Whether you’re captivated by European history or paying your respects to an ancestor who fought in the Great War, there are a vast number of World War I sites to explore in Europe . France and Belgium . They have the highest concentration of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 577 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day with very knowledgeable guide. Would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Miriam O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour couldn and #39;t have been better. pick up was on time. Our guide was extremely helpful and informative. It was a long day but the tour was well worth doing although extremely sad.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Allen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour and one everyone must do.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Keith D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very full day. The experience of visiting the battle fields was very moving. Our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Tom J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing tour thanks to Silvan who was very friendly and knowledgeable. I particularly liked how he adapted the tour to suit the interests of the participants. Thank you Silvan, Tom

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Ashley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was incredible. Saw a lot, learned a lot. Our guide was great. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

leslie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour - is important to learn about the history of WW1, but is also an enjoyable day out in the beautiful Belgium countryside - just do it!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Carole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour with a great host. Extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Somme and very eye opening experience into the history of the ANZACs. Tour was very organised and not rushed.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Shirley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous tour. The guide was excellent for many reasons...he had good knowledge of the area and was not overbearing in his manner. He gave the war and places a human face. The pace was excellent.
The provided lunch and its location was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A full day with lots to see. Our driver/guide Sylvain was excellent. With a small group, we had a more intimate tour. 2016 is the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Verdun so this was an opportune time to see the city of Verdun, the Battlefields, lost villages destroyed by the fighting, and the American cemetery. The lunch stop was in a small village. Although it was a light lunch, the portions of sandwiches or salads were huge. We ate outdoors and were able to visit the small museum while our food was being prepared. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

clytle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to :a Somme was beyond expectations! Ricardo, our guide, was knowledgeable and had a terrific personality.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

C E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Two battles not visited by the English speaking world as Verdun was a largely French-German battle but everyone should visit this area to see the scale of the of the longest battle of WWI. There are still clearly visible signs of the war along with the Ossuary and Fort Douamont both being visited. The visit to the Meuse-Argonne area, where the US did the fighting in late 1918 was also poignant especially seeing the dates 9th, 10th and 11th November 1918 as the date of death for many of the men there on both actual tombstones as well as the wall of the missing. The lunch stop was well chosen as a lovely spot in a small village with its own museum.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

CLAUDE W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was very good. Guide was very knowledgeable informative. My criticism is that the time given in the Flanders Field Museum was way too short!! I would have much much preferred not having a group lunch or substituting the free time given later in the tour with more time at the museum!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

driver.1038 New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This your was exceptional. We had a small group of 14 people from all over the world and we all got on well. The tour guide was great. Very passionate about tbe sunject and very knowledgable. He gave us some very interesting personal insider bits of information. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Catherine p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with a small group made the tour along with the extremely interesting commentary the trip met all that we were hoping to see

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

MCP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was really worth and our guide was full of very relevant information. He was able to cover detail on the varios armies. He also took us to his favourite view of the river Somme. A great day out and well worth it if you are interested in modern history.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and turned out to be one of the highlights of our 2 weeks in Belgium. One highlight of the tour was actually being able to go into the trenches. We were surprised that they are still there. The history and the cemeteries were very moving. The most moving experience of all was that Last Post at Ypres. This was a major reason that we went on this tour, and it was extremely powerful. The horrors of World War I seem to be eclipsed by the horrors of World War II. As an American I felt bad that it took us so long to become involved in this war. Our tour guide was also excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb experience with knowledgeable guide, Sylvain. Personalized to our request - Canadian and Scots war sites and cemeteries. Incredibly skilled driver in Paris traffic. Clearly bilingual guide, helpful, friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful trip with Dave who was so knowledgeable and paid attention to the 3 different nationalities on the coach
The empathy shown to people who had relatives buried on the battlefields was very special
The choice of hotel was great since we were still in the middle of the battlefield
The weather was shocking but it made us realise something of what the troops went through

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Alan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although Paris and its environs were experiencing singular nonseasonal flooding..our trip came off without a hitch. Bertrand is a warm, humorous, and VERY knowledgeable guide, not to mention an excellent driver. He was great with our 4.5 year old, too - not easy for most tour guides. My wife and son and I were joined by one other gentleman who was on his honeymoon, but took a day while his wife haunted the Champs d'l Eysess to see one of the most famous battlefields in U.S.Marines history....a perfect small group...which allowed a great deal of time to interact with Bertrand and learn from him. Belleau Wood is still filled with shallow trench lines and shell holes, and the monument to the AEF at Chateau-Thierry is spectacular. The day ended with two hours at the WWI museum, which has the largest collection of arms and uniforms in France. All in all, this was a wonderful day!

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne Battlefields, Belleau Wood and Museum of the Great War

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well designed, well paced tour, with a very informative helpful guide and excellent driver. Well chosen place for lunch, just opposite the Flanders Field Museum. Highly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

nest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A moving day which gave us a lot of time to explore the Somme area. Our guide Regis had great knowledge of the area and with his iPad brought many interesting pictures and facts to life for us The Australian memorial was most moving and the the visit to the first and third division memorials gave great insight into the huge loss of life and a generation. A must tour for Aussies

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very informative and the whole experience so moving. Our guide was extremely knowledgable of the war history and went out of his way to show us all he could.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Lynda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was both informative and enjoyable. Our guide, Sylvain, was knowledgeable and so willing to answer any and all questions. We would recommend this trip with Sylvain to anyone interested in these WW1 sites.

Doing what: Small-Group WWI Day Trip from Paris: Verdun and Meuse-Argonne Battlefields

Vicki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

While the weather on the day was not good,it helped put in perspective the conditions that the soldiers had to endure. For an Australian with a grandfather who had served in France in WW1 it was both sobering and uplifting to see the recognition that is still present at Villers Bretonneux and Poziers. Regis the tour guide was very passionate and his knowledge was encyclopaedic when it came to WW1. He was very accommodating and on request made a minor amendment to the schedule to show the Australians the famous windmill site at Poziers. The wind was absolutely howling at the time which added to the effect. It was a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Small-group WWI Somme Battlefields Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message