Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

micky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was good ,tour was very informative but very tiring

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting and informative day. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. It is a long day but time passes by quickly and each site has its own intriguing story. A must visit for all who are staying in Brussels.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Rodney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Well worth the cost of admission!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip for my family and must admit that I was worried that my wife and two boys might struggle with it being such a long day. I had no need to worry, our guide Johan was excellent and extremely knowledgable and tailored the tour to include cemeteries and monuments for all the different nationalities on the coach. A very memorable and moving day and finished off with the last post at the Menin Gate. My boys haven't stopped talking about the tour since we came back. Fantastic!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dietrich was a truly excellent guide full of relevant information without giving bias in any way. We were always armed with the appropriate facts and details prior to arriving at our stops. We saw cemeteries for both the Germans and the Allies. Canadians, British, Australians and New Zealanders were all commemorated in a variety of ways-be it monuments, cemeteries or memorials. We saw original bunkers and trenches, as well as a wonderful modern museum at Ypres.
Dietrich explained about battles-how and why they were fought and whether they were successful or catastrophic in outcome. He included the terrain and other relevant information about the land in local areas. He never sounded bored or monotone, despite probably doing the same tour many times by now. He was passionate about the history and linked everything up for us in a logical way.
Lunch was included and plenty of time to organise our own dinner before the Last Post ceremony at Menin Gate. A long, but very informative and emotional day for all who embarked on this pilgrimage.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Natalie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide superb. Thank you for a memorable day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour of the World War One battlefields.
We were collected from the Crown Plaza Hotel in Bruges and taken to meet our tour bus coming from Brussels.
Our tour guide was Johann and he was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the various battlefields that we visited.We were so lucky to have him as our guide and I would recommend him to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Lyndall F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very good tour Highly recommend for all war buffs from Australia and Canada. Had an excellent young guide who made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So much history and interesting sights packed into one day. Very educational and emotional but still a lot of fun! Worth wile day!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

sport_gal_000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was phenomenal, our driver was friendly and knowledgeable and flexible. He asked us what our expectations were for the day, listened to us, and then made it a reality - excellent tourism service. The historic sites were in credibly powerful to see. The day was well laid out and each stop was budgeted well for time. Our guide really stood out, he catered to make this experience memorable for us. I can't thank you enough, simply fabulous.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

ellisfamily76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic history. Got to visit Great Uncles grave with the help from the guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

leslie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour - is important to learn about the history of WW1, but is also an enjoyable day out in the beautiful Belgium countryside - just do it!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Tom J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing tour thanks to Silvan who was very friendly and knowledgeable. I particularly liked how he adapted the tour to suit the interests of the participants. Thank you Silvan, Tom

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day with very knowledgeable guide. Would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Miriam O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour couldn and #39;t have been better. pick up was on time. Our guide was extremely helpful and informative. It was a long day but the tour was well worth doing although extremely sad.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Allen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour and one everyone must do.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Jacquelyn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There was so much to see and do! We definitely could have spent more time at some of the sites; however, it is understandable that we couldn and #39;t spend more time or else we wouldn and #39;t have seen all the sites we did see. The guide was really good and knowledgable

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant tour very eye opening to us who didn't really understand the war. Our guide was very knowledgeable but did drag on a bit sometimes making it a bit hard to follow. Had no idea there were so many cemeteries around the area, very emotional ending at the Menin Gate for the Last Post service, just brilliant.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

barvic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fantastic day, excellent guide.
I would recommend this tour to all Australians.
The day was topped off by the Last Post Ceremony in Ypres - fabulous and very moving.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Stacy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an informative tour. The guide was great and knew the subject. The bus was comfortable. Lunch was tasty and it was nice to visit with other folks on the tour. It was a long tour, but we really got a great overview of WWI in Flanders. We would recommend it!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Superb experience with knowledgeable guide, Sylvain. Personalized to our request - Canadian and Scots war sites and cemeteries. Incredibly skilled driver in Paris traffic. Clearly bilingual guide, helpful, friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful trip with Dave who was so knowledgeable and paid attention to the 3 different nationalities on the coach
The empathy shown to people who had relatives buried on the battlefields was very special
The choice of hotel was great since we were still in the middle of the battlefield
The weather was shocking but it made us realise something of what the troops went through

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and turned out to be one of the highlights of our 2 weeks in Belgium. One highlight of the tour was actually being able to go into the trenches. We were surprised that they are still there. The history and the cemeteries were very moving. The most moving experience of all was that Last Post at Ypres. This was a major reason that we went on this tour, and it was extremely powerful. The horrors of World War I seem to be eclipsed by the horrors of World War II. As an American I felt bad that it took us so long to become involved in this war. Our tour guide was also excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well designed, well paced tour, with a very informative helpful guide and excellent driver. Well chosen place for lunch, just opposite the Flanders Field Museum. Highly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message