The gateway town to Patagonia’s blue Perito Moreno Glacier and Los Glaciares National Park, El Calafate is also a resort destination bordering Lake Argentino. Birdwatchers flock here to watch the lake fill with flamingos, while wannabe gauchos go ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Knowledgeable guides and small group size helped to make this experience amazing. The glacier itself is mesmerising!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

AMAZING tour. Loved the scenery, the most incredible thing I have ever seen. Well run and organized.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Park itself is inspiring - snow and ice glacier capped peaks soaring 10,000 feet high. Two large lakes with a deep blue color from the minerals in the peaks that seep in water in picture shown above is a much lighter color than what we saw. A few waterfalls with an impressive flow of water and mist, though they are not huge. Delightful Guide informed us of no fish in the lakes because of the minerals, Strangely I thought, there are pink flamingos in one of the lakes - apparently a different breed than what you encounter in the Caribbean. Lots of local wildlife around, especially the guanicos, the living ancestor but wool less of the llamas. The Guide took us through a hike in the park which lasted a little more than an hour. Not too difficult, but bring shoes that are suitable for walking on a trial with lots of little rocks.

The catch? A long, mostly boring ride from El Calafate, with at 1 1/2 hour or more stop each way because you must go through two sets of customs Argentina and Chile. Some people got off in the park and were either camping for the night or had reservations at one of the bungalows or hotel I would likely do this if I returned. Next day bus seems to drive people back, but check with the tour company.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

this is a great way to start your trip to El Calafate to get your bearings from a high altitude....or a very pleasant way to spend 3 or 4 hours when you dont have a full day to spare

Doing what: El Calafate 4x4 Off-Road Tour

judith s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an absolute MUST-DO for anyone who cannot spend more than a day in Torres del Paine. Our guide and driver were great and the Park is beyond words - it truly is a WONDER of the world. Plenty of photo stops were included as well as a nice lunch stop at the water falls. The provided lunch was good as well. Our guide did the entire day in both English and Spanish and provided plenty of commentary - a highlight was the geological demonstration on the beach to explain how the mountains were formed. It was very, very windy and I was very glad for the good shoes and hat and gloves I wore.
Be warned, however, that it is a long day: our pick up was before 7 and we got back to the hotel at 10 pm. Access to restrooms are few and far between all day. Even though we had an early pick up from our hotel, I regretted drinking coffee at breakfast. The bus was comfortable but did not have a toilet and toilets are available until you clear into Chile..... HOURS later.
Our daughter took the tour with us but did not ride back to El Calafate, this gave us the day with her before she started her trekking in the Park. Two others also didn't make the ride back to be able trek and our guide was especially accommodating to those three, even suggesting and arranging for their luggage to be left at the ranger station and letting them off at a trail that led back to the ranger station and their back-packs.
All and all it was a great day. The tour was run by very hard working professionals. I am very glad we didn't rent a car and attempt make to the drive ourselves, the roads are too rugged we would have missed a lot.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Adrian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Includes the boat tour to get close to the glacier. English speaking guide. Great value for the money.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

irina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Not a good experience, and it is not because of the Park itself...It is just too far from El Calafate and despite starting the tour at 7am we only got past the park entrance around 3pm!!! It is a long drive, and that was expected, but what was a shock is the amount if time we spend on the borders. It took at least 2 hours to get out of Argentinian border processing post, the border control has just 1 person processing busloads of travellers! There was not even a toilet there and we were on the road for 3 hours at least to get there so it was a nightmare, and half of the waiting time was spent queuing outside of the building in fhe blistering cold wind. Then another long wait to be processed on the Chilean side. We only spent 2.5 hours inside the park, all viewing was very rushed and the guides were clearly focused in getting in and out as qu ckly as possible. On the way back had to go through the repeat of both waiting for Chilean border control and then Argentinian... The lunch provided invluded the snacks and sandwich but didn't had a chance to get a cup of coffee or tea until 6.30pm. We finally got back to El Calafate about 11.30pm, very very tired, hungry no food since lunch abd completely dissatisfied with the few hours we spend in the park. Also my booking stated the park fee will be about US 25 but the guides took us to the exchange counter and told we need to pay 700 argentine pesos to get the equivalent of 21000 chilean pesos for park fees. Everyone who only had argentine money had to exchange 700 arg. pesos, but I checked now and we would only need to exchange 500 arg. pesos at the current exchange rate. The guides obviously knew it and the difference of 200 pesos is quite big to be considered just the fluctuation of exchange rate, so I feel very cheated by this tour company. Not sure who gets the extra cash we paid but clearly not the national park. Dont bother with this tour, there are much better options to spend your time and money in El Calafate.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Such a great day! Picked up from our hotel by a lovely guide who spoke to us on the way to Perito Moreno about Patagonia, its people, history and culture. So knowledageable! And our driver was amazing, he kept spotting animals (a skunk, an eagle, guanacos) and slowed down so we could see. The glacier itself is so impressive - a once in a lifetime experience to visit something like that. It was "active" on the day we were there, so loads of crashing ice. The great thing is that you get free time at the glacier to walk around by yourself and explore the various trails. You aren't ushered everywhere, which is great!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great day out from El Calafate. Be prepared - it is a long day as you have to cross borders, go through passport control and customs. But it's worth it to catch a glimpse at the famous Torres del Paine National Park. We had quite a bit of rain and fog on the day itself, but that didn't deter us from having a good time. The drive there and back, although long, was beautiful - you soak in all the scenery Patagonia has to offer and drive by a variety of animals such as guanacos, skunks, rheas, sheep, horses and rabbits. A fun day!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Pulahinge R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best tour ever. Amazing scenery and highly recommended

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

gerrisdavis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was worth every penny! You must take the time to do this amazing excursion! I was worried because it was raining on our day, but the guide said it was the best conditions of the year since the lake was so calm. We saw hundreds of icebergs! The guides were so knowledgeable and fun!

Doing what: Upsala Kayak Tour from El Calafate

George E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Although a long driving the places visited are amazing. Just hope for clear weather, we didn't have it on the day of the tour but still enjoyed it

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

frankmarquez_00

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Your entire trip depends on the border crossing at Chile. Hit or miss, expect to spend at least 1-2 hours at the crossing. Unfortunately you spend more time driving then seeing the views. You get herded from view point to view point for 10 minutes at a time. No one denies the views are spectacular however for that price there should have been more offered, and a more formal lunch instead of a boxed sandwich. I highly recommend doing this trip however it may be best done on your own

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Jenny F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

After Iguazu falls, this is our 2 must see natural wonder of Argentina. Mind boggling beautiful. Tour guide was very good, her English was great and group was small enough. Highly recommend the boat cruise to the bottom of the glacier. With every cent. Excellent.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an absolutely lovely day on this tour! Both Nadia the tour guide and Jorje the driver were exceptional. Nadia was engaging, funny and friendly, and I couldn't rate her more highly! We really enjoyed the day and would thoroughly reccomend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible glacier. Definitely a must-see while in El Calafate. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, the cruise around the glacier was great, and so was our free time to walk around the trails. One of the highlights of our Argentina trip.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Torres del Paine is a must-see if you possibly can. The journey there and back from El Calafate is long but worth it if you can only spend a day on Torrest del Paine. We would gladly return and spend a week there! Fantastic scenery, and we only saw a small amount of it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

petersferdinand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Nice tour, boat ride is recommended for the full experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Amanda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

you spend a lot of time in the car and at the borders, but it's worth it if you only have a day to get to torres del paine. i'll definitely be going back!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Mary S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, amazing sight. The walkways around the glacier give wonderful views.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

WAI WAI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing tour, breath taking views.special 4x4 bus like vehicle. short trekking is the best way to appreciate the wonderful nature.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

German M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Spectacular, breathtaking views... Highly recommended

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Colleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an incredible experience! I cannot thank Viator enough for going above and beyond to accommodate myself and my boyfriend. We were supposed to get to El Calafate the day before our excursion to El Perito Moreno however, we missed our flight due to a strike in Buenos Aires. Unfortunately, there were no other flights out until 5am the next morning, which meant that we would not get in to El Calafate until about 8:30am and the tour was supposed to start at 8am. Viator contacted the local tour agency in El Calafate and the agreed to start the tour at 9. We took a taxi straight from the airport to the tour agency the morning that our tour was scheduled and that is when the tour began. The people working there were very friendly and offered to hold our luggage until the end of the tour however, there happened to be extra seats on out bus so we were able to take it with us and leave it on the bus during the excursion.

As for the tour itself, it was truly amazing. The views were breathtaking, especially form the boat tour on El Lago Argentino- definitely worth it! Also, although I speak Spanish, my boyfriend does not so we were pleased to find out the our tour guide spoke excellent English the tour was conducted in both Spanish and English. Our guide was great, very friendly and knowledgable. We learned a lot, including the fact that El Calafate is named after the calafate which is berry, similar to a blueberry, that grows in the region. At the end of the tour our guide shared some chocolate a liqueur made from the calafate berry which was a great end to a perfect day. I highly recommend this tour as well as Viator as a company, I would definitely book something with them again in the future!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message