Bookended by Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile (it's actually slightly longer than a mile) is the grand center of Edinburgh's Old Town. The Royal Mile is dominated by granite, giving it a dark, Gothic feel, and lined with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rasaky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Wendy was a wealth of knowledge and we really loved our walking tour so much information and history along the Royal Mile and then the Castle Edinburgh Castle is spectacular, would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour with Stuart Usher. 2 adults, 2 tweens on a rainy day in Edinburgh. Stuart taught us about the city's history, old town and new town, the grassmarket, Royal Mile, St. Giles and about the city's architecture. We concluded our walking tour at the Scottish National Gallery. A nice walk.

Doing what: Edinburgh Guided Walking Tour

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great little tour. Helps you understand the Royal Mile a little better. Edinburgh Castle is spectacular. Could have spent a whole day just exploring that. I have forgotten our tour guides name but she was sweet woman and was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative and interesting walk with the gracious Stuart Usher. I booked this walk for my first day in Edinburgh and it was a nice way to get oriented in the city and walk off some of the jet lag. This is a 3-hour tour centered in the old city, mostly around the Royal Mile, but ended at the National Gallery, with moderate walking and a nice stop for tea. Highly recommend this intimate and interesting tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Guided Walking Tour

Annette R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful day at castle ,walked down Royal Mile to Holyrood palace. Used hop on / off bus to see the Britannia ship-great time, then did 3 routes around Edinburgh. Worth the value of ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed my Edinburgh Historical walking tour of the Royal Mile very much! Our guide Hannah was great, well informed, friendly, warm and funny. I learned some very interesting details about the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Nadezhda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful walk along and around the Royal Mile but also in the history of Edinburgh. Alex, the guide, was very knowledgeable and so artistic that made the tour really nice!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

skclaudi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Sue did a fantastic job. She is super knowledgable and kept the group involved and together not easy on a busy Royal Mile. I truly enjoyed this tour, but wear good shoes. The distance did not bother me, but the uneven rocks and paving made for sore feet at the end of the day. I completely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Donna V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing tour! The guide was very knowledgeable and group size was not too large at all. We found the historical facts and legends about the Royal Mile and Castle very interesting and amusing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Pamela K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time, caught the bus to The Royal Yacht which was fantastic! then bus back to the castle- it was extremely busy but well worth visiting, then walked the Royal Mile to Hollyrood Palace which we enjoyed very much and the bus back up the hill. We coul shave doen more if our time permitted and he city was not having such a busy weekend.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

krivet

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour offered by Mercat. What seemed to be unfortunate was it was held on a festival day with road closures and extra people on the Royal Mile. However, this didn't impact the group at all as our experienced guide took us around the groups and through unique alleyways, sharing the fascinating history of the area as we went. She was a brilliant guide who shared stories filled with not only facts but humour and intrigue. I would gladly join her for another day about the city and certainly found this tour set the stage for learning about Scottish history. Thanks so much, Mercat.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Michel Remy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An informative tour by Mr. Stuart Usher from a long lineage of over 200 years. You meet at the Usher Hall to start your tour. In no order you proceed by the Castle, Riddles Court from the 1590s, to the Deacons House where Jerkle and Hyde was written, down the Royal Mile, into St Giles Cathedral, among other places and stops, into the museum where Mr. Usher gives you some very good clues about evaluating paintings. The tour ends here.
If you are doing the morning tour, afterwards, you might want to invite Mr. Usher fo a light snack in the park, to learn more, before he starts his afternoon tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Guided Walking Tour

CHELSEA L S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had such a wonderful time in the rain! Even though it was pouring, our guide was extremely informative and offered us wonderful information about everything to see in the area. She gave us great information about what life was once like as time passed throughout Edinburgh. There is so much history in the area and I highly recommend a tour of the Royal Mile!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Yvonne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was interesting to find out things that are not commonly know about the Royal Mile. Although after several days of visiting Edinburgh my feet were aching nothing to do with this tour by-the-way. It is worth every penny!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Eric K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We used the tour when we first arrived in Edinburgh to get an overview of what was in the city. This worked well for us as we were able to return the next morning to do some shopping on the Royal Mile and see some of the museums using the tour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stacey B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable in the Secrets of the Royal Mile, and she was extremely enthusiastic, despite the weather. It poured down rain...and somewhere in the middle of the torrential down pour, it hailed. I know it wasn't the tour guide or Viator's fault, but it definitely made the tour less enjoyable.

I would HIGHLY recommend the tour to others, and I would recommend the option to add the castle admission at the end. Just be aware that the weather in Edinburgh is tricky! The sun was out when we left our hotel that morning, and there were rainbows at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Brooke G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great guide. I enjoyed the information that was covered. This tour should be longer. We spent a lot of time in one general area of the Royal Mile and learned a lot, however we did not cover the entire Royal Mile which was disappointing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent and well worth it! More in-depth history of the royal mile, along with going behind the scenes to the court building, down some of the closes, good information on history of the area.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Colette V H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful tour! We got to see so much of the local flavor. Rather than fighting the crowds of "The Fringe Festival", our guide took us into quieter places, gave us the historical background, then took us back to the Royal Mile where we were able to see the places he had told us about.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Amy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We went on this tour during our first day in Edinburgh and it was such a great introduction to the Royal Mile. Our tour guide was really great and informative. He took us into the old Parliament building, which was definitely a highlight. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Pamela J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very informative guide and interesting information given. The tour goes at a comfortable pace for all the up hill walking involved. It covers only a portion of the Royal Mile.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Irma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Despite we had a loud parade the day of the walking tour on the Royal Mile, the guide was able to still share the secret of the tour and was great. So worth doing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Kimberley W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This is a great way to get from one end of the Royal Mile to the other without having to hike up the hill! It also gives you a good tour of the entire Royal Mile over the audio guide, so it's perfect if you're only in Edinburgh for a short time. It's also a good start to your stay, since it gives you an overview of what's there. One of the stops is the Museum of Scotland. It's well worth the stop, and it's free admission.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Roderick G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Buses clean and very very regular. Staff efficient and friendly. Pity the standard circuit is restricted to castle, royal mile etc and doesn't cover New Town and Leith for Brittannia.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amy-Michigan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great afternoon spent on the Royal Mile. Thank you!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message