The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 464 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vafa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely trip with the best tour guide, Jan! I and #39;ve already missed the highlands. It was just like a dream!

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous time with Ewan. He was upbeat, fun and a great story teller. We saw the highlights of Highlands in one day and it makes you want to return. Even loved the rain!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a fantastic introduction to the beauty of the Scottish highlands. Our guide Dougie was kind and knowledgeable and allowed us the opportunity to stop for photos along the way at many scenic areas. He also shared his wealth of knowledge of the area through interesting stories. Great!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steve F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan B. was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide. We enjoyed our day with him seeing the lochs and castles in the West Highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

For this tour, we had Jodie as our driver/guide. She told stories of Scotland, in particular the one about the Campbells and the MacDonalds. There was music to listen to that also told stories or illustrated a concept. The highlands were beautiful. We did not find Nessie, but we had a great time.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This overview for people who only have a very short time in Scotland is perfect for that but also as a start to a longer vacation trip. The driving is very long but we did not get bored at all. Our guide, Heather, was very entertaining and kept us fully engaged. The stops at the main sites were long enough and many other points of interest were viewable from the bus. Being an Outlander fan I was happy to see Castle Leoch, Rannock Moor, Fort William and the area highlands. Heather kept us happy with tales of Mary, Queen of Scots and other historical events. The van is quite comfortable and is easily filled and emptied so no time is wasted there. We saw lots of lochs and beautiful mountains. This is a fine overview of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Narisha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely amazing. Breathtaking scenery of the Scottish highlands . Highly recommended. Rabies tours was excellent with their service.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan and #39;s dialogue was both entertaining and educational as we made our way to and from the Highlands. The sights were spectacular and the visit to the distillery was an informative and tasty conclusion to the tour. Our Scotland stay was made more complete by our participation in the tour. Thanks Ewan D

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Eileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Eric, our tour guide, was fabulous--great stories, Scottish music, good suggestions for lunch, and of course the wonderful scenery. My niece and I enjoyed the entire trip. I would highly recommend it to any visitor who wants a one day trip for the Highlands and Loch Ness!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ryan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour! It was my first visit to the highlands and Lauren did a great job as our driver/tour guide. Her facts and stories were so interesting and the Scottish music she played in the down time was great.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Kattila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful trip and great to combine the visit in Edinburgh with a day in the Highlands. The guide Nicky was very good and it was great to go in a small group

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jacquelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very scenic tour with a fabulous and knowledgeable guide. Definitely worth seeing, especially the lovely Highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Theresa M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Stirling castle was terrific. There was not much to see at the highlands and Loch Lomond. The driver was terrific. Glad to get to see the architectural three bridges of 3 different centuries.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

SOON POH K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! It was very well arranged and covered the major iconic sites of Scotland and #39;s Highlands and the Loch Ness Lake in a very lively manner. A tour that we wouls not forget!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Grace Joy B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Nice trip to the highlands but they should extended our stay to go around LochNess. Literally and hour and 10 minutes. We just had our cruise and back again.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Stephanie A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour! Our guide, Steve had some great stories to tell on the way and he also took into account the requests of all the passengers and where possible, accommodated them. The Highlands and Skye were remarkably beautiful. I want to go back already. Definitely in love with Scotland

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Francis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved this amazing tour !!!! saw so much of the country that we would not have seen.. Our guide Douglas H was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, personable and fun. He made sure that we were all comfortable and took the time to get to know each one of us. Loved the music that he played : Thank you so much for an incredible day in the Scottish Highlands!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

A Y M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!! It was worth it.. ! This day tour gave us the opportunity to see Loch Ness and Scotland highlands during my short trip to Edinburgh. Service was excellent too!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide and a nice view of some of the Highlands in just one day. The Rabbie's tour outfit is excellent. Mi did a second tour with them as a result!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

amerynn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great trip! Our guide Liz and driver Stevie were great. Multiple stops make the trip seem shorter than it is. Runs very smoothly. Hits all the highlights and gives you a great historical basis for the major events in Highlands history.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Colleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip to Loch Ness and the Highlands. Franziska was an amazing tour guide and bus driver. She never let a dull moment happen. There were just enough stops to make the trip comfortable. The scenery was amazing along the way with Franziska giving us a history lesson along the way.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

JIYEON H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I normally do not take bus tours as we prefer to navigate new places ourselves. However, we only had a day to tour the Scottish Highlands and thought it was too much to tackle without a guide. So, it made sense for us to take the Rabbies bus tour via Viator. We liked that it was a small group and that it went through both national parks. Stopping by Loch Ness was an added bonus. Our tour guide, Jeff, was friendly and knowledgeable. He managed to weave in interesting stories that not only explained the sights but the history and culture of Scotland. We left with a better understanding and appreciation than if we had gone by ourselves. In addition, there were multiple rest stops, which made the 12-hour journey bearable. We couldn't have had a better tour and guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond was a really great experience. The bus was new, modern and comfy, which is not unimportant when you're spending several hours in this vehicle. Our tour guide Graeme was not only a very nice man, he was also funny and really entertaining. During the tour he gave us much interesting information about scottish history, scottish society and mindset and about culture. For example I learned and saw where Sean Connery was born and raised. Although the tour was about 8 hours, it was not too exhausting, because there were several stops in the Highlands for taking pictures. And the two main stops at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond were long enough to explore the grounds. Altogether it was a really good day trip, perfect choice, when you're visiting Edinburgh just for a few days and want to see a little bit more of Scotland. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Blakney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a definite thing to do while you are in Edinburgh. This is something we will always remember and we are actually planning a trip back to Scotland just to spend time in the highlands. The tour company was wonderful, well organized and our guide, Jonathan was so fun and very intelligent on all the questions we asked. The buses are wonderful and comfy for the 12 journey and there are plenty of stops along the way for pictures, shopping, ice cream, ect..... WE LOVED IT! I could not tell you how amazing this trip was. It made our vacation.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Andreia Regis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!!! I recommend everybody the trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands. The guide, Liz, was great. Some friends of mine took part in another trip and regretted: they visited just the loss and I visited small cities, the loss, the glencoe, we had several beautiful stops to use restrooms and/or take pictures!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message