Stunning Lake Manapouri surrounded by the majestic Cathedral Ranges and dotted with thirty-four islands, is beautiful and impressive. The mountains, which make up the north, south and west sides of the lake, descend into the water creating lovely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

heinz v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great experience, with both the boat trips and bus equally enjoyable. Lake Manapouri was impressive enough, but then seeing the Sounds was breath-taking. Friendly and informative staff.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Philip D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great crew. Bus drivers monologue was very informative.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

adelebennett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip. All staff very informative and helpful. A must do experience

Doing what: Te Anau Super Saver: Doubtful Sound Cruise plus Te Anau Glowworm Cave Tour

Chasen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything about this trip was great. The tour company even arranged a free taxi pick up and drop off at our hotel. The tour guide Craig, was very knowledgeable and insightful with a great sense of humor.

Every part of the trip was beautiful and scenic: The bus ride to Lake Manipouri, the trip across the lake, the ride from the lake to the Sound all capped off by the amazing Doubtful Sound. This trip was one of the best parts of our vacation in New Zealand.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Kathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really nice and beautiful.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Martyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do trip! The staff at Real Journeys are brilliant and add to the trip experience. You get two boat trips and an interesting drive through a mountain pass on a coach! The 3 to 4 hour sailing out to the Tasman Sea is a voyage back in time! The scenery has not changed for millions of years and is mainly untouched by man. You will not see views like it anywhere else? It is an 8 to 9 hour trip so pack a picnic.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Alexandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. A long way by bus and boat.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Kat P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We recommend package tours like these because it saves you the trouble of driving out to remote locations and arranging the boats on your own.

About the tour: The drivers were awesome! The boat portion of the tour was a tad crowded and depending on where you are in the cabin or outside you may not be able to hear all the interesting facts about the area. However, the boat crew were top-notch!

As with any outdoor tour in NZ, you need to remember that visibility is VERY dependent on the weather. Be sure to bring rain gear.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

dmoede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Eine fantastische Tour. Wir haben dieses Tour ab Queenstown gebucht und wurden mit dem Taxi von unserem Motel abgeholt znd nach der Reise wieder hingebracht. Den ersten Tag hatten wir Sonnenschein, den folgenden Bewölkung. Alles war bestens organisiert. Crew und Essen waren sehr gut. Empfehlenswert

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a first rate tour. I enjoyed every minute and was realistically priced.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a very long day Left my campground at 9:30 am, did not return until after 5:00
Tour included:
-shuttle from campground in Te Anau to manapouri
-boat across Manapouri Lake 45 minutes
-informative bus shuttle from West End to Doubtful Sound 45 minutes
-The Doubtful Sound Tour itself
-Return Bus, boat back to Manapouri, shuttle to Te Anau

We got a really nice day for our tour. Apparently Milford Sound the other destination out of Te Anau was expecting rain. It was mostly sunny, with some clouds moving in near the end of the tour. Gorgeous scenery throughout the entire cruise which I cannot compare to any other place I've ever been. Alaska come the closest, but even not quite. We made it al the way out to the Tasman sea for a little bit and even caught site of a couple of penguins, which I though would all be gone by this time of year. My only complaint is that I had too many pictures to wade through!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Glenda H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful views, the crew were great, food excellent.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

wwmelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Such a wonderful experience! Although trip to cruise was long, it was worth it. So glad we did the over night tour since the second day was rainy so we saw thousands of waterfalls. We also saw seals, whales and porpoises. The entire trip was handled professionally from pickup to drop off.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

J A Furness F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic we really enjoyed this trip but did wonder why it is not more advertised

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour, amazing scenery, enjoyable cruise

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great trip--my husband and I enjoyed it immensely! The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful, and the tour guides are excellent--very informative and willing to answer questions. It's a long day, but worth every minute. I especially loved seeing the blue penguins--what a bonus!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Deryck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

loved the cruise -- staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about this beautiful cruise. we did a 2 hour cruise on Milford Sound and were SO happy that we chose to overnight on Doubtful sound - it is much longer and has many more nooks and crannies. would highly recommend the tour. We especially loved the Sound of Silence where all engines were turned off and everyone was still and quiet for a few minutes.... just amazing!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Tea A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We liked the tour very much even it was a very rainy day. All the staff we were involved with during the tour were professional and frienly. The busses and the catamaran were very suitable for the tour. We were even complimentary transfered to our private accomodation.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

clark4rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Service was excellent and the boat trip on Doubtful Sound was spectacular. A perfect day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Rachel C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was a great tour really enjoyed our experience a loop flight would have made it amazing would recommend this trip. Pilot was very knowledgable and easy to talk to which made the experience.

Doing what: Taste of Fiordland Scenic Helicopter Flight from Te Anau

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful scenery and great boat. I highly recommend this tour when in New Zealand. We had a sunny first day and the kayaking was fantastic. Just remember to put plenty of insect repellant on to combat the sand flies when kayaking. I had been bitten at Buller Gorge so put plenty of repellent on. I forgot my head though and still ended up with a few bites. Sand flies are a problem in many parts on the west coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

david p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very well run trip with the cruise it self very good, with the captain well versed in how to get the best for virtually everyone. The cruise was extremely enjoyable, seeing a lot of wildlife including Dolphins, a fjord land penguin and a number of different types of albatross. I would highly recommend this trip. The very sunny dry weather did help make the trip even better but, the tour company were great.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message