The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jodi was the best and does a great job! She is very knowledgable on the salient points of Scottish history! Jodi is a great story teller and managed to keep us laughing. The Dewars Distillery tour was very educational and has helped to up my game as a Whiskey afficianado. Of course the Scottish Highlands scenery is brilliant. Only wish I had more time.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Denise S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a good purchase, Hugh was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Interesting and enlightening information provided about my favorite drink. Small groups and amiable instructors. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It is important to note that both distillery tours are an additional fee you need to paid to the distilleries themself, but otherwise this is an excellent tour. When you do pay for the tours, I and #39;d encourage you to take the second options, as it means you and #39;ll be tasting a second whiskey per visit.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

NIMROD L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The best tour ever!!!
Keith the guide was great and funny!
A lot of distilleries a lot of whisky and a lot of fun!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an extremely well run tour with a fabulous, knowledgeable and full of dry humor, Keith the tour guide. It didn't hurt that we had unseasonably fantastic weather for sure but this would have been a great tour in any weather. The Scottish history lessons during the drive between distilleries was also a nice touch along with some scottish tunes mixed in here and there. I can't wait to come back for the Islay tour!!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

dlovitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, great whiskey options, and a great learning experience.

Only thing I suggest doing is check the hotel options in Grantown-on-Spey and work with Rabbie's to find a good option that has good reviews. In the group I was in, we were split over a few hotels and not all were great.

Absolutely would do a tour with Rabbie's again and in fact maybe even repeat this specific one in the future.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Brian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful, Wonderful tour!!! Not just about the distilleries. Also about Scotland and the history of this wonderful country. So many amazing sights to see!!! Would highly recommend. Gayle our tour guide made her love of Scotland our love!!!

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

crjohns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a great way to see Islay and experience 6 of the distilleries on the island. But there is much more to Islay than just Whisky. Gail, our tour guide, made every effort to provide a tour that balanced the tastings with other sites and experiences.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Nat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Trip was incredible - would highly recommend it to anyone! Pete and Steve were just delightful and made each day exciting and full of fun.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Tricia H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Gill our guide was great!! She told us stories and history the entire way. She had a map within reach and on display so she could talk and point as she needed to. The distilleries were good. Yes, as mentioned the sampling is an additional fee at each distillery. 8 pounds for 1 sample and 10 for 2 samples at each place. Glengoyne was really nice, the guide Arthur was very informative. Not as much a fan of guide at Deanston but still interesting as they are different. Lunch was ok, Loch Lomond is small. I did not walk around but I did hear the views were amazing if I would have. Gill even found us time at the end to go and see the Doune castle which of course is in a couple different tv shows. Gill was amazing and very entertaining. She had great music playing when she was not talking. Definitely liked Rabbies tours. Went on a non Rabbies tour the next day and definitely NOT as good!! LOVE GILL!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, knowledgeable and friendly driver, fabulous whisky and great to have a choice in level of accommodation.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband is a whisky lover and enjoyed this trip very much. The driver James was very nice and instructive. The whisky that we tasted was fantastic and lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Taryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Only made one of the two distilleries, where we bought 3 bottles of excellent Highland whiskeys. Then our guide, Mike, mentioned we would see Doune Castle very close to the second distillery. For Outlander fans, that is Castle Leoch!! He dropped the people interested in the distillery there, and took the rest of us to the Castle, which we were able to tour. Bought a Fraser tartan plaid there and was immensely happy! Mike was the best, telling of Scot/Brit history most of the way

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Outstanding. Thanks for a great whiskey experience.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Larry H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great all-day activity. Not only did we get to visit two distilleries, where we learned a lot about the production of Scotch single-malt, but the drive through the countryside was beautiful. The tours and tastings are an additional expense, but the cost was nominal and certainly worth doing.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

John N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour guide was awesome, but as it turns out, filling a big bus with people just wasn't my style. It felt constricting.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cedric N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The coach driver was brilliant and made the tour more enjoyable. The second whiskey distillery did not meet expectations and should be reviewed with a replacement seriously considered.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Thomas B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

None of the tours or tastings are included in this. All that is included is the bus. Each tour is an additional 12. Both of the tours are very similar.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This small group Rabbie's tour was really wonderful. Our diver guide was very accommodating and we had a wonderfully pleasant day in the higlands and distillery- loved it. Would recommend tour and the company wholeheartedly

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a terrific experience whether you are a scotch fan or not and Paul was a fun tour guide! We visited Glencoyne first which was in production provided a great tour of the facilities and the tastings were excellent! Deanston was not in production but was still a good tour. I would have maybe opted for a Distillery that was in production but it was a good example of how different the Distillery's can be. Lunch could have been a better experience as it appeared the restaurant was prepared for the tours that descended upon it so the service was slow....The food was excellent but the slow service limited our time to wander around Loch Lomond! Still - I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ronnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great! I enjoyed every bit of it including the various tastings. Keith the tour guide was fantastic and very funny. He has good knowledge of Scottish history. Never a dull moment

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Sietse J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great!! It was not until the day after, when we visited the Castle and other attractions, that we realised how much of the Scottish history we were told during this trip. Jude was our guide and she was great. Good stories, not too long, not too short, very entertaining and informative. Our recommendations!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Sandy was a great guide.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

spomeroy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

10am was a bit early but the tour was great! I would recommend to anyone who enjoys whisky and wants to learn more about Scotch.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message