Best of Fiordland: Milford Sound & Te Anau Enjoy the dramatic landscape of magical Fiordland, take a relaxed cruise on the sound or a more active experience with treks and kayaks. Whether starting out from Milford Sound or the trekking hub of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The flight over the mountains to Milford Sound is arguable prettier and more exciting than the fjord itself. Air Milford did a good job of flying and organizing.

Doing what: Milford Sound Scenic Flight and Nature Cruise

Arlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I have done a Milford Sound Cruise three times. Twice with larger boats and then the last time with this smaller boat nature cruise. I would highly recommend going on this smaller boat as it can get much closer to the waterfalls and is much more informative and friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a tremendous excursion. I was mostly looking forward to the cruise, but the flight from Queenstown to Milford Sound was really even more spectacular. We flew with Hank, the owner of Air Milford, and he was very professional, courteous and an excellent tour guide as well as pilot. The cruise also lived up to expectations, even though it was cloudy and cold. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Scenic Flight and Nature Cruise

Kapila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a magic. The waterfalls were fantastic.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Such an amazing area, everywhere you look it's stunning

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Enrico C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well organized, the tour left us with enough spare time.
Every time has been respected precisely.
Guides and drivers were competent and gave us plenty of useful information

Doing what: 3-Day Milford Sound, Te Anau, Taieri Gorge and Dunedin Tour from Queenstown

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can't do justice to Milford Sound without taking a cruise out. The land views are great but they can't compare to the amazing views from the water. We had to adjust our trip, arrived a day earlier than we had originally scheduled but they made the necessary last minute adjustments to honor our reservation. We can't begin to thank them enough for this accommodation.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even with the pooring rain, this tour was great. The guide was super knowledgeable and his comments were extremely interesting. Most do if you are in this region.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Basil C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

There is no question that Milford Sound is a must visit, however with 7 metres of rainfall every year be prepared for rain.
We copped a wet and cold day and visibility was very limited and this was in January.
If I was doing this again I would possibly do a shorter trip.
We were very fortunate to come across a pod of dolphins on our tour.
No issue with the tour operator.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Vignes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nature at its best. Got to the pickup point a little earlier to enjoy the surrounding areas of the jetty, and then the cruise itself. What a journey it was! Gorgeous waterfalls, the beautiful ocean and we were lucky enough to encounter wild dolphins making their way out to the bay. Also saw seals basking in the sun. An extremely memorable trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

matthewjohndunn86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Simon was extremely knowledgeable and passionate. We learnt so much about the area that we wouldn't have learnt if we'd just driven to Milford ourselves. Overall it was a great experience and well worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a first rate tour. I enjoyed every minute and was realistically priced.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Carol D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The small group was only for a smaller bus ride. We joined the largest Jucy cruise pontoon boat in the harbor, and a paid a premium. Service was wonderful, cruise was beautiful, but understand you are not getting a small group tour on the boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a very long day Left my campground at 9:30 am, did not return until after 5:00
Tour included:
-shuttle from campground in Te Anau to manapouri
-boat across Manapouri Lake 45 minutes
-informative bus shuttle from West End to Doubtful Sound 45 minutes
-The Doubtful Sound Tour itself
-Return Bus, boat back to Manapouri, shuttle to Te Anau

We got a really nice day for our tour. Apparently Milford Sound the other destination out of Te Anau was expecting rain. It was mostly sunny, with some clouds moving in near the end of the tour. Gorgeous scenery throughout the entire cruise which I cannot compare to any other place I've ever been. Alaska come the closest, but even not quite. We made it al the way out to the Tasman sea for a little bit and even caught site of a couple of penguins, which I though would all be gone by this time of year. My only complaint is that I had too many pictures to wade through!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

James I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was fabulous. The people that did the tour we amazing. Everything was very organized. Great experience.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Edward C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip with a very good guide. Simon was knowledgeable, interesting and entertaining. Although Milford Sound was beautiful, I probably enjoyed the drive there and back even more. We stopped at scenic sights, took a couple of short strolls around the mirror ponds and to cascades in the bush and had a chance to play with Kea birds. Very glad we chose this company for the trip rather than doing it on our own.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

J A Furness F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic we really enjoyed this trip but did wonder why it is not more advertised

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best days of our NZ holiday. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Garrett B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Milford Sound is absolutely stunningly breathtaking!! I would give the location 100 stars! The tour itself was great, nice boat, decent food, and some good commentary. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars was because it was hard to hear the full commentary while outside on the ship perhaps speakers not loud enough and the food was just average. Other than that, it was a beautiful trip, very peaceful and the captain got right up next to the waterfalls allowing for some phenomenal pictures!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Janis D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Boat trip was good.
Quality of the buffet lunch was a bit better than average but overpriced and was served during the first half hour of the cruise 11.00 and 11.30 am. Would have been much better to have had lunch towards the end of the cruise, closer to the traditional midday meal time.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Natasha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The missing star is for the food, it was ok. Otherwise the trip was great, we had a cloudy, rainy day but it was still a sight to see. I haven't seen what we got to see on the cruise in pictures. waterfalls everywhere. the pilot was great too, telling us the little stories and where we were and what was coming up. the boat had some awesome spots up front and in the back to take advantage of. they had an upper deck too but i didn't venture up there b/c of the cold weather and rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Melissa D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It's difficult not to have a magnificent time when sailing through Milford Sound. Our driver was nice and friendly, letting us stop at plenty of beautiful places. We were a bit annoyed to find out that way more people were on both the bus and ship than is promised in the description--33 people on the bus and about 100 or so on the boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Morgan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Boat was a good size, not too large, and no huge tour groups, which was a big factor in my decision to use this operator. Great narration, and we got so close to the steep walls that we were able to drink from a waterfall! It was cloudy and slightly rainy this is the norm, not blue skies and rest assured that it is still absolutely, jaw-droppingly amazing. And the waterfalls are more spectacular during/after the rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message