In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is well worth it to buy if you are visiting more than a few castles. You still have to wait in line. The only thing is there are only a few places that you can convert this purchase into the actual pass. Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and a few others. So you need to make sure one of the spots is one of the first places you visit. Luckily we stopped at Stirling on our first day.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, knowledgeable and friendly driver, fabulous whisky and great to have a choice in level of accommodation.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

execme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The pass was wonderful and wonderfully priced from viator. We used it 6 times over the 3 days - well worth the money

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Jill T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing history tour that was definitely confronting in that people actually lived and worked down there in the past!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Sheila H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We though this walking tour was excellent our guide was very good and certainly knew what she was talking about. I wish I knew her name but we were on the 1.30pm tour on Monday 29th August 2016. It was just right for us not too far and not too energetic, but we saw an awful lot amd really enjoyed it. Thanks.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Shu Jun N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cool tour with our ghostly guide trying his best to spook us. Though I must say his partner scared more onlookers of the tour then ourselves.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

theaterlover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A fun filled hour of entertainment, great guide and storyteller.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

marie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great place to eat , the staff is great too.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Edinburgh

marie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the castle is amazing , love it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Aisha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Viator's service was awesome and never disappoints every time I book with them. Skipping the line to Edinburgh Castle was a great idea as we had a short time in Edinburgh and didn't want to waste time queuing for tickets. The Castle itself was not bad though there are a lot to see except the exceptional views of Edinburgh. If you're visiting the city for the 1st time, it is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Pete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The castle is cool. Skipping the line is also cool.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viking053

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sue our tour guide gave us a great insight into historical Edinburgh. She told us great stories and engaged us during the tour. The entry into the Castle was great as we were able to skip the long lines and enter the Castle quickly

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Sally L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great fun! Tony was wonderful. He knew so much about Scottish history, which I like, as well as all about Outlander. He was such fun...he even made a video with me! The scenery was beautiful! Thanks, Tony. Sally

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

Sally L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Made things much simpler!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tourguide was wonderful. Once in a life time experience here!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Laurie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hannah was an excellent tour guide. Highly recommend this tour of the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Faye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a really neat Castle it was the second time I had been, each time you go you learn something new.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Ron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really liked the pass! Next time we need to rent a car in order to see more places.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Virginia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent visit. Everything was interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Bonita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Going in without a wait was preferable, for sure.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

Cra04

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though it was raining. Tour was great no lines

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Suzie Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. An overall history of the town.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

don m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had the Best time.
We recommend 100%
Worth every dollar

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Nikos P Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Visit as many historical places of Historic Scotland not Royal as you can and it is great value for money.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message