Best of Fiordland: Milford Sound & Te Anau Enjoy the dramatic landscape of magical Fiordland, take a relaxed cruise on the sound or a more active experience with treks and kayaks. Whether starting out from Milford Sound or the trekking hub of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 350 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was fabulous. The people that did the tour we amazing. Everything was very organized. Great experience.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Edward C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip with a very good guide. Simon was knowledgeable, interesting and entertaining. Although Milford Sound was beautiful, I probably enjoyed the drive there and back even more. We stopped at scenic sights, took a couple of short strolls around the mirror ponds and to cascades in the bush and had a chance to play with Kea birds. Very glad we chose this company for the trip rather than doing it on our own.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

J A Furness F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fantastic we really enjoyed this trip but did wonder why it is not more advertised

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best days of our NZ holiday. I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Garrett B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Milford Sound is absolutely stunningly breathtaking!! I would give the location 100 stars! The tour itself was great, nice boat, decent food, and some good commentary. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars was because it was hard to hear the full commentary while outside on the ship perhaps speakers not loud enough and the food was just average. Other than that, it was a beautiful trip, very peaceful and the captain got right up next to the waterfalls allowing for some phenomenal pictures!

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Janis D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Boat trip was good.
Quality of the buffet lunch was a bit better than average but overpriced and was served during the first half hour of the cruise 11.00 and 11.30 am. Would have been much better to have had lunch towards the end of the cruise, closer to the traditional midday meal time.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Natasha S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The missing star is for the food, it was ok. Otherwise the trip was great, we had a cloudy, rainy day but it was still a sight to see. I haven't seen what we got to see on the cruise in pictures. waterfalls everywhere. the pilot was great too, telling us the little stories and where we were and what was coming up. the boat had some awesome spots up front and in the back to take advantage of. they had an upper deck too but i didn't venture up there b/c of the cold weather and rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau

Melissa D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It's difficult not to have a magnificent time when sailing through Milford Sound. Our driver was nice and friendly, letting us stop at plenty of beautiful places. We were a bit annoyed to find out that way more people were on both the bus and ship than is promised in the description--33 people on the bus and about 100 or so on the boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Joy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stunning scenery, very well organised, a highlight of our trip to NZ

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Morgan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Boat was a good size, not too large, and no huge tour groups, which was a big factor in my decision to use this operator. Great narration, and we got so close to the steep walls that we were able to drink from a waterfall! It was cloudy and slightly rainy this is the norm, not blue skies and rest assured that it is still absolutely, jaw-droppingly amazing. And the waterfalls are more spectacular during/after the rain.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

clark4rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Service was excellent and the boat trip on Doubtful Sound was spectacular. A perfect day.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

James N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Perfect trip. 33 passenger bus was just right for the trip.
Arrived early and did not have to put up with mobs that arrived around 12:00 to do the same tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Jennifer J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was wonderful, just a 30 minute flight each way rather than a 5 hour drive! The Milford Sound was spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Be wary of bad weather though as spoke to a few people who couldn and #39;t do flights for that reason, even if it looks like a lovely day in queenstown.

Doing what: Milford Sound Scenic Flight and Nature Cruise

Linda H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time on this cruise. It was a rainy day, as were most of our days in New Zealand but that actually added to the spectacular scenery. There were hundreds of waterfalls driving into Milford Sound as well as the hundreds in the fjord. The crew was knowledgeable and accommodating. The one disappointment might have been the low wildlife sightings.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Adrian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything was just perfect including weather ship and crew!!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

MRS K A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best tour on our holiday. It was well organised and every need catered for.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Roger F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely delightful cruise and luncheon. Professionally organised by very pleasant staff. Captain was proficient in explaining the attractions, and certainly made sure all tourists obtained maximum benefit from the experience. Would certainly do again, and will certainly recommend highly.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent day trip - would recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

pravesh.babhoota

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was good, enjoyed it. Although the operators were the not the 'biggest', the experience was good. However, I would have liked to get options from Viator, when making the booking.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip well organised and just the most beautiful and spectacular scenery imaginable.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Aileen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand loved every minute

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Dave T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day, well organised. Excellent commentary and top shelf scenery.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

malcolm j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

all i expected,great day out

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

I R M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Well organised,friendly staff, skipper got close to show the seals and the waterfalls, amazing, really good commentary and yummy vege soup

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message