Stunning Lake Manapouri surrounded by the majestic Cathedral Ranges and dotted with thirty-four islands, is beautiful and impressive. The mountains, which make up the north, south and west sides of the lake, descend into the water creating lovely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great trip--my husband and I enjoyed it immensely! The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful, and the tour guides are excellent--very informative and willing to answer questions. It's a long day, but worth every minute. I especially loved seeing the blue penguins--what a bonus!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Deryck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

loved the cruise -- staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about this beautiful cruise. we did a 2 hour cruise on Milford Sound and were SO happy that we chose to overnight on Doubtful sound - it is much longer and has many more nooks and crannies. would highly recommend the tour. We especially loved the Sound of Silence where all engines were turned off and everyone was still and quiet for a few minutes.... just amazing!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Tea A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We liked the tour very much even it was a very rainy day. All the staff we were involved with during the tour were professional and frienly. The busses and the catamaran were very suitable for the tour. We were even complimentary transfered to our private accomodation.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

clark4rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Service was excellent and the boat trip on Doubtful Sound was spectacular. A perfect day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Rachel C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was a great tour really enjoyed our experience a loop flight would have made it amazing would recommend this trip. Pilot was very knowledgable and easy to talk to which made the experience.

Doing what: Taste of Fiordland Scenic Helicopter Flight from Te Anau

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful scenery and great boat. I highly recommend this tour when in New Zealand. We had a sunny first day and the kayaking was fantastic. Just remember to put plenty of insect repellant on to combat the sand flies when kayaking. I had been bitten at Buller Gorge so put plenty of repellent on. I forgot my head though and still ended up with a few bites. Sand flies are a problem in many parts on the west coast.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

david p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very well run trip with the cruise it self very good, with the captain well versed in how to get the best for virtually everyone. The cruise was extremely enjoyable, seeing a lot of wildlife including Dolphins, a fjord land penguin and a number of different types of albatross. I would highly recommend this trip. The very sunny dry weather did help make the trip even better but, the tour company were great.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic trip. I wasn't prepared for how long the bus ride and boat were going to be to get to the sound, but it was very organized and beautiful views along the way. The nature guide and captain were super friendly and knowledgable. Even though it rained we got to see tons of waterfalls and the next morning was clear. It's expensive but worth the price.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

MRS K A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best tour on our holiday. It was well organised and every need catered for.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip well organised and just the most beautiful and spectacular scenery imaginable.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous trip crew excellent great knowledge of the area friendly and helpful., Food brilliant If you do nothing else you must experience Doubtful Sound!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Lark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! It was as advertised, amazing views and a truly unique experience. The waterfalls are not to be believed. The onboard food is fabulous and generous and all of the crew were wonderful. This was a highlight of our stay in New Zealand!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Dave T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day, well organised. Excellent commentary and top shelf scenery.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of many highlights during four weeks in New Zealand. Wonderful views, excellent food, comfortable cabin and amazingly enthusiastic, friendly and hardworking crew.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very worthwhile tour marred by mix up of dates that we were booked on. Staff on boat very friendly and enthusiastic. Nature expert was very good. Expensive but worth doing as the scenery was fantastic.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Heather B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Doubtful Sound is beautiful even on a slightly grey day as we experienced I. Waterfalls were lovely but despite looking hard the Dolphins were not playing that day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Lana F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This is a full day tour which starts off by Bus to the first boat, then another bus which gets you to your final boat. The boats were really nice - there was a lot of space to move around. I felt safe even though there was torrential rain the entire day. There were more waterfalls than I could count, stunning scenery, and very cute little seal pups. The tour guides were friendly and informative. What is really great about this tour is that given the extensive travel time, it wasn't fully packed and seemed to be filled with nicer fellow tourists.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Eva V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip is very nice, especially if you are lucky with the weather, but it is very expensive too. I would probably pick the shorter trip to Milford next time, it is cheaper and I guess your pictures will be very similar.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

MS G M E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful trip and the management was most impressive. Always something to do. The biologist was impressive. I loved the kayaking.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Eliezer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful trip !!! Breathtaking !!!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Philip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Everything went according to expectations, no complaints. Sadly the weather was not great, but the boat crew still made a good day for us all. The rain made the waterfalls more spectacular, and we were able to go to the mouth of the sound as the sea was fairly calm. I would recommend this as a good value day tour, if I get another opportunity I would try the overnight tour.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

TLee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Doubtful Sound is beautiful and we'd highly recommend this overnight cruise,which takes about 24 hours in total. The staff on the boat very helpful and nature talks and information provided in an entertaining and knowledgeable way. The buffet dinner is delicious - especially the desserts which my partner loved! The tour departs around midday and arrives back around the same time the next day - so you really feel like you're getting some value for money - as it is quite expensive.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

Fred L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were a bit concerned when we got to the dock at Manapouri as it was raining and very overcast. It started raining hard and rained for the boat ride and then the bus ride but the bus driver told us how lucky we were to be there when it was raining as there are more and bigger waterfalls. He was right. It stopped raining shortly after we got on the boat for Doubtful Sound and the experience could not have been better. Everyone was very nice and shared a lot of information.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message