The Scottish Highlands are one of Europe's last great wilderness areas. Some come for the sweep of desolate, rugged beauty guaranteed to take your breath away. Others enjoy taking in the history of the castles and the Gaelic traditions that connect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nphendrickson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best day tour we took in the UK and would highly recommend it to others. Loved the Scottish Highlands and Castles! Our tour guide Douglas, was phenomenal.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Shenae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide- Kirsten- was friendly, fun and very knowledgable! It was a long trip on the bus but was very comfortable with the beautiful scenery, fabulous music and commentary! Kirsten gave us Scottish history in an easy to follow format, relevant to the things we were passing- all presented with that god-given Scottish talent for story telling! Good number of stops 2 on the way up and 2 on the way back and about 2 hours at Loch Ness! Kirsten had excellent recommendations for things to see and eat at each stop, and also excellent recommendations for things to do in Edinburgh. Fabulous trip- well worth the cost. For a solo traveller like me it was an excellent taste of the highlands- will definitely be considering coming back for an extended tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

carlywoitha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Roger was quite entertaining in his retelling of Scottish history. This tour hit all of the big sites to see throughout the Highlands. I would highly suggest it for a quick 2-day trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic guides with lots of knowledge plus good humour to go with it. The Grouse distillery trip was so interesting. The walk in the highlands was beautiful and relaxed as well. The tattoo was stunning. An unforgettable experience. In all, this was a brilliant day and evening out. Thanks to the organisers.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a 12 hour overview of the Scottish highlands. Probably 5-51/2 of those were on the ground in interesting places along the way, including Glencoe and Ft. Augustus, where we saw canal locks and try to see the loch monster. The M-B bus was comfortable the group was small 20? and the guide, Sandy, was absolutely first rate. Highly recommend this trip, operated by Rabbie Group Tours. If there was a negative it was that the people at the main office were not especially hospitable -- made us stand out in the wet cold instead of coming into the building.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nik Nick our Scottish tour guide was a wonderful guide who made the trip worthwhile. We explored various parts of the Highlands within the 12 hours we were on the trip. The day was organised efficiently and ran on time. Nik interacted with the other travellers and made conversation with everyone. He was a fanastic guy in general his Scotttish sense of humour was great! and I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone wishing to receive a one day snapshot of the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chrisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great trip! Highly recomended if you want to see the wild nature of the highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great tour to see the Scottish Highlands. Rain put a damper on the trip, but was no unexpected. Driver was like an oral encyclopedia. A lot of good information, but a bit of an overload as there was too much to be able to remember.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jared O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Hi there,

Our tour guide was Charlotte.

Some recommendations:

1. Each guide should be given a script of the narration of what should be said during the journey. That way, it will be consistent from tour to tour because the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands tour is rather popular. We found that the narration was rather overwhelming and an information overload. We would have preferred less speaking.

2. It would be helpful if a screen could be installed at the front of the bus. The screen would indicate a live map of the journey so one can see at any point in time where one is travelling to.

Thanks!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jacey A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Highlands are beautiful and Scotland was my favorite part of the United Kingdom. Our tour guide was a little emotional or maybe on edge at times, he even got short with people. He also gave inaccurate facts along the way. BUT the places we seen were stunning!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Catty, our guide, was fantastic.

If you want to see a lot of the Highlands in one day this is a great tour.

The tour van was comfortable with big windows. My only suggestion would be to add WiFi in the van.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an outstanding day and the highlight of our trip. Jude was a terrific tour guide and is passionate about Scottish History and the Highlands! Her knowledge of the background of the land and the role the sites we were visiting played into the development of the country and the beauty of the land was fantastic. Her mix of music and commentary during the 12 hours we spent driving through the Highlands was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

CheFrancisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is one of the highlights of my trip to Scotland, all thanks to our very knowledgeable, cordial and clever tour guide cum driver named Heather from Rabbie's tours. Although I agree to the common 'complaint' of other travelers that we spent most of the 12-hour tour sitting inside the coach, this trip was still a feast for the senses. Not only that I was drawn to the picturesque landscapes, I have had also free history lessons of the famed people and stories of the area. I have also appreciated Heather's flexibility and commitment to give all her wards a wonderful time by always looking up to the weather forecast of our next destination and adjusting accordingly when the forecast is not that good. The trip had made me wanting for more and I hope to come back one day to have a longer time to explore the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stacey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was absolutely fabulous! What a great guide we had. Roger was so knowledgable and gave us historical facts as well as fascinating folklore and clan stories. He played beautiful pieces of music as we toured through the highlands and it just made the experience feel very special. I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very knowledgeable and personable. Breathtaking scenery. Made me want to return for a trip to the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very knowledgeable and personable. Breathtaking scenery. Made me want to return for a trip to the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very knowledgeable and personable. Breathtaking scenery. Made me want to return for a trip to the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide, very knowledgeable and personable. Breathtaking scenery. Made me want to return for a trip to the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Uly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jude was brilliant. She tells through storytelling and thats rare for guides. I love listening to her stories and singing and she is just a great guide and such a professional one. She drives really careful and she is sweet. She was determined for the group to see all of the West highlands and the castles. Rabbies the partner is also wonderful, organized and they used smaller mercedes vans that are just comfortable with such a small group. This is so much better than the normal big buses that goes here.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful experience on our day trip to Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands. Our guide, Fergui, was sharing willingly of his rich knowledge and we got good advices at every stop. He played pleasant music throughout the tour with a comfortable sound level. Our driver drove nice and safe, considering riding for 12 hours. One downside with this trip was that we did not stop at Sterling castle, which we thought we would. We understand that stops must be prioritized due to the scarce time, but if this had been better shown on their website, this wouldn't had been questioned. On the other hand, a positive experience was when we drove by Doune castle, since we thought we wouldn't see this castle on this trip. An improvement in the future, would be to stop here for some minutes to take a picture or two. There were a lot of stops, even on places we didn't know we were going to stop Loch Lubnaig in Loch Lomond and the Trossachs national park, the three sisters of Glencoe and the forth road bridge among other places, which made the day go really fast, including our guide always explaning along the ride what we saw. This was just great! Since we were on this trip on a sunday almost everything were closed, but this was not an obstacle since we wouldn't had time for shopping anyway. Several and shorter stops were better, than less and longer stops after a long day in a minivan. Improvements of this trip could be to have better information on their website, which include where there will be stops and where there will be opportunities to buy food and beverages. In addition, the guides' microphone didn't work properly several times of this trip, which made it hard to hear everything in the back of the bus. This should really be looked into. After all this was a nice trip where we saw a lot of the scottish highlands, which we really loved! We would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

wjbillmorrison

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip if you want to cram a lot of Scotland into one day. Our 2 boys are 9 and 11 years old and Loch Ness was a must during our trip to Scotland. The trip allowed us to get up to Loch ness, have lunch and take a one hour boat tour. Plenty of nice stops along the way. We all enjoyed our trip and would recommend it if you only have one day to see the highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Debbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Was a great tour in spite of the rain bucketing down. Francesca did a wonderful job, being able to talk and drive efficiently through torrential rain takes some skill. It is spectacular countryside. Lochness ferry ride not really worth it but that may have been because of the weather you couldn't see anything but the crew were nice. I would recommend this tour if you were short on time and just wanted a taste of the Scottish Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rebecca J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

For a quick trip through the highlands this trip was fantastic! Our guide was great and was a wealth of knowledge. He was also willing to try and accommodate what the entire group wanted to see/do. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a short stay in Scotland.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

jhutchi100

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The 3 stars is for the bus trip as the Tatoo was 5 stars. The bus was advertised as a minivan but it was a good size bus with almost 40 people on board. There were some non-English speaking kids who talked over the tour guide and played with video,games with the sound on. It was a warm day and the bus got very hot. Not the most comfortable environment for this trip. It was good to see the highlands.

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo

Bridget W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I booked this tour as I wanted to see the Highlands and did not want to drive myself. Rich was great, provided loads of information. Within the day time frame this is an ok tour. It is a long way on the bus and the stop at Loch Ness is brief, the boat tour really not all that exciting. A longer stop at Fort Augustus would allow for the boat tour to see the castle. If instead the trip went to a different part of Loch Ness it may be more exciting. Overall this met my desire to see the Highlands but I will be booking a longer trip in the future.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message