Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Corey-Lyla M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Staff were early and helpful, with FM transmitter so you could hear everything. I was able to upgrade to the Duomo cupola climb on the spot. I would not do Florence without Skip the Line. Also learned a lot I wouldn't have been able to get from the three travel ebooks I was reading!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Bianca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Angela was a wonderful, engaging and informative guide who brought the history of Florence to life as we walked along the streets and through the gallery and duomo. Excellent.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Ai Vee N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was worth it to see David and the tour guide gave just enough information and not too much. Didn't get to climb the Duomo which was a bit of a let-down but overall the pace of the walk was very easy and manageable

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Silvio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour started on time. Guide very knowledgeable. No major problems during tour. Tour ended on time. My wife could not enter in Duomo because of her dressing. We should be notified well in advance, actually during the booking. Everything else was perfect. Thanks

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Marsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Such an amazing walking tour of the Duomo and galleries in Florence. Our two guides , Latizia and Titsiana, were each so personable and very knowledgeable. They really seemed to love conducting the tours..! Can't recommend Viator enough. All the tours we had in Italy were booked through them and each was so organized, professional and had amazing guides...A company !

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent and managed to hit all of the highlights in limited time. The Uffizi is the better part of the day. The Duomo is less engaging. The Accademia is excellent.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

skrishnan07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Paul was very informative, engaging and funny. His comments on Michelangelo's David were fascinating and helped us see the artwork in a completely different perspective. As we walked from the Academia Galleria to the Duomo, he gave us a very interesting overview of the Medici and life in Florence at the time of the renaissance. The Uffizi Gallery tour was also very memorable. The paintings of Botticelli, Raphael and Leonardo were were memorable. You also get a very good view of the Vecchio bridge from the Uffizi gallery. The skip the line feature is totally worth it particularly if you are visiting in peak season in hot summer.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Marietta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great and the Duomo is one of my favorites!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Thomas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice tour to get a base of what Florence has to offer. You will need to climb the Duomo and bell tower on your own.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

ljp529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Duomo is so beautiful, I highly recommend this tour! Climbing the Dome is well worth it. It is tiring, but the view from the top is spectacular. The Baptistry was also very interesting. We also stopped for gelato, which was apparently included in the tour. :).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Sherin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guides were amazing. The day tour was fascinating and my 11 year old daughter was as taken in by it all as we were. If you only do one tour, this is a must and you get to see and experience the best of Florence in one day. We would highly recommend this tour.
I am sure the first guide was from a company called CityTours, she was brilliant and spoke very good English. We listened through headphones which was great. We didn't need to do any prereading as she told us all about the history of Florence which is fascinating and had us gripped. We then went into Accademia where we were introduced to David. A walk over Ponte Vechio - unbelievable, through the square housing many original and famous statues and over to Duomo cathedral which is breathtaking and after a lunch break, over to the amazing Uffizi where we were taking to the rooms housing the big names in art the Bottocheli's, Michaelangelo's, Raphael's and so on. The tour guides told us everything we needed to know about each piece, building or statue we were looking at so it saved us a great deal of time by not having to research in advance.
A day we will never forget and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Dsexton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed both the walking tour of the Accademia Gallery and the Florence Duomo, as well as our time at the Uffizi. Both Angelo and Vanessa were knowledgeable than your average bear but also enthusiasm about architecture and art. They were able to compare the eras of the arts we were viewing to common day events. We strongly recommend Viator, as all of your experiences with them have superior and their teams are very talented and professional. Ciao!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Interesting guide, kept our attention. Pity it was the patron saint's day and we couldn't go inside the Duomo. Guide Angelo kept to time and found us some shady spots in the heat, He included an extra- a visit to the Ponte Vecchio as we managed to get into the Accademia unexpectedly quickly, and also gave us recommendations for a cheap and good cafe. Well done!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Dede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am so glad we had tour guides for the Duomo, Academia and Uffici. The guides both named Angela were excellent and knew their history. Very interesting stories especially of the Medici family. Very highly recommended! You haven and #39;t seen Florence until you go on these tours.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Ann W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best way to see it all in a day when you are limited in time. The Duomo tour does not include visit to the crypts, the Bell Tower and the Baptistry. If you want to add - this is an additional ticket that you will need to purchase early to ensure entry as limited quantities.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Brittney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! We loved our tour guide and seeing the beautiful Duomo. The gelato was great, too! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see the best of Florence In a day. Definitely saved time getting entrance to the two Galleries.with the skip the line feature. No matter how many times you see the David it always amazes me. Hard to believe the different works of art all together in the Uffizi Gallery. Of course the Duomo and Bapistry are amazing pieces of architecture. This was second trip to Italy and Florence remains my favorite city.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Michele M. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour had everything we wanted. We saw the David, walked to the amazing Duomo and on into central Florence. Three hours and we had the lay of the land for future adventures. Guide was knowledgeable and fun. We could hear her on our little listening devices just fine.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great! Lots of extra information about the Duomo, Academia, and the Uffizi gallery we wouldn and #39;t have gotten on our own! Guides were knowledgeable and easy to understand. Skip the line saved us time - definitely recommend for anyone trying to get in Florence and #39;s highlights in one day.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Deanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was two tours in one. The meeting point was very easy to find and our morning guide was Chiara. She was great, very knowledgeable and personable. We went to the Accademia to see the David, to the Duomo so beautiful and detailed, and a few sights along the way, ending up near the Ponte Vecchio. The afternoon guide don't recall his name took us from there to the Uffizi Gallery. There was a beautiful Botticelli exhibit while we were there. The Uffizi is huge, and very beautiful on its own. The guide was very art-savvy and gave us a lot of details. Our group of 4 really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Seeing Florence from the top of the Duomo was breathtaking! The stair climb was fun, although there were some very tight spots! Especially with other tours coming down while we were going up. But to see the dome fresco so close up was well worth the climb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was exactly what we wanted--someone knowlegeable about what we were seeing. We had two great guides, Rose in the morning for the walking, Accademia and Duomo. In the afternoon we had Angelo, passionate about art and a great story teller. We highly recommend this company and these guides. May you be so lucky.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message