Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori)

You'll catch glimpses of the red-tiled dome of the Duomo, or Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiori, peeping over the rooftops as soon as you arrive in Florence, but your first face-to-face encounter with its pink and green marble glory is hard to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ray P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A really good introduction to Florence. Highlight was seeing the statue of David at Accademia and learning all about the building of Duomo.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

2penniesworth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our morning guide, Angelo, was very informative and entertaining. You will not be tempted to check your watch with Angelo! Not hard to tell he loves what he does. The walking was not strenuous nor long. It was great to bypass lines and be given such informative insights. We were able to spend a great amount of time with David, which was a bonus we were expecting to be whisked through. Angelo's knowledge of Michaelangelo and his creative genius was superb. Our time in the Duomo was sufficient, as many have said, the exterior and its story seem more impressive. After a wonderful lunch break, we went to Osterio Vecchio Vicolo, a superb meal. Very close to the end point of morning tour and start point for afternoon tour. Beatrice was our afternoon guide for the Uffizi. This gal was most passionate about her art and invited us to suspend our preconceived notions and invited us to enter the images in a different way. A true art connoisseur! It was a delight to learn from her and absorb some of her passion.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Keith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pretty funny too. Must see the Duomo and Accademia Gallery. The Guide was really great in the Accademia I thought. After the tour, do the Dome of Duomo separate pass sold nearby - absolutely worth the 465 steps. When we entered there weren't any lines and quite a few tour groups, so you're not really alone. However, when we left Accademia - there was a huge line. That's when I knew the early access was certainly worth it.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Travis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great walking tour of Florence. We started the morning off going to the Accademia Gallery where we saw Michelangelo's David as well as several other pieces done by the master. From the Accademia we visited Florence's Duomo and got a tour of the inside. After seeing the Duomo, we walked to Piazza del Mercato Centrale to rub the snout of 'Il Porcellino', Florence's Trevi Fountain. From here, we visited Piazza della Repubblica before ending at the Arno River next to the Uffizi Gallery. After the morning portion of the tour, we had about an hour and a half of free time. This is a good time to grab a bite to eat. My wife and I got pizzas at Osteria Vecchio Vicolo to refuel for the afternoon portion of the tour. In the afternoon portion of the tour, we were given a guided tour of the Uffizi Gallery. Once the tour was complete, we were given time to leisurely walk through the Uffizi Gallery or leave and enjoy another part of Florence. Overall, this was a great tour. Bring your walking shoes as you'll need them.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I really like these tours because the guides were natives of Florence and very passionate about their town. Having a guide in the Uffizi was wonderful as we were taken to the most important, impressive pieces and were told why they were important. We were then free to roam the gallery and take in the rest of the museum.

Make sure you have a map showing the meeting location church as it is NOT the Duomo.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Jane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour with a very informative guide who was also extremely funny which makes the tour even better. Both the Accademia and Duomo well excellent to visit and also the Palaces. Learnt alot on this walking tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

lstrayhorn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you can handle the steps this tour and the special access is well worth it! Part of the Duomo you cannot see in any other way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Lois

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

LOVED this tour. Our guide was great and the Duomo climb was not as strenuous as I thought it might be. The views from the top were amazing. Our guide made sure to point everything out ... getting a birds-eye view of the city was a perfect way to see the entire city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

tracypars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour allowed us the ability to get into 3 major attractions with minimal waiting, plus the benefit of a guide who is directing us to what is important about the exhibits and important features. Our tour started at the Accademia to see the original David statue, and then onto the Duomo - having a guide brought the information to life and gave us so much more information than just reading the descriptions. After a break for lunch, we reassembled to tour through the Uffizi Galleries. We had two different guides, both were fantastic, highly enthusiastic, passionate, and very knowledgeable - most guides are art historians/architects/artists and must complete a training course in addition to their own studies so their breadth of knowledge is rather great. You will need to wait in line a little since the security does get a little bogged down. The guides' english is perfect and not at all hard to understand, and the individual headsets make hearing the lectures easy, and one does not even need to be that close to hear everything. I will also commend the tour group agency - we had gotten a little lost finding the meeting place our own stupidity, they called us to make sure we were coming, waited and were very helpful in trying to make this a good experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

esang1211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I loved this tour. It was great to be able to skip the line for the Duomo. The line at the Accademia was still a little long but it was much shorter than had we done this on our one. Our guide Tony was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job of sharing the information without being boring. It was also great to walk Florence and get comfortable with the city and where all the major sites were. Tony also gave us some good restaurant and site recommendations for the rest of our visit. This is a great way to see Florence!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Christi W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is the best way to go to avoid the really long lines to get in to the Duomo. It was also a good way to see some of the smaller tourist highlights such as the brass boar that I would have missed on my own. The trip to Academia Gallery to see the David was also a good part of the tour. I have seen copies of the statue many times from all angles, but the guide was able to point out a new perspective. And while a much smaller museum than the Ufizzi, there are some very good paintings there.

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

j.fergusson31 New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed the tour and the operators and tour leader were friendly and accommodating. The Skip the Line got us into an area of the Duomo that other groups were unable to access. Don't underestimate the steep stairs and enclosed spaces....we had a couple in our tour that were unable to complete the climb. Well worth it if you can get to the top though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Angela was a passionate, very funny tour guide who was well versed in her art, papal, and political history of Italy and specifically Florence. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who's looking to get an in depth detailed tour of the Duomo and the Accademia. As a tip, make sure to book the 9am tour as the later tour may not get admittance into the Duomo. Thanks again Angela!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Corey-Lyla M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Staff were early and helpful, with FM transmitter so you could hear everything. I was able to upgrade to the Duomo cupola climb on the spot. I would not do Florence without Skip the Line. Also learned a lot I wouldn't have been able to get from the three travel ebooks I was reading!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Bianca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Angela was a wonderful, engaging and informative guide who brought the history of Florence to life as we walked along the streets and through the gallery and duomo. Excellent.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Ai Vee N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was worth it to see David and the tour guide gave just enough information and not too much. Didn't get to climb the Duomo which was a bit of a let-down but overall the pace of the walk was very easy and manageable

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Silvio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour started on time. Guide very knowledgeable. No major problems during tour. Tour ended on time. My wife could not enter in Duomo because of her dressing. We should be notified well in advance, actually during the booking. Everything else was perfect. Thanks

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Marsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Such an amazing walking tour of the Duomo and galleries in Florence. Our two guides , Latizia and Titsiana, were each so personable and very knowledgeable. They really seemed to love conducting the tours..! Can't recommend Viator enough. All the tours we had in Italy were booked through them and each was so organized, professional and had amazing guides...A company !

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent and managed to hit all of the highlights in limited time. The Uffizi is the better part of the day. The Duomo is less engaging. The Accademia is excellent.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

skrishnan07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Paul was very informative, engaging and funny. His comments on Michelangelo's David were fascinating and helped us see the artwork in a completely different perspective. As we walked from the Academia Galleria to the Duomo, he gave us a very interesting overview of the Medici and life in Florence at the time of the renaissance. The Uffizi Gallery tour was also very memorable. The paintings of Botticelli, Raphael and Leonardo were were memorable. You also get a very good view of the Vecchio bridge from the Uffizi gallery. The skip the line feature is totally worth it particularly if you are visiting in peak season in hot summer.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Marietta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great and the Duomo is one of my favorites!

Doing what: Skip The Line: Best of Florence Walking Tour including Accademia Gallery and Duomo

Thomas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice tour to get a base of what Florence has to offer. You will need to climb the Duomo and bell tower on your own.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

ljp529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Duomo is so beautiful, I highly recommend this tour! Climbing the Dome is well worth it. It is tiring, but the view from the top is spectacular. The Baptistry was also very interesting. We also stopped for gelato, which was apparently included in the tour. :).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful tour! It gives all the great highlights of Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi. If you don't have much time in Florence, I'd highly suggest this tour as you will learn so much about the city in just a few short hours with time to explore on your own in the afternoon!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi Gallery and Florence Duomo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message