The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 510 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jurgitabeli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

THANK YOU Arron for making this trip so wonderful! Had a lot of opportunities to take great pictures or grab a cup of coffee. Beautiful highlands and a great tour guide :) Definitely recommend!

(Russia+Lithuania)

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic trip to the Highlands. Our driver/guide Al M. was the best of the best. He was funny, educational, and very focused on making our trip everything it possibly could be. If you only have one day to visit the highlands, this is the trip to take and be sure and ask for Al M. to be your driver/guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jodi was the best and does a great job! She is very knowledgable on the salient points of Scottish history! Jodi is a great story teller and managed to keep us laughing. The Dewars Distillery tour was very educational and has helped to up my game as a Whiskey afficianado. Of course the Scottish Highlands scenery is brilliant. Only wish I had more time.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent trip, in a comfortable vehicle. Mik the driver was entertaining and positive. A very good experience of the highlands in one day. Well organised and very enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip through the Highlands. Our guide on the day was terrific and we had some really good time to ourselves to look around Inverarry hope spelling is correct. Would recommend this on as a great way to see Scotland outside the cities.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Matt K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip lived up to all our expectations. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, providing wonderful commentary along the way and never failing to point out items of historical and cultural significance. He answered all our questions and gave great suggestions for how to get the most out of every stop we made. The van was comfortable, the scenery beautiful, and the overall experience unforgettable. If you want to get a really nice feel for the various parts of this amazing country, and experience a taste of the highlands that will leave wanting to return as soon as possible, I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

ERDEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and me had a wonderful trip via viator..Our guide Gail was nice, knowledgeable and fun. We saw quite nice places, lochs, glens etc in two days.We highly recommend viator and Scottish Highlands....

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

mikechalverus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were on a two week tour of Scotland and England and the highlight of the entire trip was our three day guided tour of the Isle of Skye and the Scottish Highlands. What made the trip so outstanding was due in large part to our tour guide, Tony. His knowledge of the countryside, the history of Scotland and its origins and the historical characters that played such a defining role in its past were just mind-boggling. his knowledge was so complete that we felt like we had gotten a college degree in Scottish history by the time the tour was over. He took us to so many historical sites during our three days that we felt like we had covered everything of importance there was to see and that we had a real appreciation for what the real Scotland is all about. Tony's easy going manner and eagerness to answer any questions we had made it such a pleasurable experience. I can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Law G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was great! The tour guide, Ewan, was informative and funny and took us to some amazing picture spots and gave us a pretty good history of Scotland as we went. A lot of time on the bus but it was a small group that was not overwhelming and frequently stopped so it was doable. A good way to see a lot of the highlands if you have just a day to do it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Natasha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour through the highlands! Beautiful scenic route and a really fun and informative guide. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Grace C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was going to be in Edinburgh for a few days but I knew I wanted to go the Highlands so after some searching on Viator, I found this tour with mostly positive reviews.

The tour itself is run by Rabbies which is definitely one of the main tour operators going out of Edinburgh from what I saw. We must have had 5 or 6 tours leaving at the same time, not all doing the same tour, but there were about 3 that were doing ours.

Get to the meeting point early. I was in Edinburgh at the end of September during the middle of the week and they had about 6 tours leaving at the same time with everyone having to check in at the same time. I can only imagine it's crazier during the busy seasons. Protip: the cafe can be a bit slow. Your tour will leave without you if you are still in the cafe. I almost missed mine.

Jonathan was our tour guide/driver. Overall he was great. There is clearly a set route, but due to the rain he adjusted as needed and took us to alternate places for us to see things. We hardly saw the other tour groups that were on the same tour except at very specific long stops that we had like at Loch Ness.

It's a relatively small group since you are on a minibus. There are two seats on one side, one on the other, a few rows, aisle down the middle with the back row having 4 seats. Is every group going to sit side by side together? No. Get over it. There is no bathroom on the bus. If you have a small bladder or need to go to the bathroom every hour, you can't go on a tour like this. Go rent a car and go at your own pace. There are preset stops for a reason. You will spend a LOT of time on the minibus just because of the distance that is covered in one day. Remember you are basically going from the bottom of Scotland to essentially past the midpoint and a bit up from there. You are covering a lot of miles/KMs. Also - don't be that person no one can find. Make sure you keep an eye on the watch. Having a bus filled with 14 people waiting for you and then having the driver have to make up that time, it's not cool. We're all adults.

Overall the tour was great. I wish I was there during a time of year where it's not raining all the time. It was gorgeous with it all raining and grey I can only imagine how beautiful it is when it's clear.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed the day trip to the West Higlands. Our tour guide Jude was very knowledgeable and entertaining! Had enough time to see the castles (Doune, Kilchurn, Inveraray) and take in the beauty and history of the West Highlands. Highly recommended. Best to go in the Fall, with wonderful colours!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My friend Carol Wallace and I enjoyed Gillian's tour of the Highlands very much. She was knowledgeable but not afraid to admit when she did not know an answer. I do wish that we had been able to at least get a bit closer to Stirling Castle the gateway to the Highlands, We drove by on the highway and it was impossible to even get photos of either the Castle or the Wallace monument. I think I would have preferred to be able to get closer to these than to see the Loch Ness, which is simply a lake surrounded by trees. The Castle is so filled with history, and so important to the Highland clans, that it should be a part of this tour. Also wish we could have stopped somewhere on the return for a photo of the beautiful bridge in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tammy T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I really wanted to see the town of Inveraray and Inveraray Castle, as it was featured in a Christmas special of Downton Abbey, so this tour was perfect for me. My boyfriend enjoyed more of the medieval castles we visited, like Doune Castle and Kilchurn Castle. It was a nice day out in the highlands, which the tour guide ended with seeing some highland calves in Stirling which I had been wanting to see the whole week I had been in Scotland, so I was really incredibly excited that we got to they're incredibly cute!.

The tour guide was a bit on the quiet side, but was still very knowledgable. It's a great tour of the Highlands if you only have a day. However, Rabbie's, the tour company, has plenty of other tours from Edinburgh if you have more time and want a more in depth tour of the Highlands.

On a side note: In Inveraray, you are to pick between seeing the castle or seeing town. My boyfriend and I did do both, you just have to keep track of time if you want to see everything. We went to town first for lunch and then walked back to the castle, where we sped through the exhibits to see the beautiful gardens don't miss their gardens!.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

nphendrickson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best day tour we took in the UK and would highly recommend it to others. Loved the Scottish Highlands and Castles! Our tour guide Douglas, was phenomenal.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shenae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide- Kirsten- was friendly, fun and very knowledgable! It was a long trip on the bus but was very comfortable with the beautiful scenery, fabulous music and commentary! Kirsten gave us Scottish history in an easy to follow format, relevant to the things we were passing- all presented with that god-given Scottish talent for story telling! Good number of stops 2 on the way up and 2 on the way back and about 2 hours at Loch Ness! Kirsten had excellent recommendations for things to see and eat at each stop, and also excellent recommendations for things to do in Edinburgh. Fabulous trip- well worth the cost. For a solo traveller like me it was an excellent taste of the highlands- will definitely be considering coming back for an extended tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

carlywoitha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Roger was quite entertaining in his retelling of Scottish history. This tour hit all of the big sites to see throughout the Highlands. I would highly suggest it for a quick 2-day trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic guides with lots of knowledge plus good humour to go with it. The Grouse distillery trip was so interesting. The walk in the highlands was beautiful and relaxed as well. The tattoo was stunning. An unforgettable experience. In all, this was a brilliant day and evening out. Thanks to the organisers.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a 12 hour overview of the Scottish highlands. Probably 5-51/2 of those were on the ground in interesting places along the way, including Glencoe and Ft. Augustus, where we saw canal locks and try to see the loch monster. The M-B bus was comfortable the group was small 20? and the guide, Sandy, was absolutely first rate. Highly recommend this trip, operated by Rabbie Group Tours. If there was a negative it was that the people at the main office were not especially hospitable -- made us stand out in the wet cold instead of coming into the building.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nik Nick our Scottish tour guide was a wonderful guide who made the trip worthwhile. We explored various parts of the Highlands within the 12 hours we were on the trip. The day was organised efficiently and ran on time. Nik interacted with the other travellers and made conversation with everyone. He was a fanastic guy in general his Scotttish sense of humour was great! and I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone wishing to receive a one day snapshot of the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chrisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great trip! Highly recomended if you want to see the wild nature of the highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great tour to see the Scottish Highlands. Rain put a damper on the trip, but was no unexpected. Driver was like an oral encyclopedia. A lot of good information, but a bit of an overload as there was too much to be able to remember.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jared O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Hi there,

Our tour guide was Charlotte.

Some recommendations:

1. Each guide should be given a script of the narration of what should be said during the journey. That way, it will be consistent from tour to tour because the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands tour is rather popular. We found that the narration was rather overwhelming and an information overload. We would have preferred less speaking.

2. It would be helpful if a screen could be installed at the front of the bus. The screen would indicate a live map of the journey so one can see at any point in time where one is travelling to.

Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jacey A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Highlands are beautiful and Scotland was my favorite part of the United Kingdom. Our tour guide was a little emotional or maybe on edge at times, he even got short with people. He also gave inaccurate facts along the way. BUT the places we seen were stunning!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Catty, our guide, was fantastic.

If you want to see a lot of the Highlands in one day this is a great tour.

The tour van was comfortable with big windows. My only suggestion would be to add WiFi in the van.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message