Haunted and historic, Edinburgh is one of the best places on the planet to celebrate Halloween in true spooky style. With a history stretching back hundreds of years, plus its towering tenements, cobbled alleys and underground vaults, it’s little ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 510 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marianne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely fantastic. The guys who did our tour were so bloody funny and engaging. My husband and I took our 3 kids in their 20's on this tour and we thought they would be bored. Quite the opposite ... we were all laughing on the tour and even the next day. Plus, they really did share a lot of very interesting and informative stories about the history of Edinburgh. Thanks for the great tour guys!!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very entertaining and a good mixture of true happenings and creepy stories. Being an Edinburger and interested in the past history I knew about all the real past happenings. Very good all round and it is my second time. Will probably do it again another year.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was really interesting and our guide was kmowledgeable on the area. I would highly recommend his tour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really good very interesting would recommend

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Belinda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great time! Our guide was excellent!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Ishtar J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my favourite tour whilst my partner and I were in Edinburgh for the week. I can't recommend this highly enough. Mr Clapperton applause and his assistant were right on the money with their character performances, fascinating history and many a joke that gave us a good laugh. They made simple courtyards, closes and buildings come alive with thier tales and theatricals. I am really very impressed and it set the bar very high for all the tours we went on around Edinburgh during our stay - none of which topped this one. Thank you ever so much for a truly enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the 'dungeon experience' The whole 'cast' were good at what they do. Once they find their 'victim' it was hilarious. highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this, it's cleverly organised and Tommy was brilliant, I would recommend this highly so go and enjoy!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Janice S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great time for both myself 70 years old and my 20 year old grandson. Fun and interesting. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Sylvain P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent activity to do, very much appreciated by all. It is funny with lots of unexpected which makes this attraction so popular.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Dylan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really well done haunted house. Not cheesy and the acting was good. It will depend on your kid, but I'd keep anyone under 12 or 13 away. Gets a little graphic and literally pitch black at times and all the content is based on true mutilations/torture/cannibalism, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Rita C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Loved the old cemetery in spite of the rain. The bus rat was special. So were the conductor and driver.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Agnes D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time visiting the Edinburgh Dungeons, well worth the money. Actors were all good and staff very pleasant and helpful. That was my 3rd time visiting the dungeons and I'm sure I will return.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Trina A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This is a fun tour for kids. The guides were great.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Nicole W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This was a fun thing to do for our first night in Edinburgh. Our tour guide was good and knew a lot about Edinburgh. We were a little bummed that our tour guide wasn't Scottish. He was American, and we felt that took away a little bit from the authenticity of the tour. The scary parts weren't scary at all, and sometime a bit cheesy. Overall a good activity.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Ishtar J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

My partner really enjoyed this tour and would give it a 4/5. I thought it was OK and I'm happy to say I've done it. My favourite room was the one with the Green Lady, very spooky in a '19th century ghost story' kind of way. Some clever theatricals went on and we all had a good laugh at times. The part in the boat was far shorter than I had imagined, it was over in a jiffy. The staff were friendly. It can take a long time to get in, even with the skip the line tickets we waited almost half an hour in a dark hallway full of obnoxious teens - and we were about 20th in line when we got there. Tours are split in to groups and everyone gets their picture taken first which really holds up the line but I suppose they need to space the groups out somehow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Sylvia B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The office where we met for this tour was in an interesting part of Edinburgh. The two guides tried their best to entertain and were good, but I felt they could have known a few more stories abouyt the city, to keep us interested.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Paul L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Honestly, not that great. The tour guide person was good but a little hard to understand need to slow down speaking due to accent issues. I probably wouldn't do it again

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The charactors were class!

Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Kaitie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing!! Entertaining and educational! I loved 5he interaction. Very fun :)

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

john B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic entertainment, well worth the price. would definitely recommend. Not a gimmick to take your money and come out disappointed. You will want to do it again!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Richard J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wendy was s great tour guide. Made it all come alive for us!!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message