Breathtaking Doubtful Sound is one of the most pristine wilderness areas in the world. A striking place of soaring peaks and still, calm waters it is nick-named "Sound of Silence" because of the incredible stillness and peace that fills ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Deryck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

loved the cruise -- staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about this beautiful cruise. we did a 2 hour cruise on Milford Sound and were SO happy that we chose to overnight on Doubtful sound - it is much longer and has many more nooks and crannies. would highly recommend the tour. We especially loved the Sound of Silence where all engines were turned off and everyone was still and quiet for a few minutes.... just amazing!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

clark4rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Service was excellent and the boat trip on Doubtful Sound was spectacular. A perfect day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful scenery and great boat. I highly recommend this tour when in New Zealand. We had a sunny first day and the kayaking was fantastic. Just remember to put plenty of insect repellant on to combat the sand flies when kayaking. I had been bitten at Buller Gorge so put plenty of repellent on. I forgot my head though and still ended up with a few bites. Sand flies are a problem in many parts on the west coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic trip. I wasn't prepared for how long the bus ride and boat were going to be to get to the sound, but it was very organized and beautiful views along the way. The nature guide and captain were super friendly and knowledgable. Even though it rained we got to see tons of waterfalls and the next morning was clear. It's expensive but worth the price.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

MRS K A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best tour on our holiday. It was well organised and every need catered for.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip well organised and just the most beautiful and spectacular scenery imaginable.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous trip crew excellent great knowledge of the area friendly and helpful., Food brilliant If you do nothing else you must experience Doubtful Sound!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Lark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! It was as advertised, amazing views and a truly unique experience. The waterfalls are not to be believed. The onboard food is fabulous and generous and all of the crew were wonderful. This was a highlight of our stay in New Zealand!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Dave T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day, well organised. Excellent commentary and top shelf scenery.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of many highlights during four weeks in New Zealand. Wonderful views, excellent food, comfortable cabin and amazingly enthusiastic, friendly and hardworking crew.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very worthwhile tour marred by mix up of dates that we were booked on. Staff on boat very friendly and enthusiastic. Nature expert was very good. Expensive but worth doing as the scenery was fantastic.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Doubtful Sound is beautiful even on a slightly grey day as we experienced I. Waterfalls were lovely but despite looking hard the Dolphins were not playing that day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Lana F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This is a full day tour which starts off by Bus to the first boat, then another bus which gets you to your final boat. The boats were really nice - there was a lot of space to move around. I felt safe even though there was torrential rain the entire day. There were more waterfalls than I could count, stunning scenery, and very cute little seal pups. The tour guides were friendly and informative. What is really great about this tour is that given the extensive travel time, it wasn't fully packed and seemed to be filled with nicer fellow tourists.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Eva V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip is very nice, especially if you are lucky with the weather, but it is very expensive too. I would probably pick the shorter trip to Milford next time, it is cheaper and I guess your pictures will be very similar.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

MS G M E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful trip and the management was most impressive. Always something to do. The biologist was impressive. I loved the kayaking.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Eliezer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful trip !!! Breathtaking !!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Philip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Everything went according to expectations, no complaints. Sadly the weather was not great, but the boat crew still made a good day for us all. The rain made the waterfalls more spectacular, and we were able to go to the mouth of the sound as the sea was fairly calm. I would recommend this as a good value day tour, if I get another opportunity I would try the overnight tour.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

TLee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Doubtful Sound is beautiful and we'd highly recommend this overnight cruise,which takes about 24 hours in total. The staff on the boat very helpful and nature talks and information provided in an entertaining and knowledgeable way. The buffet dinner is delicious - especially the desserts which my partner loved! The tour departs around midday and arrives back around the same time the next day - so you really feel like you're getting some value for money - as it is quite expensive.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Fred L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were a bit concerned when we got to the dock at Manapouri as it was raining and very overcast. It started raining hard and rained for the boat ride and then the bus ride but the bus driver told us how lucky we were to be there when it was raining as there are more and bigger waterfalls. He was right. It stopped raining shortly after we got on the boat for Doubtful Sound and the experience could not have been better. Everyone was very nice and shared a lot of information.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

DM NICHOLSON N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An absolutely brilliant day. One of the highlights of our trip to NZ.
The staff were excellent but it was all about the scenery.
Even fealt quite emotional when they turned all the engines off for a silent 2 minutes

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Angela U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A lovely trip, coach driver was funny and very informative.....brilliant!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Well organised trip with lovely views of Doubtful Sound. No dolphins to be seen on our day out but hopefully others will see them.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Dale H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a pretty good tour. You are taken by bus to a boat that takes you across a lake for another bus ride thru a rain forest to the Sound for a cruise of the Doubtful Sound.. The boats were new and the staff friendly. The scenery was great. Our only objection was that the length of the tour. The boat ride back became a little boring but other than that a great way to spend a day in Te Anau

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message