Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is well worth it to buy if you are visiting more than a few castles. You still have to wait in line. The only thing is there are only a few places that you can convert this purchase into the actual pass. Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and a few others. So you need to make sure one of the spots is one of the first places you visit. Luckily we stopped at Stirling on our first day.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Nidharshani D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We absolutely loved this tour! We were informed of some of the great historic tales of Scotland as we drove around, and we'd definitely recommend opting in for the Stirling Castle visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

nphendrickson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best day tour we took in the UK and would highly recommend it to others. Loved the Scottish Highlands and Castles! Our tour guide Douglas, was phenomenal.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rabbies people and service were fantastic. James M. was a wonderful guide to Stirling and Loch Lomand, also making a few unplanned stops that were true highlights. Brilliant.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rhonda S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour! 10 hours vs some of the longer or shorter tours. There are many castles, and lochs to see. Mostly drive by for the Lochs, but there is a longer break at Loch Lomand. Long stop at Inveraray and Doune Castles, short 5 min picture stop at the others. Perfect if you are looking to see the castles from movies and tv shows. Driver has lots of history to share, songs to sing and plays Scottish music in the van. Keep your camera handy during the drive to catch some great shots along the way!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lynn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was terrific and not only told us about the castles and scenery but gave wonderful insight into the history of where we were. Small van was so much better than the big buses with long waits and huge crowds. Would love it if individual hearing devices provided since hard to hear with road noises and would be willing to pay extra for these.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

SHEILA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. It was very exciting to see castles and to see the highland cows!!! Great tour guide. It was a long day but so worth it, especially if you don't have a lot of time in Edinburgh. Lots of tours offered from Edinburgh.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic trip! Everything was well organized and absolutely perfect. The pick up time was prompt, our guide was great. If you love great scenery and castles, this is a great one. We are going to do this one again !

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kwoomack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Douglas the guide was wonderful, even when we broke down, he remained completely professional. The tour was very worthwhile. I would however recommend viewing the small town as the choice over the final castle when given the opportunity. Not really a castle, more of a fancy family home with a nice garden.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kim.stewart8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and a lot of fun. The tour guide was fun and knowledgeable. We had enough time to view the castle and see the graveyard. We got great views of Loch Lomond.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Thomas B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

NO ADMISSION FEES INCLUDED! The first castle was great and well worth the 6 to go in. The second was free and also pretty good. The third was more of a museum and not worth the 12. The lakes are a very quick stop if anything. The tour guide was not very good.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Iean was great with a comical and well researched history lesson. Had the entire bus singing! The castle was very impressive and the scotch was great.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Laura Lee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was absolutely hilarious. He performed excerpts of Monty Python's movie at the castle that was used in that film. He also did Sean Connery imitations. Very quick witted and unrehearsed funny quips along the way. The lochs and scenery were outstanding and of course the castles were too. I would take this trip again in a heart beat!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This day trip was great. Scott, our tour driver, was very informative and accommodating. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see Stirling Castle and visit a very unique distillery.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Michael John Alman Gibraltar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

To start and most importantly, the guide Franziska was superb and made it that more interesting. Her intellectual explanations and stories did not become boring at any time, on the contrary we looked forward to her explanations.
The sites were all to our liking and very interesting. Maybe the walk to Kilchurn Castle was a bit too far especially since it started to rain heavily and we all ended soaking wet. It was a fantastic tour and would recommend it to young and old alike.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great fun. Willie was an amazing tour guide with the perfect personal touch and passion about his country. I learned so much history from him, and he's definitely the perfect person for the job. Definitely recommend. My mom and I went and had a blast, and she was able to get around even though she's partially handicapped. Castles, lakes and whisky... what more could one ask for?!

Doing what: Stirling Castle Loch Lomond and Whisky Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mike_in_Kyiv United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm giving it 5 stars. But we never went to the Edinburgh Castle. We visited Elgin Cathedral, Duffus Castle and Glasgow Cathedral. Nice venues, easy using the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Uly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jude was brilliant. She tells through storytelling and thats rare for guides. I love listening to her stories and singing and she is just a great guide and such a professional one. She drives really careful and she is sweet. She was determined for the group to see all of the West highlands and the castles. Rabbies the partner is also wonderful, organized and they used smaller mercedes vans that are just comfortable with such a small group. This is so much better than the normal big buses that goes here.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ishtar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I do think it's worth visiting the castle though on the day we went the weather was poor and I get the feeling that at the time we went, 11/8/16. that perhaps they are doing some sort of refurbishment as many of the rooms were empty. I didn't expect it to be fully furnished and decorated, but it did feel lacking. There are some lovely murals and so forth to see on the walls and a few character actors walking about. I went to enjoy the castle itself, which I did, and the surrounding views from the battlements are fantastic, especially looking over to the Wallace monument. There is an interesting graveyard right next to the castle carpark and some beautiful buildings all the way down the hill, some shaggy-haired cows grazing in the fields below which were adorable to see. I'm glad I went.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

Liliia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

we managed to visit only Edinburgh caste and Stirling castle during 2 days. Actually one signtseeing place is located often 10 miles away from another one and the only way to visit several places in a day is to travel by car.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Susan L Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

This tour was especially disappointing since the Viator tour the day before was go good. Our tour guide/bus driver was a pleasant fellow but did not have control of the tour. When we arrived at the bus for Loch Lomond, it was about to rain so we opted to stay on the bus for the short drive to an area where we could walk out to the Loch. Another bus was parked in front of our bus and the driver could not arrange for the other bus to be moved. We sat there for about 45 minutes! By the time we arrived at the other stop, we had about 20 minutes to find the Loch and take pictures. On the return trip, someone asked if we could stop at the Monty Python castle. We spent so much time there that we missed the last guided tour of Sterling Castle - the other highlight of the tour. Very disappointing tour.

Doing what: Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle Day tour from Edinburgh

Alexander R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bruce was an amazing tour guide who knew everything about the area and castles. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steve F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan B. was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide. We enjoyed our day with him seeing the lochs and castles in the West Highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic castle that tied in historically to all things Royal in Scotland, Windsor and London. It was a fantastic starting point for information as the history of the royals unfolded.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our favorite tour, mostly because our guide Greame was funny, personable, and full of information about all the places we went. This is a Rabbie's tour, we took three of them, and all were great fun. The scenery was beautiful and the castles very charming. So, sign up and do it.m

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message