Measuring 4,150 miles (6,680 kilometers) from end to end, the Nile River is the world’s longest and arguably the most important in the region. Egypt’s some 83 million residents, living along the edge of the pitiless Sahara Desert, have always relied ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill604

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The ship was the Amarco I but my original documents said the ship was to be the Mirage. However, I was very happy with my stateroom. The meals served were quite good. The crew was friendly and I didnt have any problems communicating in English. The evening activities planned were entertaining.

I ordered the 3-day wifi option which was on sale for half price at 300 EGP. The wifi was easy to connect and reliable. The wifi option was only good for one device. The selection of TV channels available wasnt quite what was listed on the guide. No CNN.

The sites that I had visited on the daily tours were very good. My private guide was the same person for the 3 days of tours. The guide was knowledgeable but I did find his personality a bit irritating. He was my least favourite of all the private guides that I had hired during my 3-week trip in Egypt.

Everything about the ship was good except that the fitness room was out of order for the entire cruise. I do recommend to compare the itineraries and tours offered by the various companies. They are not all the same.

I was happy with the pick-up and drop-off service provided. There was a recommended tip for the crew and the guide at the end of the cruise. This was my first cruise and, overall, it was a good experience but it could have been better.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Pankaj Pandey India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Hello from INDIA!!!
We had a great tour on Princess SARAH cruise.
The Team on the cruise was very polite helpful especially from the restaurant. My wife and I are pure vegetarian and this was looked by the team out there. We traveled with our 10 months old infant and even for her we were provided warn milk and water from time time. The staff on the cruise had a smile always while serving.
The activity carried out on the cruise on the new year eve was also good.
The 4 days tour was beautiful and our guise Michel was also knowledgeable. He explained all the stories encrypted on the wall in very great manner.
Will recommend it a must for anyone visiting Egypt.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Camilla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very enjoyable Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan. Tourism in Egypt has taken a major hit since the 2011 revolution, and although we felt very safe and well looked after, both the ship and the sites we visited felt very quiet. We did not sign up for the private guide option, but in the end had only one other couple in our group. The food on board the ship was excellent, and the staff made a huge effort despite there being only 18 passengers on board. The temples and tombs we visited were extraordinary - really must see. Great photos and some fantastic memories from each place. There were a few touristy places e.g. demonstrations of how alabaster is carved, or textiles or papyrus is made, followed by hard sells of those products which we could have done without, but others may find them interesting or welcome the shopping opportunities. In particular, our guide Michael was outstanding - really a great guide, highly knowledgable, fluent in three languages, and a nice guy as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

Steven M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Excellent boat, the staff was extremely professional, our guide Hamet was very knowledgable, the food was tremendously good and tre views of the nile are unbeatable. We saw many amazing temples and the schedule is never rushed, it's up to you how you spend your days and we found we had a lot of freedom. The company is really communicative and they picked us up from our hotel, contacting us before hand - they also dropped us off at a flat we were renting after the trip was over. I'd highly recommend this trip - the only thing to note is that cruises try to upsell you on optional excursions! Skip the optional stuff and do it on your own later for much cheaper if you have time. Have a fantastic time, and certainly get a guide to learn a ton!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Yaerid J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The experience on the Nile was great, the entertainment was fun. The food was ok, but we knew we were going more for the experience than that. Great evening, our guide picked us up on time and was very hospitable.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Elizabeth C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The guide was by far the best thing about our trip. He was amazing! So knowledgeable, friendly and cheerful. He helped us with any problems we had and also organized some extras for us that we really enjoyed. He was great with our kids and became like a part of our family for the 4 days we were togther. The boat was ok, a little tired, but the food was less than I expected. This would have been acceptable, but there was no opportunity to get extra food when required. My son fell ill, and needed something to eat and I was told repeatedly I couldn't get anything, yet I was on a boat, without any other options! Finally, one kind staff got a sandwich made for us, but we had to pay an extra fee. I was less than impressed with this.
The locations and stops along the way were great.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

aarinj

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Wasn't worth the money. Music was weird 1980 american music, belly dancer was cheap looking with hair extensions and spent more time shaking her breasts then her belly. Other entertainers were boring and cheap looking as well. The whole thing didn't have an authentic feel. Dinner was good but I would rather have ate somewhere else for the money we spent. The cruise doesn't even go past the pyramids. Don't pay the money for this. It's really corny.....

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

rubi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

great experience with full of joy and pleasure and many historical places visit including river nile cruise.
love to stay on amarco .
foods was excellent with beautifull stylish presentation .
staff wascexcellent .
facilities un comparable and amazing.
worth of money spent there.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

juliolsl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The food and show was great.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Michael T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This is a great way to end the day. After lots of activity, there is something very relaxing about dressing up for a nice dinner, enjoying the sights of the city from the Nile River and watching excellent performers do what they do well. For the meal, the best part was the salad bar buffet. It featured a variety of things. Unfortunately, my bread didn't come early enough to properly enjoy the hummus and baba ganoush. The rest of the meal was well done, but nothing special. The performances had a nice flow from one act to the next, and all performers did a very good job. The 2.5 hours goes by very quickly. I had been a bit worried about being on a boat. But, the ride was VERY smooth--unless you watch the banks of the river, you wouldn't notice that the boat was moving at all.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

kelliblackburn

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

4 day / 3 night cruise could easily have been a 2 day / 1 night. Way too much downtime stuck on the boat! The boat is older and in need of major upgrades. There is little to nothing to do on the boat. Pool is a tiny dipping pool. Bars/lounges were not stocked or staffed so just getting a drink was nearly impossible. There is one billiards table which you have to pay extra to use. The only activities on the boat are meal times which the staff takes crazy serious. They will call your cabin if you don't show up within the first five minutes of the scheduled meal time. If you don't want to eat they will basically force you. All meals are buffet style. Edible but not great. My husband got sick on the boat and while we can't say for certain I believe it was likely from something he ate. We paid extra for a private tour guide who was less than enthusiastic. It was clear that he wanted to go through his standard speech and move on as quickly as possible. In hindsight would have preferred to just go with the group.
Day 1: Picked up at 9am. Straight to tour of High Dam, Philae Temple, and unfinished obelisk. The dam and obelisk are basically a drive by, only real site in Aswan is the Philae temple. Boarded boat by noon. Boat doesn't set sail until approx. 4am which will wake you up as the boat is terribly loud while moving. You can disembark in Aswan which you will want to since there is nothing to do on the boat.
Day 2: The only day of sailing. Nice views while traveling down the Nile, otherwise not much to entertain yourself. Bring a good book. Afternoon tours of Kom Obo and Edfu. Boat is moored outside of Luxor for the night and you cannot disembark. Again, nothing to do all evening.
Day 3: Depart to Luxor at approx. 3am. Again, good luck sleeping. Bring earplugs. Early morning tours of Valley of the Kings and Temple of Hatshepsut. We had to cut the tours short because husband was so sick see above but likely would have been back to boat by 10am anyway. That is essentially the end of the cruise but you are stuck on the boat for the remainder of the day and night! Boat was a complete ghost town, other guest had arranged to leave after the morning tours not sure how they were able to do so. There were only 5 guests including my husband and I left on the boat! Boat is moored in remote area of Luxor so you cannot disembark/are not near town. Counting the hours until you can leave.
Day 4: Leave at 9am. Finally!

Overall, this cruise is basically a transportation option between Aswan and Luxor but billed as much more. We would have preferred to arrange other transport car or flight and then tour sites individually out of Aswan and Luxor.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Fe F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A must see in Cairo. The food was great , the show very entertaining and the river cruise very relaxing. A great time to spend an evening with friends.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Elyse R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The meals were INSANE!! So so good. Always a beef, chicken, and fish option with salads, pastas, rices, veggies, and delicious desserts. Our tours were all awesome and the tour guide became a friend. Super knowledgable. Take into consideration that you need to purchase all the water you will consume because running water isn't super safe. The cruise was super clean and the upper deck has a pool. Would recommend to all!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Where to begin? The Ship was perfect. Small enough to be intimate and large enough to sport good service. The food was very good and the service was exceptional. Our guide Fouad made himself available to describe what we were passing and of course escorted us to all the temples along the way. We got off the ship in Luxor thoroughly rested and in awe of most everything we had seen.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A big thank you to Mohamed Elleithy, our tour guide, for the help and assistance he provided me and my family during our stay in Egypt. Mohamed went well beyond his responsibility, and because of that we had one of the best travel experiences ever. Mohamed Elleithy was prompt, kind, knowledgeable, and present with me and my children at all times. The tour to the pyramids and museum was well organized, enjoyable, and very informative. I have traveled to all but two sovereign countries in the world, and as a result, have experienced the service of hundreds of tour guides. I am not exaggerating by stating that Mohamed Elleithy is one of my top 10 guides. Thank you so much Mohamed, and please stay in touch.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sailed on the Amarco I which was great. The room was big and clean. Food was nice and drink prices were good. Be cautious with your guide. Private guide was sneaky in taking extra tips through lies. Caught him and company apologized and refunded the tip. Even if guide insists, only give tip at end!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

nadira s

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best part of this trip was our guide Mohammed. He is by far, the best tour guide we ever had.
He is extremely knowledgeable on all things Egypt, and made each stop memorable. Mohammed is extremely friendly and helpful.
Even when I was ill, he did his best to accommodate me.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Steve T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up from our hotel and driven to the boat, ushered onto it and seated for the dinner show cruise. A couple of tips would be to ask for a seat at a table as close as possible to the dance floor, as it will give you the best view of the show you can always walk out to the balcony to get a better view of the city, and the other tip would be to give yourself plenty of time to get there as the traffic in the evening is at it's very worst.
The meals was pretty good, with a large selection of sides, and the wine selection too.
The show started with some Arabic music by the house band, then the amazing belly dancer came on and performed a great show. This was followed by the guy performing the Whirling Dervish dance. He was outstanding. Have you cameras charged and ready.
Overall, it was a great night of food, wine and dancing. Recommended

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic Value, great people, great service, guide Absoutely fantastic.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous tour! The entertainment was unbelievable! Especially enjoyed the Whirling Dervish

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The dinner cruise was exactly as described. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fun experience! The entertainment was great! The food was okay. I didn't feel the need to have a guide on-board with us though. A simple pick up from the hotel and drop off outside the boarding area would have been sufficient. Overall, great experience!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Kareem S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour was good, the ship lacked entertainment but the food and staff were excellent.

I found that the team running the show didn and #39;t follow the schedule as they had provided. Therefore, I had to reschedule flights and lost time in my next destination :(

Without this it would have been 4 stars.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great service and great guides. Ahmed was the best!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message