Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 606 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brucey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! My guide took me everywhere that I personally wanted to go to as well many hidden gems off the tourist track. Definite five stars from me. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

Vanessa I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip is a fantastic 'first' trip to WW1 battlefields, gave us a taste of the locations and definitely inspired us to return and revisit at length these locations. Guide and bus driver were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, made extra stop just to assist one passenger find the location of a family members name, which everyone on the trip thought was very special.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great trip - very moving to visit the cemeteries and battle fields. highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Annette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We would recommend the tour to the Somme to,anyone. It was am amazing,day with Nicola our guide who was so informative. Her knowledge of the places we visited and more were amazing.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable. Questions answered and made the tour quite personal adjusting stops which made the tour even more interesting. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

The Tracey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Regis was amazing and you could tell had a real interest in WW1 history. Tour is well worthwhile if you want to really experience the battlefields of WW1.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

micky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was good ,tour was very informative but very tiring

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

cgberard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

wonderful tour! thanks!

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour by Bertrand, a very knowledgeable and helpful guide. May need to return to see other WW I sites in the future. Time well spent!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful day trip for a first-time visitor to the Somme. A great introduction to the battlefields on the Western Front where Australians served. Our tour guide Riccardo was very accommodating, making a side-trip to a small cemetery to visit an Australian grave. I would recommend this trip for anyone who wants a taste of this history, without the hassle of driving and navigating yourself.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Vands20

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A very special experience. Nicole our tour leader was incredible, so passionate and knowledgeable about her subject. Our driver Nat was superb and didn't loose her cool in all that Parisian traffic. Thank you both.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So much history and interesting sights packed into one day. Very educational and emotional but still a lot of fun! Worth wile day!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Maryann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It wa a fantastic tour. Very informative and interesting. The tour was made even better by the friendliness and knowledge of our guide Nicola.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Lyndall F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very good tour Highly recommend for all war buffs from Australia and Canada. Had an excellent young guide who made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour of the World War One battlefields.
We were collected from the Crown Plaza Hotel in Bruges and taken to meet our tour bus coming from Brussels.
Our tour guide was Johann and he was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the various battlefields that we visited.We were so lucky to have him as our guide and I would recommend him to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Natalie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide superb. Thank you for a memorable day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guides Regis and Julien were excellent, friendly, very informed and very flexible. The spots we visited were inspiring and our guides were flexible and made a couple of side trips that our group was interested in

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. It is a long day but time passes by quickly and each site has its own intriguing story. A must visit for all who are staying in Brussels.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Rodney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Well worth the cost of admission!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dietrich was a truly excellent guide full of relevant information without giving bias in any way. We were always armed with the appropriate facts and details prior to arriving at our stops. We saw cemeteries for both the Germans and the Allies. Canadians, British, Australians and New Zealanders were all commemorated in a variety of ways-be it monuments, cemeteries or memorials. We saw original bunkers and trenches, as well as a wonderful modern museum at Ypres.
Dietrich explained about battles-how and why they were fought and whether they were successful or catastrophic in outcome. He included the terrain and other relevant information about the land in local areas. He never sounded bored or monotone, despite probably doing the same tour many times by now. He was passionate about the history and linked everything up for us in a logical way.
Lunch was included and plenty of time to organise our own dinner before the Last Post ceremony at Menin Gate. A long, but very informative and emotional day for all who embarked on this pilgrimage.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip for my family and must admit that I was worried that my wife and two boys might struggle with it being such a long day. I had no need to worry, our guide Johan was excellent and extremely knowledgable and tailored the tour to include cemeteries and monuments for all the different nationalities on the coach. A very memorable and moving day and finished off with the last post at the Menin Gate. My boys haven't stopped talking about the tour since we came back. Fantastic!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

KERRIE Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

THIS IS A MUST DO TOUR FOR ALL AUSTRALIANS. OUR TOUR GUIDE WAS AN EXCELLENT HISTORIAN ON WORLD WAR 1. SIGHTS WERE MAGNIFICENT. TRANSPORT WAS EXCELLENT.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Daniel C. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the subject matter.The tour was very well planned

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting and informative day. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Andrew S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A very full and packed day visiting a number of WW1 cemeteries and battlefields which was inspiring to see and also an emotional experience, particularly the last stop Ypres for the Last Post ceremony where we were fortunate that old soldiers from various Welsh regiments were present and performed a march past - it made me even prouder to be British.
One small point may be to consider reducing the number of stops to allow more time to be spent at the other locations.
The guide was excellent and explained in great detail the history of each location

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message