Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Accademia Gallery

Florence's Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) sits second on most itineraries, right after the fabulous Uffizi. The collection at the Accademia can't compare to the Uffizi in terms of size or variety, but it has one must-see ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 978 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ray P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A really good introduction to Florence. Highlight was seeing the statue of David at Accademia and learning all about the building of Duomo.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Keith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pretty funny too. Must see the Duomo and Accademia Gallery. The Guide was really great in the Accademia I thought. After the tour, do the Dome of Duomo separate pass sold nearby - absolutely worth the 465 steps. When we entered there weren't any lines and quite a few tour groups, so you're not really alone. However, when we left Accademia - there was a huge line. That's when I knew the early access was certainly worth it.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Angela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I did the half day tour. We visited Michaelangelo's Piazza and Accademia Galleria. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and went over other various facts about Florence as we drove through the city to get up to the Piazza. Definitely a must do while in Florence since you get to cut the crazy line at the galleries!

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Travis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great walking tour of Florence. We started the morning off going to the Accademia Gallery where we saw Michelangelo's David as well as several other pieces done by the master. From the Accademia we visited Florence's Duomo and got a tour of the inside. After seeing the Duomo, we walked to Piazza del Mercato Centrale to rub the snout of 'Il Porcellino', Florence's Trevi Fountain. From here, we visited Piazza della Repubblica before ending at the Arno River next to the Uffizi Gallery. After the morning portion of the tour, we had about an hour and a half of free time. This is a good time to grab a bite to eat. My wife and I got pizzas at Osteria Vecchio Vicolo to refuel for the afternoon portion of the tour. In the afternoon portion of the tour, we were given a guided tour of the Uffizi Gallery. Once the tour was complete, we were given time to leisurely walk through the Uffizi Gallery or leave and enjoy another part of Florence. Overall, this was a great tour. Bring your walking shoes as you'll need them.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Surfer United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were overwhelmed with all of the things to see in the Accademia Gallery and of course there was David !!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Florence Accademia Gallery and Michelangelo's David Ticket

ewilkinson.baillie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great opportunity to see both the Accademia and Uffizi. Also great lunch.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Jane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour with a very informative guide who was also extremely funny which makes the tour even better. Both the Accademia and Duomo well excellent to visit and also the Palaces. Learnt alot on this walking tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was fantastic and was brimming with so much knowledge about Florence since she was a local. With so much overwhelming things to see in just a few hours, it was interesting to understand the specific history of a few of the pieces of art that we would have never known on our own. With the headsets on you could always wander and listen as she told us wonderful history without fear of not being able to hear the guide or be right next to her. This is the way to go as I saw some other tours that did not have the headsets. Besides the MUST SEE Uffizi and Accademia Galleries which were unbelievably gorgeous, it was wonderful just walking the streets and hearing wonderful history that we would have never known on our own. Once we had the walking tour it gave us an overview of where we wanted to explore later on our own since this was our first time in Florence and Italy. I highly recommend all of the Viator tours since we had six while in Italy and all of the guides were extremely knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

tracypars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour allowed us the ability to get into 3 major attractions with minimal waiting, plus the benefit of a guide who is directing us to what is important about the exhibits and important features. Our tour started at the Accademia to see the original David statue, and then onto the Duomo - having a guide brought the information to life and gave us so much more information than just reading the descriptions. After a break for lunch, we reassembled to tour through the Uffizi Galleries. We had two different guides, both were fantastic, highly enthusiastic, passionate, and very knowledgeable - most guides are art historians/architects/artists and must complete a training course in addition to their own studies so their breadth of knowledge is rather great. You will need to wait in line a little since the security does get a little bogged down. The guides' english is perfect and not at all hard to understand, and the individual headsets make hearing the lectures easy, and one does not even need to be that close to hear everything. I will also commend the tour group agency - we had gotten a little lost finding the meeting place our own stupidity, they called us to make sure we were coming, waited and were very helpful in trying to make this a good experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

david.shayne Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour is well organised and commences on time and content is consistent with the tour description and detail in the booking information. The morning tour guide Patrizia was fantastic, her passion and enthusiasm for the city and the art in the Accademia Gallery was matched by her knowledge and understanding of the city and the art. The afternoon tour of the Uffizi Gallery was well conducted and the guide Antonio gave a terrific tour of the gallery, explaining in detail the art works and the various artists responsible for the works.
Crooked this tour to anyone wanting to see great art, the cathedral and gain a very good understanding of the city.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

viatorGoldfinger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tiziano was our wonderful warm guide at the Accademia. Marco was our terrific fun guide at the Uffizi. Both were incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic. They knew their art and history and their city, Florence, and shared it all with us non-stop. It was our first tour we had ever taken - mostly we had read up on the sites that we were going to visit and found our way around. But it was so relaxing to be taken and educated and just be led by a leader. It was a much richer experience. So this will not be our last tour with Viator and we highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

esang1211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I loved this tour. It was great to be able to skip the line for the Duomo. The line at the Accademia was still a little long but it was much shorter than had we done this on our one. Our guide Tony was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job of sharing the information without being boring. It was also great to walk Florence and get comfortable with the city and where all the major sites were. Tony also gave us some good restaurant and site recommendations for the rest of our visit. This is a great way to see Florence!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

justxthis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great and professional guide! We were the very first to enter the Accademia!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to the Accademia Gallery in Florence with Breakfast

Lindsey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The line to get into the Accademia was insane. We are so happy that we booked online in advance with Viator. It made getting in and seeing the gallery very easy and quick! Without this pass, we would've spent the better part of the day in line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Karen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend purchasing a tour for these two venues. Even with a tour guide, we had to wait over one hour to enter the Accademia to see Michelangelo's David. The wait was much longer for those with skip the line and longer still for those without a pass. The wait was worth it. The David is a must see while in Florence. We had time to have a leisurely lunch on our way to the Uffizi Gallery. The next tour of the Uffizi was my favorite because of our amazing tour guide. He described each painting with such passion, I felt I was able to understand what the artist was trying to convey. I was able to appreciate the paintings due to our guide's interpretations. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Angela was a passionate, very funny tour guide who was well versed in her art, papal, and political history of Italy and specifically Florence. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who's looking to get an in depth detailed tour of the Duomo and the Accademia. As a tip, make sure to book the 9am tour as the later tour may not get admittance into the Duomo. Thanks again Angela!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

mimicogal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

After our initial disappointment that we missed the bike tour our bus from the port of Livorno was stuck in traffic - word to the wise ..allow more than two hours transit time from port excursions we were relieved that Florencetown accomodated us by rushing us to a walking tour in progress. Valentina, our guide was delightful. She was friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and say to understand. She invited questions and happily did her best to answer any questions we had. We visited many important sites including, Piazzas Santo Spirito, Republica, Vecchio, a view of and travel across Ponte Vecchio. I gained incredible understanding of the Medici family and political history of Florence. We were treated to a delicious gelato at a lovely little gelateria near Palazzo Pitti. In the afternoon we joined Valentina again for a tour of the Accademia - Florencetown arranged our tickets and we were able to get in very quickly. Valentina gave us lots of descriptive background on the paintings and sculptures that we saw. She guided us around the David sculpture with fine detail and description. Finally we ended our tour in the gothic section of the gallery where we were guided through a comparison of the changes in gothic and Renaissance pieces. Overall - Bravo! We had an excellent experience.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Thank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our morning guide , Valentina,was so amazing. She is very knowlwdgeable and has sense of humours. She told us all the history and side stories while we were queuing outside the Accademia.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a highlight of my trip to Italy! The Accademia is a fabulous gallery with the sublime David and other beautiful pieces also.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed our excursion of Florence from seeing the David at L'accademia to the beautiful works of art at the Uffizi. Our guide Costanza was amazing and gave us the best experience of enjoying Florence!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Janet R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My dreams come true. Seeing works by Michaelangelo was amazing. Used Rick Steve's free app download to walk me through the Accademia. Highlight of Florence for me.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour-guide. She had worked at the Accademia and knew it intimately. Great energy. Walk around Florence was great too. Easy to locate and good time to walk starting at 4:30

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I attended the morning walking tour and skip the line Accademia tour with Antonella yesterday. She really showed us the best of the hidden gems of the old city. Her knowledge, enthusiasm and humour ensured all 6 participants had a wonderful few hours. As we watched the large tour groups wander aimlessly through the narrow streets looking bored, I could only imagine the text-book style information delivery they must be getting. Antonella on the other hand, with her 6 participants could stand us on a corner and point out every detail of the 12th, 13th and 14th century buildings and others of course before we went for a closer inspection. One of the best tours weve done so far this trip. Thank you Antonella.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

hrachyan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The first part of the tour - the Accademia - was amazing! Our guide - Federica - was great, knowledgeable, and very efficient! The second part - Uffizi gallery - wasn and #39;t as enjoyable, because the place was extremely overcrowded (it was literally hard to breath:(and our second guide - not so engaging.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

alicema

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organized and super-informative. Nothing was more spectacular than being among the first to be able to enter the nearly-empty Accademia and see the most magnificent David at the end of the gallery--in his own splendid alcove. Lucia our art historian guide was excited, informative, not-rehearsed and passionate about the information she was sharing with us. The breakfast at a cafe 2 blocks away was wonderful, and included coffee cappuccino, espresso, or Americano, a glass of water, a croissant and a chocolate.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to the Accademia Gallery in Florence with Breakfast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message