From the unabashed grandeur of King’s Landing to the icy wilderness North of the Wall, the fantasy landscapes of HBO’s hit medieval drama Game of Thrones have been as captivating as its multifarious storylines. Thankfully, it’s not all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 925 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was easily the highlight of my entire week in Iceland. Worth every single penny/Króna. Even if you don't watch the show, this is 100 worth doing.

Some context: It's a mostly all-day trip if you go in the winter time. Get on the bus at 10am, finish the tour at 5 or 6pm, get stuck in windy/snowy conditions, back at the hotel at 9 or 10pm. Honestly, though, it's still worth the trip but keep that in mind and bring extra water and snacks to avoid spending too much at rest stops, and also bring a warm wind-proof coat. You'll stop at 3 locations, maybe a 4th with a cool view unrelated to the show if the group is making good time. Definitely try to go on a clear and rain-less day so you can actually see the sights.

Our experience was a great one, and 90 of that was from the host / tour guide. We happened to get one who: 1 is an extra on the show, for reals 2 Does viking battle re-enactments and makes his own viking clothing which he wears on the tour 3 Is super funny and has literally an entire day's worth of entertaining stories to tell, which is what will be the highlight. Seriously, that tour guide deserves a promotion and a 6-figure salary.
One of the sights you stop at, if you have the tour guide we did, will pose with you in his cool outfit and pretend to stab you with his sword in a photo. Very cool and fun.

Bottom line, you should do this tour if: You want to see the beautiful countryside of Iceland but don't want to bother driving to the sights yourself, love Game of Thrones even if you don't you'll still have fun, and enjoy hearing many interesting stories. 1000 worth your time and money. Do it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Avrum P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Malcom was great - my wife is into the show - I've seen only 2 shows..I'm into photography and the site. Malcom engages everyone with in front / background and director information on GOT and other movies. You go to various locations for the full day - including his choice of restaurant in MDINA which was very good and not rushed. Malcom was extremely personal and did a very good job of looking after everyone and keeping it very interesting, a good pace, tons of history and some amazing locations. Malcom involved the 3 children including my daughter in a fun dramatic way that kept their interest. A very special day with a very interesting insight by a local - an actor - background director and insurance broker!!! kept it very human Thank you for an amazing day Malcom....My personal highlight was in Rabbat at the church and it brought back a vivid memory of the Madonna crying blood from the 1990's. Our group enjoyed our time with you and HIGHLY suggest to others - take this tour - its off the beaten tourist path and allows you to see some really special sites with a person that has a ton of passion about his work, family and homeland of Malta.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this tour. I had originally thought it would be the same as a Golden Circle tour but it wasn't. The landscape is amazing and it was nice to go to places where there weren't a bunch of other buses. Went with a non Thrones watcher and she enjoyed it as well.
Guide was great unfortunately I don't remember his name
Only complaint was that the group was quite largewe were told that the group we were on was especially large but everyone was great getting back to bus when they were supposed to.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Michelle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic. The locations were beautiful and the tour guide was both friendly and very witty! They were very considerate of all passengers, ensuring every one was accounted for and able to do any hiking elements before relocating the coach. I would highly recommend this tour, even if you do not watch the programme because the stops are incredibly beautiful and worth seeing on their own! Without a doubt, this is the tour to go on!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Falon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The GOT tour was a lot of fun! Not only do you get to see some amazing spots from the show, but the Antrim Coast Road was so beautiful. My driver was Derrick,, at first glance he can seem grumpy, but he has a sarcastic, witty sense of humor. Derrick was a great driver and guide and a lot of fun to chat with, I sat in the front row so we chatted a lot on the way back. He was a little under the weather but if he hadn't mentioned it you wouldn't know. He was aware that some people may not be caught up with the show so he asked the entire bus where they were all of us were of course caught up except for the couple that wasn't infestered in watching at all. We had a good amount of time at each spot as long as you actually listen to his tips. There wee a couple of people that we ended up waiting on a few times. We actually had a bonus due to some construction we took a different route that took us past a quarry that was the home of Castle Black. I didn't get great pictures of Castle Black because we couldn't stop, but it's in my memory and that's all that matters. I would recommend to my friends in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant's Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip was the highlight of our vacation the driver also made the trip worthwhile with his knowledge,witt and professionalism.i would totally recommend this for any visitors or any locals .

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant's Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

Losttraveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

To all GOT fans, this is a must.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was actually the best tour we took on our Portugal and Spain vacation. Girona is so amazing not only because we are fans of the Game of Throne but the history behind the City and the Buildings are so mesmerizing. Our guide Xenia was so knowledgeable and very accomodating.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game Of Thrones' Walking Tour of Girona

Wheatwood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Lana was a fabulous tour guide. In my opinion, this tour was the perfect mix of GOT information and Dubrovnik history. She was energetic and very positive, answering our many many questions.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

kellifeniello United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had the best time on this tour! I was so happy that we had Derek as our guide. I had read many of the good reviews and they are right on! He is extremely knowledgeable, not only about Northern Ireland, but he knew a great deal about the history of our own country as well. And he shares our sense of humor... bad jokes and all! It was the first day after the time change so we were up against the impending darkness, but Derek made sure we were able to see all the sites. I would definitely choose McCombs again and, if we return to Belfast, I'll choose whatever tour Derek happens to be conducting. Thanks for the wonderful day!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant's Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver, Petra, went out of her way to take pictures of my husband and I so that we had some pictures together. Our guide, Swan, was and extra in a GOT episode and he had lots of fun facts about the different locations and places along the way. A must do tour for any GOT fan.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Susan B. Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. Breathtaking and beautiful scenery. Really enjoyed the tour guide's stories.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant's Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

Jane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Best tour I have ever had dont like them usually Derek made the trip so interesting, highly entertaining and full of knowledge not only about G.O.T but all N ireland history and culture. Spent most of tour laughing....excellent and would go again just for the fun of it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant's Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fabulous tour and guide. If your a massive game of throanes tour then this tour is for you.
It is an amazing olace and the people are just lovely.
I will definitely be returning
Mrs Lynne mason

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

dennisgoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Worth every penny! Our guide was patient and personable! This tour is a brilliant way to see Old Town and if you watch/love Game of Thrones, you'll love this tour! The optional Tower Wall section is quite a bit of climbing and if you have any issues with high places, beware! In the event of rain, a poncho is preferable to an umbrella in order to have both of your hands free for railings and safety. Plenty of excellent photo ops!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

pat.oligmueller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Daniel was our guide for this tour and he was fantastic. He showed us and gave us some may facts about the history of the Real Alcazar, palaces and then would pop out a photo showing a scene where the Games of Thrones was filmed in a certain room or area. It was fun, not rushed, pleasant and our group was really small just 5 of us. That made the tour even more intimate. He was able to answer all questions! It was fabulous and I highly recommend it. You don't have to be a Game of Thrones fan, this tour showed all area of interest!

Doing what: Seville and Osuna Guided Game of Thrones Tour

Tina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Our guide was awesome, and I can't remember his name, but funny and knew his Game of Thrones, plus Belfast history

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant’s Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really good, Natasha was fun and informative with good mix of Game of Thrones and local knowledge. Well worth it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Philosophy25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Ok, this tour was awesome. Sure it's a lot of driving. So is any day trip where you have to see multiple locations. The guide was fun, the stops were unique, and if you have any enjoyment of this show then you will not regret coming on this tour! A couple of added bonuses thrown in too.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

jcrowley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day in Dubrovnik - Lana, our tour guide, was very engaging, enthusiastic and fun and provided lots of information. Lucky us that we had her to our ourselves on the second part of the tour to Trsteno Arboretum, which was well worth it for GoT fans. Would very much recommend this walking tour and our tour guide!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Anshuman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Northern Ireland is beautiful, and this tour shows you how...amazing driver/guide Derek.....gorgeous locations...GOT fans or not, you will stop and admire the landscape....a must if you are in Belfast...
carrick a rede bridge: discount if you buy tickets on bus...

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' and Giant's Causeway Full-Day Tour from Belfast

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip! Our guide and driver were great and we saw a lot of cool things. Our guide, Swan, was very informative and interesting - some of us had never watched the Game of Thrones but the tour was interesting enough that it didn't matter! Swan told us a lot about Iceland, the country, its culture and folk tales. It was nice to sit back and enjoy the tour and not have to worry about navigating, too. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Katherine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A must do! By far the best experience of our trip! This tour would be enjoyable even if we were not fans of the show because the off the beaten path sites we visited were amazing and our guide Theo was fantastic! I was worried this tour would overlap with the golden circle tour but it didn and #39;t at all.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour From Reykjavik

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Agatha as our tour guide and she was amazing!
Not only was she knowledgeable on Game of Thrones and showed us all the sights, but she is a historian as well. We were so happy that she gave us the history of Split, Kliis Fortress and the Diocletian's palace as well.

Ask her where to eat and how to avoid the tourist gift shops to get yourself something genuinely Dalmatian.
10 out of 10 would do again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message