Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Linlithgow Palace

Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Frank Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This pass does not pay for itself unless you travel around Scotland - there is only one place in Edinburgh the castle that it covers.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

On our trip we visited Glasgow Cathedral, Stirling Castle, Urquhart Castle, Balvenie Castle, St. Andrew's Castle, St. Andrew's Cathedral and Edinburgh Castle. We purchased out pass before leaving home and it was well worth it. The lines to get in weren't too long when we visited with the exception of Edinburgh Castle and there it was so nice to have a separate line to get to the ticket office. Well Worth It.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Suzieh1947

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very high value for the price. Was able to use it at several places. Wished we could have seen more

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Suzan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was wonderful and we enjoyed every moment!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

MUCH better value. Fewer attractions to see on this but they are all the MUST SEE places and very 'do-able' in the time frames offered.

Good value for money and no waiting in queues.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

peach127_tao

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It is a great experience with the Historic pass, It save me money.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is well worth it to buy if you are visiting more than a few castles. You still have to wait in line. The only thing is there are only a few places that you can convert this purchase into the actual pass. Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and a few others. So you need to make sure one of the spots is one of the first places you visit. Luckily we stopped at Stirling on our first day.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

execme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The pass was wonderful and wonderfully priced from viator. We used it 6 times over the 3 days - well worth the money

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Ron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really liked the pass! Next time we need to rent a car in order to see more places.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Nikos P Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Visit as many historical places of Historic Scotland not Royal as you can and it is great value for money.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pays for itself and more!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Mike_in_Kyiv United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm giving it 5 stars. But we never went to the Edinburgh Castle. We visited Elgin Cathedral, Duffus Castle and Glasgow Cathedral. Nice venues, easy using the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Richard N O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good opportunity to see many must see historical sites.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Liliia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

we managed to visit only Edinburgh caste and Stirling castle during 2 days. Actually one signtseeing place is located often 10 miles away from another one and the only way to visit several places in a day is to travel by car.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely day at thre palace good for families.

Doing what: Linlithgow Palace Admission Ticket

Kimberlly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so glad we bought this pass! If you are going to visit several places that are listed on the pass, it's well worth the money. We even used it a couple of places that we hadn't planned on.
Go to the Explorer Pass website to see what places are included. There are about 75 throughout the country.
When you purchase this pass on Viator, you print off a voucher, and the turn the voucher in for the pass at one of three places listed on the voucher. It's very simple.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

BeachyCal United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We liked the ease of using our passes, however, I truly feel that a mention of where the passes can be used at prior to purchasing it is necessary. We didn't realize that the passes are primarily used for the castles and few other historic places...but mainly castles. Since we visited 2 castles during our stay Stirling and Edinburgh, it paid for itself. We weren't able to use it at the St. Andrews Castle or the cathedral since we were not able to redeem our vouchers at one of the four locations prior to arriving in St. Andrews. If you don't plan to be near one of the 4 redemption stops...you may want to re-think as to whether or not you will be able to at least get your money's worth.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Creasy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Easy to use and definitely a bargain.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Chloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Save money and easy to use!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A breeze to swap our vouchers for the passes and they have saved us lots of money on entrance fees, well worth it.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Dennis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was brest going to customer service and picking il our pass and then using it immediately to go into the castle.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Thomas W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Having the pass did save time lining up, but it was still a requirement to convert it into a ticket for entry - the Viator voucher was not the access ticket alone.

The guides are very helpful though and it was awesome visiting historic Scotland!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Christy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So glad we purchased the tickets ahead of time, helped with the lines. We discovered the Holyrood House was not included. Had to buy additional tickets for the tour.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Graeme M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value, would recommend the pass to everyone I know who will be travelling to Scotland.
Regards,
Graeme

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Richclift

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see multiple, avoid ticket lines and prepay.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message