Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 590 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So much history and interesting sights packed into one day. Very educational and emotional but still a lot of fun! Worth wile day!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Maryann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It wa a fantastic tour. Very informative and interesting. The tour was made even better by the friendliness and knowledge of our guide Nicola.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Lyndall F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very good tour Highly recommend for all war buffs from Australia and Canada. Had an excellent young guide who made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour of the World War One battlefields.
We were collected from the Crown Plaza Hotel in Bruges and taken to meet our tour bus coming from Brussels.
Our tour guide was Johann and he was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the various battlefields that we visited.We were so lucky to have him as our guide and I would recommend him to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Natalie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide superb. Thank you for a memorable day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guides Regis and Julien were excellent, friendly, very informed and very flexible. The spots we visited were inspiring and our guides were flexible and made a couple of side trips that our group was interested in

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dietrich was a truly excellent guide full of relevant information without giving bias in any way. We were always armed with the appropriate facts and details prior to arriving at our stops. We saw cemeteries for both the Germans and the Allies. Canadians, British, Australians and New Zealanders were all commemorated in a variety of ways-be it monuments, cemeteries or memorials. We saw original bunkers and trenches, as well as a wonderful modern museum at Ypres.
Dietrich explained about battles-how and why they were fought and whether they were successful or catastrophic in outcome. He included the terrain and other relevant information about the land in local areas. He never sounded bored or monotone, despite probably doing the same tour many times by now. He was passionate about the history and linked everything up for us in a logical way.
Lunch was included and plenty of time to organise our own dinner before the Last Post ceremony at Menin Gate. A long, but very informative and emotional day for all who embarked on this pilgrimage.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip for my family and must admit that I was worried that my wife and two boys might struggle with it being such a long day. I had no need to worry, our guide Johan was excellent and extremely knowledgable and tailored the tour to include cemeteries and monuments for all the different nationalities on the coach. A very memorable and moving day and finished off with the last post at the Menin Gate. My boys haven't stopped talking about the tour since we came back. Fantastic!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Andrew S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A very full and packed day visiting a number of WW1 cemeteries and battlefields which was inspiring to see and also an emotional experience, particularly the last stop Ypres for the Last Post ceremony where we were fortunate that old soldiers from various Welsh regiments were present and performed a march past - it made me even prouder to be British.
One small point may be to consider reducing the number of stops to allow more time to be spent at the other locations.
The guide was excellent and explained in great detail the history of each location

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day with very knowledgeable guide. Would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Miriam O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour couldn and #39;t have been better. pick up was on time. Our guide was extremely helpful and informative. It was a long day but the tour was well worth doing although extremely sad.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Allen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour and one everyone must do.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Keith D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very full day. The experience of visiting the battle fields was very moving. Our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Tom J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing tour thanks to Silvan who was very friendly and knowledgeable. I particularly liked how he adapted the tour to suit the interests of the participants. Thank you Silvan, Tom

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Ashley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was incredible. Saw a lot, learned a lot. Our guide was great. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

leslie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour - is important to learn about the history of WW1, but is also an enjoyable day out in the beautiful Belgium countryside - just do it!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour with a great host. Extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Somme and very eye opening experience into the history of the ANZACs. Tour was very organised and not rushed.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Shirley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous tour. The guide was excellent for many reasons...he had good knowledge of the area and was not overbearing in his manner. He gave the war and places a human face. The pace was excellent.
The provided lunch and its location was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A full day with lots to see. Our driver/guide Sylvain was excellent. With a small group, we had a more intimate tour. 2016 is the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Verdun so this was an opportune time to see the city of Verdun, the Battlefields, lost villages destroyed by the fighting, and the American cemetery. The lunch stop was in a small village. Although it was a light lunch, the portions of sandwiches or salads were huge. We ate outdoors and were able to visit the small museum while our food was being prepared. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

clytle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to :a Somme was beyond expectations! Ricardo, our guide, was knowledgeable and had a terrific personality.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

C E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Two battles not visited by the English speaking world as Verdun was a largely French-German battle but everyone should visit this area to see the scale of the of the longest battle of WWI. There are still clearly visible signs of the war along with the Ossuary and Fort Douamont both being visited. The visit to the Meuse-Argonne area, where the US did the fighting in late 1918 was also poignant especially seeing the dates 9th, 10th and 11th November 1918 as the date of death for many of the men there on both actual tombstones as well as the wall of the missing. The lunch stop was well chosen as a lovely spot in a small village with its own museum.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

ellisfamily76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic history. Got to visit Great Uncles grave with the help from the guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

sport_gal_000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was phenomenal, our driver was friendly and knowledgeable and flexible. He asked us what our expectations were for the day, listened to us, and then made it a reality - excellent tourism service. The historic sites were in credibly powerful to see. The day was well laid out and each stop was budgeted well for time. Our guide really stood out, he catered to make this experience memorable for us. I can't thank you enough, simply fabulous.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Joshua T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide did an outstanding job taking us to the WWI battlefields near Verdun and Meuse-Argonne. Her knowledge of French history and the history of WWI was evident as she explained the context for the sites. It was very moving as an American to see the memorial to the U.S. Army victory at Meuse-Argonne as well as the cemetery. I would certainly recommend this tour to others and would not hesitate to hire this guide again if we decide to visit more battlefields in France. By the way, to answer a question she had for us, the memorials in the U.S. do say 1914-1918, even though we came into the war only at the end. Thanks again!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

ecfine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour, led by Nicola, was an informative and moving experience. Nicola was quite knowledgeable and did a great job putting the various sites in perspective. She also helped me locate my grandfather's grave in the Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery most efficiently. Nicola also interacted quite well with two small children who were accompanying their parents on the tour. The lunch, in a small village cafe that also displayed WWI artifacts, was delicious, and the site itself was intriguing. I highly recommend this tour to anyone seeking to know more about WWI. It was terrific!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message