Who doesn't burst into song when they hear the words 'Loch Lomond'! A must-do day trip destination from Glasgow, this beautiful lake is perhaps only beaten in fame by Loch Ness. Take a drive around the leafy western shore, and notice how the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Theresa M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Stirling castle was terrific. There was not much to see at the highlands and Loch Lomond. The driver was terrific. Glad to get to see the architectural three bridges of 3 different centuries.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond was a really great experience. The bus was new, modern and comfy, which is not unimportant when you're spending several hours in this vehicle. Our tour guide Graeme was not only a very nice man, he was also funny and really entertaining. During the tour he gave us much interesting information about scottish history, scottish society and mindset and about culture. For example I learned and saw where Sean Connery was born and raised. Although the tour was about 8 hours, it was not too exhausting, because there were several stops in the Highlands for taking pictures. And the two main stops at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond were long enough to explore the grounds. Altogether it was a really good day trip, perfect choice, when you're visiting Edinburgh just for a few days and want to see a little bit more of Scotland. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lenore M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. The castle was amazing so were the 150 steps good for my leg muscles. View was worth it. Loch Lomond was wet so not so good but local pub was.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wee bit of everything. Colossal Kelpies sculpture park, a delicious honeysuckle vanilla malt shop, a stroll along Loch Lomond, Brave Heart offerings, a castle featuring a wedding, Scottish tunes, a hip bus driver/guide. Great value!

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

Teresa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great and made particularly special by our guide Bob who recounted many tales of Scottish history throughout the day. The scenery around Loch Lomond was breathtaking and the walk along the shores was the highlight for us. We travelled with a 14 year old and a pensioner and we were all entertained and enjoyed the day. I would thoroughly recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

MBB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A worthwhile tour. The stop at Sterling Castle is timed such that we could take the docent led tour - definitely recommend this tour of the Castle. The stop at Loch Lomond was good, but the highlight of this tour is Sterling Castle. Both the driver and tour guide were excellent and attentive.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

althea United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Roger was a wonderful guide - he had an endearing love for his country and his storytelling provided a great narrative of this beautiful land. His love for music and folk singers from Scotland added interest to the stories.
Stirling Castle was worth the stop - well preserved castle atop a hill with a great view all around. There are guides that provide tours if one wishes. I loved the scenery.
Loch Lomond, while beautiful, was a little anti-climactic. The part of the lake where we stopped to hike was not majestic at all, just a boat dock, and some shops for tourists.. The bluebelles that spread across the hillsides and the view from the top was worth the short, steep hike.
Because I didn't wish to drive in the UK, the small bus option was perfect.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arthur G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a bit of a disappointed, we were here in the busy season and we got a fill in driver The driver was nice and he knew a lot of history which was very enjoyable. However I would not chose Loch Lomond again, the lake is not very accesible and there is nothing to do there If you don't hike up a hill to see it, then you can't see much of anything. Maybe Loch Ness would be better if this helps in your decision. The place we ate lunch was not so good either. But the saving grace was Stirling Castle this is an amazing and beautiful Castle well worth seeing.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Miam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Not enough time at Stirling. Wanted to see argyll house or wallace monument. Only had about an hour and a half at stirling. Loch Lomond was beautiful though. Our driver was funny! Graham was a bit sarcastic to a fellow member of the tour but he deserved it. Otherwise, good tour

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arthur G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The best part of this tour was Stirling Castle, I loved the castle, it was so interesting and I am glad that they have docents in period dress to talk to. Loch Lomond I would not chose, I think Loch Ness may be better. This Loch Lomond is just not accessible enough. You have to climb a hill to see it. There is nothing to do there but wait. The village we ate at was not good either. The guide tried, he was a part time driver and while we was knowledgeable and informed, he had not done this tour in several years. So Stirling Castle is great so maybe think about a different combination.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of four 2 adult sons had a tremendous time on this Rabbie's tour. Our guide Richard was outstanding, entertaining and informing us throughout. Both distilleries were terrific. We learned a lot and really enjoyed the whiskies. The views along the way were spectacular, and Loch Lomond was lovely. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pavlina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was a memorable experience! It was a very good combination of beautiful scenery, a travel back in the past of Scottish history, charming castles, nice music and as we were lucky - nice weather too. In about 8 hours of travel we were able to see 4 castles and the lakes the castles are located at plus 2 additional lakes - Loch Lubnaig and Loch Lomond. We used to stop at each sight and we were given time to enjoy it and take pictures, while during the travel, our driver and guide John was telling us about the places we visited, interesting stories of Scottish history for example about William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, about the clans and life in the Highlands...After each legend, he played us a traditional Scottish song singing about the same legend, in the end we finished with bagpipes and some contemporary Scottish music like the one of Amy McDonald. John was an extremely good guide, very professional as well as a very kind and friendly person. Throughout all the hours he didn't get tired of telling us stories of Scotland, it was obvious he did this with passion and love for his country and could make us feel the Scottish spirit too :

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tobias R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful Tour with two fantastic Guides. I enjoyed every minute. Stirling Castle is a spectacular Place to visit and Loch Lomond is so beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dianne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful guide Stephen on small group tour. Castle was fascinating and Loch Lomond was beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

epcot01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Lots of time to see the castle and get wonderful pictures of Loch Lomond. Our tour guide Ewen kept us entertained with Scottish history while on route. All in all a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stanwood N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The rain was the only drawback. Joe our tour guide was just great. Knowledgeable, fun, and entertaining. Up the hill to view Loch Lomond was great.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Patricia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this day tour. Our driver Richard was very knowledgeable and interesting. The small buses are very comfortable and can go on narrow roads so you are not on the highways all the time. We had plenty of time at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond. A really relaxing day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I did two tours during my stay in Edinburgh, and both were from Viator. The coach is a very comfortable van, which is great for a full day of driving around, and my guide for this tour was Gordon. He knew a lot about the different castles we visited, and took us to the Campbell Castle ruin, Duone Castle, and Inveraray Castle, in addition to Loch Lubnaig, Loch Lomond, and through some truly picturesque scenery. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeremy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour with an enchanting guide from Rabbie's Tours. Stirling Castle was all I imagined a castle should be. I do wish we had a bit more time to take some pictures in Sterling, but it was a full day. Loch Lomond was beautiful as was the drive to and from.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful Summer day and this enhanced the day tour. The guide/driver was very knowledgeable and her commentary enhanced the drive. There was ample time allowed at Stirling Castle so you could explore all areas. The drive from the Castle to Loch Lomond via the Highlands was beautiful and we stopped for lunch at a very picturesque village which had plenty of options available to purchase food.

Overall an excellent day was had and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite castle of all the ones I visited in Ireland and Scotland. You must do this! And our tour guide was very enthusiastic and told us interesting information about the history of Scotland. He even took us on a personalized walk to view Loch Lomond. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jazz1611

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour group was not too big , the mini bus driver / tour guide Sarah was friendly, humourous and knowledgeable . My son got nauseous during the winding drive at Loch Lomond and the bus stopped by the side right away for a few minutes .
Highly recommended !

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

tkornbau

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide told us interesting things about Scotland on the ride, but left the whisky information to the guides at the distilleries. One needs to pay for tastings at the distillery beyond the cost of the tour. Both distilleries were closer to Glasgow then Edinburgh making me wonder why they did not depart from Glasgow, which would have been more convenient for me. Once we got on the road, we learned that lunch at Loch Lomond was cancelled since the road was going to be closed. We went to an alternate location which was nice but somewhat disappointing. Having said all that I would probably do it again.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond are beautiful. Grant, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and just delightful. We really enjoyed it. Thanks.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great trip. Dan our guide from Rabbies was exceptionally knowledgeable. Stirling castle is worth the stop with great views of the surrounding areas, the castle is being worked on but 90% can be visited. We arrived at Loch Lomond to see the sun setting and were able to get great pictures. An enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message