Fiordland is picture postcard New Zealand: all soaring mountains, rugged landscapes and stunning lakes. Within Fiordland you will find some of New Zealand’s finest attractions like the fiord hewn sounds, including the popular and impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 436 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Rashmi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

everything was great

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a very long day Left my campground at 9:30 am, did not return until after 5:00
Tour included:
-shuttle from campground in Te Anau to manapouri
-boat across Manapouri Lake 45 minutes
-informative bus shuttle from West End to Doubtful Sound 45 minutes
-The Doubtful Sound Tour itself
-Return Bus, boat back to Manapouri, shuttle to Te Anau

We got a really nice day for our tour. Apparently Milford Sound the other destination out of Te Anau was expecting rain. It was mostly sunny, with some clouds moving in near the end of the tour. Gorgeous scenery throughout the entire cruise which I cannot compare to any other place I've ever been. Alaska come the closest, but even not quite. We made it al the way out to the Tasman sea for a little bit and even caught site of a couple of penguins, which I though would all be gone by this time of year. My only complaint is that I had too many pictures to wade through!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Diane M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We were lucky enough to have great weather at Milford Sound and our driver entertained us all the way. Recommend returning by helicopter if you can, you will never forget those views!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Glenda H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful views, the crew were great, food excellent.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

wwmelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Such a wonderful experience! Although trip to cruise was long, it was worth it. So glad we did the over night tour since the second day was rainy so we saw thousands of waterfalls. We also saw seals, whales and porpoises. The entire trip was handled professionally from pickup to drop off.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Natalia K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Long but scenic drive with few stops for taking pictures and refreshments. Milford sound cruise is very beautiful. The only problem: comment on board were very difficult to understand due to bad sound system and very strong wind.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

James I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was fabulous. The people that did the tour we amazing. Everything was very organized. Great experience.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

J A Furness F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic we really enjoyed this trip but did wonder why it is not more advertised

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best days of our NZ holiday. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Garrett B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Milford Sound is absolutely stunningly breathtaking!! I would give the location 100 stars! The tour itself was great, nice boat, decent food, and some good commentary. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars was because it was hard to hear the full commentary while outside on the ship perhaps speakers not loud enough and the food was just average. Other than that, it was a beautiful trip, very peaceful and the captain got right up next to the waterfalls allowing for some phenomenal pictures!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Janis D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Boat trip was good.
Quality of the buffet lunch was a bit better than average but overpriced and was served during the first half hour of the cruise 11.00 and 11.30 am. Would have been much better to have had lunch towards the end of the cruise, closer to the traditional midday meal time.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Susan B Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was ok - it was mainly a backpackers tour and big busy boat, but staff were informative and friendly
Definitly worth doing a cruise, but would probably go for a smaller boat with less people on it

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Natasha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The missing star is for the food, it was ok. Otherwise the trip was great, we had a cloudy, rainy day but it was still a sight to see. I haven't seen what we got to see on the cruise in pictures. waterfalls everywhere. the pilot was great too, telling us the little stories and where we were and what was coming up. the boat had some awesome spots up front and in the back to take advantage of. they had an upper deck too but i didn't venture up there b/c of the cold weather and rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Deryck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

loved the cruise -- staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about this beautiful cruise. we did a 2 hour cruise on Milford Sound and were SO happy that we chose to overnight on Doubtful sound - it is much longer and has many more nooks and crannies. would highly recommend the tour. We especially loved the Sound of Silence where all engines were turned off and everyone was still and quiet for a few minutes.... just amazing!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Morgan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Boat was a good size, not too large, and no huge tour groups, which was a big factor in my decision to use this operator. Great narration, and we got so close to the steep walls that we were able to drink from a waterfall! It was cloudy and slightly rainy this is the norm, not blue skies and rest assured that it is still absolutely, jaw-droppingly amazing. And the waterfalls are more spectacular during/after the rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Tehjiayi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Other than a small hiccup which led to the bus being late. The tour was otherwise enjoyable despite the long bus journey. The driver cum guide, Eric, was very informative which made the long bus ride less taxing.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

clark4rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Service was excellent and the boat trip on Doubtful Sound was spectacular. A perfect day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This cruise is highly recommended and I would be glad to do it again. The drive to Milford Sound is very enjoyable too. You will need a warm jacket, preferably waterproof, and your camera.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Linda H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time on this cruise. It was a rainy day, as were most of our days in New Zealand but that actually added to the spectacular scenery. There were hundreds of waterfalls driving into Milford Sound as well as the hundreds in the fjord. The crew was knowledgeable and accommodating. The one disappointment might have been the low wildlife sightings.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Prabha W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Barbara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. After spending nearly a month travelling around NZ my sister rates this as the best day of our trip and we had many good days. This was my second trip to Milford Sound in the last couple of years and I really enjoyed it again.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message