The Scots love alcohol. In Edinburgh, their insatiable need for pubs has produced some very nice establishments to visit, including ancient hostelries in the Grassmarket where Scottish folk music regales visitors on Sunday evenings. Of course, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 234 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, knowledgeable and friendly driver, fabulous whisky and great to have a choice in level of accommodation.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband is a whisky lover and enjoyed this trip very much. The driver James was very nice and instructive. The whisky that we tasted was fantastic and lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Taryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Only made one of the two distilleries, where we bought 3 bottles of excellent Highland whiskeys. Then our guide, Mike, mentioned we would see Doune Castle very close to the second distillery. For Outlander fans, that is Castle Leoch!! He dropped the people interested in the distillery there, and took the rest of us to the Castle, which we were able to tour. Bought a Fraser tartan plaid there and was immensely happy! Mike was the best, telling of Scot/Brit history most of the way

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

John N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour guide was awesome, but as it turns out, filling a big bus with people just wasn't my style. It felt constricting.

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cedric N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The coach driver was brilliant and made the tour more enjoyable. The second whiskey distillery did not meet expectations and should be reviewed with a replacement seriously considered.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Thomas B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

None of the tours or tastings are included in this. All that is included is the bus. Each tour is an additional 12. Both of the tours are very similar.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This small group Rabbie's tour was really wonderful. Our diver guide was very accommodating and we had a wonderfully pleasant day in the higlands and distillery- loved it. Would recommend tour and the company wholeheartedly

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a terrific experience whether you are a scotch fan or not and Paul was a fun tour guide! We visited Glencoyne first which was in production provided a great tour of the facilities and the tastings were excellent! Deanston was not in production but was still a good tour. I would have maybe opted for a Distillery that was in production but it was a good example of how different the Distillery's can be. Lunch could have been a better experience as it appeared the restaurant was prepared for the tours that descended upon it so the service was slow....The food was excellent but the slow service limited our time to wander around Loch Lomond! Still - I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ronnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great! I enjoyed every bit of it including the various tastings. Keith the tour guide was fantastic and very funny. He has good knowledge of Scottish history. Never a dull moment

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

Sietse J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great!! It was not until the day after, when we visited the Castle and other attractions, that we realised how much of the Scottish history we were told during this trip. Jude was our guide and she was great. Good stories, not too long, not too short, very entertaining and informative. Our recommendations!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Sandy was a great guide.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

spomeroy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

10am was a bit early but the tour was great! I would recommend to anyone who enjoys whisky and wants to learn more about Scotch.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

spomeroy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

10am was a bit early to start this but a great way to learn more about Scotch!

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip, and our tour guide was first rate. Definitely worth the price. As other commenters have noted, the distillery tours and tastings are not included in the price, but are fairly modest. Pay a bit extra for the three tastings!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tero K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Party-Pete was great quide, thanks and all the best to him. We learned lots of whisky and Scotland. Bowmore cottage was good place to stay. Distilleries were interesting and Kilchoman was excellent start to tour and have great story, good luck for them. We had nice group and it was pleasure to meet new people around the world. We hope to come back one day.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I'm recommending this tour to all my Scotch-drinking friends. It is a must for anyone who likes Scotch, a great price for value, and loads of fun.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Ralph P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour for the novice Scotch drinker was generally informative. The staff was very engaging and during the tour, shared the elements that make Scotch from the 4 different regions unique.

Doing what: Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh

Daphne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour is well planned, and accommodation was great. Our tour guide Mac did a wonderful job - kept us informed and entertained all the way. Well done, Rabbie and #39;s!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

coledude

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Mathew was AWESOME! His level of service was exceptional and I was very impressed with his local knowledge. He kept the trip very fluid pardon the pun and I had 3 days without a worry in the world.. Everything from start to finish was perfect.. Thanks again!
Cole

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this should be a very high rating. I'm not sure which end is the best rating.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Athena A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

'Party' Pete was fantastic in giving us additional side tours of scenic views, historic sites and stores that offered tastings. We only had one other couple on board instead of 16 total due to limitations of accommodations in the town we were staying. Much to our advantage. It made for a more cozy tour. The distillery tours were fantastic, along with the tastings. Pete's commentary as we drove and historic facts were fascinating! A wonderful tour, in spite of the Scottish weather of drizzle, rain, coolness and overcast! It didn't damper our enjoyment!!

Doing what: 3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ewan and #39;s dialogue was both entertaining and educational as we made our way to and from the Highlands. The sights were spectacular and the visit to the distillery was an informative and tasty conclusion to the tour. Our Scotland stay was made more complete by our participation in the tour. Thanks Ewan D

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What made this excursion a 5 star rating was the driver/guide. Duffy was outstanding!!

Doing what: Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message