The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Catty, our guide, was fantastic.

If you want to see a lot of the Highlands in one day this is a great tour.

The tour van was comfortable with big windows. My only suggestion would be to add WiFi in the van.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an outstanding day and the highlight of our trip. Jude was a terrific tour guide and is passionate about Scottish History and the Highlands! Her knowledge of the background of the land and the role the sites we were visiting played into the development of the country and the beauty of the land was fantastic. Her mix of music and commentary during the 12 hours we spent driving through the Highlands was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

CheFrancisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is one of the highlights of my trip to Scotland, all thanks to our very knowledgeable, cordial and clever tour guide cum driver named Heather from Rabbie's tours. Although I agree to the common 'complaint' of other travelers that we spent most of the 12-hour tour sitting inside the coach, this trip was still a feast for the senses. Not only that I was drawn to the picturesque landscapes, I have had also free history lessons of the famed people and stories of the area. I have also appreciated Heather's flexibility and commitment to give all her wards a wonderful time by always looking up to the weather forecast of our next destination and adjusting accordingly when the forecast is not that good. The trip had made me wanting for more and I hope to come back one day to have a longer time to explore the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stacey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was absolutely fabulous! What a great guide we had. Roger was so knowledgable and gave us historical facts as well as fascinating folklore and clan stories. He played beautiful pieces of music as we toured through the highlands and it just made the experience feel very special. I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

wjbillmorrison

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip if you want to cram a lot of Scotland into one day. Our 2 boys are 9 and 11 years old and Loch Ness was a must during our trip to Scotland. The trip allowed us to get up to Loch ness, have lunch and take a one hour boat tour. Plenty of nice stops along the way. We all enjoyed our trip and would recommend it if you only have one day to see the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Debbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Was a great tour in spite of the rain bucketing down. Francesca did a wonderful job, being able to talk and drive efficiently through torrential rain takes some skill. It is spectacular countryside. Lochness ferry ride not really worth it but that may have been because of the weather you couldn't see anything but the crew were nice. I would recommend this tour if you were short on time and just wanted a taste of the Scottish Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rebecca J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

For a quick trip through the highlands this trip was fantastic! Our guide was great and was a wealth of knowledge. He was also willing to try and accommodate what the entire group wanted to see/do. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a short stay in Scotland.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

jhutchi100

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The 3 stars is for the bus trip as the Tatoo was 5 stars. The bus was advertised as a minivan but it was a good size bus with almost 40 people on board. There were some non-English speaking kids who talked over the tour guide and played with video,games with the sound on. It was a warm day and the bus got very hot. Not the most comfortable environment for this trip. It was good to see the highlands.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Bridget W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I booked this tour as I wanted to see the Highlands and did not want to drive myself. Rich was great, provided loads of information. Within the day time frame this is an ok tour. It is a long way on the bus and the stop at Loch Ness is brief, the boat tour really not all that exciting. A longer stop at Fort Augustus would allow for the boat tour to see the castle. If instead the trip went to a different part of Loch Ness it may be more exciting. Overall this met my desire to see the Highlands but I will be booking a longer trip in the future.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

csrithai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The Highlands in Scotland are not to be missed! I would not, however, ever recommend the Rabbies tour to a friend or foe. In all fairness, this tour is exactly as it describes. It is a 12 hour tour that mostly takes place on a very uncomfortable bus. We had approx. 2-2.5 hours off the bus to see the Highlands. We spent that time off in various locations. 1. A 30 minute break in...I really can't remember the name of the town. We got a soda at a deli and used their restroom. 2. We stopped for 1.25 hours in Loch Ness. We had a very quick lunch at the Loch Ness in and walked down either side of the canal to look at the Loch. There was a boat tour offered. I chose not to take it based on reviews. Perhaps it would have been a better visit if I had tried it. It was pretty unimpressive. Since childhood I've built this place up in my mind. Here's to you Nessie! - Fort William seemed like it would have been cool? 3. We stopped at a rest stop for the second required 30 minute break for the driver. I'm serious, this was a rest stop with a gift shop and a cafe. 4. We stopped at the top and the bottom of Glencoe for some AMAZING pictures! 5 minutes eachThe scenery was breathtaking! I don't know how we'd have seen it without this tour, but it was a pretty miserable trip. I'll finish off by pointing out this is a bus that has small tour groups. This sunny description can be translated as: the bus carries 16 people. The sixteenth seat is a fold out seat at the front by the driver that is awful! AND you may spend the entire trip 12 hours not even seated next to your family/friend/travel partner because if there is only a seat left in the very front next to the driver and a seat left in the very back- Dave will say You can ask someone if they'll move. Come on Rabbies...a little planning please!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vafa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely trip with the best tour guide, Jan! I and #39;ve already missed the highlands. It was just like a dream!

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous time with Ewan. He was upbeat, fun and a great story teller. We saw the highlights of Highlands in one day and it makes you want to return. Even loved the rain!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a fantastic introduction to the beauty of the Scottish highlands. Our guide Dougie was kind and knowledgeable and allowed us the opportunity to stop for photos along the way at many scenic areas. He also shared his wealth of knowledge of the area through interesting stories. Great!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steve F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan B. was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide. We enjoyed our day with him seeing the lochs and castles in the West Highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

For this tour, we had Jodie as our driver/guide. She told stories of Scotland, in particular the one about the Campbells and the MacDonalds. There was music to listen to that also told stories or illustrated a concept. The highlands were beautiful. We did not find Nessie, but we had a great time.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This overview for people who only have a very short time in Scotland is perfect for that but also as a start to a longer vacation trip. The driving is very long but we did not get bored at all. Our guide, Heather, was very entertaining and kept us fully engaged. The stops at the main sites were long enough and many other points of interest were viewable from the bus. Being an Outlander fan I was happy to see Castle Leoch, Rannock Moor, Fort William and the area highlands. Heather kept us happy with tales of Mary, Queen of Scots and other historical events. The van is quite comfortable and is easily filled and emptied so no time is wasted there. We saw lots of lochs and beautiful mountains. This is a fine overview of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Narisha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely amazing. Breathtaking scenery of the Scottish highlands . Highly recommended. Rabies tours was excellent with their service.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan and #39;s dialogue was both entertaining and educational as we made our way to and from the Highlands. The sights were spectacular and the visit to the distillery was an informative and tasty conclusion to the tour. Our Scotland stay was made more complete by our participation in the tour. Thanks Ewan D

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Eric, our tour guide, was fabulous--great stories, Scottish music, good suggestions for lunch, and of course the wonderful scenery. My niece and I enjoyed the entire trip. I would highly recommend it to any visitor who wants a one day trip for the Highlands and Loch Ness!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ryan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour! It was my first visit to the highlands and Lauren did a great job as our driver/tour guide. Her facts and stories were so interesting and the Scottish music she played in the down time was great.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Kattila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful trip and great to combine the visit in Edinburgh with a day in the Highlands. The guide Nicky was very good and it was great to go in a small group

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jacquelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very scenic tour with a fabulous and knowledgeable guide. Definitely worth seeing, especially the lovely Highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super! Five days of incredibly beautiful, dramatic scenery in out-of-the-way places in the Highlands that a shorter trip would have missed. And every inch is absolutely pristine - didn't see one scrap of paper or one cigarette butt on the ground. And Andrew, our guide, couldn't have been more cheerful, helpful, well-informed, or engaging. Five stars all around.

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour for those who have limited time but want to hit some of the most spectacular highlights of the Highlands. Our guide, Sandy, was the best!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Lee was exceptional! We learned the history of Scotland while viewing Loch Ness , and the Highlands and the Isle of Skye. The view was beautiful and the funny stories Lee told helped make the trip exceptional.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message