Fiordland is picture postcard New Zealand: all soaring mountains, rugged landscapes and stunning lakes. Within Fiordland you will find some of New Zealand’s finest attractions like the fiord hewn sounds, including the popular and impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 445 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I have done a Milford Sound Cruise three times. Twice with larger boats and then the last time with this smaller boat nature cruise. I would highly recommend going on this smaller boat as it can get much closer to the waterfalls and is much more informative and friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Kapila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a magic. The waterfalls were fantastic.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can't do justice to Milford Sound without taking a cruise out. The land views are great but they can't compare to the amazing views from the water. We had to adjust our trip, arrived a day earlier than we had originally scheduled but they made the necessary last minute adjustments to honor our reservation. We can't begin to thank them enough for this accommodation.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even with the pooring rain, this tour was great. The guide was super knowledgeable and his comments were extremely interesting. Most do if you are in this region.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Basil C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

There is no question that Milford Sound is a must visit, however with 7 metres of rainfall every year be prepared for rain.
We copped a wet and cold day and visibility was very limited and this was in January.
If I was doing this again I would possibly do a shorter trip.
We were very fortunate to come across a pod of dolphins on our tour.
No issue with the tour operator.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Vignes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nature at its best. Got to the pickup point a little earlier to enjoy the surrounding areas of the jetty, and then the cruise itself. What a journey it was! Gorgeous waterfalls, the beautiful ocean and we were lucky enough to encounter wild dolphins making their way out to the bay. Also saw seals basking in the sun. An extremely memorable trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

dmoede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Eine fantastische Tour. Wir haben dieses Tour ab Queenstown gebucht und wurden mit dem Taxi von unserem Motel abgeholt znd nach der Reise wieder hingebracht. Den ersten Tag hatten wir Sonnenschein, den folgenden Bewölkung. Alles war bestens organisiert. Crew und Essen waren sehr gut. Empfehlenswert

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a first rate tour. I enjoyed every minute and was realistically priced.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

William G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Although it's the not the tour's fault that heavy rain and mist lasted the entire day, it still was a disappointment for us not be able to see any clear view of the sound during this trip. We did get to see some interesting scenery e.g. water fall flowing upward caused by the blowing wind, but overall I was not able to take any photos like the one seen in the description. Highly not recommend going in the spring due to the higher chance of rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Rashmi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

everything was great

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a very long day Left my campground at 9:30 am, did not return until after 5:00
Tour included:
-shuttle from campground in Te Anau to manapouri
-boat across Manapouri Lake 45 minutes
-informative bus shuttle from West End to Doubtful Sound 45 minutes
-The Doubtful Sound Tour itself
-Return Bus, boat back to Manapouri, shuttle to Te Anau

We got a really nice day for our tour. Apparently Milford Sound the other destination out of Te Anau was expecting rain. It was mostly sunny, with some clouds moving in near the end of the tour. Gorgeous scenery throughout the entire cruise which I cannot compare to any other place I've ever been. Alaska come the closest, but even not quite. We made it al the way out to the Tasman sea for a little bit and even caught site of a couple of penguins, which I though would all be gone by this time of year. My only complaint is that I had too many pictures to wade through!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Diane M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We were lucky enough to have great weather at Milford Sound and our driver entertained us all the way. Recommend returning by helicopter if you can, you will never forget those views!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Glenda H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful views, the crew were great, food excellent.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

wwmelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Such a wonderful experience! Although trip to cruise was long, it was worth it. So glad we did the over night tour since the second day was rainy so we saw thousands of waterfalls. We also saw seals, whales and porpoises. The entire trip was handled professionally from pickup to drop off.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Natalia K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Long but scenic drive with few stops for taking pictures and refreshments. Milford sound cruise is very beautiful. The only problem: comment on board were very difficult to understand due to bad sound system and very strong wind.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

James I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was fabulous. The people that did the tour we amazing. Everything was very organized. Great experience.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

J A Furness F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic we really enjoyed this trip but did wonder why it is not more advertised

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best days of our NZ holiday. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Garrett B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Milford Sound is absolutely stunningly breathtaking!! I would give the location 100 stars! The tour itself was great, nice boat, decent food, and some good commentary. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars was because it was hard to hear the full commentary while outside on the ship perhaps speakers not loud enough and the food was just average. Other than that, it was a beautiful trip, very peaceful and the captain got right up next to the waterfalls allowing for some phenomenal pictures!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Janis D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Boat trip was good.
Quality of the buffet lunch was a bit better than average but overpriced and was served during the first half hour of the cruise 11.00 and 11.30 am. Would have been much better to have had lunch towards the end of the cruise, closer to the traditional midday meal time.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Susan B Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was ok - it was mainly a backpackers tour and big busy boat, but staff were informative and friendly
Definitly worth doing a cruise, but would probably go for a smaller boat with less people on it

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Natasha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The missing star is for the food, it was ok. Otherwise the trip was great, we had a cloudy, rainy day but it was still a sight to see. I haven't seen what we got to see on the cruise in pictures. waterfalls everywhere. the pilot was great too, telling us the little stories and where we were and what was coming up. the boat had some awesome spots up front and in the back to take advantage of. they had an upper deck too but i didn't venture up there b/c of the cold weather and rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message