Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953 and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when the vessel was decommissioned. Few yachts can boast such an illustrious career as the Royal Yacht Britannia, having sailed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sylvain P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent attraction to see and explore the simplicity of a famous Royal Yacht. You won't be disappointed with your tour as there are so many exhibits to appreciate.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I don't remember being informed of the castle admission with the purchase of this ticket or I would not have purchased the castle ticket separately.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

byrerlj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved seeing both the Castle and Holyrood in our short stay in Edinburgh! Such a great way to get an overview for reference. Now I'm already looking forward to my next trip, only it will be much longer, so we can fit in deeper exploration.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

marcia b b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hop on hop off two day bus ticket was perfect. We rode four different buses going around the city for two days and it took us to everything we wanted to see. The green bus is an excellent introduction to Edinburgh with a live guide. We stopped at Holyrood House, the Royal Botanic Garden, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Bobby, and saw more sites than we could visit in our time in Edinburgh. The only drawback is that some of the buses stop running by about 5 pm and that wasn't always late enough to catch one back to our hotel area, so we ended up riding a city bus one evening. Not a big deal, but it would be convenient if each route ran until 7 or 8 pm. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hop on hop off two day bus ticket!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Hop-on Hop-off tour is the only way to become familiar with a City you haven't visited before. Most of the buses had guides or earbuds with commentary. Driving around in Edinburgh is in my opinion, horrendous and even walking can be difficult trying not to get lost. There are numerous sights to visit with The Museum of Scotland, Dynamic Earth and Royal Yacht Britannia being highlights.Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse are alright but i'm about castled out at this point.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Rita C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the city and avoid walking up and down all those hills.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kaitie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very fun, very cool! Maybe a slightly more detailed
Map would be nice and have a covered top level. But it was fun!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Liliane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great choice! We can hop on hop off any bus, route and people are nice and friendly. Thanks Scotland!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

themeehans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great value and a great choice for us. Loved the castle, yacht and palace and had hop on hop off privileges to all the buses and routes. Well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very helpful drivers and useful headphones for the tours. Bad weather, but the fact that the top decks of some of the tours buses were half-roofed helped a lot.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Britannia tour is fantastic we would recommend it one hundred percent. Having lunch in the tea room is a must : :
Marian, Tricia and Catherine July 2016

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

tomroesing United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very worthwhile. We travelled on all four buses and got a really good overview of the city. The advance tickets for the castle, Royal yacht and the palace meant we skipped some very long lines. While it rained off and on during our 48 hours that didn't cause any problems. It was very atmospheric. Also we took advantage of the hop on buses to get out of the worst of the rain. The 48 hours is truly 48 hours. We started off at noon one day and ended at noon two days later. We did as others suggested and rode the entire route before deciding where to hop off. It worked nicely to get us oriented. This is well worth booking.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was amazing. The commentary was very well done and the flow of the self tour was steady but not rushed. So pleased we visited the Royal Yacht.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Debi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a deal! I only wish we had had more time. The drivers were charming, the tours interesting and informative and the sights too wonderful to describe. this was an excellent value and our skip the line ticket to Edinburgh Castle was worth the whole price.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

sandys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very convenient and easy to use. On our last day we simply road around and listened to the narrative in the warm sunshine!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Raymond J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic !!!!!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Nicholas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Takes all the places you need to visit, friendly commentary, plus you get 48 hours so no rush

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Joseph D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour, a great way to see the city!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Lesli F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth buying for the admission tickets so you don't have to stand in any lines! There were several options for the bus routes and definitely needed to get to the yacht. I recommend taking the live guided route first as their commentary is better than the recorded ones. People who worked for company were all friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Erin P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a brilliant experience to be able to walk the decks that have been witness to so much history. I would recommend that you buy your tickets online before your visit to save yourself a wait in the long line. It's a self guided tour that has been very well thought out, and flows easily from one room to the next. Set aside a couple of hours so you can take in all of the pictures of the Royal family, which are spread throughout the yacht, and definitely have lunch at the on board restaurant. The food was delicious, as was the glass of bubbles! How often do you get the chance to dine where royalty once did???

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message