Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Giotto's Bell Tower

Giotto's elegant bell tower (Campanile di Giotto) flanks Florence's Duomo and Baptistery, rounding off Piazza del Duomo's prime attractions. Designed by Giotto in 1334, the Gothic tower is faced in the similar nougat-hued marbles of the Duomo. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For any Dan Brown fan, this tour is a must. We saw the site of Dante's house and visited the Vecchio Palace which included the Hall of the Five Hundred, Dante's death mask and the map room. The baptistery where Robert Langdon located Dante's death mask in the book was fascinating.At the end of the tour we were issued with tickets to visit the cathedral, bell tower and museum at our leisure over the next 48 hours. The Vasari Corridor and Boboli gardens were not part of this tour but another tour covers these.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Maureen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The morning tour is fantastic and our guide Johannes was great. I would recommend this tour if you are short on time and want a quick overview of the city

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was exceptional and our tour guide Lenora was amazing with her knowledge of Florence, her detailed explanation of Michelangelo David and other works of arts at the Academia was very enlightening, her enthusiasm brought with it a contagious appreciation of these wonders of the world that can never be felt by viewing a picture on television or book, please pass along mine and my Girlfriend appreciation for a great tour

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sharon Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fabulous tour! Antonella was sensational! As we walked through the streets she gave a very unique perspective and history on the changing of the people, the buildings and the culture throughout the centuries of this ancient but yet still so beautiful city! She even recommended trying the traditional Florentine street food, lampredotto, although a very different food selection, I was not disappointed! Thank you for contributing to the wonderful memories made while visiting!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

TammyJW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The inferno tour was brilliant! The book was the reason I wanted to go to Florence and being able to go to the places from the book was fantastic. Our tour guide Mario was amazing, he really brought the story to life as well as teaching us some of the history of Florence. We done the full day tour, which just wasn't long enough, I did't want it to end. The afternoon is also an art tour, me and my partner are not art people but we found it very interesting and learnt a lot. We weren't able to use our ticket to go into the dome, bell tower or the crypt as we didn't have time. The ticket lasts for 24 hours but the next day we went to Rome so we couldn't use them then either. If we go back to Florence and I really hope we do, I would happily go on this tour again and would make sure that we had no other plans so we could do everything.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the Piazzella di Michelangelo, the panoramic view of the city was amazing! The art and history of Florence is well worth the visit and in our opinion, there is no better way to experience it than with a professional guide. Our guides, both on the bus and at the Galleria dell' Accademia, were very knowledgeable, professional, and informative. The artistic talents of Michelangelo are incredible, and nothing is a better example of that than his famous David. Seeing it in person and up close was the opportunity of a lifetime. I highly recommend this tour. An additional benefit is that it's also a great way to beat the long line for entry to the Galleria dell' Accademia.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Allyson K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very nice tour through Florence. I enjoyed going out of town a bit and seeing the different neighborhoods and views. Our guide was great. He was always making sure everyone was together and safely walking on the street even though we were a big group. He was very knowledgable about the city and the sights we were seeing. The guide we had after we got to the Uffizi and were split into smaller groups was also great. He really knew about the art that we saw and what made it special. All in all, great tour!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

wendyh2666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great guide, Barbara, gave us a lot of information and was very enthusiastic. The locations we visited, including internal visit to Palazza Vecchio Museum and the Baptisery were beautiful, unfortunately the tour was on a Sunday so we could not go inside the Duomo but were given a ticket to view later, recommend booking another day, not Sunday. Not only did we experience the Inferno story buit we learnt oa lot of historical factes and saw great sights.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Giulia was great. We took this tour because it toured most of the buildings we wanted to see. The Inferno was a nice twist on the tour. Giulia's tour was informative as well as fun. The group was only 6 people and perfect!

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour! My husband and I had both read the book and we took our two kids 9 and 14 with us. Our tour guide, Vanessa, was awesome!! She knew the plot of the book very well and was really animated in the way she retold the story as we retraced the steps of Robert Langdon. Our ticket came with access and a private tour of the Palazzo Vecchio, the Baptistry and a pass to climb the bell tower of the Duomo.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Blain V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was an incredible experience but is not for the weak-hearted! We chose to do the full-day option, and it was very exhausting! I recommend wearing great walking shoes, because the tour bus leaves you, and you walked throughout Florence for quite some time. The tour guides were very helpful and knowledgeable, though there were problems with the audio system. If you have the opportunity, bring snacks and a drink. During the time that we traveled to Florence, the workers at the Academia museum went on strike, which pushed back our reservation time. We waited a total of an hour or so to get into the museum, which was very tiring! This does not normally happen, and you are able to walk in with shorter lines. Just in case, be prepared to wait a while for this. It was definitely worth the wait! We stopped at several beautiful viewpoints and got a lot of truly interesting information about the history and art of the region. If given the option to choose a lunch, I would eat lunch on your own, because the strike at the museum made it difficult to eat at the selected restaurant on time. If you are on a half-day tour, this is no problem, but since we were on the full day, we had to be back at the bus stop in time for the next part and would not have made it had we eaten lunch with the tour group. Thanks for the great opportunity!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

cluzinski2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We appreciated the sculpture and painting knowledge that the guide shared in ways that were interesting for those of us who are not experts in art history. The half day tour included a bus ride and walking, with far less of a wait to get into the museum. Gave us enough of an overview to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

joe.forbes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Not only did is cover the Inferno sights, but it gave a good overview of the entire city of Florence.

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour. We did half day with Lunch so we could catch afternoon train to Venice. The half day got us the highlights of the city. Bus tour took us around much of Florence and to a nice scenic overview. This tour got a little tedious after a couple hours. Walking tour of the city was interesting. Wait to get into the Museum of Academia was somewhat long. Tour of the museum was good..we saw the highlights, including Michaelangelo's David. Awesome!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We met our guide, Chiara, for a private walking tour around Florence. Chiara studied art history and has been giving tours of Florence for 19 years. Another amazing tour guide, who speaks Italian, English, French, Spanish, and German though she doesn't give tours in German, she admitted and is learning Portuguese. The knowledge she shared about the history of the city, the powerful Medici family, and the breathtaking artwork in Florence really provided great perspective and background.


We visited the Piazza del Duomo - when approaching it is quite a shock, come from in between two buildings toward the square, step out into the open and boom! there is 3rd largest church in the world, which was 5 times bigger than any other church in the world when it was built starting in 1296.

We next walked to the Galleria dell'Accademia, which contains work by Ghiotto, some by Botticelli, 4 incomplete works by Michelangelo, and the prize of the Accademia, Michelangelo's David. We were lucky again to be here in the off season, as the crowds were not bad, and we were able to leisurely enjoy the room containing Michelangelo's works and discuss the David with our great tour guide.

Also located in the Academia, in a wing nearly empty most people go to the small museum just to see David, is a musical instrument museum. It was a small exhibit, but included several instruments made by well known luthiers such as Amati, Guarneri, and, of course, Stradivari. Of several of Stradivari's instruments on display, the most interesting is a one-of-a-kind tenor viola, made for you guessed it the wealthy Medici family.

Overall it was a fantastic tour with a fantastic guide. Chiara was very friendly and had a great knowledge of the artwork and history of the area. My Dad and I both commented that while we could have seen all of these things on our own, we would not have gotten much out of them without an expert guide. It makes all the difference. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Don R K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Monica, is the best! She is very knowledgeable and informative. We enjoyed every single minute with her, viewing Florence through her educated eyes o-

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bridget R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour! Bus trip to Pisa was comfortable and filled with helpful facts as we went past landmarks etc. The stop in Pisa was just long enough to see everything you needed to see. Not a town you need long in. And I'm not sure I'd bother climbing the tower. It's ok but not as impressive as is thought it would be. Keiko my guide was great!

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

tamzro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great tour of Florence, definitely recommend for those who want to take part in viewing main sights and visit to galleries was awesome also.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent overview. Afternoon guides were very informative. It was a nice combination of bus, walking, and museum.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

sorelg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We ended up with a small group of only four people and our tour guide. Our guide was highly experienced, local and extremely knowledgeable about both the city and the museum. We saw the highlights and were given a very helpful overview of the city. We were in Florence for four days and our guide was very helpful in providing additional recommendations on how to spend our time. The David is incredible and her historical perspective made it all the more memorable. Awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Jeanne Marie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Carolina was very knowledgeable about our favorite city in Italy! The bus tour gave us a beautiful overview of the city and the walking tour gave us a closer look. Loved seeing the statue of David and learning so much about Michelangelo .. His life and his work

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

sharon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 of us from California took the 1/2 day tour w/lunch and highly recommend it if you are limited on time (we were leaving that afternoon to join f/f in a Villa outside of Cetona). We had been in Florence two days before so had time to walk around (take other in-city tours) so taking a tour the last day that got us up-n-out of the city, was a great way to get another perspective of this amazing city (trees, hills, large homes, etc). And of course, ending up at the Accademia to see "David" with a personal guide, was far more informative than if we'd done this on our own and much shorter lines to contend with. My husband and I had been to Florence before but my sister had not. So we ALL learned so much on this tour than we didn't know before. And let's not forget the lunch which we had read had mixed reviews. We loved it!! The lunch was better than we had anticipated/far larger quantities and very tasty (only little glitch was our printed notes said coffee was included but our group was long gone by the time we finished up. And only my husband is the coffee drinker. The waiter said it wasn't included anymore: no problem, he just bought one). Hope your experiences are as wonderful as ours were.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first tour using Viator. It was truly wonderful, with an intelligent, knowledgable guide, who had an obvious passion for his city, and all of the wonder that is Florence. We started on a hill overlooking the city; and, what a view of Florence! Our guide was able to point out numerous landmarks from this viewpoint. We had plenty of time to view Florence from many angles and heights. From there, we returned to our bus, and historical buildings and areas were pointed out to us. The bus dropped us off, not far from the Academia and we were able to walk through a part of the city near the Duomo and famous shopping areas, piazzas. His antidotal comments were fabulous, and you felt like you had an "inside track" to his city. The tour culminated at the Academia and the David, among other beautiful works, by Michelangelo, and it was magnificent! After the tour, we were able to visit other areas within this magnificent building. It was a very worthwhile tour, especially for those new to Florence. We were impressed by our guides' s amazing knowledge base and friendliness.

Doing what: Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

mvpate2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable. I would recommend making this your first tour in florence. You really get to learn about the city and see everything there is to see, and the following day, or later in the day, you can visit the sites that you enjoyed. (Tour does not go into any of the buildings, except one church, which may not have even been officially part of the tour).

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Louise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a good overview of the renaissance area. Do this on the first day in Florence. We did it on the day after we had walked all over the city so some was redundant. We got a lot of good info though. The chianti tour was great! We did not have a car so this was a great way to get out of the city and into Chianti. It was beautiful! The wine was too!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Renaissance Walking Tour and Accademia Gallery plus Chianti Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message