Even if you’ve only got a few days in Edinburgh, the atmospheric Scottish capital makes an ideal base for exploring further afield and with many of the country’s highlights within a short distance, there are numerous options for day tours. To give ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2660 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ellengcohen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ewan B was our driver/guide and what a delight! We felt very comfortable with him driving, he has a great sense of humor, and a wealth of knowledge that really helped us to enjoy the ride! We were a small group in a van, and he made sure to encourage all of us to ask questions, get out of the van to enjoy the scenery, and stopped enough times for us to stretch our legs, get something to eat or take a bathroom break. He had a real good sense of the locations and was a very good storyteller. Made the locations come alive. We had a really good day :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kim.stewart8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and a lot of fun!! I like the smaller bus tours because it never seems rushed. The guide was great!!

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kim.stewart8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and a lot of fun. The tour guide was fun and knowledgeable. We had enough time to view the castle and see the graveyard. We got great views of Loch Lomond.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

kim.stewart8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with just enough stops to make the drive not so long. The guide was great and had tons of great information. I did the boat trip so you didn't get much time in the town but the boat trip was fun. Make sure you go down below deck so you can get pics with Nessy!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

cheekykitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A few days ago I had the most wonderful time visiting the Scottish Borders and Alnwick Castle, which was led so adeptly and with great humour by our guide, James. The locations we visited were steeped in history and so beautiful. Our guide gave us plenty of time to soak in our surroundings as well.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

Betsy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour. Guide very informative. Never felt rushed.
Kept to time schedule.

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Betsy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour. Very informative guide. Had plenty of time at each location - never felt rushed. Kept to time schedule for departure and return.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chrisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great trip! Highly recomended if you want to see the wild nature of the highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jason K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ewan B. was our tour guide. He was amazing. Great trip.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

allkindsahappy06

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Graeme was a great guide!
Walking down the street to St. Andrews golf course was a religious experience. I swear I could the angels sing.
The town of St. Andrews itself is so quaint. Had delish fish and chips at The Golf Inn.
So glad I got to see where Mary Queen of Scots spent some time at Falkland.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Fred V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

VERY VERY GOOD TOUR, GETTING THERE WAS ACTUALLY THE MOST INTERESTING PART OF THE TRIP - BUS DRIVER WAS VERY GOOD AND HELPFUL! HIGHLAND SCOTLAND BEAUTIFUL

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Aisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nik Nick our Scottish tour guide was a wonderful guide who made the trip worthwhile. We explored various parts of the Highlands within the 12 hours we were on the trip. The day was organised efficiently and ran on time. Nik interacted with the other travellers and made conversation with everyone. He was a fanastic guy in general his Scotttish sense of humour was great! and I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone wishing to receive a one day snapshot of the Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

lisawolfe61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the fishing villages. Wanted more time in the smaller villages but enjoyed St. Andrews a lot. So glad we did this tour!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rhonda L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If I could give this tour a 10 I would! This tour was the best part of our journey to Scotland! The views were breathtaking! Tour Guide Ally was great!!!!! He made the trip absolutely fabulous with his knowledge of the history and geography of the area! Take this tour! You will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really nice short day trip with a GREAT guide. Ewan B of Rabbies was so knowledgeable, animated, and passionate about his heritage not to mention he looked H-O-T in a kilt :D. He was extremely friendly and it was really great to learn more about the culture and history of Scotland. I loved Melrose Abbey - the old ruins were so beautiful, and I loved Roselyn Chapel too, although the guide didn't know much about the Da Vinci Code as was advertised. Also wouldn't have minded if the tour had been a bit longer actually. All in all, a great little tour - I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Mukund A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Highly recommend it!!!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour guide ever!!! She was amazing !!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Luther I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Jan was an outstanding guide. He kept things moving and had interesting clips of music from Scottish people. He also gave us a great historical review. We were a group of 16 traveling together and everyone raved about him.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a 12 hour overview of the Scottish highlands. Probably 5-51/2 of those were on the ground in interesting places along the way, including Glencoe and Ft. Augustus, where we saw canal locks and try to see the loch monster. The M-B bus was comfortable the group was small 20? and the guide, Sandy, was absolutely first rate. Highly recommend this trip, operated by Rabbie Group Tours. If there was a negative it was that the people at the main office were not especially hospitable -- made us stand out in the wet cold instead of coming into the building.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bonita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gillian from Rabbies was spot-on and cheerful. We learned so much and enjoyed the tour immensely. I highly recommend both Viator and Rabbies.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Madeline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved our tour! The bus was a little cramped and the air conditioning was not great- hopefully they update that! But our tour guide was great-okie dokie guys- and seeing the country side was so magical!! Definitely a trip to plan if you want a great experience and great memories!!

Doing what: Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands

Janice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Dougie from Glasgow, was fantastic!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Heather H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pleasant tour. Richard was a good guide. Couch was comfortable
and places visited were interesting.

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Ying X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Bob, our driver and guide, was fun and delightful! Sights are beautiful!

Doing what: Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message