Described as the eighth wonder of the World by Rudyard Kipling, Milford Sound is New Zealand’s premier tourist attraction. Upon entering the sound you’re surrounded by sheer cliffs 3,900 feet (1,200 meters) high, carved by glaciers, rising ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour and Nigel our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. The Milford Sound cruise portion, about 2 hours, was amazing - high waterfalls, sea lions and dolphins. BBQ lunch was well done with sausage, chicken and lamb kebabs.
Be ready with your camera as you don't know what may appear around the next turn. We came across a huge herd of sheep on the road in the morning and also 3 Kea birds attacking a car roof.
Small group made for easy travel.
Would recommend as great way to visit Milford Sound area.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Jaye S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Taking the Milford Sound Nature Cruise was terrific. My son and I drove from Greymouth down to Te Anau the night before and made the short drive to Milford Sound early the next morning. We arrived in time to have a great coffee and toasted sandwich and then went off for a 2 hours trip viewing the fjord and environs. Jack, the 'emcee' for the cruise that day, was great - he enlightened us travelers with many facts of the history and formation of Milford Sound and pointed out the various flora and fauna along the way. Even though it was raining it usually is, it was a most enjoyable experience and recommend it highly.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

richardmilburn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really good day. Weather was absolutely terrible but despite this the guy running it was very friendly, funny and informative. He really made the day for everyone.

If doing a Milford Sound day tour I would 100% recommend doing it with this company

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Gustavo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Nigel the bus driver is our new friend. Views are magnificent all through the trip and the Milford Sound was incredible. Lunch was delicious,you feel you are in a picnic! Fly back if you can, worth the steep price!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Ryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip! Nigel was a great host very educated guy with interesting dialog throughout the trip. The BBQ both food and lunch spot did not disappoint. Thanks BBQ Bus for a fun trip to the Milford Sound!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

lauriekom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip from Queenstown to the amazing Fiordland National Park and Milford Sound. Nigel was our driver/tour guide, and did a fantastic job keeping us engaged on what is a long day of driving about 7 AM to 8:30 PM. Major attractions include Mirror Lakes, The Chasm, more waterfalls than I've ever seen along the drive through Fiordland National Park, and a 1.5 hour tour on Milford Sound in a nice covered boat. Not to mention the BBQ lunch, which was excellent. Weather was absolutely not great the day we took this tour low 50s F, rainy, and high winds, despite being the middle of summer!, but the natural beauty of our destinations and Nigel's engaging personality made for a wonderful day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Minna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip. The nature on the way to Milford Sound and in the fjord was incredible. Our tour guide Nigel had loads of interesting knowledge and great humor which made our long drive very enjoyable. And the lunch was top thing ! One of the best tours ever!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can't do justice to Milford Sound without taking a cruise out. The land views are great but they can't compare to the amazing views from the water. We had to adjust our trip, arrived a day earlier than we had originally scheduled but they made the necessary last minute adjustments to honor our reservation. We can't begin to thank them enough for this accommodation.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Jared1986

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Undoubtedly the best way to see Milford Sounds, particularly if you have limited time. The cruise departed at 4:30pm, just when the last of the day tours where finishing, leaving us the entire of the sounds with just one other overnight vessel. We saw sunset and sunrise on the sound, were well-fed and looked after by the Captain and his team and were well-informed by the on-board tour guide. After kayaking, seal-spotting and having some great weather, the trip was well worth the journey and expense.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Arlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I have done a Milford Sound Cruise three times. Twice with larger boats and then the last time with this smaller boat nature cruise. I would highly recommend going on this smaller boat as it can get much closer to the waterfalls and is much more informative and friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent way to see the Fiordland National Park area and the great Milford Sound. We enjoyed it thoroughly. One of the must see places in the world.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Jeffrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Milford Sound--
The bus is comfortable and ride enjoyable includes commentary and stops to take photos. Boat ride was great, food was enough. Only downside for us was rain, but there's a good reason why this is the 1 tourist activity in NZ.

Glowworm cave--
Great tour, friendly guide. No pictures allowed. Went during summer but it was cold so bring a jacket!

Doing what: Te Anau Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Te Anau Glowworm Cave Tour

elizabethwingate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome trip! I'm so glad I booked this trip versus one of the bigger tour busses. While we were on the same path as some of the bigger ones, since we had a smaller group we were able to beat the huge crowds to most places giving us first dibs at pictures without masses of people in the background and bathrooms when necessary. Furthermore, our tour guide Nigel made a point to learn everyone's name and include everybody in conversations/jokes/stories along the way which made a day with a lot of driving pass quickly. We were also able to stop at a few extra places and be flexible with our plan and take advantage of the best places possible that suited our specific group and weather the best. The lunch provided was awesome also, one of the best lamb kebab's I've ever had for sure. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone else thinking about doing Milford Sound in one day. One other advantage, we had a smaller cruise boat than other trips too so we were able to be outside on the deck, versus just inside the larger ferry boats. 10/10 would do again.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Gina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Best trip ever, wonderful experience with BBQ Bus to Milford Sound. Nigel was AWESOME and we had the opportunity to learn history and nature facts.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great - the guide was very friendly, he remembered my name for the whole day! haha The bbq lunch was also yummy and we had it while sitting near a lake.. very scenic. The Milford Sound is a must - but if you have already seen the Fjords in Norway then this won't come close to that.. Milford Sound, I would consider, is just 10 of what Fjords you will see in Norway. The lazy seals were the highlight of Milford Sound for me!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

gam4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did the overnight Milford Sound tour which was truly amazing. In the evening we had 5 inches of rain which really enhanced the scenes before us, the number of waterfalls that were flowing grew expodentially and taking the trip out on the boats tender was an added bonus. In the morning clear bright blue skies but the number of waterfalls was reduced by two thirds but still very spectacular. The on board nature guide showed us rare penguins, seals, birds etc and the Captain took the boat up close to see them in their natural habitats. We would highly recommend this tour in the South Island.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

BBQ Bus is the way to go visit Milford Sound. Very personal trip, the driver giving historical accounts of the area on the drive up... we did not hit a great day weather-wise rainy and foggy but my family enjoyed the trip and mentioned that it was nice that we weren't on the larger tourist buses since we made a couple stops along the way and then were right back on the road to Milford Sound. Driver even picked my family up and droppped us off across the street from where we were staying. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a clear day and Milford Sound was amazing. Saw dolphins, penguins, and seals. The waterfalls were great. And, if the Captain says, You my get wet, - you should heed his warning. The bus ride over with Marty on the BBQ bus was very relaxing and well thought-out. Totally enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Jett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had the most amazing time at Milford Sound as the weather was perfect. Saw the dolphins swimming by the side of the boat, saw the seals and a penguin from afar. Enjoyed the breathtaking and amazing view plus a thousand memories to take home with me. What an experience!

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This cruise is highly recommended and I would be glad to do it again. The drive to Milford Sound is very enjoyable too. You will need a warm jacket, preferably waterproof, and your camera.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

William P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Small tour with more personal feel than the meg-buses. Very convenient hotel pick-up and dropped us off at another spot upon request. If you plan to tour Milford Sound while in Queenstown, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

betsydelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip! Milford Sound is amazing! I recommend staying and doing the overnight as it is a long drive if you are coming from Queenstown. I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much if I tried to return to Queenstown the same day. The staff were wonderful, the food was great and it was fun meeting people from other places. Beware of the sand flies, they are everywhere!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Barbara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. After spending nearly a month travelling around NZ my sister rates this as the best day of our trip and we had many good days. This was my second trip to Milford Sound in the last couple of years and I really enjoyed it again.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Parth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marty was absolutely phenomenal. He showed us some really cool sights and was a great ride along the way. He more than accommodated everyone's requests and we made frequent but not too many stops along the way. Others have already said this in previous reviews but taking the BBQ Bus helped provide a much more intimate experience for us. I had the opportunity to get to know the other amazing people in our group and some of us even hung out after we got back from the tour. Marty stopped at some really beautiful spots for photos and the boat ride was perfect - it felt full, but not overwhelming. We had ample space to walk around the boat to catch 360 views of Milford Sound. Also, unlike many/most other tour guides and companies, Marty didn't try to up sell us on anything. Try out the BBQ Bus - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message