Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Accademia Gallery

Florence's Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell'Accademia) sits second on most itineraries, right after the fabulous Uffizi. The collection at the Accademia can't compare to the Uffizi in terms of size or variety, but it has one must-see ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 944 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janet R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My dreams come true. Seeing works by Michaelangelo was amazing. Used Rick Steve's free app download to walk me through the Accademia. Highlight of Florence for me.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour-guide. She had worked at the Accademia and knew it intimately. Great energy. Walk around Florence was great too. Easy to locate and good time to walk starting at 4:30

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I attended the morning walking tour and skip the line Accademia tour with Antonella yesterday. She really showed us the best of the hidden gems of the old city. Her knowledge, enthusiasm and humour ensured all 6 participants had a wonderful few hours. As we watched the large tour groups wander aimlessly through the narrow streets looking bored, I could only imagine the text-book style information delivery they must be getting. Antonella on the other hand, with her 6 participants could stand us on a corner and point out every detail of the 12th, 13th and 14th century buildings and others of course before we went for a closer inspection. One of the best tours weve done so far this trip. Thank you Antonella.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

hrachyan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The first part of the tour - the Accademia - was amazing! Our guide - Federica - was great, knowledgeable, and very efficient! The second part - Uffizi gallery - wasn and #39;t as enjoyable, because the place was extremely overcrowded (it was literally hard to breath:(and our second guide - not so engaging.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

alicema

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organized and super-informative. Nothing was more spectacular than being among the first to be able to enter the nearly-empty Accademia and see the most magnificent David at the end of the gallery--in his own splendid alcove. Lucia our art historian guide was excited, informative, not-rehearsed and passionate about the information she was sharing with us. The breakfast at a cafe 2 blocks away was wonderful, and included coffee cappuccino, espresso, or Americano, a glass of water, a croissant and a chocolate.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to the Accademia Gallery in Florence with Breakfast

Gabriel P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When we booked this tour we asked for the skip the line tickets without the inside tour at 10:30 a.m. When Viator send us the voucher it was stated to look for the tour guides from this particular agency wearing bright yellow jackets by the front main door to the Accademia. When we arrive at the Accademia in Florence the street was fully packed it looked like a sea of people. We made our way to the front door and sure enough there were two tour guides warring the yellow jackets which you could spot a mile away. I gave our three vouchers to one of them she handed them to the other guide that had a list they checked my name and gave me the three tickets. There were two lines to go in he told me to get in the left side line which was the one with people that had tickets, the other line was standing still since they had to purchase and wait to go inside. after 10-15 minutes we were inside admiring all the beauty inside the Accademia.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Christine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We found this to be a first class experience. The representative was waiting at the Accademia Gallery and was easy to find. Our tickets were issued straight away and we didn't have to wait at all to get in to see 'David'. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both Accademia and Uffizi Gallery were very well organized and fascinating. The guides were very
knowledgeable and made the tour quite interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

rhfpa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Patricia did a very nice job of giving us a history of Florence and the Renaissance. We also enjoyed all of the background she gave us into the art and sculptures we saw in the Accademia Gallery. She also did a nice job of keeping the group moving.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent and managed to hit all of the highlights in limited time. The Uffizi is the better part of the day. The Duomo is less engaging. The Accademia is excellent.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Grant G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Statue of David and the rest of the Accademia are brilliant and this is a must see if in Florence. Had to queue for about 30 minutes, which was much better than the enormous queue for those who didn't have skip the line tickets. Well worth the purchase.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Having tickets arranged in advance is the way to go! We easily found our contact person who gave us our tickets and still had to wait in line about 30 minutes to enter the security check area but that beats the wait time for those in the super long line to purchase tickets. Seeing the Accademia is a must when in Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Lynne A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed the 3.5 hour walkabout Florence tour which allowed us to tour many of the city landmarks and receive a history lesson along the way. Included was a skip the line ticket for the Accademia Galleria. Downtown Florence was crowded but our very capable and knowledgeable guide kept the group together and we all had audio sets with ear buds to make hearing our guide easier. It is definitely worth paying for the Skip the Line tickets and for a guided tour unless you already are an expert in the history and art of Florence. Seeing the David with my own eyes was absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Diane S T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Seeing the David is a must in Florence. Seeing the real thing is very special, even though there are several copies around the city. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took us down some interesting out-of-the way streets in Florence before our Skip the Line view of David at the Accademia. Once inside as the museum limits the number of people inside at any one time we felt at ease and not at all rushed, pushed, etc. Everyone seemed reverent in the presence of this great work of art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Jesse B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wow, the area outside the Accademia is bananas! The tour guide found us and got us our tickets straight away. Once you get through the scrum outside and get in, the gallery is spectacular and worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Matt was the most amazing tour guide! He was fun and passionate about what we saw, especially at the Accademia. He pointed out things in the paintings that gave me a new perspective and knowledge that I never learned in art history! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour was very fun and entretaining. The guide was incredible and she was very helpful, we had to call my grandfather because he was only going to meet us at the Accademia and she let us use her phone and helped us get in touch with him. The Gelato place was delicious and skiping the line at the Accademia was very helpful.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the ultimate way to explore the paintings and sculptures of Florence! Not only to skip the very long lines to enter the museums saved a lot of time, but also to have such knowledgeable and entertaining guides such as Daniella and Antonio. Antonio managed so well to entertain and guide us through the huge collections of paintings and sculptures in the Uffizi gallery and making the crowded museum so much more rewarding. Daniella who guided us through Accademia Gallery was very informative and made the museum and the original statue of Michelangelo’s David much more appreciated. This double tour is really worthwhile to save both your time and money and still get a great historical view of the artworks of historical Florence

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

S N B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The to our was easy to book, meet up, get in and the Accademia and Uffizi were excellent. The guides were very knowledgable, we kissed the queue and though the tours were speedy, we covered a lot of ground with your own time to look around afterwards
. Good decision and worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia and Uffizi Gallery Tour

Sherin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guides were amazing. The day tour was fascinating and my 11 year old daughter was as taken in by it all as we were. If you only do one tour, this is a must and you get to see and experience the best of Florence in one day. We would highly recommend this tour.
I am sure the first guide was from a company called CityTours, she was brilliant and spoke very good English. We listened through headphones which was great. We didn't need to do any prereading as she told us all about the history of Florence which is fascinating and had us gripped. We then went into Accademia where we were introduced to David. A walk over Ponte Vechio - unbelievable, through the square housing many original and famous statues and over to Duomo cathedral which is breathtaking and after a lunch break, over to the amazing Uffizi where we were taking to the rooms housing the big names in art the Bottocheli's, Michaelangelo's, Raphael's and so on. The tour guides told us everything we needed to know about each piece, building or statue we were looking at so it saved us a great deal of time by not having to research in advance.
A day we will never forget and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Brent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see Florence in one day! Saved hours both finding our way and not standing in line. Would highly recommend this combo tour. Suggest Accademia in am, Uffizi in pm.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

jtorrens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It's worth the money. You simply do a very small line right by the entrance of the Accademia and actually skip the extremely long line. Fully recommended for those on a tight schedule and/or want to make the most of your day at Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Harvey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Accademia was magnificent! There were a few minutes of confusion in arranging for entrance to the museum, but nothing in comparison to what we would have faced without making these arrangements in advance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message