Otherwise, just pay as you go.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message