Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexander R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bruce was an amazing tour guide who knew everything about the area and castles. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steve F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan B. was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide. We enjoyed our day with him seeing the lochs and castles in the West Highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic castle that tied in historically to all things Royal in Scotland, Windsor and London. It was a fantastic starting point for information as the history of the royals unfolded.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our favorite tour, mostly because our guide Greame was funny, personable, and full of information about all the places we went. This is a Rabbie's tour, we took three of them, and all were great fun. The scenery was beautiful and the castles very charming. So, sign up and do it.m

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elisabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and the guide was extremely knowledgeable.
Lots of things to see--although I would have liked more time to see Invaray castle. Maybe the tour could be extended slightly so people would have more time to eat and go to the castle. As it was, you had to choose one thing or the other.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the small group aspect of this tour. Our guide Craig was fantastic! It felt like going on a road trip with an old friend. He was full of information and seemed to have a personal connection with everything we saw. I went on this tour to see the castles- and they were great, but I was really in awe of the West Highland Lochs. Everything I saw on this tour was beautiful. I went on the Loch Ness tour, as well, and in case you are wondering if the two tours would be redundant, they are not. We saw completely different things on both tours.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Eli R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Jody was unbelievable! She really knew her history and had great stories and was super accommodating! This tour was one of the best, even though it rained we still got amazing castle and scenery pics! Jody is the best!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stephanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our local contact was Rabbies Trail Burners out of Edinburgh. We toured on a comfortable mini bus with Gillian guide and Craig driver learning the route. It was a super awesome day! We learned so much, saw so much, and felt complete reassurance in our decision to visit Scotland for our honeymoon.

Gillian played Scottish music from time to time on the bus to help set the tone before arriving at locations and to help us understand Scotland's history, culture, and context. Craig gave us additional insight at the tour locations. Both were super friendly and enthusiast to introduce us to this region of Scotland. For instance, Craig told us to make sure we tried an Irn Bru before we left Scotland, and we did. : It tasted like pink bubble gum to our American tongues, but we noticed it everywhere and felt like insiders rather than tourists having tried it.

We visited Doune Castle, St. Conan's Kirk to wait out some rain, Kilkurn ruins, Inverary Castle had lunch there too, so cool!, Loch Lommand, and viewed Stirling Castle on our way back to Edinburgh.

We are Outlander fans so visiting Doune castle Leoch was very cool! And having lunch at Inverary was a special trip. Even our small stop to view the old military road at Rest and Be Thankful was beautiful. The whole feel of the trip made me feel like I was driving along just like Clarie and Frank, and Clair and Jamie while we walked along lochs and through old churches.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our my wife and my first trip to Scotland. We were on the tour on the 30th of June.
This tour was amazing. Our guide, Ewan B. was very informative, friendly, and funny.At many of the stops, he would allow plenty of time for photo opportunities, even offering to take pictures of my wife and I, with my camera so that not every photo was a selfie he offered this to anyone who wanted. Everything from the castles to the lochs, and the small towns we stopped at were gorgeous.

One surprise stop, not advertised, ended up being a stand out moment of our entire trip: a stop to see and interact with Highland cows. these animals were incredibly social and adorable.

Thank you Ewan B., and Rabbies Trail Burners, for such an amazing day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Caleb W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our day trip to the West Highland Lochs and Castles. The trip was very comfortable in the van and our guide Nicky was very personable, knowledgeable and provided a wonderful day trip for our family. We will definitely book another trip with you when we come back to Edinburgh.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeremy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good day trip - not too long but filled with variety and lots of interesting doings. Mike, our guide, added immensely to the trip with his commentary and humor! Learned a lot about Scottish history and culture in a short period of time. Stirling Castle was really well laid out for touring, much better than Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

BeachyCal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a wonderful tour...although we wished it was longer! The area to meet for the tour was very convenient from where we were staying.....near the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle Day tour from Edinburgh

Theresa M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Stirling castle was terrific. There was not much to see at the highlands and Loch Lomond. The driver was terrific. Glad to get to see the architectural three bridges of 3 different centuries.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Maria R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great Tour! I would have spent more time at the castle and Loch Lomond and less time at the whisky tasting. Also, I would have cut one of the 2 stops in front of the bridge but overall it was a very good experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and nice.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Mark W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Roger our driver/guide was great. Lots of history/legends and great appropriate Scottish music. The Rabbies minivan we had a total of13 passengers was very new with large windows which allow a great view of the fantastic countryside. The castles and villages are great especially Inverary. This would be a 5-star rating but a full-day tour with this many destinations can't help but feel a bit rushed. Overall I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vivienne P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really really enjoyed the stop at Inveraray Castle. And Gail was such a wonderful guide, stopping at every possible places where we can get the best view of the attractions.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

BeachyCal United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We liked the ease of using our passes, however, I truly feel that a mention of where the passes can be used at prior to purchasing it is necessary. We didn't realize that the passes are primarily used for the castles and few other historic places...but mainly castles. Since we visited 2 castles during our stay Stirling and Edinburgh, it paid for itself. We weren't able to use it at the St. Andrews Castle or the cathedral since we were not able to redeem our vouchers at one of the four locations prior to arriving in St. Andrews. If you don't plan to be near one of the 4 redemption stops...you may want to re-think as to whether or not you will be able to at least get your money's worth.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Virginia H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Stirling castle is great......Amazing views. ...nice guide. ..highlands are jaw dropping. ...lovely hairy coos.
Very short experience at Loch Lomond. .long time on the bus ..Just a view from up a low hill but not even close to the waters. ..a pity ..This made us quit the idea of going to Loch Ness

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

xiaozhen L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This is a trip that lasts 10 hours and 7 hours were spent in the minibus. So you have to really love your driver's talk and music not very good sound system during the trip. There were really two stops only: Castle Doune 1 hour and town of Inverary where Castle Inverrary is located. for 2 hours. So if you have no plans to visit these two castles entry fee is not included in the tour, you were basically stuck. We could do better to go through train and local buses to explore the highlands and castles etc. All the other attractions mentioned in the itinerary were truly just a glimpse: 5 minute stop to take a photo from far away. Overall it is very bad fit for my family.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved this day tour! Graeme, our tour guide, was awesome - very entertaining and incredibly knowledgeable! Our coach was super comfortable - air conditioned, with large windows for viewing the glorious scenery. We were given ample bathroom/refreshment stops along the way. The absolute highlight for me was the visit to Inveraray Castle, where we were given ample time to enter the castle only 8 euros!, wander the grounds and visit the gift shop. Another highlight was the Rest and be Thankful stop up the side of the Mountain. Rabbies was an exceptionally good tour company, very professional and well organised from start to finish! A highly recommended tour - worth every cent - I'd definitely do it again!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Katie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Jan ( our guide) really made it great. The castles and lochs were fun to see, but we particularly appreciated Jan and #39;s commentary. He recited poems, played songs , and had slipped in some great jokes while discussing Scottish history and culture. Thanks Jan!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

peter m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loads of fun, especially enjoyed Doune Castle.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond was a really great experience. The bus was new, modern and comfy, which is not unimportant when you're spending several hours in this vehicle. Our tour guide Graeme was not only a very nice man, he was also funny and really entertaining. During the tour he gave us much interesting information about scottish history, scottish society and mindset and about culture. For example I learned and saw where Sean Connery was born and raised. Although the tour was about 8 hours, it was not too exhausting, because there were several stops in the Highlands for taking pictures. And the two main stops at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond were long enough to explore the grounds. Altogether it was a really good day trip, perfect choice, when you're visiting Edinburgh just for a few days and want to see a little bit more of Scotland. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lenore M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. The castle was amazing so were the 150 steps good for my leg muscles. View was worth it. Loch Lomond was wet so not so good but local pub was.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't praise this tour enough! Rabbie's provided my family a fantastic tour of the West Highland lochs and castles. The itinerary covers a lot of ground in a single day, but it's organized quite well the time spent at the sites doesn't feel too rushed, and the intervals spent in the van don't feel too drawn-out. There are frequent stops along the way to buy snacks, use the toilet, stretch your legs, and take pictures. Views of the countryside from inside the van are as spectacular as those of the castles and lochs themselves!

Our tour guide and driver, James, was very kind and knowledgeable. He walked around each location with the group and regularly offered to take photos for us. While safely and skillfully navigating the van along the winding roads, he managed to deliver an insightful guided commentary. Between these history lessons, he played Scottish folk music, which perfectly complemented the breathtaking sightsdense forests of pine and grassy hills of golden gorse! I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone. Wear comfortable shoes, bring bottles of water and a raincoat, and make sure your camera battery is fully chargedyou're going to need it!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message