Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953 and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when the vessel was decommissioned. Few yachts can boast such an illustrious career as the Royal Yacht Britannia, having sailed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 290 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kaitie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very fun, very cool! Maybe a slightly more detailed
Map would be nice and have a covered top level. But it was fun!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Liliane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great choice! We can hop on hop off any bus, route and people are nice and friendly. Thanks Scotland!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

themeehans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great value and a great choice for us. Loved the castle, yacht and palace and had hop on hop off privileges to all the buses and routes. Well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very helpful drivers and useful headphones for the tours. Bad weather, but the fact that the top decks of some of the tours buses were half-roofed helped a lot.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Britannia tour is fantastic we would recommend it one hundred percent. Having lunch in the tea room is a must : :
Marian, Tricia and Catherine July 2016

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

tomroesing United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very worthwhile. We travelled on all four buses and got a really good overview of the city. The advance tickets for the castle, Royal yacht and the palace meant we skipped some very long lines. While it rained off and on during our 48 hours that didn't cause any problems. It was very atmospheric. Also we took advantage of the hop on buses to get out of the worst of the rain. The 48 hours is truly 48 hours. We started off at noon one day and ended at noon two days later. We did as others suggested and rode the entire route before deciding where to hop off. It worked nicely to get us oriented. This is well worth booking.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Debi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a deal! I only wish we had had more time. The drivers were charming, the tours interesting and informative and the sights too wonderful to describe. this was an excellent value and our skip the line ticket to Edinburgh Castle was worth the whole price.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best, but a bit pricy. WE got a two day deal, because you need two days to see everything. Also, be sure and ride it once all the way around with a guide to hear the history. It is well worth it, and a great way to hop around.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Alexandru A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I loved the tour. I recommend it for boat lovers. Lovely trip!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

kiwi2nz United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great opportunity to see the sights with one set of buses easy to distinguish. Viator didn't offer much of a dscount. The price was 51 GBP directly. PLUS the palace was closed due to Royal Week - paid for an attraction I could not visit - the site and tour should have advised and not sold tickets to that attraction.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gmail

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Went first thing in the morning, was great to roam around without a crowd. Audio guide very informative.
Thoroughly enjoyed my tea and gluten free food in the tea room.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

l_m_bolton

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see the main attractions - the Royal Yacht Britannia was a wonderful experience - complete with cream tea !

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

jmclean

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The Hop on Hop Off bus was very good taking us around the city to get our bearings.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour a must for visitors to Edinburgh. Staff friendly and helpful. Well worth stopping part way through the tour for sustainance at the Deck cafe - can recommend the cheese scones!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Brent J New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gotta say Hop on Hop off is a great way to see a city if time is limited.....Edinburgh Castle is a must see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Tim D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lots of fun....saw a lot in a short period of time.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

nathan s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour worked out well for our group of 6 people and we felt like it was wroth the money

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

leslie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

holyrood house and the royal yacht were my favorites. enjoyed the history in the yacht especially. didn't realize the royal family had a royal yacht since the 1600's. royal tour worth the price of the ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the only way to see Edinburgh so easy to hop on and hop off, tour guides excellent, bus guides no queuing and the whole experience highly recommended.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message