Even if you’ve only got a few days in Edinburgh, the atmospheric Scottish capital makes an ideal base for exploring further afield and with many of the country’s highlights within a short distance, there are numerous options for day tours. To give ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2738 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jurgitabeli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

THANK YOU Arron for making this trip so wonderful! Had a lot of opportunities to take great pictures or grab a cup of coffee. Beautiful highlands and a great tour guide :) Definitely recommend!

(Russia+Lithuania)

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jesse D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved this trip! It was stunning! I would personally rather drive it if I had the time, that way I could stop off as often as I wanted everywhere I wanted along the way. Regardless, we had such a great time!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

vito r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was very informative. Would reccomended

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Astrilia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful day trip, thanks for the memories.

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide Jaime was great!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Aryela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great! Our driver, Jonathan was a lot of fun!
The van was confortable and although the trip was really long, the views were spectacular so it was worth it

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Raul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing day! Our guide, Heather, was warm and welcoming, extremely knowledgeable and informative and kept us constantly entertained. My daughter and I still talk about all the things we learned and saw. We took the optional Loch Ness boat trip and it was well worth it. I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kayla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our tour guide, Heather!!! This was the best trip - small bus with multiple stops for pictures. Heather was extremely knowledgeable. Note: Don't waste your time or money on the Loch Ness cruise. It's super touristy - save yourself some stress and grab a nice lunch in the small village instead.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mark J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fun trip! There was a little rain - but who cares? This is Scotland. Nothing that a beautiful abbey, lush greenery, and warm soup and sandwich can't cure! Melrose Abbey was beautiful. There was a wedding going on so that made it more surreal. Rosslyn Chapel was just as stunning but unfortunately, no inside photos were allowed. Our guide was awesome and had a great laugh. Really a great little trip. And it was very organized at Rabbie's Cafe in downtown Edinburgh. I use Viator for EVERY tour and they have never failed yet!

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Nat Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Would recommend this trip to anyone. We had the best trip and our tour guide was amazing.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

reedercj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. Very knowledgeable driver.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic trip to the Highlands. Our driver/guide Al M. was the best of the best. He was funny, educational, and very focused on making our trip everything it possibly could be. If you only have one day to visit the highlands, this is the trip to take and be sure and ask for Al M. to be your driver/guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Louise M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The home of Golf, beautiful ruins, a wonderful beach, and the North Sea. I managed to have lunch with two of the locals, a Sea Gull and a Crow. Has good shopping and places to grab a bite to eat.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

DEREK C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An excellent journey seeing key sights. Much time on road due to distance from Edinburgh. OUr tour guide/driver Richard was very knowledgeable and helped pass the time with interesting commentary.Best to do this tour in Spring/Summer as better weather and longer daylight. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

JOHN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip with a really knowledgable driver/ guide. Coming from Australia my wife and I had very little teaching about Scotland from school days. Sure we knew lots abou England, it's Kings and Queens, but nothing about Scotland.
So we really enjoyed Douglas with his knowledge and enthusiasm
.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pedro M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing trip, i would recomend everyone to do it. The guide i went with Eric was really good, funny, andexplained a lot of cool stories about Scoland and the places we pass though.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

NisseHult

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

After a unfortunate traffic jam when leaving Edinburgh, we decided to replaced the boat tour
with some extra stops a Scottish village with a Christmas shop, whiskey factory and a Sweene todd inspired
barbershop next door to a McDonald butchery!, A quick stop at the Doune castle Wholy Grale, Winterfell scenic.

The great and inspiring guide Jodie with a burning hart for Scottland even though she had a secret anfather from Ireland filled the journey with interesting and sometimes terrible stories about Scotland and events in it's history.
With great passion she talked almost during the whole journey with some pauses with favorith Scotish music,
Proclaimers and other pop/folk music.
So now we know a lot about Mary Queen of Scots, why the Cambells even nowdays are not welcomed to Glenncoe to visit the McDonalds.
a incident that might have given the ide to the Stark wedding massacre in Game of Thrones. We were also told the tragic background to
the Bonnie banks o' Loch Lomond song together with hard times after the Scotish Jacobite rebellion.
Big thanks Jodie for making the journey memorable. We will with interest follow the Scotish exit after brexit discussion and the possible future name change of Fort William.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carla N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a wonderful time with this tour. A nice touch was the Scottish music we experienced during the parts of the trip that needed no commentary.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

amber_ressmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Jodi as our tour guide and she made this day trip an AMAZING experience!! We drove by Stirling Castle on the way out to Loch Lomond where we could capture some great pictures of the castle with the Hairy Coo's down below. Next stop was Loch Lomond which was a very quaint area and we had adequate time to explore and again, get some fabulous pictures. We circled back to Stirling and just in time to jump into a tour with another amazing tour guide who brings it all back to life! I must admit, I have NEVER had a tour guide as friendly, knowledgable, and captivating as Jodi hope I am spelling her name correctly. She has a deep love and passion for Scottish history and culture! Her tour was flawless and well-timed. She has a charming disposition, and I would HIGHLY recommend making sure you have a tour with her. We went on another tour the following day and did not enjoy our guide at all. All of Scotland is bonnie, but to have a guide such as our bonnie bonnie Jodi created a life-long memory for us and our love of Scotland grew even more with this trip! Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will request a tour with Jodi!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Navin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great time had by me and the family. was worth us opting for a tour than driving around ourselves given the depth of knowledge of the guide who peppered us with facts through the journey. we couldn't have crammed so much of history, visit all the key spots in a day and have so much fun.
definitely recommend for a first time visitor to opt for even if you have a lot of time on your hands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ramesh V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day excursion. Our guide Heather was really good and the scenery on the drive was unbelievable. A bit of a long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Grace C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was going to be in Edinburgh for a few days but I knew I wanted to go the Highlands so after some searching on Viator, I found this tour with mostly positive reviews.

The tour itself is run by Rabbies which is definitely one of the main tour operators going out of Edinburgh from what I saw. We must have had 5 or 6 tours leaving at the same time, not all doing the same tour, but there were about 3 that were doing ours.

Get to the meeting point early. I was in Edinburgh at the end of September during the middle of the week and they had about 6 tours leaving at the same time with everyone having to check in at the same time. I can only imagine it's crazier during the busy seasons. Protip: the cafe can be a bit slow. Your tour will leave without you if you are still in the cafe. I almost missed mine.

Jonathan was our tour guide/driver. Overall he was great. There is clearly a set route, but due to the rain he adjusted as needed and took us to alternate places for us to see things. We hardly saw the other tour groups that were on the same tour except at very specific long stops that we had like at Loch Ness.

It's a relatively small group since you are on a minibus. There are two seats on one side, one on the other, a few rows, aisle down the middle with the back row having 4 seats. Is every group going to sit side by side together? No. Get over it. There is no bathroom on the bus. If you have a small bladder or need to go to the bathroom every hour, you can't go on a tour like this. Go rent a car and go at your own pace. There are preset stops for a reason. You will spend a LOT of time on the minibus just because of the distance that is covered in one day. Remember you are basically going from the bottom of Scotland to essentially past the midpoint and a bit up from there. You are covering a lot of miles/KMs. Also - don't be that person no one can find. Make sure you keep an eye on the watch. Having a bus filled with 14 people waiting for you and then having the driver have to make up that time, it's not cool. We're all adults.

Overall the tour was great. I wish I was there during a time of year where it's not raining all the time. It was gorgeous with it all raining and grey I can only imagine how beautiful it is when it's clear.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

manic_swens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

For the life of me, I cannot remember our driver's name, but he was incredibly knowledgable and detailed in his sharing of the local history. The tour was run by Rabbie's Trail Burners and it was the second tour I've done with them. Thoroughly impressed both times and will recommend them every time. The stops at Melrose Abbey and Rosslyn Chapel were long enough to explore the sites without feeling rushed and the ladies at the chapel did a fantastic job with their presentations as well. Top quality.

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

mralbtom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an all-day tour - 12 hours from 0800 to 2000, however with the stops for refreshments, photo opportunities, and general walk-about and leg stretching, it turns out to be quite unnoticable. The views, scenery, the lochs, the towns are damn near breathtaking. This tour is probably something most people would not or should not attempt to drive on their own so Rabbies, the company who actually conducted the tour, have put together an outstanding day long adventure.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message