Who doesn't burst into song when they hear the words 'Loch Lomond'! A must-do day trip destination from Glasgow, this beautiful lake is perhaps only beaten in fame by Loch Ness. Take a drive around the leafy western shore, and notice how the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Trevor Raymond K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was a bit rushed and did not meet our expectations. The Stirling Castle part was great, but the Loch Lomond section left us wanting more. Luckly we visited Loch Lomond at a later time on our visit to Scotland to fully appreciate the area.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

amber_ressmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Jodi as our tour guide and she made this day trip an AMAZING experience!! We drove by Stirling Castle on the way out to Loch Lomond where we could capture some great pictures of the castle with the Hairy Coo's down below. Next stop was Loch Lomond which was a very quaint area and we had adequate time to explore and again, get some fabulous pictures. We circled back to Stirling and just in time to jump into a tour with another amazing tour guide who brings it all back to life! I must admit, I have NEVER had a tour guide as friendly, knowledgable, and captivating as Jodi hope I am spelling her name correctly. She has a deep love and passion for Scottish history and culture! Her tour was flawless and well-timed. She has a charming disposition, and I would HIGHLY recommend making sure you have a tour with her. We went on another tour the following day and did not enjoy our guide at all. All of Scotland is bonnie, but to have a guide such as our bonnie bonnie Jodi created a life-long memory for us and our love of Scotland grew even more with this trip! Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will request a tour with Jodi!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tricia H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Gill our guide was great!! She told us stories and history the entire way. She had a map within reach and on display so she could talk and point as she needed to. The distilleries were good. Yes, as mentioned the sampling is an additional fee at each distillery. 8 pounds for 1 sample and 10 for 2 samples at each place. Glengoyne was really nice, the guide Arthur was very informative. Not as much a fan of guide at Deanston but still interesting as they are different. Lunch was ok, Loch Lomond is small. I did not walk around but I did hear the views were amazing if I would have. Gill even found us time at the end to go and see the Doune castle which of course is in a couple different tv shows. Gill was amazing and very entertaining. She had great music playing when she was not talking. Definitely liked Rabbies tours. Went on a non Rabbies tour the next day and definitely NOT as good!! LOVE GILL!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

kim.stewart8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and a lot of fun. The tour guide was fun and knowledgeable. We had enough time to view the castle and see the graveyard. We got great views of Loch Lomond.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a terrific experience whether you are a scotch fan or not and Paul was a fun tour guide! We visited Glencoyne first which was in production provided a great tour of the facilities and the tastings were excellent! Deanston was not in production but was still a good tour. I would have maybe opted for a Distillery that was in production but it was a good example of how different the Distillery's can be. Lunch could have been a better experience as it appeared the restaurant was prepared for the tours that descended upon it so the service was slow....The food was excellent but the slow service limited our time to wander around Loch Lomond! Still - I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Theresa M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Stirling castle was terrific. There was not much to see at the highlands and Loch Lomond. The driver was terrific. Glad to get to see the architectural three bridges of 3 different centuries.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

PS Dutta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A great tour and visit to Loch Lomond was the highlight! The tour guide was exceptionally good with in-depth knowledge of the places. He made the tour enjoyable with his witty and humorous comments and by leading the nature trail at the Loch Lomond.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Virginia H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Stirling castle is great......Amazing views. ...nice guide. ..highlands are jaw dropping. ...lovely hairy coos.
Very short experience at Loch Lomond. .long time on the bus ..Just a view from up a low hill but not even close to the waters. ..a pity ..This made us quit the idea of going to Loch Ness

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond was a really great experience. The bus was new, modern and comfy, which is not unimportant when you're spending several hours in this vehicle. Our tour guide Graeme was not only a very nice man, he was also funny and really entertaining. During the tour he gave us much interesting information about scottish history, scottish society and mindset and about culture. For example I learned and saw where Sean Connery was born and raised. Although the tour was about 8 hours, it was not too exhausting, because there were several stops in the Highlands for taking pictures. And the two main stops at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond were long enough to explore the grounds. Altogether it was a really good day trip, perfect choice, when you're visiting Edinburgh just for a few days and want to see a little bit more of Scotland. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lenore M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. The castle was amazing so were the 150 steps good for my leg muscles. View was worth it. Loch Lomond was wet so not so good but local pub was.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wee bit of everything. Colossal Kelpies sculpture park, a delicious honeysuckle vanilla malt shop, a stroll along Loch Lomond, Brave Heart offerings, a castle featuring a wedding, Scottish tunes, a hip bus driver/guide. Great value!

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

Teresa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great and made particularly special by our guide Bob who recounted many tales of Scottish history throughout the day. The scenery around Loch Lomond was breathtaking and the walk along the shores was the highlight for us. We travelled with a 14 year old and a pensioner and we were all entertained and enjoyed the day. I would thoroughly recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

MBB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A worthwhile tour. The stop at Sterling Castle is timed such that we could take the docent led tour - definitely recommend this tour of the Castle. The stop at Loch Lomond was good, but the highlight of this tour is Sterling Castle. Both the driver and tour guide were excellent and attentive.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

althea United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Roger was a wonderful guide - he had an endearing love for his country and his storytelling provided a great narrative of this beautiful land. His love for music and folk singers from Scotland added interest to the stories.
Stirling Castle was worth the stop - well preserved castle atop a hill with a great view all around. There are guides that provide tours if one wishes. I loved the scenery.
Loch Lomond, while beautiful, was a little anti-climactic. The part of the lake where we stopped to hike was not majestic at all, just a boat dock, and some shops for tourists.. The bluebelles that spread across the hillsides and the view from the top was worth the short, steep hike.
Because I didn't wish to drive in the UK, the small bus option was perfect.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arthur G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a bit of a disappointed, we were here in the busy season and we got a fill in driver The driver was nice and he knew a lot of history which was very enjoyable. However I would not chose Loch Lomond again, the lake is not very accesible and there is nothing to do there If you don't hike up a hill to see it, then you can't see much of anything. Maybe Loch Ness would be better if this helps in your decision. The place we ate lunch was not so good either. But the saving grace was Stirling Castle this is an amazing and beautiful Castle well worth seeing.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Miam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Not enough time at Stirling. Wanted to see argyll house or wallace monument. Only had about an hour and a half at stirling. Loch Lomond was beautiful though. Our driver was funny! Graham was a bit sarcastic to a fellow member of the tour but he deserved it. Otherwise, good tour

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arthur G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The best part of this tour was Stirling Castle, I loved the castle, it was so interesting and I am glad that they have docents in period dress to talk to. Loch Lomond I would not chose, I think Loch Ness may be better. This Loch Lomond is just not accessible enough. You have to climb a hill to see it. There is nothing to do there but wait. The village we ate at was not good either. The guide tried, he was a part time driver and while we was knowledgeable and informed, he had not done this tour in several years. So Stirling Castle is great so maybe think about a different combination.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of four 2 adult sons had a tremendous time on this Rabbie's tour. Our guide Richard was outstanding, entertaining and informing us throughout. Both distilleries were terrific. We learned a lot and really enjoyed the whiskies. The views along the way were spectacular, and Loch Lomond was lovely. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pavlina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was a memorable experience! It was a very good combination of beautiful scenery, a travel back in the past of Scottish history, charming castles, nice music and as we were lucky - nice weather too. In about 8 hours of travel we were able to see 4 castles and the lakes the castles are located at plus 2 additional lakes - Loch Lubnaig and Loch Lomond. We used to stop at each sight and we were given time to enjoy it and take pictures, while during the travel, our driver and guide John was telling us about the places we visited, interesting stories of Scottish history for example about William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, about the clans and life in the Highlands...After each legend, he played us a traditional Scottish song singing about the same legend, in the end we finished with bagpipes and some contemporary Scottish music like the one of Amy McDonald. John was an extremely good guide, very professional as well as a very kind and friendly person. Throughout all the hours he didn't get tired of telling us stories of Scotland, it was obvious he did this with passion and love for his country and could make us feel the Scottish spirit too :

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tobias R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful Tour with two fantastic Guides. I enjoyed every minute. Stirling Castle is a spectacular Place to visit and Loch Lomond is so beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dianne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful guide Stephen on small group tour. Castle was fascinating and Loch Lomond was beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

epcot01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Lots of time to see the castle and get wonderful pictures of Loch Lomond. Our tour guide Ewen kept us entertained with Scottish history while on route. All in all a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stanwood N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The rain was the only drawback. Joe our tour guide was just great. Knowledgeable, fun, and entertaining. Up the hill to view Loch Lomond was great.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Patricia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this day tour. Our driver Richard was very knowledgeable and interesting. The small buses are very comfortable and can go on narrow roads so you are not on the highways all the time. We had plenty of time at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond. A really relaxing day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I did two tours during my stay in Edinburgh, and both were from Viator. The coach is a very comfortable van, which is great for a full day of driving around, and my guide for this tour was Gordon. He knew a lot about the different castles we visited, and took us to the Campbell Castle ruin, Duone Castle, and Inveraray Castle, in addition to Loch Lubnaig, Loch Lomond, and through some truly picturesque scenery. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message