Fiordland is picture postcard New Zealand: all soaring mountains, rugged landscapes and stunning lakes. Within Fiordland you will find some of New Zealand’s finest attractions like the fiord hewn sounds, including the popular and impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 458 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

heinz v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great experience, with both the boat trips and bus equally enjoyable. Lake Manapouri was impressive enough, but then seeing the Sounds was breath-taking. Friendly and informative staff.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Jaye S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Taking the Milford Sound Nature Cruise was terrific. My son and I drove from Greymouth down to Te Anau the night before and made the short drive to Milford Sound early the next morning. We arrived in time to have a great coffee and toasted sandwich and then went off for a 2 hours trip viewing the fjord and environs. Jack, the 'emcee' for the cruise that day, was great - he enlightened us travelers with many facts of the history and formation of Milford Sound and pointed out the various flora and fauna along the way. Even though it was raining it usually is, it was a most enjoyable experience and recommend it highly.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Ramsay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Worth the time it took to get there. We had a day that was bright and sunny and so the experience was less dramatic than usual, but wonderful nonetheless.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Di H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wow! What a world wonder! Is still as magnificent as I remembered 20years ago when I was here.
This time I booked through aviator, A very organized company, the coach was very comfortable and on time and made many interesting stops, I especially have to mention if you are lucky enough to travel with driver/guide Karl,
He is full of knowledge about the area, telling us in a very enthusiastically manner, made the 12 hour trip very enjoyable and not long at all.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Just amazing! Don and #39;t waste anymore time and book this. Real Journeys were a fantastic operator and were so well organised that made the trip that little more special. Truly a memorable experience. Very highly recommend!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best trip to most beautiful place we've ever been. Lucked out on a warm sunny day, and the ocean was calm so we got photos of furry seals and crested penguins. Staff excellent, very good job without cutting any shortcuts.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Excellent even in the rain!!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Gary N

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Any trip riding a bus for up to 4 hours each way can be a little much but the scenery and commentary from Carl our driver made it worth it. New Zealand is just one awesome scene after another and this trip gives you lots. It would have been nice to know we should have pre booked our seats to sit together but half way another guest offered to switch so it worked out. There is an opportunity after the Boat trip to come back by Plane or Helicopter which looked pretty inviting, especially after a 4 hour bus ride. We came back to Queenstown by Helicopter even stopping on a glacier on the way back. Expensive but awesome. I would certainly recommend this tour as compared to driving yourself. It is a long day but worth the cost of the tour.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Philip D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great crew. Bus drivers monologue was very informative.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Arlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I have done a Milford Sound Cruise three times. Twice with larger boats and then the last time with this smaller boat nature cruise. I would highly recommend going on this smaller boat as it can get much closer to the waterfalls and is much more informative and friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Kapila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a magic. The waterfalls were fantastic.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can't do justice to Milford Sound without taking a cruise out. The land views are great but they can't compare to the amazing views from the water. We had to adjust our trip, arrived a day earlier than we had originally scheduled but they made the necessary last minute adjustments to honor our reservation. We can't begin to thank them enough for this accommodation.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even with the pooring rain, this tour was great. The guide was super knowledgeable and his comments were extremely interesting. Most do if you are in this region.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Spectacular experience for our family. Staff on the boat were sensational and displayed both care and humour over the coarse of the trip. Very professional!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Kathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really nice and beautiful.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Martyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do trip! The staff at Real Journeys are brilliant and add to the trip experience. You get two boat trips and an interesting drive through a mountain pass on a coach! The 3 to 4 hour sailing out to the Tasman Sea is a voyage back in time! The scenery has not changed for millions of years and is mainly untouched by man. You will not see views like it anywhere else? It is an 8 to 9 hour trip so pack a picnic.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Basil C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

There is no question that Milford Sound is a must visit, however with 7 metres of rainfall every year be prepared for rain.
We copped a wet and cold day and visibility was very limited and this was in January.
If I was doing this again I would possibly do a shorter trip.
We were very fortunate to come across a pod of dolphins on our tour.
No issue with the tour operator.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Vignes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nature at its best. Got to the pickup point a little earlier to enjoy the surrounding areas of the jetty, and then the cruise itself. What a journey it was! Gorgeous waterfalls, the beautiful ocean and we were lucky enough to encounter wild dolphins making their way out to the bay. Also saw seals basking in the sun. An extremely memorable trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

dmoede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Eine fantastische Tour. Wir haben dieses Tour ab Queenstown gebucht und wurden mit dem Taxi von unserem Motel abgeholt znd nach der Reise wieder hingebracht. Den ersten Tag hatten wir Sonnenschein, den folgenden Bewölkung. Alles war bestens organisiert. Crew und Essen waren sehr gut. Empfehlenswert

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a first rate tour. I enjoyed every minute and was realistically priced.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

William G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Although it's the not the tour's fault that heavy rain and mist lasted the entire day, it still was a disappointment for us not be able to see any clear view of the sound during this trip. We did get to see some interesting scenery e.g. water fall flowing upward caused by the blowing wind, but overall I was not able to take any photos like the one seen in the description. Highly not recommend going in the spring due to the higher chance of rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Rashmi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

everything was great

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a very long day Left my campground at 9:30 am, did not return until after 5:00
Tour included:
-shuttle from campground in Te Anau to manapouri
-boat across Manapouri Lake 45 minutes
-informative bus shuttle from West End to Doubtful Sound 45 minutes
-The Doubtful Sound Tour itself
-Return Bus, boat back to Manapouri, shuttle to Te Anau

We got a really nice day for our tour. Apparently Milford Sound the other destination out of Te Anau was expecting rain. It was mostly sunny, with some clouds moving in near the end of the tour. Gorgeous scenery throughout the entire cruise which I cannot compare to any other place I've ever been. Alaska come the closest, but even not quite. We made it al the way out to the Tasman sea for a little bit and even caught site of a couple of penguins, which I though would all be gone by this time of year. My only complaint is that I had too many pictures to wade through!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message