In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1017 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ursula S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sue was a great and enthousiastic guide. I totally enjoyed the tour and can only recommend it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Judith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great not to have to wait in the ticket line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this should be a very high rating. I'm not sure which end is the best rating.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Lyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and a must see in Edinburgh. Fergus was a good tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We wish we had more time to see it all. The free highlights tour was perfect to get the and #39;lay of the land and #39;. You definitely have to see the One O and #39;clock Gun and the crown jewels. A little unsure where to pick up the Skip The Line tickets but the staff noticed our confusion and came over to tell us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Pamela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really good day! Informative guide and lots to see. Good pace not rushed!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Kaitie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing!! Entertaining and educational! I loved 5he interaction. Very fun :)

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

rasaky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Wendy was a wealth of knowledge and we really loved our walking tour so much information and history along the Royal Mile and then the Castle Edinburgh Castle is spectacular, would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Esteban R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very awesome tour! The tour company and Ally, my tour guide, were a joy to attend. The tour guide gave lots of helpful insight and history of Scotland and of the history and on the way there let us listen in on some very nice music to set us in that Celtic spirit. Please continue to work with Rabbie's Tours as they a very nice, professional outfit.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Esteban R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a nice way to spend a morning or afternoon. It was an easy way to get your ticket and go inside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With out question, buy the skip the line tickets for EVERYTHING in the UK and Paris. Touring time is limited so don and #39;t spend it standing in line! We just walked in with no wait. The castle was awesome and REALLY connected to things we saw at Windsor, the Tower of London and Westminster Abbey.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Renae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic castle that tied in historically to all things Royal in Scotland, Windsor and London. It was a fantastic starting point for information as the history of the royals unfolded.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

fly4846

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent start to my week in Edinburgh - although the weather was rainy and cold, the tour guide made this trip fun and informative. We saw a lot of interesting sights in the tour and learned a lot that I would not have been able to learn on my own. The Castle was a highlight of the tour - don't miss! Her commentary was great, and added a nice perspective to the tour. I was able to go back the next day and revisit some of the sights again with a better understanding of the history. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Best castle we saw. Skipped the line with 200 people in it

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Nancy Jean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Castle is great. Having the ticket ahead of time allowed us to eliminate the wait. The castle is well labeled so that you really can see it on Your own but they have quided tours available and headsets that give additional audio info.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a highlight of my recent trip to Scotland. Amazing to see Roman history in Britain. If one does not have private transportation and on a limited time schedule, this is the best option to view the high points of the Wall. Rabbie's is the go-to place for tours. Their check in location in Edinburgh is easily accessible. Our tour guide Eric was the absolute best. Being a native of the area he knew much local history and shared tidbits of fascinating information along the way. The mini bus we used was very comfortable and I felt safe with Eric's driving. He even entertained us along the way with 4 or 5 songs in his charming Scottish voice. Loved it! The Borders and English country side were absolutely gorgeous while we were there late June. The ruins sites will not disappoint. I definitely have a better understanding about the Wall. It is far more than just a structure in the country-side.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Anne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful tour! Rabbie's driver/tour guide James hosted us. He told insightful stories of Mary, Queen of Scots, and the Scotland/England conflicts. We toured a house in which Mary, Queen of Scots lived, saw Hadrian's Wall in several locations, and toured Vindolanda, a Roman Fort. Lots to see and do.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Anne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was Gillian and our driver was Nick. This tour was nice, not only because of the places were visited, but also because the bus only holds 16 people, plus the driver. The smaller group size made the trip more enjoyable. We saw Alnwick Castle, which was used as a locale for several productions, including two Harry Potter movies and two holiday episodes of Downton Abbey. There were activities for children in the courtyard and ghost stories told in the cellars for those 12 and older. A thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

Susan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipping the line was a great idea! Loved seeing Edinburgh Castle -- a must-do for Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It's a stunning place to visit. The views of the city below, the history of the place. Loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Margaret was absolutely amazing! The Tour was deeply informative and made our visit to Edinburgh come alive with its rich history and secret gems. If you are travelling to Edinburgh, a Mercat historical walking tour is a MUST.

Kevin and Jessica

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Richard J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wendy was s great tour guide. Made it all come alive for us!!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message