The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yuen Sze Tracy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely wonderful experienced. My driver Juliet is very helpful and she's able to tell all the histories and answer all of my questions. She is super nice. The trip include 2 distillery and I especially like the whisky tasting at Glengoyne, although I have to pay extra 10 pounds for 2 shorts of whisky tasting but it's worth it. The trip include a little bit of sightseeing on the way to the distillery and we have lunch at the local restaurant which was very good. I would highly recommended my friend to join this tour. it's definitely worth it.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour with Jude! Very knowledgeable and excellent communication skills did not talk too much, great story telling voice, incorporated music, approachable. The tour itself was lovely. Both distilleries were interesting in their own ways, Glengoyne was beautiful! Quaint town for lunch and photo opportunities during the drive to and from places. Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Catherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm guessing half the experience is about the itinerary and the other half is dependent on the tour guide. Ours was fantastic. Grant was extremely entertaining, knowledgeable, accommodating and enthusiastic I think it would be hard not to have a wonderful time with him at the helm. We booked the tour at the last minute as kind of an afterthought, in August 2016, and we were so happy we had the opportunity to do it. We got to see beautiful forests, rivers, peaty ponds and lochs, historic viewpoints, and even Birnam Woods! We are more theater geeks than drinkers, so the tour of the distillery was kind of an interesting bonus than the reason for doing this tour, but it was fascinating to see the distillation process and fun to think of Alan Cumming getting his start in this little town. We appreciated the small group size, which gave us the opportunity to move around more nimbly and also converse with Grant from time to time and learn even more. So much of what you remember from a trip depends on the people you encounter, and we came away smitten with Scotland, in large part thanks to Grant. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Totally enjoyed this experience, learned a lot more about Single Malt whiskey. Seeing the collection took my breath away.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Otto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience for everyone, even better whisky lovers. Jude, our driver was awesome. Thanks Jude!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Saeed A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a great tour, showcasing the wonders and uniqueness of Scotland. I never knew the Highlands were so beautiful until we saw them in all their glory. The Whisky tour was fantastic and I had the pleasure of sampling the best whisky I ever had there. I thoroughly recommend paying for the higher priced ticket only a few pounds more than the regular ticket to try the whisky from the dram.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jodi was the best and does a great job! She is very knowledgable on the salient points of Scottish history! Jodi is a great story teller and managed to keep us laughing. The Dewars Distillery tour was very educational and has helped to up my game as a Whiskey afficianado. Of course the Scottish Highlands scenery is brilliant. Only wish I had more time.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Denise S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a good purchase, Hugh was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Interesting and enlightening information provided about my favorite drink. Small groups and amiable instructors. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It is important to note that both distillery tours are an additional fee you need to paid to the distilleries themself, but otherwise this is an excellent tour. When you do pay for the tours, I and #39;d encourage you to take the second options, as it means you and #39;ll be tasting a second whiskey per visit.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

NIMROD L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The best tour ever!!!
Keith the guide was great and funny!
A lot of distilleries a lot of whisky and a lot of fun!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an extremely well run tour with a fabulous, knowledgeable and full of dry humor, Keith the tour guide. It didn't hurt that we had unseasonably fantastic weather for sure but this would have been a great tour in any weather. The Scottish history lessons during the drive between distilleries was also a nice touch along with some scottish tunes mixed in here and there. I can't wait to come back for the Islay tour!!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

dlovitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, great whiskey options, and a great learning experience.

Only thing I suggest doing is check the hotel options in Grantown-on-Spey and work with Rabbie's to find a good option that has good reviews. In the group I was in, we were split over a few hotels and not all were great.

Absolutely would do a tour with Rabbie's again and in fact maybe even repeat this specific one in the future.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Brian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful, Wonderful tour!!! Not just about the distilleries. Also about Scotland and the history of this wonderful country. So many amazing sights to see!!! Would highly recommend. Gayle our tour guide made her love of Scotland our love!!!

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

crjohns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a great way to see Islay and experience 6 of the distilleries on the island. But there is much more to Islay than just Whisky. Gail, our tour guide, made every effort to provide a tour that balanced the tastings with other sites and experiences.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Nat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Trip was incredible - would highly recommend it to anyone! Pete and Steve were just delightful and made each day exciting and full of fun.

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Tricia H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Gill our guide was great!! She told us stories and history the entire way. She had a map within reach and on display so she could talk and point as she needed to. The distilleries were good. Yes, as mentioned the sampling is an additional fee at each distillery. 8 pounds for 1 sample and 10 for 2 samples at each place. Glengoyne was really nice, the guide Arthur was very informative. Not as much a fan of guide at Deanston but still interesting as they are different. Lunch was ok, Loch Lomond is small. I did not walk around but I did hear the views were amazing if I would have. Gill even found us time at the end to go and see the Doune castle which of course is in a couple different tv shows. Gill was amazing and very entertaining. She had great music playing when she was not talking. Definitely liked Rabbies tours. Went on a non Rabbies tour the next day and definitely NOT as good!! LOVE GILL!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, knowledgeable and friendly driver, fabulous whisky and great to have a choice in level of accommodation.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband is a whisky lover and enjoyed this trip very much. The driver James was very nice and instructive. The whisky that we tasted was fantastic and lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Taryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Only made one of the two distilleries, where we bought 3 bottles of excellent Highland whiskeys. Then our guide, Mike, mentioned we would see Doune Castle very close to the second distillery. For Outlander fans, that is Castle Leoch!! He dropped the people interested in the distillery there, and took the rest of us to the Castle, which we were able to tour. Bought a Fraser tartan plaid there and was immensely happy! Mike was the best, telling of Scot/Brit history most of the way

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Outstanding. Thanks for a great whiskey experience.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Larry H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great all-day activity. Not only did we get to visit two distilleries, where we learned a lot about the production of Scotch single-malt, but the drive through the countryside was beautiful. The tours and tastings are an additional expense, but the cost was nominal and certainly worth doing.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

John N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour guide was awesome, but as it turns out, filling a big bus with people just wasn't my style. It felt constricting.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cedric N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The coach driver was brilliant and made the tour more enjoyable. The second whiskey distillery did not meet expectations and should be reviewed with a replacement seriously considered.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message