Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953 and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when the vessel was decommissioned. Few yachts can boast such an illustrious career as the Royal Yacht Britannia, having sailed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Used this for getting around Edinburgh. Lots of buses, everyone was helpful and nice.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jason A United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was excellent. the green bus has live commentary and this was very good and kept it interesting. All 3 bus routes were good but some repetition in the centre . we did find them useful to move around the city.
all three royal locations were also excellent and a real mix . the whole package is a great introduction into Edinburgh and I felt was very good value.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

francis d

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

good tour but tea and any food very pricey

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

simspanoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative and appreciated the complimentary tickets for Edinburgh Castle AND Palace of Hollyrood. Both attractions were fantastic must-sees.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a gateau tour of the ship highly recommended for everyone ,not to be missed

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

richbailey73

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip to Edinburgh and this ticket is a must..Three excellent tours and the bus tour for 48 hrs as well..gets you everywhere you need and saves you a bundle too boot..what's not too like !!.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Karen W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I love hop on and off tours. Great way to get a good overview of a new location.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gay M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great way to get a glimpse of Edinburgh and get into good attractions at a reasonable price.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gail C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Make sure you organize your time really well, especially if you accept the admissions for the bonuses -- too me, all must sees. We were there over the holidays so it was important to know when the Royal Yacht Brittania was open Saturday vs Edinburgh Castle AudioGuide NOT included and Holyrood Castle AudioGuide IS included. I'm hard pressed to say what was my favorite - I had no idea Holyrood Castle existed so I really was most impressed with that. Comparing Edinburgh Castle to Stirling Castle was really interesting. Seeing the only double bed onboard the Royal Yacht Prince Charles took onboard for his honeymoon was funny. Wish the hours of the bus were not so restricted so that we could have gone on all three routes completely, but there is a challenge when things are abbreviated due to local celebrations. I appreciated their efforts on our behalf once we finally found them

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very informative and enjoyable visit. In fact I think it's was our favourite day in Edinburgh.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Brenda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

You have to go to the kiosk at Waverley Bridge where all the buses start from to exchange your voucher for actual tickets but that was no problem, you'd probably go there anyway at least once. The buses were good and the 3 venues - The Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyroodhouse Palace were all excellent and very well worth visiting. They had really good audio tours included for Britannia and Holyrood, though I believe the Castle audio was an extra but they offered a free guided tour. We also used the buses to visit 2 National Trust properties, one in the old town and one in the new town. A busy and rewarding 48 hours.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Adrian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I was not sure what to expect as its just a boat, funny thing is I will go again so must be more than just a boat!
Excellent staff and amazing to see both sides of Britannia. We had a nice lunch and drinks on board felt all very upmarket just needed Liz to wander in.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Leslie T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Difficult to find. Tour taken was very good.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Stacy M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

As far as ease of operation and the tour guides, I cannot give the tour a bad review. And it was also helpful and cheaper to already have included admission into the castle, the yacht and the palace. However, I found that we didn't actually need the bus because the royal mile is so easy to walk and most of the sites are right along the route. We also only had one day to tour around and I felt this would help us get from place to place quicker, but all in all, I think we rode the bus for two short rides. If you are staying for a longer trip it might be more worth your while.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. Well organised, interesting. It would be helpful for Viator to let guests know how long it takes as I ran out of time.
Buy a ticket in advance so you can skip the queue

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Tom R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Needed more time to enjoy Edinburgh...Beautiful Castle. I wasted money on the hop on hop off cause of time issues my fault. We only had a day in Edinburgh and next time, I will plan better...You need more time to experience this beautiful city.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing way to both get around and see the places you want to see and experience

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

raci88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Royal Mile Palace of Holyroodhouse Scottish Parliament Arthur's Seat. Hop-on Hop-off buses are so easy to catch all over town! Very convenient, helps you get your bearings as well. I highly recommend advance purchase of Edinburgh Castle so you don't have to wait in the long line. I took the Hop-On Hop Off to the Royal Mile it drops off right by Edinburgh Castle where there are lots of pubs, restaurants and shopping. Give yourself a few hours at Edinburgh Castle. Edinburgh Military Tattoo @ Edinburgh Castle, St. Margaret's Chapel. I had lunch after right by the the Castle at the Witchery, delicious splurge! try and make a reservation ahead of time. Worked by way to Holyroodhouse where Scottish Parliament is as well and you can begin your ascent up to Arthur's seat comfortable hiking shoes, water, camera and give yourself 45 minutes or more for the climb, absolutely worth it!! Sunrise or sunset the best!! Finished with dinner at at Whiski Bar and Restaurant, flights and delicious food!!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

jan.dj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well worth booking in advance and planning out our time. Castle was fab as was Royal Yacht Britannia. Easy to use service. Audio guide on the bus was brill. Learned so much. Free audio guide on board the yacht. Good value audio guide for the castle. Excellent

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laraine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My friend and I had a thoroughly wonderful time in Edinburgh and as we were on a short break we saved so much time using the hop on hop off bus!! There were 3 different routes and between them they covered each venue we wanted to visit. They were on time and the staff were very friendly and informative and a lovely guide called Anne gave us a tip to go into the Dome for a drink which we would have missed otherwise!!!!
I will recommend using this service to my friends.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kayla

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Amazing way to get around the city. However, the buses could have come around a little more frequently in my opinion.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

acoranag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great service. Very easy to find where to change our tickets.
The people of Edinburgh is very friendly and make us feel at home. It was a great idea to have hop on/off included, we use it as our public transit as we were only for 3 days and we were able to see many things in short time.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Michelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really great value and saved us quite a bit of money. Loved all the attractions.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message