Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Iean was great with a comical and well researched history lesson. Had the entire bus singing! The castle was very impressive and the scotch was great.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Laura Lee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was absolutely hilarious. He performed excerpts of Monty Python's movie at the castle that was used in that film. He also did Sean Connery imitations. Very quick witted and unrehearsed funny quips along the way. The lochs and scenery were outstanding and of course the castles were too. I would take this trip again in a heart beat!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This day trip was great. Scott, our tour driver, was very informative and accommodating. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see Stirling Castle and visit a very unique distillery.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Michael John Alman Gibraltar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

To start and most importantly, the guide Franziska was superb and made it that more interesting. Her intellectual explanations and stories did not become boring at any time, on the contrary we looked forward to her explanations.
The sites were all to our liking and very interesting. Maybe the walk to Kilchurn Castle was a bit too far especially since it started to rain heavily and we all ended soaking wet. It was a fantastic tour and would recommend it to young and old alike.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great fun. Willie was an amazing tour guide with the perfect personal touch and passion about his country. I learned so much history from him, and he's definitely the perfect person for the job. Definitely recommend. My mom and I went and had a blast, and she was able to get around even though she's partially handicapped. Castles, lakes and whisky... what more could one ask for?!

Doing what: Stirling Castle Loch Lomond and Whisky Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mike_in_Kyiv United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm giving it 5 stars. But we never went to the Edinburgh Castle. We visited Elgin Cathedral, Duffus Castle and Glasgow Cathedral. Nice venues, easy using the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Ishtar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I do think it's worth visiting the castle though on the day we went the weather was poor and I get the feeling that at the time we went, 11/8/16. that perhaps they are doing some sort of refurbishment as many of the rooms were empty. I didn't expect it to be fully furnished and decorated, but it did feel lacking. There are some lovely murals and so forth to see on the walls and a few character actors walking about. I went to enjoy the castle itself, which I did, and the surrounding views from the battlements are fantastic, especially looking over to the Wallace monument. There is an interesting graveyard right next to the castle carpark and some beautiful buildings all the way down the hill, some shaggy-haired cows grazing in the fields below which were adorable to see. I'm glad I went.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

Liliia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

we managed to visit only Edinburgh caste and Stirling castle during 2 days. Actually one signtseeing place is located often 10 miles away from another one and the only way to visit several places in a day is to travel by car.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Susan L Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

This tour was especially disappointing since the Viator tour the day before was go good. Our tour guide/bus driver was a pleasant fellow but did not have control of the tour. When we arrived at the bus for Loch Lomond, it was about to rain so we opted to stay on the bus for the short drive to an area where we could walk out to the Loch. Another bus was parked in front of our bus and the driver could not arrange for the other bus to be moved. We sat there for about 45 minutes! By the time we arrived at the other stop, we had about 20 minutes to find the Loch and take pictures. On the return trip, someone asked if we could stop at the Monty Python castle. We spent so much time there that we missed the last guided tour of Sterling Castle - the other highlight of the tour. Very disappointing tour.

Doing what: Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle Day tour from Edinburgh

Alexander R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bruce was an amazing tour guide who knew everything about the area and castles. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steve F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan B. was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide. We enjoyed our day with him seeing the lochs and castles in the West Highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic castle that tied in historically to all things Royal in Scotland, Windsor and London. It was a fantastic starting point for information as the history of the royals unfolded.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our favorite tour, mostly because our guide Greame was funny, personable, and full of information about all the places we went. This is a Rabbie's tour, we took three of them, and all were great fun. The scenery was beautiful and the castles very charming. So, sign up and do it.m

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elisabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and the guide was extremely knowledgeable.
Lots of things to see--although I would have liked more time to see Invaray castle. Maybe the tour could be extended slightly so people would have more time to eat and go to the castle. As it was, you had to choose one thing or the other.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the small group aspect of this tour. Our guide Craig was fantastic! It felt like going on a road trip with an old friend. He was full of information and seemed to have a personal connection with everything we saw. I went on this tour to see the castles- and they were great, but I was really in awe of the West Highland Lochs. Everything I saw on this tour was beautiful. I went on the Loch Ness tour, as well, and in case you are wondering if the two tours would be redundant, they are not. We saw completely different things on both tours.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Eli R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Jody was unbelievable! She really knew her history and had great stories and was super accommodating! This tour was one of the best, even though it rained we still got amazing castle and scenery pics! Jody is the best!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our local contact was Rabbies Trail Burners out of Edinburgh. We toured on a comfortable mini bus with Gillian guide and Craig driver learning the route. It was a super awesome day! We learned so much, saw so much, and felt complete reassurance in our decision to visit Scotland for our honeymoon.

Gillian played Scottish music from time to time on the bus to help set the tone before arriving at locations and to help us understand Scotland's history, culture, and context. Craig gave us additional insight at the tour locations. Both were super friendly and enthusiast to introduce us to this region of Scotland. For instance, Craig told us to make sure we tried an Irn Bru before we left Scotland, and we did. : It tasted like pink bubble gum to our American tongues, but we noticed it everywhere and felt like insiders rather than tourists having tried it.

We visited Doune Castle, St. Conan's Kirk to wait out some rain, Kilkurn ruins, Inverary Castle had lunch there too, so cool!, Loch Lommand, and viewed Stirling Castle on our way back to Edinburgh.

We are Outlander fans so visiting Doune castle Leoch was very cool! And having lunch at Inverary was a special trip. Even our small stop to view the old military road at Rest and Be Thankful was beautiful. The whole feel of the trip made me feel like I was driving along just like Clarie and Frank, and Clair and Jamie while we walked along lochs and through old churches.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our my wife and my first trip to Scotland. We were on the tour on the 30th of June.
This tour was amazing. Our guide, Ewan B. was very informative, friendly, and funny.At many of the stops, he would allow plenty of time for photo opportunities, even offering to take pictures of my wife and I, with my camera so that not every photo was a selfie he offered this to anyone who wanted. Everything from the castles to the lochs, and the small towns we stopped at were gorgeous.

One surprise stop, not advertised, ended up being a stand out moment of our entire trip: a stop to see and interact with Highland cows. these animals were incredibly social and adorable.

Thank you Ewan B., and Rabbies Trail Burners, for such an amazing day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Caleb W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our day trip to the West Highland Lochs and Castles. The trip was very comfortable in the van and our guide Nicky was very personable, knowledgeable and provided a wonderful day trip for our family. We will definitely book another trip with you when we come back to Edinburgh.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeremy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good day trip - not too long but filled with variety and lots of interesting doings. Mike, our guide, added immensely to the trip with his commentary and humor! Learned a lot about Scottish history and culture in a short period of time. Stirling Castle was really well laid out for touring, much better than Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

BeachyCal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a wonderful tour...although we wished it was longer! The area to meet for the tour was very convenient from where we were staying.....near the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle Day tour from Edinburgh

Theresa M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Stirling castle was terrific. There was not much to see at the highlands and Loch Lomond. The driver was terrific. Glad to get to see the architectural three bridges of 3 different centuries.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Maria R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great Tour! I would have spent more time at the castle and Loch Lomond and less time at the whisky tasting. Also, I would have cut one of the 2 stops in front of the bridge but overall it was a very good experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and nice.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Mark W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Roger our driver/guide was great. Lots of history/legends and great appropriate Scottish music. The Rabbies minivan we had a total of13 passengers was very new with large windows which allow a great view of the fantastic countryside. The castles and villages are great especially Inverary. This would be a 5-star rating but a full-day tour with this many destinations can't help but feel a bit rushed. Overall I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vivienne P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really really enjoyed the stop at Inveraray Castle. And Gail was such a wonderful guide, stopping at every possible places where we can get the best view of the attractions.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message