The Upsala Glacier upstages even Perito Moreno in scale. South America’s largest glacier, Upsala measures 50km long and 10km wide (31 miles long, 6 miles wide). It’s only from the water of Lake Argentino that you can really appreciate the glacier’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Such a great day! Picked up from our hotel by a lovely guide who spoke to us on the way to Perito Moreno about Patagonia, its people, history and culture. So knowledageable! And our driver was amazing, he kept spotting animals (a skunk, an eagle, guanacos) and slowed down so we could see. The glacier itself is so impressive - a once in a lifetime experience to visit something like that. It was "active" on the day we were there, so loads of crashing ice. The great thing is that you get free time at the glacier to walk around by yourself and explore the various trails. You aren't ushered everywhere, which is great!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Jenny F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

After Iguazu falls, this is our 2 must see natural wonder of Argentina. Mind boggling beautiful. Tour guide was very good, her English was great and group was small enough. Highly recommend the boat cruise to the bottom of the glacier. With every cent. Excellent.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an absolutely lovely day on this tour! Both Nadia the tour guide and Jorje the driver were exceptional. Nadia was engaging, funny and friendly, and I couldn't rate her more highly! We really enjoyed the day and would thoroughly reccomend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible glacier. Definitely a must-see while in El Calafate. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, the cruise around the glacier was great, and so was our free time to walk around the trails. One of the highlights of our Argentina trip.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

petersferdinand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Nice tour, boat ride is recommended for the full experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Mary S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, amazing sight. The walkways around the glacier give wonderful views.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

German M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Spectacular, breathtaking views... Highly recommended

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Colleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an incredible experience! I cannot thank Viator enough for going above and beyond to accommodate myself and my boyfriend. We were supposed to get to El Calafate the day before our excursion to El Perito Moreno however, we missed our flight due to a strike in Buenos Aires. Unfortunately, there were no other flights out until 5am the next morning, which meant that we would not get in to El Calafate until about 8:30am and the tour was supposed to start at 8am. Viator contacted the local tour agency in El Calafate and the agreed to start the tour at 9. We took a taxi straight from the airport to the tour agency the morning that our tour was scheduled and that is when the tour began. The people working there were very friendly and offered to hold our luggage until the end of the tour however, there happened to be extra seats on out bus so we were able to take it with us and leave it on the bus during the excursion.

As for the tour itself, it was truly amazing. The views were breathtaking, especially form the boat tour on El Lago Argentino- definitely worth it! Also, although I speak Spanish, my boyfriend does not so we were pleased to find out the our tour guide spoke excellent English the tour was conducted in both Spanish and English. Our guide was great, very friendly and knowledgable. We learned a lot, including the fact that El Calafate is named after the calafate which is berry, similar to a blueberry, that grows in the region. At the end of the tour our guide shared some chocolate a liqueur made from the calafate berry which was a great end to a perfect day. I highly recommend this tour as well as Viator as a company, I would definitely book something with them again in the future!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Verity K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We actually upgraded our trip to mini trekking on the glacier, it was amazing! I would recommend this experience to anyone who is visiting Perito Moreno. The guides were fantastic and the experience once in a lifetime. To finish it off with whiskey poured over glacial ice was the icing on the cake. The walk on the viewing platforms to see the north face was wonderful, listening and watching this enormous glacier move! I only wish we had been given more time on the viewing platforms and less time for lunch looking at the south face of the glacier.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

rbtraveler5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour to Perito Moreno Glacier was amazing. The glaciers were unbelievable! We took the boat ride and it was worth it! Being able to see the glacier up close was amazing! Walking through the park and seeing different views of the glacier was also incredible. The glaciers were very active that day. We heard lots of thunderous cracks and saw 5 different sections of the glaciers crashing down into the water. This is not something you see every day, so it made the trip even more memorable and special.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Camille R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Must do experience. Great guide, comfy and warm bus.
They give us plenty of time at each stop it was fantastic

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

April Florence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a must! Fantastic price!
The bus picked me up on time at my hotel (they informed the hotel of the time and they in turn informed me)!
Your guide was fabulous and spoke English perfectly, really interesting information and they sorted everything.
A must do of in El Calafate!!!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Arthur H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing experience! On our way to the Glacier the first snow of the season fell until we were in a magical wonderland! Fortunately, the weather cleared and the sun came out briefly when we arrived at the glacier. The boat ride to the glacier was beautiful but freezing cold! An experience we will always treasure and should be on everyones bucket list

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Marcos B D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Breathtaking and astonishing Scenery

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

markobo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Definitely too expensive. At low season on-site-booking makes sense because the price differences are huge.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was delightful and provided a lot of information about Patagonia which we would not have received without doing a guided trip. The bus was timely and nice. It was a great experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Alek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was amazing ! One of the best I and #39;ve ever done ! Don and #39;t miss it if you get the chance to go to south of Argentina.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

outstanding--very cold at Glacier -- but worth it

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

gayle d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

absolutely fantastic, an amazing experience

Doing what: Sailing to Upsala Glacier and Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina

Orkun O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, magnificent place to see. Tour guide and driver very professional, paid attention to details. Would recomment it to all!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Mark B S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide Nadia was good and nice. She explains well things and leaves us time to walk in the National Park. However we would prefer to have even more time in the Park to walk on our own.
The tour pick-up was a bit delayed, 15 minutes but all in all it was ok.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our day began with a leisurely pick up at 9am from our hotel. We were greeted by a smiling young lady called Ines. After collecting the others we headed to the Los Glaciares National Park with a photo stop on the way. The trip and scenery were brilliant with plenty of information from the guide. Good thing - when we got to the National Park entrance, a man came onto the minibus to collect the entrance fee 260 ARS. Stopped at a high viewpoint to take photos, photographer there to take specific ones if you wanted to pay. Continued to the port to board the boat, which had a guide and PASystem. The boat trip was for approx 1 hour. We got really close and were able to hear the cracking and creaking of the glacier. We were fortunate enough to witness large pieces of the glacier detaching and plunging into the lake - spectacular. After the boat trip we went to a 'tourist centre' where they had toilets, shops and a restaurant. From there paths radiated out into the national park. We followed the coastal path to see the other side of the glacier. Note: the path is metal with many steps up and down each way but very safe. The whole trip was wonderful and we feel privileged to have seen such a magnificent part of nature. Well worth the tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Mark B S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The nicest part was the walk of 15 minutes to the Upsale Glacier and the 4x4 ride. It was too long the Museum visit and explanation as well as the Chapel visit at the Estancia. The food at the Estancia was not very good. We did not eat lamb so could not try the cordero. Pasta was ok, not special and the empanadas the meat inside smelled too strong. We thought it was lamb.
We should have more time after the 4x4 ride, it's the best part.

Doing what: Sailing to Upsala Glacier and Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina

fcranfield

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Views on the walk were stunning as was boat trip.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message