The gateway town to Patagonia’s blue Perito Moreno Glacier and Los Glaciares National Park, El Calafate is also a resort destination bordering Lake Argentino. Birdwatchers flock here to watch the lake fill with flamingos, while wannabe gauchos go ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent guide and close up views of the glaciers from boat and from walk. Great lunch and crew on boat ride.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent tour of an amazing wonder of the world! Excellent guide, Nadia made the day educational and enjoyable. Highly recommend this to anyone visiting El Calafate.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Loved this crazy long day drive with our awesome guide and driver! We were picked up on time, the truck was comfy, bag lunch was provided and as advertised it was a 14 hour journey. If you only have one day to see Torres del Paine, it and #39;s a great way to do it. The hikes are short but gorgeous! Go!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Timothy P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Perito Moreno glacier tour has a great combination of views, from a boat as well as from the higher level paths on the shore next to it. It is a much more interesting trip than Uppsala, although Uppsala shows you the icebergs that break off into the lake.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Stephen P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

In all instances, the guides were prompt, and knowledgeable. The walks around Perito Moreno Glacier were wonderful. Although the trip started out cold and rainy, the optional day trip to Christina Estancia was amazing - the boat trip thru the icefields - never seen icebergs that blue and the views of the Upshala glacier and surrounding mountains and lakes after the 4x4 ride up were jaw-dropping gorgeous. My only minor complaints would be that you have to be prepared for long bus rides to all of the parks, and El Chalten is really for travelers desiring long challenging hiking.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Patagonia Tour: El Calafate, Perito Moreno Glacier, Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine National Park

Joseph M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A great tour but much longer than advertised. There are a number of stops along the way, but the bus makes its way through a Chilean boarder post everyone has to show their passport and get added to the entry register, to various sights near the Tores del Paine mountains. This includes what they described as the windiest waterfall in the world, several viewing sites for the mountains, some lakes and some general scenic walks as well as a lunch stop. The views of the mountains are stunning and it's hard to take a bad picture - so long as the weather allows you to see them. The journey back takes many hours, as did the arrival journey, involves showing passports against to get back into Argentina, and got back very late in the evening about 1am if I recall right. Should also be noted that extra passengers from extended tours may join the bus on the way back, so the bus may end up packed. A fantastic day, but pushing towards 20 hours long.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Ryan T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The visit to the Glacier was very nice and the guide took good care of the group. They have food and drinks in the park, which includes shuttles if you don't get food with the group. Walking around the park takes a while and you'll enjoy your extended time there. We aren't sure the guide that brought us on the tour was our original company, I think we go rebooked the day of - not fully a big deal, but we waited 90 minutes to get everything settled and weren't able to have breakfast. The trip out there was beautiful and you'll learn a lot about the region. Cash/Credit was welcome everywhere.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Joseph M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

This tour is surprising for what's not included. After the hotel pickups, the first stop is at a peer where you can take a ferry to the glacier, but this is at your own expense and anyone who doesn't take the ferry will have to sit at the peer for an hour. People then board the bus to have each passenger individually pay the national park entry fee before the bus then drops everyone at the far side of the site and they walk back on free time to the visitor's centre. This allows viewing of the glacier from all the viewing points facing it from the opposite bank with the lookouts in front of the visitor's centre being the best. After this the bus drives back to the hotels via a scenic route through the national park, but it didn't stop anywhere for pictures. Thus a reasonable tour, but you only pay for the bus, the ferry and the entrance fee are extras and have to be paid in local currency.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

JoJo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

too much time on the bus going to/from different sites when we could have been walking tracks. 7am - 10.30pm. Beautiful place

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Knowledgeable guides and small group size helped to make this experience amazing. The glacier itself is mesmerising!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

AMAZING tour. Loved the scenery, the most incredible thing I have ever seen. Well run and organized.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Park itself is inspiring - snow and ice glacier capped peaks soaring 10,000 feet high. Two large lakes with a deep blue color from the minerals in the peaks that seep in water in picture shown above is a much lighter color than what we saw. A few waterfalls with an impressive flow of water and mist, though they are not huge. Delightful Guide informed us of no fish in the lakes because of the minerals, Strangely I thought, there are pink flamingos in one of the lakes - apparently a different breed than what you encounter in the Caribbean. Lots of local wildlife around, especially the guanicos, the living ancestor but wool less of the llamas. The Guide took us through a hike in the park which lasted a little more than an hour. Not too difficult, but bring shoes that are suitable for walking on a trial with lots of little rocks.

The catch? A long, mostly boring ride from El Calafate, with at 1 1/2 hour or more stop each way because you must go through two sets of customs Argentina and Chile. Some people got off in the park and were either camping for the night or had reservations at one of the bungalows or hotel I would likely do this if I returned. Next day bus seems to drive people back, but check with the tour company.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

this is a great way to start your trip to El Calafate to get your bearings from a high altitude....or a very pleasant way to spend 3 or 4 hours when you dont have a full day to spare

Doing what: El Calafate 4x4 Off-Road Tour

judith s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an absolute MUST-DO for anyone who cannot spend more than a day in Torres del Paine. Our guide and driver were great and the Park is beyond words - it truly is a WONDER of the world. Plenty of photo stops were included as well as a nice lunch stop at the water falls. The provided lunch was good as well. Our guide did the entire day in both English and Spanish and provided plenty of commentary - a highlight was the geological demonstration on the beach to explain how the mountains were formed. It was very, very windy and I was very glad for the good shoes and hat and gloves I wore.
Be warned, however, that it is a long day: our pick up was before 7 and we got back to the hotel at 10 pm. Access to restrooms are few and far between all day. Even though we had an early pick up from our hotel, I regretted drinking coffee at breakfast. The bus was comfortable but did not have a toilet and toilets are available until you clear into Chile..... HOURS later.
Our daughter took the tour with us but did not ride back to El Calafate, this gave us the day with her before she started her trekking in the Park. Two others also didn't make the ride back to be able trek and our guide was especially accommodating to those three, even suggesting and arranging for their luggage to be left at the ranger station and letting them off at a trail that led back to the ranger station and their back-packs.
All and all it was a great day. The tour was run by very hard working professionals. I am very glad we didn't rent a car and attempt make to the drive ourselves, the roads are too rugged we would have missed a lot.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Adrian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! Includes the boat tour to get close to the glacier. English speaking guide. Great value for the money.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Volker B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It and #39;s a tour absolutely worth taking! It takes you to a place usually impossible to go to for us and #34;normal and #34; people. Staff is fun and friendly and you can see the enjoy their job. The only thing that bothered me a bit was that the crew was slightly toooo safety minded...

Doing what: Upsala Kayak Tour from El Calafate

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience and beautiful views hitting all the great sites for beautiful scenery. Knowledgable tour guide.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Sallyann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. It's an amazing part of the world. Loved the boat, minibus and the walking. The timing was perfect and and felt we had enough time to explore. Age guide was amazing - she was friendly, knowledgable, her english was fantastic and she clearly had a passion for the area. We would definitely recommend her and the tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful trip, very scenic, convenient, great guide

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

irina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Not a good experience, and it is not because of the Park itself...It is just too far from El Calafate and despite starting the tour at 7am we only got past the park entrance around 3pm!!! It is a long drive, and that was expected, but what was a shock is the amount if time we spend on the borders. It took at least 2 hours to get out of Argentinian border processing post, the border control has just 1 person processing busloads of travellers! There was not even a toilet there and we were on the road for 3 hours at least to get there so it was a nightmare, and half of the waiting time was spent queuing outside of the building in fhe blistering cold wind. Then another long wait to be processed on the Chilean side. We only spent 2.5 hours inside the park, all viewing was very rushed and the guides were clearly focused in getting in and out as qu ckly as possible. On the way back had to go through the repeat of both waiting for Chilean border control and then Argentinian... The lunch provided invluded the snacks and sandwich but didn't had a chance to get a cup of coffee or tea until 6.30pm. We finally got back to El Calafate about 11.30pm, very very tired, hungry no food since lunch abd completely dissatisfied with the few hours we spend in the park. Also my booking stated the park fee will be about US 25 but the guides took us to the exchange counter and told we need to pay 700 argentine pesos to get the equivalent of 21000 chilean pesos for park fees. Everyone who only had argentine money had to exchange 700 arg. pesos, but I checked now and we would only need to exchange 500 arg. pesos at the current exchange rate. The guides obviously knew it and the difference of 200 pesos is quite big to be considered just the fluctuation of exchange rate, so I feel very cheated by this tour company. Not sure who gets the extra cash we paid but clearly not the national park. Dont bother with this tour, there are much better options to spend your time and money in El Calafate.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Such a great day! Picked up from our hotel by a lovely guide who spoke to us on the way to Perito Moreno about Patagonia, its people, history and culture. So knowledageable! And our driver was amazing, he kept spotting animals (a skunk, an eagle, guanacos) and slowed down so we could see. The glacier itself is so impressive - a once in a lifetime experience to visit something like that. It was "active" on the day we were there, so loads of crashing ice. The great thing is that you get free time at the glacier to walk around by yourself and explore the various trails. You aren't ushered everywhere, which is great!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great day out from El Calafate. Be prepared - it is a long day as you have to cross borders, go through passport control and customs. But it's worth it to catch a glimpse at the famous Torres del Paine National Park. We had quite a bit of rain and fog on the day itself, but that didn't deter us from having a good time. The drive there and back, although long, was beautiful - you soak in all the scenery Patagonia has to offer and drive by a variety of animals such as guanacos, skunks, rheas, sheep, horses and rabbits. A fun day!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Pulahinge R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best tour ever. Amazing scenery and highly recommended

Doing what: Full Day Tour to the Torres del Paine National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message