Described as the eighth wonder of the World by Rudyard Kipling, Milford Sound is New Zealand’s premier tourist attraction. Upon entering the sound you’re surrounded by sheer cliffs 3,900 feet (1,200 meters) high, carved by glaciers, rising ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Best trip ever, wonderful experience with BBQ Bus to Milford Sound. Nigel was AWESOME and we had the opportunity to learn history and nature facts.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great - the guide was very friendly, he remembered my name for the whole day! haha The bbq lunch was also yummy and we had it while sitting near a lake.. very scenic. The Milford Sound is a must - but if you have already seen the Fjords in Norway then this won't come close to that.. Milford Sound, I would consider, is just 10 of what Fjords you will see in Norway. The lazy seals were the highlight of Milford Sound for me!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

gam4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did the overnight Milford Sound tour which was truly amazing. In the evening we had 5 inches of rain which really enhanced the scenes before us, the number of waterfalls that were flowing grew expodentially and taking the trip out on the boats tender was an added bonus. In the morning clear bright blue skies but the number of waterfalls was reduced by two thirds but still very spectacular. The on board nature guide showed us rare penguins, seals, birds etc and the Captain took the boat up close to see them in their natural habitats. We would highly recommend this tour in the South Island.

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

BBQ Bus is the way to go visit Milford Sound. Very personal trip, the driver giving historical accounts of the area on the drive up... we did not hit a great day weather-wise rainy and foggy but my family enjoyed the trip and mentioned that it was nice that we weren't on the larger tourist buses since we made a couple stops along the way and then were right back on the road to Milford Sound. Driver even picked my family up and droppped us off across the street from where we were staying. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a clear day and Milford Sound was amazing. Saw dolphins, penguins, and seals. The waterfalls were great. And, if the Captain says, You my get wet, - you should heed his warning. The bus ride over with Marty on the BBQ bus was very relaxing and well thought-out. Totally enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Jett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had the most amazing time at Milford Sound as the weather was perfect. Saw the dolphins swimming by the side of the boat, saw the seals and a penguin from afar. Enjoyed the breathtaking and amazing view plus a thousand memories to take home with me. What an experience!

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This cruise is highly recommended and I would be glad to do it again. The drive to Milford Sound is very enjoyable too. You will need a warm jacket, preferably waterproof, and your camera.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

William P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Small tour with more personal feel than the meg-buses. Very convenient hotel pick-up and dropped us off at another spot upon request. If you plan to tour Milford Sound while in Queenstown, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

betsydelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip! Milford Sound is amazing! I recommend staying and doing the overnight as it is a long drive if you are coming from Queenstown. I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much if I tried to return to Queenstown the same day. The staff were wonderful, the food was great and it was fun meeting people from other places. Beware of the sand flies, they are everywhere!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Barbara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. After spending nearly a month travelling around NZ my sister rates this as the best day of our trip and we had many good days. This was my second trip to Milford Sound in the last couple of years and I really enjoyed it again.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Parth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marty was absolutely phenomenal. He showed us some really cool sights and was a great ride along the way. He more than accommodated everyone's requests and we made frequent but not too many stops along the way. Others have already said this in previous reviews but taking the BBQ Bus helped provide a much more intimate experience for us. I had the opportunity to get to know the other amazing people in our group and some of us even hung out after we got back from the tour. Marty stopped at some really beautiful spots for photos and the boat ride was perfect - it felt full, but not overwhelming. We had ample space to walk around the boat to catch 360 views of Milford Sound. Also, unlike many/most other tour guides and companies, Marty didn't try to up sell us on anything. Try out the BBQ Bus - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Maryanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Milford Sounds is incredible!! We changed the tour with the help of the agent to the Milford Sound and Lunch tour, and Viator kindly gave us a refund for the difference.

Can't fault them.

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

Minji K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would recommend to anyone who wants a thorough trip to Milford sound! Sooo good

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Roman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you want to see Milford Sound on a tour from Queenstown, you MUST book this one! Awesome guides, awesome bbq and awesome commentary while driving!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

gillian g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Coach collected us from outside our hotel. Unfortunately didn't drop us off there on our return but fairly centrally in town. Stopped at interesting places en route and for coffee stops etc. Not an easy drive so very pleased we chose this trip. Driver was full of fascinating facts and information. Milford sound was magnificent! Kept to time and was a most enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

nancytawalo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I was so excited about visiting Milford Sound and not only did this trip meet all my expectations, it far exceeded them.

Before I begin

- Yes, it is a long day we were picked up at 7:30am and dropped off at 8:30pm and we were the last and first respectively
- Yes, the weather is unpredictable and you may get sun, rain, clouds, wind, etc.
- YES, IT IS ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!!

Our driver was Marty and he was absolutely fantastic. From the moment he picked us up to the moment he dropped us off, he was friendly, chatty, and provided a wealth of information. We did part of the same drive we'd done the day before, but it was far richer for all the history, facts, and local stories.

One of my favourite things about this tour is that it's as much about the journey as the destination. Some of the pit stops along the way were GORGEOUS and a great way to break up the long drive. Considering the ever-changing, winding, steep road and huge distance from Queenstown, we were so glad to have someone experienced at the wheel - it meant we could relax and take in the breathtaking scenery and surrounds.

We stopped at Cascade Creek for lunch and it was utterly serene the mountains, the babbling water, the flora surrounding us. Then there was lunch itself chicken marinated in mango and sweet chili sauce, lamb skewers, sausages, fresh bread, pasta salad, and fruit juice.

The small group means more frequent stops and a MUCH more intimate experience. I believe we had 14 people on the bus and not many more on the boat, making for a wonderful cruise experience. We were able to access every vantage point to see the fur seals, spot rainbows, and literally stand under a waterfall. I can't compare the experience of sailing through the fjords to anything else I've ever seen or done it's untouched and seems like another world.

Thank you so much, Marty, it was an unforgettable day and experience - and one we're still daydreaming about!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

George T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding in every way. Plenty of stops, personal attention, and the small group size meant our vehicle and boat could get close in to places the big groups couldn't. This tour took full advantage of the amazing Milford Sound, and the lunch was great too.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed our tour guide Marty. We also enjoyed being on a smaller bus with fewer people. The BBQ was an added bonus.The tour was very scenic and Milford Sound was beautiful even in the rain.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

G J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

BBQ bus made the experience much more personal than booking with the large coach tours. Stopped off on route through the National Park at various points to appreciate the magnificent views. BBQ lunch at a lovely site, where only cars and mini buses could reach. Boat tour on the Milford Sound was awe inspiring, the most stunning scenery. Great host who was packed with information and was great fun.
A long day but enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking was just for the Jucy Cruise of Milford Sounds. Was an excellent experience. Good commentary picked ot the important things to inform us, did not ramble on boat came in close to scenic features, eg waterfall, seals etc.
Boat was not too crowded, so made it easy to move aroundto get good photos.
Excellent value

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a long, all day tour, but well worth it. The day started out very cold and rainy, but it didn't detract from the beauty of the scenery. Shelly was a wonderful driver and tour guide, and our trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound was filled with great information and beautiful views. There were several stops for photos, as well as for food and souvenir shopping. Once we arrived at Milford Sound for the boat ride, the skies cleared and we had beautiful weather. It was absolutely breathtaking and definitely worth the time. On the bus ride back we watched a good movie based on a real guy from New Zealand. Since it was summer and got dark late, we were able to see more beautiful scenery on the return trip and watch the sun set. Don't miss this!

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

C T Saul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had bad weather but the upside was seeing all the temporary waterfalls in addition to the regular ones at Milford sound. Knowledgable and informative coach driver. We enjoyed the boat trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

edward m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an awesome tour. the bar b q bus was awesome. The driver/ guide ws great. we had a great bar b q lunch in the Fiordland Nat park, we had a small group so it was very intimate. We also wet on the Milford sound in a small group so were able to take in all the sights without being crowded out. it was well worth it to have the small group. and the bar b q was wonderfully delicious.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Milford Sound is really pretty, we also saw lots of dolphins and seals

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message