In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1253 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well worth a visit to the Castle. So much to see and so interesting - make sure you leave plenty of time

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Marija B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We liked most of it. Nice insight on edinburghs history and the skip the line At the castle is definitely worth it. Would not be fun to que for a while in the end of December. We could have skipped some stops in the old town cuz the whole guiding was a little to long- even if you are a history fan

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Kirsten M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

I really hate to give a low rating to this tour because of how much we loved the Ghost Bust tour in London. Unfortunately the substance just wasn't there. Instead of great historical insight to specific locations talking about the real people who lived and died there, it was all just there was a woman or there was a man. It seemed like no real research or effort had been made. With all the great ghost stories throughout Edinburgh surely they could have come up with a couple of names at least.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I cannot say enough about this tour! Gerry and Tony went above and beyond to make the most of our time while we traveled between the key Outlander locations outlined in the tour! They intertwined interesting facts about Outlander, along with pertinent historic facts about Scotland, while we saw the beautiful countryside! I recommend this tour, not only to Outlander fans, but to anyone that wants to get out of the city limits for the day! It was a truly WONDERFUL experience!!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

John W D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour even made more interest by our guides knowledge and light hearted delivery

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Donald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Of all the places in the world I've been to, this trip to Edinburgh ranks as one of the best. The city is easy to get around in whether walking or using public transportation. The Scots are a very friendly people and genuinely enjoy their visitors. One of goals while there was to try the haggis. It really is quite good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Mac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. First our tour guide showed up in a kilt with the Fraser clan plaid. He gave us a small tour of Edinburgh and showed us some locations within Edinburgh that are mentioned in the Book/TV show.
We then headed out to the various sights where the Outlander Series is filmed. We saw the town used for Inverness. He gave us a tour of the town and the various locations used for the shooting of the show. We had tea and scones at the boarding house where Alex Randall died and Jack Randall and Mary were married. We meet a few of the residents in town and listen to their stories about the filming of the show.
We also went to see the set for Fort William and a drive by Lallybroch. They were filming the next series at Lallyboch, so we did not have access to that location.
This was an all day event and I enjoyed every minute of the tour. Thanks Gerry.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

Phillipa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The skip the Line ticket really saves you time as there was a long lineup to buy tickets the day we went. Take advantage of the free tour that leaves inside the Castle every 1/2 hour. Very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

WNYNancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! We saw many Roman sights and the guide was excellent. The museum at Vindolanda was fascinating - better than expected.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Worked exactly as you would expect. Simply walk past the ticket lines into the tourist office, and pick up your entry tickets from the desk. Even on a freezing, rainy morning in December, the lines were incredibly long by 10-11am. Not necessary if you show up at opening.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My 15 year old son and I took this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided great insight to Edinburgh history that we would not have gotten on our own. I found the well system and the fact that the Radisson Blu hotel on the Royal Mile is actually the newest building there, not one of the older ones which it looks like especially interesting. Be prepared to work your legs. Edinburgh is a very vertical city. There are LOTS of steps and ups and downs. If possible, I would do this tour early on your trip. You get to see a lot of things/places you may want to explore further later in your trip. You end at Edinburgh castle and can spend as much time there as you want.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing experience, really enjoyed it and very friendly and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Katy Helgeson United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour did a great job of explaining the history of Edinburgh and what role the vaults played in that history.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great insight into historical Edinburgh! Tour guide was very knowledgeable and I would highly recommend to others interested in walking the streets of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Shawn M G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Convenient

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

smithcheryl158

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was fun. I would have liked it to be longer but I did enjoy it. Particularly getting off the bus too

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Kerriann M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

awesome experience, allow 3 hours atleast to see this, should have been clearer where holders of these tickets need to head to avoid queues, lovely workers around the castle grounds too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

ELAINE D

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This is the only way to get tickets no waiting to get your tickets

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jo S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

If you buy your tickets here you need to go and get acceptable tickets from the information centre so not quite skip the queue! Loads to see and worth paying for audio tour guide as otherwise you could miss something

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Sheila F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I'm now obsessed with the castle! Great tour guide Naomi! She was very funny and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved visiting this castle, so much history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Dwaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lots of fun. Our guide had some great stories and a nice walking tour of the city. The book was a great bonus

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Don P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very fun and informative. Very diverse group of people on the tour from 8 years old to 50s. I'd take this tour again.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message