In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1073 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bobbi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour and visit to the castle! The fast passes were well worth their price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Marianne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely fantastic. The guys who did our tour were so bloody funny and engaging. My husband and I took our 3 kids in their 20's on this tour and we thought they would be bored. Quite the opposite ... we were all laughing on the tour and even the next day. Plus, they really did share a lot of very interesting and informative stories about the history of Edinburgh. Thanks for the great tour guys!!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Ralph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Edinburgh Castle was a gem. The guided tours of the grounds provided a great overview of the Castle History and structures. It is a must see for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best idea was the skip the line ticket as about 10,000 people a day visit here and on the day we went there was a passenger ship in as well and they were expecting 5,000 more visitors. Be there for the gun being fired at 1pm.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Kenna J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved Edinburgh and plan to go back. It was terrible weather when we toured but we made the most of it. The town is quite condensed, packed with people and lots of things to do. I would recommend a few days because it is so crowded that it makes sightseeing take longer than normal. Our guide was great and shared a lot of the Scottish history that I had not heard.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very entertaining and a good mixture of true happenings and creepy stories. Being an Edinburger and interested in the past history I knew about all the real past happenings. Very good all round and it is my second time. Will probably do it again another year.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Patrick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Booking with Viator for the Mercat tour was a great idea. My wife and I enjoyed the educational tour that took us through the Royal Mile and into the castle. I appreciated the options to have the Viator pass for my iPhone. It was a little tricky calling Mercat Tours to confirm our appointment, but that worked out also. The staff at Mercat tours were friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

csiskin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time! Our driver and guide Richard was very knowledgeable and very courteous.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Trina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth purchasing as the lines get long to enter the castle. Recommending going early or late afternoon. Plan to spend several hours there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! We loved learning about Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Marc L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very funny and entertaining guide - Gillian.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Sylvain P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guided tour which explains the essentials of the Castle including the history and how the Castle is being used nowadays.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour, lots of museums within the castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

God idea!
Its important to go to the information center to get a new ticket. You cant go in with just the vouge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Richard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth purchasing this ahead of time....especially during the August festival time. The line can be pretty lengthy!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Skipping the line was great and the audio tour at the castle was very informative and allowed one to proceed at one's own pace. Touring the castle was a very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was really interesting and our guide was kmowledgeable on the area. I would highly recommend his tour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

jubitzbk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great to skip the long, long line to enter Edinburgh Castle. We printed the paper voucher. It was unclear where to receive the tickets, but the castle staff were very helpful and gave us directions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

sharan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

fantastic castle I I directly went inside the castle..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really good very interesting would recommend

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Christie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the private Outlander tour with Gerry. We absolutely loved it! While we are casual fans of the TV series, we are also interested in Scottish history. Gerry was very knowledgeable and provided us with so much interesting information. He also had many great inside stories about the show. The sites we visited were fantastic in their own right, but were also particularly interesting given the fact that we had seen them on TV. The little towns and villages we visited were among the cutest places we have ever seen. Right out of a storybook - literally. We will definitely be back to do another tour with Gerry in the future. Our day with him could not have been better

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

By getting my ticket ahead of time, I was able to enter the castle without waiting in any lines. This is my second time visiting the castle. It is wonderful to be immersed in history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Elizabeth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This ticket really helped me get past the crowd and get some good pics before any one else walked up to the top of the castle. Get there 30 min before they open.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Belinda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great time! Our guide was excellent!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice, food great, waiter even better.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message