Flanders ATTRACTIONS See all

St Bavo Cathedral (Sint-Baafskathedraal)

Currently coated with scaffolding and undergoing long-term restoration, the plain brick-and-stone exterior of St Bavo’s belies the wealth of religious treasures that lie within. Looming over the pedestrianized center of Ghent, the cathedral and its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1836 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

well worth your money and flexible in terms of sticking with the group to cover main city attractions with historic background covered by knowledgeable guide, or to separate on your own to explore personal interests and meet at meeting point prior to departure from each city. Guide was informative and detailed so most of us stuck with our guide, as we also had an hour or so free time at each city to spend freely - which i spent on entrance to certain museums at additional fee.

As a solo traveller to Brussels, i was happy to meet another girl visiting Brussels for the weekend - we stuck together for the most part - if you don't have a good sense of direction, i'd recommend making sure you know your way back to central meeting point before separating for free time

Note - i did the tour on a sunday and most of the shops were closed, although this did not affect my experience.

hotel pick up was seamless, although i'd recommend calling 1-2 days beforehand to confirm pickup time/locations. I called the day before because was never contacted and was nervous they didn't have my hotel information properly

the coach bus was comfortable but totally full - 3 languages spoken by guide although all but 2 parties/3 people spoke French/Spanish the tour guide had to repeat explanations in 2 other languages, and each stop would get lengthy for this reason which led to some waiting... it was 3 people out of like 50 that didn't speak english - but kudos to the guide as he was able to do this well
the tour is a full day that covers two locations you don't want to miss if you are visiting brussels for a few days.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

POORNA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was amazing ! Ghent and Bruges are 2 cities in Belgium that are not to be missed. The city walking tour and the explanation of the guide was good.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent multi lingual guide, and comfortable coach. Recommend the trip if in Brussels for a few days as it gets you out into the country, where you can see medieval towns, and chocolate shops! Just take an umbrella though.....

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

mkhth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You get to see the best of Belgium in just 2 days. We enjoyed every single minute. The tour guide was amazing. A no miss tour.

Doing what: Brussels Super Saver: Brussels Sightseeing Tour, Antwerp Half-Day Trip, Day Trip to Ghent and Bruges

afxentg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A very nice day trip combining visit to the two amazing places Ghent and Bruges.
The bus was on time at the hotel ,the trip was OK and the guidance was very good.
Also the bus driver was kind and upon return he stopped near our hotel .
One thing I would recommend -if possible- is having the optional boat trip in Ghent instead of Bruges.
Absolutely recommended for Brussels visitors who have one day to spare.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

pgoyseverino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Two wonderful cities - I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

pgoyseverino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Two wonderful cities not to be missed! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Christopher L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I liked Bruges better than Brussels (where we started tour from and stayed) actually. Good visit, with some time to yourself included.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Both cities are a must visit and they are beautiful. We had a tour guide who was very knowledgeable. Enjoyable walking tour.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Renu Sharma Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a MUST do if your visiting Brussels. Bruge as a town takes you to the golden ages. 12th - 15th century. very gothic medieval structures. Stop by to take in this place as its so beautiful. Cobbled streets, churches, small houses, everything looks like a painting. Our tour guide Daniel was very knowledgeable and gave us enough time to wander and look around by ourselves. If I would do it again, I would spend a day or 2 in Bruge as there is so much more to admire and appreciate in this small little old city.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely day out - weather wasn't great but it was a fantastic experience regardless. Guide was very informative and attentive. It's always cheaper to go by yourself on the train but I feel like there was a lot of added value with the walking tours through Ghent and Bruges.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both towns were beautiful, but Bruges was exceptional. Would be great to stay there a day or two to really explore and absorb more of the cultural offerings, as well as do some shopping.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Wesley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

great old city

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Lori B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent! This tour was great. All day, be prepared to walk but so much fun. Beautiful things to see and lots of great historical information from our guide Stefan LOVE Bruges!!!!!! we will be going back because of this tour.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Na L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Anna U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tours of these two cities was wonderful. It was a great overview and made my follow up trips to see things not included in the tours easy to do on my own.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Sara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was fabulous and knowledgeable. It was a packed day, but never rushed. A great experience!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

AlejandraMJ United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome tour! I strongly recommend this activity from Brussels.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Natan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The most beautiful tour in Belgium, the tourist guides were very kind.

Doing what: Brussels Super Saver: Brussels Sightseeing Tour, Antwerp Half-Day Trip, Day Trip to Ghent and Bruges

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day, well organised

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Zuri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Goes super fast but you see so much. Coming back and taking this tour again with my fam

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Diana Lie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing tour. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Prue C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stephan was our guide and what a wonderful day we had. He was so knowledgeable and kind. The tour was everything we hoped for and more. Take the boat tour too, it and #39;s worth the 8euro. Great day out!!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

EUGENIA I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

EXCELLENT TRIP!!!!! GOOD VALUE OF MONEY COMPARED TO THE QUALITY OF THE TOUR AND THE KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE GAINED, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Can and #39;t praise our guide enough. Johan had an amazing ability to switch languages and give the history of each place with passion. The walking tours in both places are well worth doing especially with such a knowledgeable guide. Strongly recommend this tour. Value for money.
Patrick

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message