The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 518 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lindsey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip was most wonderful and majestic. The tour guide Doug-ie was so funny and charming and knowledgeable. The highlands were so beautiful. The bus became warm but started out cool so dress accordingly. Waterproof shoes are a good idea! I'd gladly, and without a second thought, take any of the tours offered by this company.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Sok Hian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip to the highlands was amazing! We had a really wonderful tour guide, Francisca, who was engaging and bubbly. Scottish history was introduced in storytelling fashion cue different voices and sound effects, making it more interesting and engaging. There were songs by Scottish bands played on the van as well, making the Scotland experience much more alive. It wasn't all just talking and listening to music, there were also quiet moments for the participants to rest.

We had a smooth journey up to the Highlands with enough pit stops for us to rest, as well as lots of short stops at scenic spots for us to capture the beautiful scenery on our cameras.

This was quite a flexible tour as well there was a boat tour on Loch Ness that was optional. So we had quite some time to explore the area if we choose not to go on the boat tour.

The ride back home was nice too, with fun facts being included as we passed by several iconic structures such as the Fourth Bridge.

To end off, this the tour group size is just right. We had 13 members on the van out of the maximum 16, and it was a cosy number. The duration and tempo of the tour was also very well-managed.

Special shoutout and thanks to our tour guide Francisca who was so actively sharing with us what she knows and offering to take photos for us as well at the photo spots! :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I only had 3 days in Edinburgh. I wanted to experience the highlands but was limited on time. This was the perfect trip. Guide gave some great stories about the history of Scotland and the Highlands. The views were spectacular. We returned in time for dinner and I was even able to catch a ghost tour afterwards!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jurgitabeli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

THANK YOU Arron for making this trip so wonderful! Had a lot of opportunities to take great pictures or grab a cup of coffee. Beautiful highlands and a great tour guide :) Definitely recommend!

(Russia+Lithuania)

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tammylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Eddie wore an authenic scottish outfit, he was the driver and guide. He was extremely nice, knowledgeable, and excellent at his trade. I really enjoyed learning about his life prior to becoming a guide for Rabbi's you should ask. He took us to several brief stops throughout the trip: Queensferry, Castle Stirling, Loch Lubnaig, Castle of Inveraray still being used today, Argyll Forest Park Got to do a little exploring of these stops: Dalymally-Lochawe and town of Inveraray. The sights of the highlands were great. Only bad issue was that there was a water main leak that closed the road at one of the scheduled castle stops :. If you like small groups - Rabbi's is the way to go!!!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Thandar T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Erin Mohr made the trip really fun and informational! I took this trip with my boyfriend and we both had a great time. It's a lot of driving so if you get car sick, I recommend some medicine. The trip followed the timeline well and provided a lot of time for great pictures. I went during December and it was absolutely amazing to see the Scottish highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Megan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Mac, was probably the best tour guide I've ever had! We left from the meeting point right on time, and on the drive over Mac told us all about the history of the highlands. He was an incredible story teller and his tales really brought the landscape to life and made all the difference. You could tell how much he really loved Scotland and the highlands. At each pit stop he'd pick up trash while we were taking pictures because he wanted preserve the beauty of the highlands. He was so kind and such a dedicated guide. We made quite a few stops to take pictures. These stops were beautiful, and Mac was really good about keeping everyone on schedule because daylight is precious in Scotland in December. There is A LOT of driving on this tour, but we got to see so much so it was worth it. Our longest stop was for lunch at Loch Ness. You have to decide between doing the boat tour and having a sit down lunch, because you really only have 20-30 minutes of time to eat if you choose the boat tour. I did the boat tour and thought it was worth it. My only regret for this tour was that I did it in December, because by the time we left Loch Ness the sun was already setting, so we didn't actually get to see any of Cairngorms National Park as we were driving through it. Still, I had a fantastic time. This tour is a great value for your money and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Saeed A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a great tour, showcasing the wonders and uniqueness of Scotland. I never knew the Highlands were so beautiful until we saw them in all their glory. The Whisky tour was fantastic and I had the pleasure of sampling the best whisky I ever had there. I thoroughly recommend paying for the higher priced ticket only a few pounds more than the regular ticket to try the whisky from the dram.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tuija V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great trip, beautiful scenery! Many thanks for our tour guy for the knowledge and stories, and to get us safely back to town.
Pity it get dark so early this time of year, but we managed to see all loch ness, highlands and Glencoe during the daytime and had enough breaks as well. I can absolutely recommend to take the small-group day trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic trip to the Highlands. Our driver/guide Al M. was the best of the best. He was funny, educational, and very focused on making our trip everything it possibly could be. If you only have one day to visit the highlands, this is the trip to take and be sure and ask for Al M. to be your driver/guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jodi was the best and does a great job! She is very knowledgable on the salient points of Scottish history! Jodi is a great story teller and managed to keep us laughing. The Dewars Distillery tour was very educational and has helped to up my game as a Whiskey afficianado. Of course the Scottish Highlands scenery is brilliant. Only wish I had more time.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent trip, in a comfortable vehicle. Mik the driver was entertaining and positive. A very good experience of the highlands in one day. Well organised and very enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip through the Highlands. Our guide on the day was terrific and we had some really good time to ourselves to look around Inverarry hope spelling is correct. Would recommend this on as a great way to see Scotland outside the cities.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Matt K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip lived up to all our expectations. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, providing wonderful commentary along the way and never failing to point out items of historical and cultural significance. He answered all our questions and gave great suggestions for how to get the most out of every stop we made. The van was comfortable, the scenery beautiful, and the overall experience unforgettable. If you want to get a really nice feel for the various parts of this amazing country, and experience a taste of the highlands that will leave wanting to return as soon as possible, I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

ERDEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My wife and me had a wonderful trip via viator..Our guide Gail was nice, knowledgeable and fun. We saw quite nice places, lochs, glens etc in two days.We highly recommend viator and Scottish Highlands....

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

mikechalverus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were on a two week tour of Scotland and England and the highlight of the entire trip was our three day guided tour of the Isle of Skye and the Scottish Highlands. What made the trip so outstanding was due in large part to our tour guide, Tony. His knowledge of the countryside, the history of Scotland and its origins and the historical characters that played such a defining role in its past were just mind-boggling. his knowledge was so complete that we felt like we had gotten a college degree in Scottish history by the time the tour was over. He took us to so many historical sites during our three days that we felt like we had covered everything of importance there was to see and that we had a real appreciation for what the real Scotland is all about. Tony's easy going manner and eagerness to answer any questions we had made it such a pleasurable experience. I can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Law G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was great! The tour guide, Ewan, was informative and funny and took us to some amazing picture spots and gave us a pretty good history of Scotland as we went. A lot of time on the bus but it was a small group that was not overwhelming and frequently stopped so it was doable. A good way to see a lot of the highlands if you have just a day to do it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Natasha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour through the highlands! Beautiful scenic route and a really fun and informative guide. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Grace C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was going to be in Edinburgh for a few days but I knew I wanted to go the Highlands so after some searching on Viator, I found this tour with mostly positive reviews.

The tour itself is run by Rabbies which is definitely one of the main tour operators going out of Edinburgh from what I saw. We must have had 5 or 6 tours leaving at the same time, not all doing the same tour, but there were about 3 that were doing ours.

Get to the meeting point early. I was in Edinburgh at the end of September during the middle of the week and they had about 6 tours leaving at the same time with everyone having to check in at the same time. I can only imagine it's crazier during the busy seasons. Protip: the cafe can be a bit slow. Your tour will leave without you if you are still in the cafe. I almost missed mine.

Jonathan was our tour guide/driver. Overall he was great. There is clearly a set route, but due to the rain he adjusted as needed and took us to alternate places for us to see things. We hardly saw the other tour groups that were on the same tour except at very specific long stops that we had like at Loch Ness.

It's a relatively small group since you are on a minibus. There are two seats on one side, one on the other, a few rows, aisle down the middle with the back row having 4 seats. Is every group going to sit side by side together? No. Get over it. There is no bathroom on the bus. If you have a small bladder or need to go to the bathroom every hour, you can't go on a tour like this. Go rent a car and go at your own pace. There are preset stops for a reason. You will spend a LOT of time on the minibus just because of the distance that is covered in one day. Remember you are basically going from the bottom of Scotland to essentially past the midpoint and a bit up from there. You are covering a lot of miles/KMs. Also - don't be that person no one can find. Make sure you keep an eye on the watch. Having a bus filled with 14 people waiting for you and then having the driver have to make up that time, it's not cool. We're all adults.

Overall the tour was great. I wish I was there during a time of year where it's not raining all the time. It was gorgeous with it all raining and grey I can only imagine how beautiful it is when it's clear.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed the day trip to the West Higlands. Our tour guide Jude was very knowledgeable and entertaining! Had enough time to see the castles (Doune, Kilchurn, Inveraray) and take in the beauty and history of the West Highlands. Highly recommended. Best to go in the Fall, with wonderful colours!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My friend Carol Wallace and I enjoyed Gillian's tour of the Highlands very much. She was knowledgeable but not afraid to admit when she did not know an answer. I do wish that we had been able to at least get a bit closer to Stirling Castle the gateway to the Highlands, We drove by on the highway and it was impossible to even get photos of either the Castle or the Wallace monument. I think I would have preferred to be able to get closer to these than to see the Loch Ness, which is simply a lake surrounded by trees. The Castle is so filled with history, and so important to the Highland clans, that it should be a part of this tour. Also wish we could have stopped somewhere on the return for a photo of the beautiful bridge in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tammy T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I really wanted to see the town of Inveraray and Inveraray Castle, as it was featured in a Christmas special of Downton Abbey, so this tour was perfect for me. My boyfriend enjoyed more of the medieval castles we visited, like Doune Castle and Kilchurn Castle. It was a nice day out in the highlands, which the tour guide ended with seeing some highland calves in Stirling which I had been wanting to see the whole week I had been in Scotland, so I was really incredibly excited that we got to they're incredibly cute!.

The tour guide was a bit on the quiet side, but was still very knowledgable. It's a great tour of the Highlands if you only have a day. However, Rabbie's, the tour company, has plenty of other tours from Edinburgh if you have more time and want a more in depth tour of the Highlands.

On a side note: In Inveraray, you are to pick between seeing the castle or seeing town. My boyfriend and I did do both, you just have to keep track of time if you want to see everything. We went to town first for lunch and then walked back to the castle, where we sped through the exhibits to see the beautiful gardens don't miss their gardens!.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

nphendrickson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best day tour we took in the UK and would highly recommend it to others. Loved the Scottish Highlands and Castles! Our tour guide Douglas, was phenomenal.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shenae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide- Kirsten- was friendly, fun and very knowledgable! It was a long trip on the bus but was very comfortable with the beautiful scenery, fabulous music and commentary! Kirsten gave us Scottish history in an easy to follow format, relevant to the things we were passing- all presented with that god-given Scottish talent for story telling! Good number of stops 2 on the way up and 2 on the way back and about 2 hours at Loch Ness! Kirsten had excellent recommendations for things to see and eat at each stop, and also excellent recommendations for things to do in Edinburgh. Fabulous trip- well worth the cost. For a solo traveller like me it was an excellent taste of the highlands- will definitely be considering coming back for an extended tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

carlywoitha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Roger was quite entertaining in his retelling of Scottish history. This tour hit all of the big sites to see throughout the Highlands. I would highly suggest it for a quick 2-day trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message