Gracious Princes Street, with its epic length, gardens, stellar shopping, and knockout views, is the central vein of Edinburgh and one of Europe's great thoroughfares. It’s also at the center of the city’s world-famous Hogmanay (New Year’s Eve) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mahen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

More info or a guided tour in Edinburgh would have been more enjoyable.
Overall it was a very good tour and experience. The train ride with Virgin was great too.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

kamaloid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was through Evan Evans. The contact person at the train station was very helpful, explaining in detail the itinerary and walking us to the train. Traveled coach with assigned seats so I don and #39;t think traveling first class is necessary. Used Hop on/Hop off to get to Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Tanya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We met the travel agent exactly on time and where we were told she would be. She was very helpful in telling us how and when to do things to optimize our time in Edinburgh as it was an unguided tour. The trip was awesome! Our family of 6 is Scottish so we thoroughly enjoyed the history of the city. Take a few minutes to go to the Edinburgh museum in the old city, its free and very informative. The inclusion of skip the line tickets was a lifesaver as the weather was very nice and the castle was very busy.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Mitesh C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Edinburgh bus and boat tour. The Forth Bridge is an amazing feat of engineering and worth going to. The boat tour was great and I also got to see seals. You get great view of the Forth Bridges!

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

FLFOWLER

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I would not recommend this trip to anyone. Almost 5 hours to Scotland and not much to see on the way up or back. Only 4 hours in Edinburgh, we saw the castle. Hop on/off again was useless die to congestion. The trip back was delayed more than a hour due signal problems in London. To us it was a waste of money and time. Better to stay in London and see more there.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

J Brent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

While I have given this tour the 5 star highly-recommended rating, I would also point out that Viator doesn't get the credit, Insight Vacations the actual tour provider receives the accolades. Our booking confirmation from Viator stated a 7:15 am pickup in London on day one, with no mention of Insights involvement in the process. In fact Viator had stated if we had any issues we should contact their provider Evan Evans tours. No sign of a bus by 7:45...I call Evan Evans and they inform me they haven't worked with Viator in years. No contact info for Viator provided other than an email address.
Thinking at this point our tour is a bust, a bus pulls up just after 8:00 am from Insight and I'm relieved to find our names on their list. Poor and incorrect information from Viator will have me dealing directly with Insight in future. As for the tour, great work by our Insight director Brad Dick and driver Michael Elliot. Two top-notch professionals who kept us on track and made this quick tour one of the most interesting we've been on. A great sampler for those hoping to come back to Britain for a lengthier stay at one or more of these locations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the tour very much despite the long days on the bus. Cardiff was a waste as you arrive after the castle closes and there isn't much to do in the city. Our guide gave us 2 hours at Stonehenge which everyone agreed was too long while we could have used the time in Bath. Bus was comfortable and wifi worked for the most part. Our tour guide, Tom, was knowledgeable and accommodating..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. We went first class the the seating was great. The meal at the end of the day left much to be desired.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good tour but you can probably arrange this one on your own. Train ride through the countryside is beautiful and Edinburgh Castle is beautiful and very historic. Since there is no tour guide, I would recommend staying overnight so that you have enough time to see more of the sights. The train trip takes 4 1/2 hrs each way so there isn't a great deal of time to see the sights if you're trying to do it in one day like we did.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day. Very long but well worth it. The train travel was long but being prepared with reading material made the time pass quickly.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Joel W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I picked the first class option for the rail trip and quite enjoyed my ride. The included bus tour in Edinburgh is potentially quite useful if you've never been there or are unsure of what to see. Included entry to Edinburgh Castle is quite nice and allows you to skip a lot of lines. Time in Edinburgh is limited and the city has a lot to offer so I recommend prioritizing and eating on the train if possible. Overall a very good experience.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Regina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip. Sit back and relax on your train trip. Once you reach your destination- everything was great!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Karl R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A great tour and travel for the price. The tour rep met us at the train station time and clearly explained the trip details. Each voucher was used with ease and was seamless.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

jasvols

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A long day 6:30 am - 10:15 pm with 9.5 hours of that time spent on the train. The tour representative meets you at the train station that morning, hands you a packet with the train tickets, etc., and then explains how to catch the train. From that point forward, you are on your own.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

lcatwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is really great if you get the same tour director we had. It is an Insight tour with a lot of space on the bus. We saw almost all of Great Britain but don't plan to spend much time anywhere. This gave us a good overview and if we came back we would have ideas of where to spend time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

kj_bloomer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful land to see as you travel. Great experience. Tour guide was good for being new at it. Not sure Sundays are the best day to take this tour, Some of the places were closed.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Anne E B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The train trip was easy and went by quickly. Edinburgh is easy to manage and the tour operators make it simple to get on board the train, buses and in the castle. It was not a guided tour, but it's not a problem because the Edinburgh Waverly Station is central to the things you want to see. Overall, I would highly recommend taking a day and going to Scotland!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

China Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A little difficult to find the meeting point. The guide briefed us on the day, gave us our tickets and we were off to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

klivesey7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I would recommend this tour-without a doubt. Like many of the reviews I read, the 4.5 hr train ride went by so quickly! Although of course it would have been nice to have more time in Edinburgh-I felt that we were able to see and do everything we wanted to within the time frame we were given about 4-5 hours. We met a tour rep at Kings Cross Station and she was great. She handed us a packet of information including maps, brochures, and ticket information. She even gave us some advice as to what to see, what streets were best for shopping etc. My husband and I are so thrilled that we decided to do this!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Laurette R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a long day, but it was a nice tour. Guide met us at the station and got us on our way. It would have been better if it hadn't rained :

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. Edinburgh was more than expected.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

GLENNIS New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip well worth the money, saw everything we wanted, train trip each way great. First class the way to go, comfortable seats and food very nice

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Jean C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip was good. The group was kept small and the coach was spacious. The guide bringing us for the 5 days is very informative and nice. He tries to help in whatever he can. 5 days and you get to visit some of the main attractoons in Britain. A wonderful trip all in all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message