The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 214 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daphne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour is well planned, and accommodation was great. Our tour guide Mac did a wonderful job - kept us informed and entertained all the way. Well done, Rabbie and #39;s!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

coledude

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Mathew was AWESOME! His level of service was exceptional and I was very impressed with his local knowledge. He kept the trip very fluid pardon the pun and I had 3 days without a worry in the world.. Everything from start to finish was perfect.. Thanks again!
Cole

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this should be a very high rating. I'm not sure which end is the best rating.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Athena A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

'Party' Pete was fantastic in giving us additional side tours of scenic views, historic sites and stores that offered tastings. We only had one other couple on board instead of 16 total due to limitations of accommodations in the town we were staying. Much to our advantage. It made for a more cozy tour. The distillery tours were fantastic, along with the tastings. Pete's commentary as we drove and historic facts were fascinating! A wonderful tour, in spite of the Scottish weather of drizzle, rain, coolness and overcast! It didn't damper our enjoyment!!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan and #39;s dialogue was both entertaining and educational as we made our way to and from the Highlands. The sights were spectacular and the visit to the distillery was an informative and tasty conclusion to the tour. Our Scotland stay was made more complete by our participation in the tour. Thanks Ewan D

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What made this excursion a 5 star rating was the driver/guide. Duffy was outstanding!!

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Darrell C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic day of touring 2 great distilleries along with a beautiful relaxing drive through some fantastic Scottish scenery. Our tour guide, James, did a fantastic job. Very knowledgeable!! I would highly recommend this.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marcela H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carl USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent.He made Scottish history interesting. The whisky factory very interesting, The sights lake and forest were nice, but not outstanding.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michael A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Reiner Touristentripp, wie die Pinguine, raus aus dem Bus , rein in den Bus.
Aber , ansonsten hätte man es gar nicht Gesehen und der Busfahrer hat seine Sache sehr gut gemacht!!!

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very good tour with tasting. I learned a lot.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Eugenia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this class. It is much better than a tour you would get at a distillery as you learn a lot about whisky, not just one brand but many. Our teacher was wonderful, unfortunately I'm terrible at names, but he chose the whiskys we tried at the end of the class and it was a very good sampling. I would recommend this to any novice whisky or experienced drinker. BTW I learned that my husband has a very strong nose!! After almost 30 years it was a pleasant surprise.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bruce was fabulous and so was the tour! I highly recommend it if you want to see a beautiful part of Scotland and learn all about speyside whisky. A lot of fun. We stopped at quite a few distilleries. Just loved every minute.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bruce was fabulous and so was the tour! I highly recommend it if you want to see a beautiful part of Scotland and learn all about speyside whisky. A lot of fun. We stopped at quite a few distilleries. Just loved every minute.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were fortunate to get blue skies and sunshine every day, which certainly enhanced our trip, but even if Islay can't guarantee the weather every time, I'd highly recommend this tour. We visited 6 distilleries on Islay, as well as Oban on the mainland. The Ardbeg and Kilchoman tours were both particularly good, but every distillery had its own distinctive feel, and needless to say we also tasted some fantastic whiskies... Accomodation was good, and the organisation was brilliant, so it stress free apart from the problem of choosing which whiskies to take home with us.... Our driver was knowledgeable, and maintained his enthusiasm and sense of humour throughout. If you like the idea of beautiful scenery combined with excellent whisky, I'd definitely take this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

paul.bavington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful. highlighted by a great tour of Aberfeldy distillery. They distill the heart whisky of Dewar's White label, and also spirits under their own name. Two options are available, 6 or 13.50. The very educational distillery tour about an hour is the same for everyone. And for 6 you can sample one of three of their 12-year-old products. But for 13.50, they add in a sample right from a cask - in our case a 27-year-old single malt. And you get to keep the glass. A real bargain, except I'm spoiled now, and my whisky budget is going to have to change. Especially sine my wife liked it too. Lastly, I have to mention the guide, Jude. She was fantastic. I couldn't believe she'd only been doing the job for a month or so. A natural story-teller, as I suspect all Scots are.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michael P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The bus tour was quite good. Our guide, Kirsty, was lovely and very knowledgeable. She shared a lot of interesting stories about Scottish history.
The brewery tour itself was quite good. The only disappointing part of the tour was the lunch at the brewery. For some reason we were only able to eat in the cafe part of the brewery not restaurant where the food is all pre made and consists virtually of just a few selections of cold sandwiches, haggis and some soup. The sandwiches were very average. This has NOTHING to do with the bus tour itself, but is instead just feedback on the brewery itself.
All in all it was quite a pleasurable day.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steven F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip was fantastic. Roger kept it fun and insightful. We learned alot about Scottish culture and history. The tour had a schedule, but Roger did a very nice job of balancing the schedule and peoples needs. The views were beautiful. Overall a very memorable excursion

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We visited two distilleries. The first, Glengoyne, was a class act. Its beautiful facilities reflected the company's pride in tradition, craft, and quality. The second distillery, Deanstones, was a relatively modern industrial operation, with little new to teach. The time devoted to Deanstones might have been better spent visiting Sterling Castle which was right on the way. Our two guides -- Jillian and Fergus -- were excellent.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

sarah M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Driver Richard was brilliant. Knowledge was outstanding and very entertaining

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aishwarya F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good guide. Nice experience. Very homely feeling. Enjoyed very much!!!!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

bland1

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message