El Calafate ATTRACTIONS See all

Perito Moreno Glacier

Argentinians call Perito Moreno Glacier the "8th Wonder of the World;" in addition to its enormous beauty, it is the planet's 3rd largest reserve of fresh water and one of the continent's last advancing glaciers. It slowly pours, in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a beautiful tour with stunning scenery. The weather was perfect and the boat spent lots of time showing us the glacier from all angles. We were given over an hour to explore the glacier further from the walkways which also had dozens of amazing views.

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

Adrian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Includes the boat tour to get close to the glacier. English speaking guide. Great value for the money.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

irina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The glacier is an incredible sight and we had a fantastic day firstly admiring it from the boat, and then walking around the viewing balconies. It was a cold and windy day, but you just don't care when you see something as amazing. The boat ride was great, we spend enough time howering near the glacier so that everyone got the photos taken and could relax and just admire the magical view. Took so many photos that run out of memory on my camera.
The only thing that could be better is the lunch - glad we took our own and had it on the bench after fhe boat trip, as the restaurants and the dining areas are at the very end of the iewing platforms and by the time we got there it was already 3pm

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

AMAZING tour. Loved the scenery, the most incredible thing I have ever seen. Well run and organized.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Knowledgeable guides and small group size helped to make this experience amazing. The glacier itself is mesmerising!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

amanda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing experience. Breath taking at every moment. There is no more beautiful place in the world than the Perito Moreno Glacier. I wish I could capture the sounds of the glacier in my photos. A must for anyone visiting El Calafate. I still can't believe I actually hiked in the glacier. I'm not very fit and was worried but it was no problem. Tip: bring hiking boots and gloves as gym shoes hurt in crampons and gloves are required. The tour guides were knowledgeable and friendly without getting in the way of a true experience. Would love a repeat of this tour!

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was my favorite from my trip to Buenos Aires and El Calafate combined. The tour guide, Anna, was really knowledgeable and friendly. The boat ride was amazing.

The trail was well taken care of and the tour guide gave us different tips based on what we wanted to accomplish and time frames. It was well planned and executed.

If I return to El Calafate I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

gerrisdavis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic experience! Hiking on the glacier was easy and fun! The guides were knowledgeable and fun! Don and #39;t just go look at the glacier, hike it as well! It is worth the money and time!

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

frankmarquez_00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

OMG, must do! Simply just book it and don't read any other reviews. Only advice is to bring your own gloves which are required. Well worth it

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Hugo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Ice trekking is a must. Excellent guides, very nice and helpful. Well organized. A great adventure.

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Such a great day! Picked up from our hotel by a lovely guide who spoke to us on the way to Perito Moreno about Patagonia, its people, history and culture. So knowledageable! And our driver was amazing, he kept spotting animals (a skunk, an eagle, guanacos) and slowed down so we could see. The glacier itself is so impressive - a once in a lifetime experience to visit something like that. It was "active" on the day we were there, so loads of crashing ice. The great thing is that you get free time at the glacier to walk around by yourself and explore the various trails. You aren't ushered everywhere, which is great!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Mary S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, amazing sight. The walkways around the glacier give wonderful views.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Aya E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved everything about it - the boat ride is BEYOND OUTSTANDING Definitely a must see
My own recommendation would be to have the time for the hiking/walking to check out the glacier should be longer because we needed more time and wanted to take the longer route but there wasn't enough time.
Also another tip would be to grab your lunchbox or snacks, there is a restaurant there but not that good food.

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

petersferdinand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Nice tour, boat ride is recommended for the full experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible glacier. Definitely a must-see while in El Calafate. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, the cruise around the glacier was great, and so was our free time to walk around the trails. One of the highlights of our Argentina trip.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an absolutely lovely day on this tour! Both Nadia the tour guide and Jorje the driver were exceptional. Nadia was engaging, funny and friendly, and I couldn't rate her more highly! We really enjoyed the day and would thoroughly reccomend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Jenny F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

After Iguazu falls, this is our 2 must see natural wonder of Argentina. Mind boggling beautiful. Tour guide was very good, her English was great and group was small enough. Highly recommend the boat cruise to the bottom of the glacier. With every cent. Excellent.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Dan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really good, prompt pick up in the morning, and really helpful guides. Would love to do this again.

Doing what: El Calafate Adventure Tour: Hiking Across El Perito Moreno Glacier

Colleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an incredible experience! I cannot thank Viator enough for going above and beyond to accommodate myself and my boyfriend. We were supposed to get to El Calafate the day before our excursion to El Perito Moreno however, we missed our flight due to a strike in Buenos Aires. Unfortunately, there were no other flights out until 5am the next morning, which meant that we would not get in to El Calafate until about 8:30am and the tour was supposed to start at 8am. Viator contacted the local tour agency in El Calafate and the agreed to start the tour at 9. We took a taxi straight from the airport to the tour agency the morning that our tour was scheduled and that is when the tour began. The people working there were very friendly and offered to hold our luggage until the end of the tour however, there happened to be extra seats on out bus so we were able to take it with us and leave it on the bus during the excursion.

As for the tour itself, it was truly amazing. The views were breathtaking, especially form the boat tour on El Lago Argentino- definitely worth it! Also, although I speak Spanish, my boyfriend does not so we were pleased to find out the our tour guide spoke excellent English the tour was conducted in both Spanish and English. Our guide was great, very friendly and knowledgable. We learned a lot, including the fact that El Calafate is named after the calafate which is berry, similar to a blueberry, that grows in the region. At the end of the tour our guide shared some chocolate a liqueur made from the calafate berry which was a great end to a perfect day. I highly recommend this tour as well as Viator as a company, I would definitely book something with them again in the future!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

German M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Spectacular, breathtaking views... Highly recommended

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Verity K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We actually upgraded our trip to mini trekking on the glacier, it was amazing! I would recommend this experience to anyone who is visiting Perito Moreno. The guides were fantastic and the experience once in a lifetime. To finish it off with whiskey poured over glacial ice was the icing on the cake. The walk on the viewing platforms to see the north face was wonderful, listening and watching this enormous glacier move! I only wish we had been given more time on the viewing platforms and less time for lunch looking at the south face of the glacier.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Ema P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. I really enjoyed it. The guide was great and they let us move around at our own pace. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message