Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 593 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kristen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! Highly Recommend it! Tour Guide was knowledgeable about everything :

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

gazmacca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Regis is an amazing guide. The day we visited, there was a South African couple on our tour of mostly Australians. Regis adapted the day cutting 10 minutes or so for free time from a few of the locations so that we could visit the only South African memorial site. This was special for everyone, as it truly is a beautiful memorial, with a museum attached.
Visiting the various sites was a very moving experience, enhanced by the expert knowledge provided by Regis. I could not recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Ken E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the best days of our holiday, the guide Nicola was very passionate and informative about the history of the battle, and there was not much she didn't know. There were 6 on tour and all thoroughly enjoyed it thank you Nicola

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Mrs. M I R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A full day of sights that are an awesome experience as an Australian. To walk the same ground as those blokes from 100 years ago, many of whom did not come home as we did, was very emotional and inspiring. Villers-Bretonneux, Poziers, Amiens. Names that are very familiar but the big surprise was the time spent reading the panels telling the story of Le Hamel, site of Sir John Monash's epic victory was worth the trip in itself. Also it was so much easier as a passenger returning to Paris in their nightmare traffic.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Sue R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Extremely well organised. Small vehicle with only two other couples on the tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took us to places that would interest all of us according to our nationality. The Australian National Memorial and Villers-Bretonneux were very special places and quite emotional to visit. We found that we didn't have enough time to explore the area so would recommend to others either a two day tour or an overnight stay in one of the lovely villages.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Tong C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A compact tour, the guide is knowledgeable. The last post ceremony on the 11th of November is great.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was excellent! The tour guide, Stefan, was fabulous and really did illuminate our trip.
The itinerary is very well thought out as you visit a German, a Belgian, several Commonwealth cemeteries and you just gain a sense of the sheer loss, the devastation and the tragedy on each side.
Attending the Last Post ceremony at Ypres, on a freezing November night, was probably the highlight a very moving way to end our tour and remember those who died in Flanders Fields.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Mariebride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide who went out of his way to find relatives of a fellow passenger. Informative, over whelming at times but well worth doing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Janis W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A big day with lots to experience. Well worth the . JW

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Pauline

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this day and found the guide to be very informative and obviously interested in his job.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Pauline

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I was lucky to have the guide all to myself as I was the only one on the tour. He appeared to have a great knowledge of the area and was willing to go out of his way to answer my questions

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very organised trip . The guide was informed and the trip could not be better organised

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Michael John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a marvellous experience and a must for all Australians visiting Paris to get an appreciation of what our soldiers went through during the Great War. Our driver was excellent and had so much knowledge of the events and the areas involved. A very somber trip on our way home as we all reflected on the days trip.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour and guide. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

mjoh7428

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant. Guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Lunch was great. Recommend to anyone with any interest in this period of our history.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Jared K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic experience. Wonderful guide who shared information about not only WWI and Flanders but about Belgium as a whole. Would highly recommend this trip to others!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Francisco E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very thorough tour, highlighting the major memorials and cemeteries of Flanders. Commentary was informative but not overwhelming. The final visit to experience the Menin Gate Buglers Ceremony was very moving. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

speefam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was a bucket list wish. It was a moving emotional tour. Our guide was full of information and very patient with all our questions.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful tour, made even better by the in-depth information given by our guide Regis. This man has a passion for this period in history and he very much makes every site visited come alive. Each place we arrived at held much significance for Australians. Visiting the War Cemetery was a moving experience - such a dreadful loss of young lives. I would encourage every person, regardless of nationality, to take the time to do this tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nikolai was so informative. The tour was more than I expected.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

John B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

For us the Australian flavour was poignant and relevant. The Australian memorial, Villers Bretonneux and the lunch options were excellent. If you wish to learn in a practical and informative fashion about the Commonwealth involvement in the battle of the Somme and WW1 this tour is a must. The French people have such respect for the commitment shown by the allies in defending their country they have never forgotten, nor will they ever forget. These battles and the loss of young lives had such an impact on Australian history it should be a compulsory learning experience for all Australians and Commonwealth citizens. The bus trip wasn't onerous and the guides were informative and knowledgeable. They were flexible enough to adjust their schedule to suit the needs of the group. A great tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

vickibainbridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour Nicola was very informative and as there were only 4 of us we weren't rushed . A very moving place highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was well informed and also skilled at putting World War I battles and situations in perspective. For me the highlight of the day was being able to attend the very moving Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message