Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

skrishnan07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Paul was very informative, engaging and funny. His comments on Michelangelo's David were fascinating and helped us see the artwork in a completely different perspective. As we walked from the Academia Galleria to the Duomo, he gave us a very interesting overview of the Medici and life in Florence at the time of the renaissance. The Uffizi Gallery tour was also very memorable. The paintings of Botticelli, Raphael and Leonardo were were memorable. You also get a very good view of the Vecchio bridge from the Uffizi gallery. The skip the line feature is totally worth it particularly if you are visiting in peak season in hot summer.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Marietta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great and the Duomo is one of my favorites!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Thomas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice tour to get a base of what Florence has to offer. You will need to climb the Duomo and bell tower on your own.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

ljp529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Duomo is so beautiful, I highly recommend this tour! Climbing the Dome is well worth it. It is tiring, but the view from the top is spectacular. The Baptistry was also very interesting. We also stopped for gelato, which was apparently included in the tour. :).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Sherin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guides were amazing. The day tour was fascinating and my 11 year old daughter was as taken in by it all as we were. If you only do one tour, this is a must and you get to see and experience the best of Florence in one day. We would highly recommend this tour.
I am sure the first guide was from a company called CityTours, she was brilliant and spoke very good English. We listened through headphones which was great. We didn't need to do any prereading as she told us all about the history of Florence which is fascinating and had us gripped. We then went into Accademia where we were introduced to David. A walk over Ponte Vechio - unbelievable, through the square housing many original and famous statues and over to Duomo cathedral which is breathtaking and after a lunch break, over to the amazing Uffizi where we were taking to the rooms housing the big names in art the Bottocheli's, Michaelangelo's, Raphael's and so on. The tour guides told us everything we needed to know about each piece, building or statue we were looking at so it saved us a great deal of time by not having to research in advance.
A day we will never forget and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Dsexton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed both the walking tour of the Accademia Gallery and the Florence Duomo, as well as our time at the Uffizi. Both Angelo and Vanessa were knowledgeable than your average bear but also enthusiasm about architecture and art. They were able to compare the eras of the arts we were viewing to common day events. We strongly recommend Viator, as all of your experiences with them have superior and their teams are very talented and professional. Ciao!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Interesting guide, kept our attention. Pity it was the patron saint's day and we couldn't go inside the Duomo. Guide Angelo kept to time and found us some shady spots in the heat, He included an extra- a visit to the Ponte Vecchio as we managed to get into the Accademia unexpectedly quickly, and also gave us recommendations for a cheap and good cafe. Well done!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Dede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am so glad we had tour guides for the Duomo, Academia and Uffici. The guides both named Angela were excellent and knew their history. Very interesting stories especially of the Medici family. Very highly recommended! You haven and #39;t seen Florence until you go on these tours.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Ann W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best way to see it all in a day when you are limited in time. The Duomo tour does not include visit to the crypts, the Bell Tower and the Baptistry. If you want to add - this is an additional ticket that you will need to purchase early to ensure entry as limited quantities.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Brittney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! We loved our tour guide and seeing the beautiful Duomo. The gelato was great, too! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see the best of Florence In a day. Definitely saved time getting entrance to the two Galleries.with the skip the line feature. No matter how many times you see the David it always amazes me. Hard to believe the different works of art all together in the Uffizi Gallery. Of course the Duomo and Bapistry are amazing pieces of architecture. This was second trip to Italy and Florence remains my favorite city.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Michele M. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour had everything we wanted. We saw the David, walked to the amazing Duomo and on into central Florence. Three hours and we had the lay of the land for future adventures. Guide was knowledgeable and fun. We could hear her on our little listening devices just fine.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great! Lots of extra information about the Duomo, Academia, and the Uffizi gallery we wouldn and #39;t have gotten on our own! Guides were knowledgeable and easy to understand. Skip the line saved us time - definitely recommend for anyone trying to get in Florence and #39;s highlights in one day.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Deanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was two tours in one. The meeting point was very easy to find and our morning guide was Chiara. She was great, very knowledgeable and personable. We went to the Accademia to see the David, to the Duomo so beautiful and detailed, and a few sights along the way, ending up near the Ponte Vecchio. The afternoon guide don't recall his name took us from there to the Uffizi Gallery. There was a beautiful Botticelli exhibit while we were there. The Uffizi is huge, and very beautiful on its own. The guide was very art-savvy and gave us a lot of details. Our group of 4 really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Seeing Florence from the top of the Duomo was breathtaking! The stair climb was fun, although there were some very tight spots! Especially with other tours coming down while we were going up. But to see the dome fresco so close up was well worth the climb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was exactly what we wanted--someone knowlegeable about what we were seeing. We had two great guides, Rose in the morning for the walking, Accademia and Duomo. In the afternoon we had Angelo, passionate about art and a great story teller. We highly recommend this company and these guides. May you be so lucky.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We learned so much about the rich history of Florence on this tour. It was split into two tours, with the morning beginning at the Accademia Gallery. The tour allowed us to skip the long lines so worth it and seeing David at the Accademia was amazing. We walked through Florence a bit and had a quick visit at the Duomo. The second tour was at the Uffizi Gallery and it was very helpful to have a guide highlight some of the special pieces and rooms. Glad that we were able to see the two galleries on a gorgeous day in Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Christina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Showed us the David, saw the highlights of the Uffizi, Duomo, and the city itself with recommendations for food and Gelato. Very knowledgeable guides! I will say, this does not include climbing the Duomo tower.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Mary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A highly enjoyable walking tour. We stayed just 2 blocks from the Duomo and joining the tour was easy access for us. The tour guide was wonderful and gave a lot of information about the history of Florence and the buildings. I highly recommend taking the tour!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow! What a great tour. I did the tour on Sept 12th. The meeting point was easy to find. Only a short 5min walk to the Duomo. Our guide was Vanessa. She was very knowledgable and informative, without giving us too much information. The walk to the top of the Duomo is not easy, but if you're reasonably fit, you will get there. The steps are small and the area is confined. Sometimes you have to wait on the stairs whilst people coming down have to pass. The climb is well worth the effort. A bonus is being able to access the Terrace mid way through the climb. The views over the city are great from the top, and there is plenty of time to take it all in before the decent. The close up views of the paintings inside the Duomo are unforgettable, and the guides help in interpreting them is very helpful. To top it off after the Duomo tour there's a look inside the Baptistry next door. Overall, a great afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

w.huber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the outside the Duomo is awe-inspiring. The interior is much less so. But from up-close, both inside and outside, the dome is incredible. Even without knowing the creativity required to build the dome, its size, beauty and height are impressive. The 360 steps, often narrow and dark, are not a big problem, as our guide stopped often for rest and photos. We got to go outside to view the dome and Florence from a unique vantage point. Our guide was informative, funny and encouraging. Overall this was a great and inspiring tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great intro to Florence. Seeing David was wonderful, as well as the Duomo. Florence is not nearly as large as Rome, but it was great to have someone show you around to really get your bearings. The guide was well informed and energetic. Great tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message