Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

raci88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I did this tour end of October and loved it! Met the guide Collins at Waterloo Place and boarded Hearts of Scotland Tours wee red bus to Stirling Castle. The bus was very comfortable and safe fire extinguisher, first aid kit and emergency instructions given. Had a few hours at the magnificent Stirling Castle and it was empty! Had time to walk around without the crowds and enjoy a bite to eat at the Unicorn Cafe. Stopped by the side of the road to take pictures of the ever so cute Highland Cows!! Then onwards to Loch Lomond for walking along the trails, bay. The Oak Tree Inn for lunch and drams of whiskey and beer. Ended the day at Glengoyne for whiskey tour and tasting!! YUM! Sláinte mhaith! Water of life The day was perfectly paced and got to experience so much. The guides make such a difference on the experience. Thank you!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Mark J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Another great tour by Viator! This trip took us on very winding and hilly roads so bring your dramamine as one poor lass got sick and decided to take the train back from Tyndrum. But the views are spectacular. Lots of stops for plenty of photo ops Inverary Castle, Kilchurn Castle, Scott's View, Tyndrum, Rest and Be Thankful Pass, etc It was a very long tour but very much worth it. Our guide, Heather, told great Scottish historical tales along the way that really added to the tour itself. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dustinls2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Please go on this trip. I've done this exact trip two times and will do it again in the future. The castles are amazing and different!, the drive is beautiful, and the towns are quaint. It's a very relaxing and beautiful trip.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great Tour! Great guide - Andy was fantastic, right down to the singing and dancing - careful, you're next!
The Mercedes mini van is very comfortable and so nicely new it made the bit of driving easy to handle.
The amount of time at Stirling Castle allowed for us to take the tour and the time at Loch Lomond was enough to allow for a short hike to a grand vista point and still get a hot cup of coffee to go! The whiskey distillery was very interesting and the tour guides are extremely knowledgeable. Andy pointed out lots of interesting facts and funny stories. We really enjoyed our time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Trevor Raymond K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was a bit rushed and did not meet our expectations. The Stirling Castle part was great, but the Loch Lomond section left us wanting more. Luckly we visited Loch Lomond at a later time on our visit to Scotland to fully appreciate the area.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Frank Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This pass does not pay for itself unless you travel around Scotland - there is only one place in Edinburgh the castle that it covers.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

On our trip we visited Glasgow Cathedral, Stirling Castle, Urquhart Castle, Balvenie Castle, St. Andrew's Castle, St. Andrew's Cathedral and Edinburgh Castle. We purchased out pass before leaving home and it was well worth it. The lines to get in weren't too long when we visited with the exception of Edinburgh Castle and there it was so nice to have a separate line to get to the ticket office. Well Worth It.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Cindyloooo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We absolutely loved this tour!!! Scenery and castles were amazing...we felt like we saw so much in a day and the weather was fantastic... tour guide was very informative..highly recommend this tour and the fact that it was a smaller group was perfect!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jordi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a perfect day tour for those spending a few days in Edinburgh. The combination of castle lake whisky, as well as the enjoyable scenery viewed from the minibus, gives you a very nice glimpse of the country. Iain, our guide and driver, was able to share with us an amazing amount of knowledge, not only related to what we were seeing, but to Scottish life in general, all with a very positive humour!

And the Mercedes minibus itself is superb: spatious, comfy and brand new, the perfect place to sit and relax while admiring the landscape and listening to the pipes...

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed the day trip to the West Higlands. Our tour guide Jude was very knowledgeable and entertaining! Had enough time to see the castles (Doune, Kilchurn, Inveraray) and take in the beauty and history of the West Highlands. Highly recommended. Best to go in the Fall, with wonderful colours!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alfred V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip to some beautiful places. Our Guide, Niall, was great...really smart, entertaining and thoughtful. We loved getting the special little stop for a few photos at Doune Castle, too. Overall, a fantastic 1-day excursion!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

amber_ressmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Jodi as our tour guide and she made this day trip an AMAZING experience!! We drove by Stirling Castle on the way out to Loch Lomond where we could capture some great pictures of the castle with the Hairy Coo's down below. Next stop was Loch Lomond which was a very quaint area and we had adequate time to explore and again, get some fabulous pictures. We circled back to Stirling and just in time to jump into a tour with another amazing tour guide who brings it all back to life! I must admit, I have NEVER had a tour guide as friendly, knowledgable, and captivating as Jodi hope I am spelling her name correctly. She has a deep love and passion for Scottish history and culture! Her tour was flawless and well-timed. She has a charming disposition, and I would HIGHLY recommend making sure you have a tour with her. We went on another tour the following day and did not enjoy our guide at all. All of Scotland is bonnie, but to have a guide such as our bonnie bonnie Jodi created a life-long memory for us and our love of Scotland grew even more with this trip! Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will request a tour with Jodi!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tammy T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I really wanted to see the town of Inveraray and Inveraray Castle, as it was featured in a Christmas special of Downton Abbey, so this tour was perfect for me. My boyfriend enjoyed more of the medieval castles we visited, like Doune Castle and Kilchurn Castle. It was a nice day out in the highlands, which the tour guide ended with seeing some highland calves in Stirling which I had been wanting to see the whole week I had been in Scotland, so I was really incredibly excited that we got to they're incredibly cute!.

The tour guide was a bit on the quiet side, but was still very knowledgable. It's a great tour of the Highlands if you only have a day. However, Rabbie's, the tour company, has plenty of other tours from Edinburgh if you have more time and want a more in depth tour of the Highlands.

On a side note: In Inveraray, you are to pick between seeing the castle or seeing town. My boyfriend and I did do both, you just have to keep track of time if you want to see everything. We went to town first for lunch and then walked back to the castle, where we sped through the exhibits to see the beautiful gardens don't miss their gardens!.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kathleenmoberg

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Nice view of the country and the stops at Doune Castle and Inverary were very nice. More history from the driver would have been better. We had lots iof driving, but the history lesson was limited to Balliol, Edward I and William Wallace. I suspect there were many other things to tell us about the places we were driving through we didn't hear.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jen B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

We expected to have a great experience based on previous reviews, however we ended up being very disappointed in this tour. The only positive thing we can say is the cruise on Loch Lomond was nice to take. The bus driver got lost during the tour of the national park and we got behind by nearly an hour which impacted our afternoon significantly. Lots of risky driving to try and make up for the time lost but all that did was cause anxiety and concern. We did not pass by Castle Doune as promised or at least it wasn't pointed out and that was a highlight for us for booking this trip. We had less than an hour to tour Stirling Castle which was a huge disappointment to us. The tour guide blamed a family that took too long for lunch but getting lost in the national park was what should have been blamed the most. The entrance fee to Stirling Castle is a bit steep and the castle definitely deserved a much longer visit. The people at the ticket office commented that it was quite a shame we were brought there by Gray Line and given less than an hour to see the site. Plenty to do in the historic section of Stirling for those that don't want to visit the castle but with only an hour before shops closed up, others were expressing their disappointment in the need to rush through. Also, when we returned to Edinburgh we were dropped off on the Royal Mile and had to walk to our hotel which was about a 30 minute walk away. Apparently the rules that apply to bus drivers limit the time they can drive, but this was a considerable walk and not something we were prepared for. We knew we weren't being dropped off where we were picked up but a 30 minute walk away was outrageous in our opinion. Very disappointed in the overall experience and the driver's lack of knowledge of the roads in the park.

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is well worth it to buy if you are visiting more than a few castles. You still have to wait in line. The only thing is there are only a few places that you can convert this purchase into the actual pass. Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and a few others. So you need to make sure one of the spots is one of the first places you visit. Luckily we stopped at Stirling on our first day.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Nidharshani D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We absolutely loved this tour! We were informed of some of the great historic tales of Scotland as we drove around, and we'd definitely recommend opting in for the Stirling Castle visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

nphendrickson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best day tour we took in the UK and would highly recommend it to others. Loved the Scottish Highlands and Castles! Our tour guide Douglas, was phenomenal.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rabbies people and service were fantastic. James M. was a wonderful guide to Stirling and Loch Lomand, also making a few unplanned stops that were true highlights. Brilliant.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rhonda S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour! 10 hours vs some of the longer or shorter tours. There are many castles, and lochs to see. Mostly drive by for the Lochs, but there is a longer break at Loch Lomand. Long stop at Inveraray and Doune Castles, short 5 min picture stop at the others. Perfect if you are looking to see the castles from movies and tv shows. Driver has lots of history to share, songs to sing and plays Scottish music in the van. Keep your camera handy during the drive to catch some great shots along the way!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lynn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was terrific and not only told us about the castles and scenery but gave wonderful insight into the history of where we were. Small van was so much better than the big buses with long waits and huge crowds. Would love it if individual hearing devices provided since hard to hear with road noises and would be willing to pay extra for these.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

SHEILA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. It was very exciting to see castles and to see the highland cows!!! Great tour guide. It was a long day but so worth it, especially if you don't have a lot of time in Edinburgh. Lots of tours offered from Edinburgh.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic trip! Everything was well organized and absolutely perfect. The pick up time was prompt, our guide was great. If you love great scenery and castles, this is a great one. We are going to do this one again !

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kwoomack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Douglas the guide was wonderful, even when we broke down, he remained completely professional. The tour was very worthwhile. I would however recommend viewing the small town as the choice over the final castle when given the opportunity. Not really a castle, more of a fancy family home with a nice garden.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kim.stewart8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and a lot of fun. The tour guide was fun and knowledgeable. We had enough time to view the castle and see the graveyard. We got great views of Loch Lomond.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message