Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953 and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when the vessel was decommissioned. Few yachts can boast such an illustrious career as the Royal Yacht Britannia, having sailed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 346 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

we enjoyed our trip very much should have stayed longer excellent service

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Beth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Bus was helpful for getting around. The castle was truly interesting and we enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

our trip was amazing my husband really enjoyed it as he is ex navy

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Gina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. It's so easy hopping on and off the buses and with the Royal Edinburgh Ticket you can take any of the different hop-on buses to see different parts of the city. It was a great value having Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Yacht Britannia. Just a note, if you use the red buses, you cannot get to the Yacht Britannia, but the red buses will take you there. Be sure to ask when getting your ticket. Other than that, great value.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Margaret O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tours were amazing, very beautiful and informative. Catching the buses was easy - there are many and they are frequent. Spreading the 3 site tours over two days a must. Way too much to see to be rushed.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Taryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the multiple stops just around the corner from our hotel. We loved it - seeing all the sites, getting on and off as we liked! Castle Edinburgh and Holyrood house were spectacular, but we ran out of time and never saw the royal yacht. Still a great deal.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Judith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hop on hop off is the way to go! Great way to get around the city. Such history at the castle and a beautiful location. To see the city from that vantage point!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice to relax on bud and listen to guides whilst travelling to Castle etc, especially when its raining, drivers where polite and helpfull

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sharon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good value for money. Having pre-booked tickets for the Castle. Holyrood and Britannia saved loads of time the queues for tickets were VERY long. Also being able to use all the tour buses was very convenient as I just got on the next one to come along instead of having to wait for a particular bus.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Terri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Most organized hop on hop off I have been on. Definitely worth the 48 hour pass. So much to do in this lovely town, that this just makes sense. Just grrreat!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hop on hop off tours were excellent. The people were so friendly and knowledgable with lots of humour thrown in for good measure. I would highly recommend seeing the Royal Mile this way.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is definitely the right way to get an initial overview of Edinburgh. Be sure and get the vintage MacTour bus that has an actual live narrator/story teller. You are going to want to see the 3 features that are included --The Castle, The Palace, and the Royal Yacht Britannia -- and the ticket price represents savings on all three. There are four different routes one can take, which is very efficient.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Yufang L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best investment in this trip, ever. The Hop-On Hop-Off Tour was excellent to get around town, but the inclusive ticket to Edinburgh allowed me to walk past the hour long line waiting to buy entry ticket, to go directly to the gate. Well worth the ticket price!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

lisawolfe61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do this and listen to all the history. The 3 entry tickets that are a part of this ticket is a must. Taking this tour is much cheaper than getting it there. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Daryl R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Rhonda L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The buses are fantastic! What a great way to get around the city! Well worth the money just to see the castle!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Chrisguffey

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Buses were very nice and had good commentary and helpful drivers. It was difficult to identify pick up stops when done with attraction. They were not the same as drop off. Signs need to be more clear and maps better.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very good! It was a little difficult to find the kiosk where we were to pick up the tickets. It was raining profusely and very crowded due to the Fringe. I had directions but was looking for a building NOT a kiosk. BUT, once we got our tickets, we were pleased.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

LEO

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Hop on Hop off is definitely the best way to see the sights around the centre of the city but give the Edinburgh Castle a miss unless you are really interested in huge crowds and military history. The Palace and the Yacht Britannia are well worth the visit

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Made good use of the hop-on-hop off. The drivers provided good information

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Synthia l

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

great value, but very disappointed I talked with a representative before booking and he assured me that there was a bus stop at St. Andrews Golf Course and town I realize there is a St. Andrews Square in the city, but I talked with your representative about seeing the golf course for my husband sorry we couldn't make that happen :!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Siobhan H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The Trip to Botanica was the best, The castle is ok, fantastic views of the city, Hollyrood is good if you into history, am afraid I had enough of castles. The Hop on and off tours were a great way to get a feel for Edinburgh and learn so much about them

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message