Breathtaking Doubtful Sound is one of the most pristine wilderness areas in the world. A striking place of soaring peaks and still, calm waters it is nick-named "Sound of Silence" because of the incredible stillness and peace that fills ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 214 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

heinz v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great experience, with both the boat trips and bus equally enjoyable. Lake Manapouri was impressive enough, but then seeing the Sounds was breath-taking. Friendly and informative staff.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Just amazing! Don and #39;t waste anymore time and book this. Real Journeys were a fantastic operator and were so well organised that made the trip that little more special. Truly a memorable experience. Very highly recommend!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Philip D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great crew. Bus drivers monologue was very informative.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

gracedonnelly_

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Absolutely amazing tour, although would not recommend booking through Viator. We found ourselves really stressed out not knowing where to meet to be picked up as it was not stated on the voucher booking and had to call customer services twice.

Doing what: Te Anau Super Saver: Doubtful Sound Cruise plus Te Anau Glowworm Cave Tour

adelebennett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip. All staff very informative and helpful. A must do experience

Doing what: Te Anau Super Saver: Doubtful Sound Cruise plus Te Anau Glowworm Cave Tour

Kathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really nice and beautiful.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Martyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do trip! The staff at Real Journeys are brilliant and add to the trip experience. You get two boat trips and an interesting drive through a mountain pass on a coach! The 3 to 4 hour sailing out to the Tasman Sea is a voyage back in time! The scenery has not changed for millions of years and is mainly untouched by man. You will not see views like it anywhere else? It is an 8 to 9 hour trip so pack a picnic.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

dmoede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Eine fantastische Tour. Wir haben dieses Tour ab Queenstown gebucht und wurden mit dem Taxi von unserem Motel abgeholt znd nach der Reise wieder hingebracht. Den ersten Tag hatten wir Sonnenschein, den folgenden Bewölkung. Alles war bestens organisiert. Crew und Essen waren sehr gut. Empfehlenswert

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a first rate tour. I enjoyed every minute and was realistically priced.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a very long day Left my campground at 9:30 am, did not return until after 5:00
Tour included:
-shuttle from campground in Te Anau to manapouri
-boat across Manapouri Lake 45 minutes
-informative bus shuttle from West End to Doubtful Sound 45 minutes
-The Doubtful Sound Tour itself
-Return Bus, boat back to Manapouri, shuttle to Te Anau

We got a really nice day for our tour. Apparently Milford Sound the other destination out of Te Anau was expecting rain. It was mostly sunny, with some clouds moving in near the end of the tour. Gorgeous scenery throughout the entire cruise which I cannot compare to any other place I've ever been. Alaska come the closest, but even not quite. We made it al the way out to the Tasman sea for a little bit and even caught site of a couple of penguins, which I though would all be gone by this time of year. My only complaint is that I had too many pictures to wade through!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Glenda H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful views, the crew were great, food excellent.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

wwmelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Such a wonderful experience! Although trip to cruise was long, it was worth it. So glad we did the over night tour since the second day was rainy so we saw thousands of waterfalls. We also saw seals, whales and porpoises. The entire trip was handled professionally from pickup to drop off.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

J A Furness F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic we really enjoyed this trip but did wonder why it is not more advertised

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Deryck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

loved the cruise -- staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about this beautiful cruise. we did a 2 hour cruise on Milford Sound and were SO happy that we chose to overnight on Doubtful sound - it is much longer and has many more nooks and crannies. would highly recommend the tour. We especially loved the Sound of Silence where all engines were turned off and everyone was still and quiet for a few minutes.... just amazing!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

clark4rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Service was excellent and the boat trip on Doubtful Sound was spectacular. A perfect day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful scenery and great boat. I highly recommend this tour when in New Zealand. We had a sunny first day and the kayaking was fantastic. Just remember to put plenty of insect repellant on to combat the sand flies when kayaking. I had been bitten at Buller Gorge so put plenty of repellent on. I forgot my head though and still ended up with a few bites. Sand flies are a problem in many parts on the west coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic trip. I wasn't prepared for how long the bus ride and boat were going to be to get to the sound, but it was very organized and beautiful views along the way. The nature guide and captain were super friendly and knowledgable. Even though it rained we got to see tons of waterfalls and the next morning was clear. It's expensive but worth the price.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

MRS K A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best tour on our holiday. It was well organised and every need catered for.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip well organised and just the most beautiful and spectacular scenery imaginable.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous trip crew excellent great knowledge of the area friendly and helpful., Food brilliant If you do nothing else you must experience Doubtful Sound!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Lark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! It was as advertised, amazing views and a truly unique experience. The waterfalls are not to be believed. The onboard food is fabulous and generous and all of the crew were wonderful. This was a highlight of our stay in New Zealand!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Dave T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day, well organised. Excellent commentary and top shelf scenery.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message