Even if you’ve only got a few days in Edinburgh, the atmospheric Scottish capital makes an ideal base for exploring further afield and with many of the country’s highlights within a short distance, there are numerous options for day tours. To give ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2780 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great tour guide Barney and was one of my favorite things I've done so far as an abroad student.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great day trip. Our driver/guide Roger made it extra special with his interesting and humorous commentary. The scenery is beautiful and open country is a wonderful contrast to Edinburgh which was great. The long day is worth the trip. Days are short in the winter, which we knew, but would not have missed it. Rabbie's put together a fun and informative trip. We opted not to do the Loch Ness boat trip and had a relaxing lunch and a beer at The Bothy. Have to say the warm fire was much enjoyed! Would recommend this for anyone wanting a taste of the Highlands and rural Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent, had a really great time. Good Guide.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was guided by Jonathan from Rabbies Tours. Jonathan had excellent historical knowledge of the Highlands with a great sense of humor. He blend of history and comic relief made the trip thoroughly enjoyable. In addition, Jonathan had choreographed music relevant to the area or subject matter that was a really nice touch. The beauty of the area speaks for itself. Plenty of stops along the way for bathroom breaks orbiters to eat/shopping! Highly recommended and be sure to ask to be in Jonathan's group!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

cain w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour but in winter you will miss out on scenery as the sun sets early just after 4pm. Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marija B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It's a long day but worth every minute - specially it if Scot is your guidegreat job! The highlands and the lochs are amazing and a must see for everyone who visits Scotland and the stories we we heard on our way to Loch Ness amused us a lot. We learned so much about this beautiful country. Would do it again

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

jacqueline m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My guide Jonathan was very friendly and knowledgeable even though he had never heard of the tv show Outlander. He told us the places to go to get the best photos/ views. He even offered us suggestions to try when we made stops at little places on our tour. The places we visited were breathtaking.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Erin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are short on time, this is a great way to see so much of Scotland in a condensed amount of time. We had a great tour guide Ewan who was very entertaining and very knowledgable. It is a lot of time to be on a tour but it was well worth it and breathtaking views. I wish we had had more time in Glen Co to take more pictures but with the amount of the country you're seeing, it was understandable why we couldn't! Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mallory126

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a truly amazing tour! Jude was a wonderfully entertaining and informative guide. The scenery was spectacular, and our stops were all interesting and well timed. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

elladacas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow what views! We were blown away by the spectacular scenery and the grandeur of Scotland. Wow just wow. We had many stop offs where we could explore the location/towns and take pictures! 12 hours flew by! Honestly didn and #39;t think it would but it did and we had some great Scottish music for company!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. Would definitely go again. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide, Franchesca I am not sure the spelling of her name, I'm sorry was superb! She was funny and talked enough to keep us interested, but not so much that you wanted her to stop. She was a great story teller and she had all sorts of interesting information about Edinburgh, the Kingdom of Fife and St. Andrews. She clearly did her homework. We got in a lot of sight seeing in St Andrews, which is largely why we booked the tour, and felt ready to leave just in time. The little stops we made along the way were perfect, and she was good about time keeping. We wished we had booked a city tour of Edinburgh with the same agency but didn't have time. I would use this company again and again, and highly recommend it to everyone. We couldn't say enough about Fran!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Audrey was a fantastic guide, we had a lot of factors against us - weather, bridge being shut, traffic - but she entertained us with fabulous Scottish history stories and stopped at some truly beautiful spots. She was a lot of fun and this tour was a great way to see other parts of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

christine k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

it was such a beautiful day!!!!
i would of regret it much if we came to scotland and not have gone to that trip
special thanks to our driver,guide,historian, officer and much more ... Jeff!!!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Iris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was dynamite. Only down side was the reduced daylight because we took the tour in December - but the tour guide played plenty of Scottish music and regaled us with history and tales. We enjoyed this tour so much that we booked the same tour company for a day tour of St. Andrews and the fishing villages. I have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Theresa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

St. Andrews and Fife are both an amazing and beautiful! My husband is a golf enthusiast. It is in his bucket list to go and play here. My family enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was very entertaining, knowledgeable and accommodating. I love his Scottish playlist! We had our stop overs for some picture taking or bathroom rest at the Firth of Forth Birdges, Ellie popular seaside town in the East Neuk of Fife, Anstruther charming fishing village in the East Neuk and Falkland. We love St.Andrew's. We were given 3 hours to explore the wonderful historical place. My kids enjoyed the Street Market, St.Andrew's Aquarium,Golf Museum, the gift shop near St.Andrew's University where they have display of St. Andrew's life.With such limited time, overall the tour was worth it.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely amazing tour.
The guide, Sergio an Italian Argentinian was extremely good, friendly and funny. Definitively he made 50 of the tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Sok Hian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip to the highlands was amazing! We had a really wonderful tour guide, Francisca, who was engaging and bubbly. Scottish history was introduced in storytelling fashion cue different voices and sound effects, making it more interesting and engaging. There were songs by Scottish bands played on the van as well, making the Scotland experience much more alive. It wasn't all just talking and listening to music, there were also quiet moments for the participants to rest.

We had a smooth journey up to the Highlands with enough pit stops for us to rest, as well as lots of short stops at scenic spots for us to capture the beautiful scenery on our cameras.

This was quite a flexible tour as well there was a boat tour on Loch Ness that was optional. So we had quite some time to explore the area if we choose not to go on the boat tour.

The ride back home was nice too, with fun facts being included as we passed by several iconic structures such as the Fourth Bridge.

To end off, this the tour group size is just right. We had 13 members on the van out of the maximum 16, and it was a cosy number. The duration and tempo of the tour was also very well-managed.

Special shoutout and thanks to our tour guide Francisca who was so actively sharing with us what she knows and offering to take photos for us as well at the photo spots! :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Janette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Its a long day but there are plenty of stops in between. Our Driver and Tour Guide was wonderful. Super informative and made the experience very fun.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Lindsey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip was most wonderful and majestic. The tour guide Doug-ie was so funny and charming and knowledgeable. The highlands were so beautiful. The bus became warm but started out cool so dress accordingly. Waterproof shoes are a good idea! I'd gladly, and without a second thought, take any of the tours offered by this company.

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

xxgeyayaxx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

amazing view throughout car ride, very long and intense car ride but tour guide stieve keep us entertained throughout the tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Georgia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was so great to see a whole other side of Scotland! I'd suggest going before it starts getting dark by 4pm though.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tiffany E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time! The scenery is spectacular and the day was well paced. Our guide Karen was fabulous! She is encyclopedic knowledge about Scottish history and her Scottish pride is contagious.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jillian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was great..we had the best day and got the best pictures

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

flossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent day! Gil was very knowledgeable with good advice for things to do and see when we stopped. Good amount of time to see St. Andrews.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message