Best of Fiordland: Milford Sound & Te Anau Enjoy the dramatic landscape of magical Fiordland, take a relaxed cruise on the sound or a more active experience with treks and kayaks. Whether starting out from Milford Sound or the trekking hub of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 376 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

heinz v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great experience, with both the boat trips and bus equally enjoyable. Lake Manapouri was impressive enough, but then seeing the Sounds was breath-taking. Friendly and informative staff.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Jaye S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Taking the Milford Sound Nature Cruise was terrific. My son and I drove from Greymouth down to Te Anau the night before and made the short drive to Milford Sound early the next morning. We arrived in time to have a great coffee and toasted sandwich and then went off for a 2 hours trip viewing the fjord and environs. Jack, the 'emcee' for the cruise that day, was great - he enlightened us travelers with many facts of the history and formation of Milford Sound and pointed out the various flora and fauna along the way. Even though it was raining it usually is, it was a most enjoyable experience and recommend it highly.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Ramsay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Worth the time it took to get there. We had a day that was bright and sunny and so the experience was less dramatic than usual, but wonderful nonetheless.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Just amazing! Don and #39;t waste anymore time and book this. Real Journeys were a fantastic operator and were so well organised that made the trip that little more special. Truly a memorable experience. Very highly recommend!

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Excellent even in the rain!!!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Philip D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great crew. Bus drivers monologue was very informative.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The flight over the mountains to Milford Sound is arguable prettier and more exciting than the fjord itself. Air Milford did a good job of flying and organizing.

Doing what: Milford Sound Scenic Flight and Nature Cruise

Arlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I have done a Milford Sound Cruise three times. Twice with larger boats and then the last time with this smaller boat nature cruise. I would highly recommend going on this smaller boat as it can get much closer to the waterfalls and is much more informative and friendly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a tremendous excursion. I was mostly looking forward to the cruise, but the flight from Queenstown to Milford Sound was really even more spectacular. We flew with Hank, the owner of Air Milford, and he was very professional, courteous and an excellent tour guide as well as pilot. The cruise also lived up to expectations, even though it was cloudy and cold. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Milford Sound Scenic Flight and Nature Cruise

Kapila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a magic. The waterfalls were fantastic.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Such an amazing area, everywhere you look it's stunning

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Enrico C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well organized, the tour left us with enough spare time.
Every time has been respected precisely.
Guides and drivers were competent and gave us plenty of useful information

Doing what: 3-Day Milford Sound, Te Anau, Taieri Gorge and Dunedin Tour from Queenstown

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can't do justice to Milford Sound without taking a cruise out. The land views are great but they can't compare to the amazing views from the water. We had to adjust our trip, arrived a day earlier than we had originally scheduled but they made the necessary last minute adjustments to honor our reservation. We can't begin to thank them enough for this accommodation.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even with the pooring rain, this tour was great. The guide was super knowledgeable and his comments were extremely interesting. Most do if you are in this region.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Spectacular experience for our family. Staff on the boat were sensational and displayed both care and humour over the coarse of the trip. Very professional!

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Andrew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip. Great bus driver, very knowledgeable and informative about all sites to and from Milford Sound.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Kathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really nice and beautiful.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Martyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do trip! The staff at Real Journeys are brilliant and add to the trip experience. You get two boat trips and an interesting drive through a mountain pass on a coach! The 3 to 4 hour sailing out to the Tasman Sea is a voyage back in time! The scenery has not changed for millions of years and is mainly untouched by man. You will not see views like it anywhere else? It is an 8 to 9 hour trip so pack a picnic.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Basil C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

There is no question that Milford Sound is a must visit, however with 7 metres of rainfall every year be prepared for rain.
We copped a wet and cold day and visibility was very limited and this was in January.
If I was doing this again I would possibly do a shorter trip.
We were very fortunate to come across a pod of dolphins on our tour.
No issue with the tour operator.

Doing what: Milford Sound Nature Cruise

Vignes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nature at its best. Got to the pickup point a little earlier to enjoy the surrounding areas of the jetty, and then the cruise itself. What a journey it was! Gorgeous waterfalls, the beautiful ocean and we were lucky enough to encounter wild dolphins making their way out to the bay. Also saw seals basking in the sun. An extremely memorable trip.

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

matthewjohndunn86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Simon was extremely knowledgeable and passionate. We learnt so much about the area that we wouldn't have learnt if we'd just driven to Milford ourselves. Overall it was a great experience and well worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Joy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a first rate tour. I enjoyed every minute and was realistically priced.

Doing what: Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau

Carol D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The small group was only for a smaller bus ride. We joined the largest Jucy cruise pontoon boat in the harbor, and a paid a premium. Service was wonderful, cruise was beautiful, but understand you are not getting a small group tour on the boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Milford Sound Day Trip and Cruise from Te Anau

Kez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling with Southern Discoveries was great. There was an unexpected hot buffet breakfast which we were not expecting. The cruise was beautiful, some great scenery and our guide was funny and gave great commentary. There was plenty of room on the boat to find your own space to take some great photos along the way. I would highly recommend the early cruise as most of the tourist haven't arrived at Milford Sound yet, so you almost get a private tour :-

Doing what: Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message