Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Holyrood

The Palace of Holyrood House, sometimes called Holyrood Palace, faces Edinburgh Castle along the length of the Royal Mile. Like its majestic companion, it's riddled with some of Scotland's most potent history.  The Abbey in the grounds was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

byrerlj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved seeing both the Castle and Holyrood in our short stay in Edinburgh! Such a great way to get an overview for reference. Now I'm already looking forward to my next trip, only it will be much longer, so we can fit in deeper exploration.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

marcia b b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hop on hop off two day bus ticket was perfect. We rode four different buses going around the city for two days and it took us to everything we wanted to see. The green bus is an excellent introduction to Edinburgh with a live guide. We stopped at Holyrood House, the Royal Botanic Garden, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Bobby, and saw more sites than we could visit in our time in Edinburgh. The only drawback is that some of the buses stop running by about 5 pm and that wasn't always late enough to catch one back to our hotel area, so we ended up riding a city bus one evening. Not a big deal, but it would be convenient if each route ran until 7 or 8 pm. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hop on hop off two day bus ticket!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Hop-on Hop-off tour is the only way to become familiar with a City you haven't visited before. Most of the buses had guides or earbuds with commentary. Driving around in Edinburgh is in my opinion, horrendous and even walking can be difficult trying not to get lost. There are numerous sights to visit with The Museum of Scotland, Dynamic Earth and Royal Yacht Britannia being highlights.Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse are alright but i'm about castled out at this point.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kay T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed using the hop-on and hop-off bus for two days while touring Edinburgh. We did have to wait quite a while to get the correct bus after we toured Holyroodhouse. Several other buses passed us before the correct one arrived. Something to consider is knowing exactly where they stop and where you want to go because we missed our stop on the Royal mile the first time because the driver didn't make an announcement.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Christopher C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I am a huge walker and so I could have easily done without this tour. However, the great aspect of this tour is the fact that you also get a fast track ticket to the Edinburgh Castle which could easily save you hours in line depending on the time of day you go. You also get tickets to the Holyrood Palace and the Royal Navy ship. I didn't have any inkling of venturing out to the harbor to hop on the boat been on too many in my life. I also couldn't utilize the Palace ticket as the Queen was in town and that is her residence while in Scotland. I feel like I was one of the few to get on AND OFF at locations. Most people just stayed on through the whole ride. If you want to get a nice tour of the most touristy parts of the city, and also learn a little bit of history to boot, then it's worthwhile. I personally wouldn't use it again and wish I could get a partial refund of my unused Holyrood and Royal Ship ticket. I'm not upset about it though and would say to use this to get around the city. It's a beautiful city.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Debra C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Edinburgh is a beautiful and fabulous city. Unfortunately, the day we were there, it rained pretty much all day and most of the buses were open top and too crowded below for sufficient seating. Also, the Queen was in residence the day we visited so although we paid additional for the tour of Holyrood Palace, it was closed for tours that day. We ended up cutting our tour short and returning to Inverness by train

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

leslie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

holyrood house and the royal yacht were my favorites. enjoyed the history in the yacht especially. didn't realize the royal family had a royal yacht since the 1600's. royal tour worth the price of the ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Lorraine D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This ticket is ideal, the on/off buses are an ideal way to get around Edinburgh. The only negative was that Holyrood house was closed and I didnt get a refund.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant value-for-money tour. We enjoyed 48 hours of sightseeing all the major sights of the city - including the Castle and Holyrood Palace and Royal Yacht Britannia on the Quuens 90th as an added bonus. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible with limited time availability

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Annette R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful day at castle ,walked down Royal Mile to Holyrood palace. Used hop on / off bus to see the Britannia ship-great time, then did 3 routes around Edinburgh. Worth the value of ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour is quite simply fantastic value for money and one of the best ways to see as much of Edinburgh as possible in a short space of time - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going there. Also great value for money with fast tracked entry to Britannia Yacht, Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse. It's worth knowing that attractions close at 4pm at weekends in winter?? so you should plan your day with that in mind.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laurelee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day we had with this one!! We used our Hop-On Hop-Off pass which included passes to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. These two attractions were simply amazing and wonderful. especially the castle.
The tour itself around Edinburgh was entertaining and interesting as well. The commentator was informative and amusing as well. Highly recommend if you are in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

glendahall13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very cold wet weekend in Edinburgh but this 3 in one tour ticket experience we felt well worth it.
Hop on bus good value and stops located well.
Holyrood House well worth it too
Really enjoyed the Royal Yacht.
and Edinburgh castle was excellent even though we did get wet through doing the visit.
Both Holyrood , Castle and Royal Yacht we had straight through entry with no waiting included in the price

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Josephine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a wonderful tour -you have the freedom to hop on and off for two whole days and then you have the entrance tickets included for Holyrood,Royal Yacht Britannia and the castle -excellent value for money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

dkedwards

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

As usual, Hop On Hop Off is the best way to see the hot spots! Having 4 buses to choose from, each with their slightly different route and commentary method, was also good. Glad we got the 48hour ticket. Also, having our tickets to the Castle, Holyroodhouse and Brittannia meant we didn't have to line up thus giving us more time at these places!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very great experience, but I expect to get some repayment due to Holyrood Palace was closed to visitors due to Her Majesties Queen Elisabeth was expected to arrive in some days.
We could not visit the Palace either saturday nor sunday, and the Queen has not even arrived monday.
Newertheless all guides / earphones were excellent, If you could understand their english, which was closed to scottish.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent way to see all the sights in Edinburgh! This price includes the castle Britannia, and Holyrood. It's a great deal.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Caitlin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent Value for money. The express entrance into the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace was very nice and having access to all 4 tours meant that I saw all of the sites in the city that I wanted to see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

k.dossin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was great. Enjoyed all three of the main attractions Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse, and Royal Britannia included with the Royal Edinburgh ticket. Hop-On, Hop-Off bus is also a great way to get about and learn the history of the city, and the staff are always so helpful if you have questions about which bus line to take or which stop you need to get off at.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to tour a city. Exceptional tour done of Holyrood Palace.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kim w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing deal. The old Routemaster bus was the best tour guide with life commentary. the ladies that we had were terrific and full of knowledge, it also brought back memories for me as my parents own a Routemaster bus. there are 4 buses to use 2 with life tour guides and others are audio. we a central place to pick up either of the 4 buses and also places of interest where they all go as well so you can use either of the buses. Only the Blue Bus takes you to Britannia. We enjoy visiting Edinburgh Castle. there is a free tour with guide of the castle. Holyrood House and HMS Britannia have audio tours. I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Edinburgh. best way to get round and plenty of history as well.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message