In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheila F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I'm now obsessed with the castle! Great tour guide Naomi! She was very funny and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved visiting this castle, so much history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Rita B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Didn't have to wait in the long line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Julia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour, highly recommend, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and humorous as well!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Emily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The castle is a MUST SEE! the skip the line ticket is worth it. The ticket line there can be pretty long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

tramirez93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had such a great time on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and you could tell he was proud of his city. He even gave us more information every time we ran into him after our tour had ended. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Muskateers Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Fun way to spend an evening, give the guys a chance and don't be rude and talk over them!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Jill G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Guide was excellent, very knowledgeable about the Royal Mile.
It was a bit late by the time we got to the Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Rita B United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Was okay. I would not do again.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

cazz6

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Fun,but could have be better

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Edit C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Second time leaving a review- first of all, this system could be better as it doesn't go through the first time. The places themselves were beautiful but unfortunately our time had to be cut short from the first one on due to an inconsiderate couple being almost 30 mins late. The bus was freezing cold- the driver said the heat was on as high as it went but everyone sat their shivering in their coats. Several people commented but we were frozen over by the time we got back. This may or may not be the drivers fault but you definitely need heating in November in Scotland. Also, Viator tours still has their original office address up and we almost missed the tour because we thought we were supposed to go to their old office on the Royal Mile.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Frank Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This pass does not pay for itself unless you travel around Scotland - there is only one place in Edinburgh the castle that it covers.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Arlene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The castle is absolutely magnificent and the audio tour is very comprehensive and helpful. Plan on spending a couple of hours touring the castle and make sure not to miss the room where Mary Queen of Scots gave birth to King James, it's very touching.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

becks1989

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

AWOL was the tour guide - really funny and made the experience great. Went to various places of interest to hear different ghost stories. Well worth doing

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

On our trip we visited Glasgow Cathedral, Stirling Castle, Urquhart Castle, Balvenie Castle, St. Andrew's Castle, St. Andrew's Cathedral and Edinburgh Castle. We purchased out pass before leaving home and it was well worth it. The lines to get in weren't too long when we visited with the exception of Edinburgh Castle and there it was so nice to have a separate line to get to the ticket office. Well Worth It.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Carl Johan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very fine and interesting trip with a great driver and a knowing and considerate guide. Been there before but this was better.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a grand time with Jerry. He most definitely knows his Outlander! Would go back again and spend another day with him.
Thanks Jerry!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The conductor was amazing. It was like being in a funny/scary/historical/funny again play where the audience are the cast.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

believe0587

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very funny and informative! Would have loved a longer tour, as it was so much fun. You could tell that the guides enjoyed what they did and it showed in their pride of their product. Definitely a bargain!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

believe0587

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was very interesting. Two people had to use the restroom and missed over an hour of the tour. Guide was very concerned in their well-being, but this distracted from the tour. She was easy to understand and mixed enough of the old with the new throughout the tour. She had some print-outs that she showed us in a binder and I quite enjoyed being able to see what she was speaking about.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

David L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour around the o,d town in Edinburgh. Our guide William was excellent and kept everyone well informed and also had a very entertaining way of telling stories.

Definitely recommended

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

richard l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolute stunning place and a must to do when visiting Edinburgh. Best way to get tickets is online and miss the big ques on entrance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Susan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was wonderful and skip the line is definately the way to go :

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Suzieh1947

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very high value for the price. Was able to use it at several places. Wished we could have seen more

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message