With three of the most significant battles of WWI fought around the Ypres salient, the battlefields of West Flanders are among Europe’s most important WWI sites. Along with the devastating losses of the 1917 Ypres offensive, it’s John McCrae’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was excellent! The tour guide, Stefan, was fabulous and really did illuminate our trip.
The itinerary is very well thought out as you visit a German, a Belgian, several Commonwealth cemeteries and you just gain a sense of the sheer loss, the devastation and the tragedy on each side.
Attending the Last Post ceremony at Ypres, on a freezing November night, was probably the highlight a very moving way to end our tour and remember those who died in Flanders Fields.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Tong C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A compact tour, the guide is knowledgeable. The last post ceremony on the 11th of November is great.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Kristen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! Highly Recommend it! Tour Guide was knowledgeable about everything :

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was well informed and also skilled at putting World War I battles and situations in perspective. For me the highlight of the day was being able to attend the very moving Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

speefam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was a bucket list wish. It was a moving emotional tour. Our guide was full of information and very patient with all our questions.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Jared K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic experience. Wonderful guide who shared information about not only WWI and Flanders but about Belgium as a whole. Would highly recommend this trip to others!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Francisco E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very thorough tour, highlighting the major memorials and cemeteries of Flanders. Commentary was informative but not overwhelming. The final visit to experience the Menin Gate Buglers Ceremony was very moving. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very organised trip . The guide was informed and the trip could not be better organised

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

micky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was good ,tour was very informative but very tiring

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting and informative day. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. It is a long day but time passes by quickly and each site has its own intriguing story. A must visit for all who are staying in Brussels.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Rodney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Well worth the cost of admission!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip for my family and must admit that I was worried that my wife and two boys might struggle with it being such a long day. I had no need to worry, our guide Johan was excellent and extremely knowledgable and tailored the tour to include cemeteries and monuments for all the different nationalities on the coach. A very memorable and moving day and finished off with the last post at the Menin Gate. My boys haven't stopped talking about the tour since we came back. Fantastic!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dietrich was a truly excellent guide full of relevant information without giving bias in any way. We were always armed with the appropriate facts and details prior to arriving at our stops. We saw cemeteries for both the Germans and the Allies. Canadians, British, Australians and New Zealanders were all commemorated in a variety of ways-be it monuments, cemeteries or memorials. We saw original bunkers and trenches, as well as a wonderful modern museum at Ypres.
Dietrich explained about battles-how and why they were fought and whether they were successful or catastrophic in outcome. He included the terrain and other relevant information about the land in local areas. He never sounded bored or monotone, despite probably doing the same tour many times by now. He was passionate about the history and linked everything up for us in a logical way.
Lunch was included and plenty of time to organise our own dinner before the Last Post ceremony at Menin Gate. A long, but very informative and emotional day for all who embarked on this pilgrimage.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Natalie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide superb. Thank you for a memorable day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour of the World War One battlefields.
We were collected from the Crown Plaza Hotel in Bruges and taken to meet our tour bus coming from Brussels.
Our tour guide was Johann and he was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the various battlefields that we visited.We were so lucky to have him as our guide and I would recommend him to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So much history and interesting sights packed into one day. Very educational and emotional but still a lot of fun! Worth wile day!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

ellisfamily76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic history. Got to visit Great Uncles grave with the help from the guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

leslie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour - is important to learn about the history of WW1, but is also an enjoyable day out in the beautiful Belgium countryside - just do it!!!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day with very knowledgeable guide. Would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Miriam O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour couldn and #39;t have been better. pick up was on time. Our guide was extremely helpful and informative. It was a long day but the tour was well worth doing although extremely sad.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Allen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour and one everyone must do.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Jacquelyn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There was so much to see and do! We definitely could have spent more time at some of the sites; however, it is understandable that we couldn and #39;t spend more time or else we wouldn and #39;t have seen all the sites we did see. The guide was really good and knowledgable

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message