Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicola M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Can and #39;t rate this highly enough. Our guide, Valeria, was lovely. We really enjoyed the trip to the market, especially all the tasters on the way! The venue is stunning, real postcard stuff, and our welcome from Carmella was warm and genuine. Food cooked is amazing!! It really was the best trip ever!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

danrusso123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our favorite tour EVER!! So fun. There were 16 of us, most were around 30 years old, and couples. The walking food history tour in Florence was interesting, the time in the huge Florence Market was fantastic. The home was located up above the Michelangelo View Point above the city, very pretty. The kitchen was huge. Very hands on. Pasta and Pizza making were our highlights. We had dinner reservations, but by the end of eating about 5:30pm, we ended up cancelling our dinner reservations as we could not eat anymore that night.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the most AMAZING experiences we had on this trip. I highly recommend Walkabout Florence for any tours. The guide Maritna was great, and our two chefs, Issac and Carmela were so friendly. The walking tour to the markets was such a cool experience, it has inspired me to cook with more natural ingredients. We really had a great time and learned so much. I cannot stress enough how much fun we had on this tour. If you have the time, please, please do this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

dflorence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a trip to Italy. My wife wanted to do a cooking class while we were in Florence. Luckily a co-worker of mine had been to Florence in May and had done this same class and highly recommended it. We LOVED it! We stayed at the Hotel Spadai in Florence which is close to the Duomo and easy walking distance to Walkabout Tours which is where this class originates from. We met Freddie our host along with our fellow classmates sisters from Hong Kong, a girl from the Philippines, a couple from Houston and a couple from Denver at their office. Freddie then led us on a walking tour through Florence where we picked up bread and vegetables on our way to the Central Market where we got our cheeses and meats. We then loaded up into a couple of taxis and headed out to where the class was to take place.

The setting is absolutely magnificent. It's a beautiful overlook of valleys and hills and vistas. As you walk up, there is a stand alone wood burning oven which leads you to a wonderfully constructed stand alone kitchen / prep area. It is modern and rustic at the same time. And as we cook, there is a separate dining area that is all windows and the view is spectacular.

The class was so much fun. I am NOT a cook, so I was there to eat. My wife loves to cook, but isn't a Julia Child's protégé. We were there to have fun. And we had a bunch of it. We learned to make Ragu, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, gelato, etc. Chef Isaac was there along with our Italian chef hostess and they were all amazing. Freddie did a great job of hosting us and making us feel comfortable, engaged and informed. The food was spectacular and the company was great. We all got along and laughed and cooked...

It is a full day and we were stuffed and exhausted when we finally got back to Florence. I wouldn't change a thing and I would definitely do it again. Definitely 5 stars and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Theresa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My sister and I had an amazing day and would recommend this to anyone wanting to create great memories. Great personal interaction with Martina remembering our names and really getting to know us. Great city and market tour in the morning. Amazing kitchen, great food, drinks and a friendly group.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

themorrows5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fabulous Tour! Gloria and staff were awesome and Carmella was amazing! Food was excellent, tour of the city and the market was so interesting and educational! The property was beautiful and wine was bountiful! Our entire group ages 21 to 54 enjoyed every minute of this experience! Highly recommend, even for those who are not chef's!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We started the day meeting at the walkabout office in Florence. There we met Lavi and the rest of the group that would be on the tour. We walked with Lavi to the vege store, bakery and the central market to buy the food that we were going to prepare at the farm house. On the walk Lavi gave us some information on Florence. She showed us where MichaelAngelo lived and told us other interesting history facts about Florence. Lavi by the way, is beautiful, smart and speaks beautifully. She showed us how to shop for certain items and when we were done shopping we went to the farmhouse to start our cooking lesson. The kitchen was a professional kitchen, adjacent dining room had all glass windows over looking a beautiful landscape above Florence. It was the perfect setting. We met Carmella one of the chefs who was from Italy who sang in Italian and danced while teaching us how to cook. she was a real live wire. Issac a chef who was from the US translated for us what carmella was saying, and teaching us to cook as well. He was charming and had a great sense of humor. We made brushetta, pizza taught by Carmellas neice who owned a pizza place in florence baked it in the wood burning oven that was on the property. We made fresh pasta, bolognese sauce, pork roast, potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. Lets not forget we drank wine and beer with our food too. This class is a must. It was the highlight of our trip. A relaxing day, instead of the running around sight seeing. I cant say enough about Liv, Carmella and Issac all tutti bene!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mandy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I had a great time on this tour! The guides, walking tour of the markets, and the food were all fantastic. It's a good way to spend a day in Florence.

Only thing to mention to either WalkAbout or Viator is that I never received the recipes that we were promised would be emailed to us. Can you please send?

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

AWinston

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my trip to Florence!

The tour was so much more than I expected! We started with a city tour from Martina. She pointed out interesting historical facts about the city and took us to local market to select food that we would later cook. She was very attentive to our group and made sure that everyone was having a good time and was involved. After the tour we took a bus to the estate where we met Carmela and Isaac. Over the next few hours we learned how to make a traditional ragu sauce, fresh pasta, roast pork, bruschetta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato. The food was accompanied by a delicious chianti and Peroni.
The kitchen that we cooked in was from a dream. Exposed beams, plenty of windows, and a professional range. There was also a dining pavilion that we used to make the pasta and to enjoy our meals that looked over the hills of Tuscany into Florence. I wanted to take it all home with me.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Phyllis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so much fun. Our guide Lavinia walked us through Florence food markets to buy ingredients, and that was fun and instructive itself. The farmhouse was in the hills above Florence in a beautiful setting. There we met 2 chefs and 2 professional pizza makers who taught us how to make bruschetta, pasta, Ragu sauce, pizza, roast pork and potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. We had 2 teenagers and an 11 year old in our family group, and they were full participants. The day was skillfully planned so that we started the dishes that took longer to cook first and then spent time making and eating the quicker dishes to fill in the time. The day ended in a formal dinner setting in which we ate our meal and were presented with our certificates for completing the cooking class. Each dish was served with wine. It was a great day spent learning about Italian food culture. This was one of the best days we had in our trip to Roma and Florence. You can't go wrong with this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Devon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Best decision I made while in Florence! Lavinia is a lovely tour guide: she brings you to the markets to buy the ingredients and talks about food related history. She is also there during the cooking lesson to help translate with Camilla, who is the amazing chef. She cooks and dances and makes the whole experience that much more memorable. The food is obviously delicious, the wine and olive oil as well, and the scenery breathtaking. 100 worth your time and money!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sylvia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was, by far, the best class/tour I have ever had the pleasure to take during a vacation. I have travelled many times to Europe and have taken excursions/tours, etc. but this experience surpassed them all. It was well thought out, organized, interesting, informative, and loads of fun. Our guides happened to be Francesco and Sandra, and they were absolutely wonderful. Francesco took us to the Mercato Centrale to buy our food and gave us some local history along the way, and when we got to the farmhouse, Sandra was there, along with Chef Carmela to begin teaching. There was a great variety of food and we all participated. The food described is exactly the food we made and enjoyed for lunch and dinner. I was very impressed with the amenities and the layout of the kitchen. The location is beautiful, the view onto the city of Florence perfect, everyone helping us with our class was wonderful. I just can't say enough great things about this experience. Loved every minute of it and the day went by too fast. If you have even the slightest interest in learning about food, you shouldn't hesitate to book this 'tour'. You will not be disappointed. My only disappointment is that I couldn't do this for the entire week !! Perhaps Walkabout should create one for a week! :

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

June S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an experience not to be missed. The first part of the day was an informative, highly enjoyable walkabout tour in Florence, including time in the market where we learned the types of produce and meats to purchase for the day's recipes, and also which produce and meats were best suited for other Italian foods.

After our morning tour of the markets we spent a delightful day with Carmella, Gloria and Francesco at the gorgeous farmhouse setting just outside Florence. We laughed, sang,learned, cooked, ate, drank, cooked some more, then ate and drank some more. All the while we were being taught hands-on Italian cooking techniques. Each of us made bruschetta, pasta from scratch, pizza from scratch, pork with a delectable sauce, a meaty tomato sauce for the pasta, yummy potatoes, to-die-for gelato and the best tiramisu I've ever tasted. Plus the wine flowed, the laughter rang out, the setting was spectacularly beautiful, and our good humored, patient hosts clearly enjoyed teaching us new cooking skills.

When I return to Florence, I will sign up for another visit with Carmella and her wonderful staff.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This class was so much fun!!! We meet at the Walkout office and started on a shopping and city tour with Gloria, our guide. We got some history about Florence as well as went to a market where the locals shop for their food. Got to taste some cheese, flat bread and a few other things. The market was amazing!!! I wished we had time to go back there and explore more. After about 2 hours we got on a mini bus and went to the cooking school where Chef Carmella taught us many wonderful things as well as to sing and dance while you cook, very important. Gloria and Martina the other guide assisted with our class and tried to teach us a little Italian along the way. When we planned our trip to Italy we knew we wanted to take some cooking classes, my husband family is from Northern Italy so he grew up with his family cooking all the old recipes. We learned many new recipes and some spin offs, so we can practice these when we get back home. The bruschetta recipe was prepared differently and with the fresh olive oil it was so much better. We made our own pasta, created our own pizza, helped season the pork roast and potatoes, make the ragu sauce and even made fresh Tiramisu and Florentine gelato!! The whole experience was amazing!!! I would do it again if I was still there. You will not regret taking this course, you get so much out of it and the staff is truly awesome!!! Thank you, Chef Carmella, Gloria and Martina!!! We will sing, dance, drink and just have fun when we make our new recipes!! Your friends from South Carolina, Don and Colleen

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Lauren A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and chose to invest in experiences rather than souvenirs on our trip. Without a doubt, the cooking class we took with Walkabout Tours was the highlight of our 2 week trip. Martina was the most AMAZING tour guide we could have hoped for.

We both love cooking and trying the local cuisine so it was the perfect tour. We started the day with a walking tour of Florence's markets and loved learning all about these unassuming areas and the history they held. The short bus drive up into the hills brought us to the most beautiful kitchen I've ever seen.

We learned how to make several different courses by Italian speaking Carmella who had excellent translations by our guide. She was a hoot, and did a lot to get the class involved. We also made pizza from scratch in the brick oven and drank lots of delicious local Chianti wine. We will never forget this special day in Tuscany and can't wait to make the recipes again to relive our dolce vita honeymoon in Italy. We will suggest this tour to everyone we know who visits the area!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

John E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Gloria was great tour guide. Great walk about tour to the central market with interesting stops along the way. Everything fully explaned during the market stop. Short minibus ride to great Tuscan farmhouse with fantastic view. Chef Carmela enthusiasm set the tone for cooking class. Delicious food!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Annie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was incredible! I had so much fun with this one. It was non-stop cooking, drinking, and fun. Olivia was our tour guide, and we started out with a walk around Florence while stopping at different markets to collect our ingredients. After that, it was a quick bus ride to their estate where we learned to cook about 5 different dishes my favorite was the fresh pasta. They kept this tour informative and fun...and delicious, since we got to eat everything we cooked!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Courtney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Martina Freddy and Carmella were wonderful hosts. The day started in Florence with a walking/history tour of Florence. Martina shared some really fun and interesting insights into Florence and its food culture. We took in some sights as well as the San Lorenzo Market and then headed over to the Walkabout Tours property for the cooking portion of the tour. This was so much fun! We were able to take part in as many demonstrations as we wanted as well as have hands on time of our own. The food and wine were abundant and delicious.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Carl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This cooking class was fantastic and I would recommend this for anyone looking for something a little different of an experience. We had a fantastic tour guide, Olivia, that was able to share little tidbits about Florence and how the locals cook and shop.
To start our day, we got to go on a brief walking tour of Florence on our way to a produce market, bakery and meat market. It was interesting to see the little shops and we were able to purchase a couple snacks along the way which were delicious. I believe this part of the tour is not offered on Sundays as the market is not open and I would recommend doing this on a day where you can experience this. After picking up all our food we went on a short bus ride to the villa where the class was taking place. This was a beautiful property with amazing views of Florence, make sure to bring your cameras!
The cooking portion of the day was so much fun! We were given valuable instruction on how to make each item, people in the class got to complete different tasks towards making the meal and the guides and chef were so much fun. As a class we made bruschetta, bolegnese sauce, pasta, pork loin and potatoes, tiramisu and gelato. At lunchtime, we were shown how neapolitan pizza is made and we were able to make our own personal pizzas in the wood burning oven outside.
After spending a couple hours cooking, we got to sit down to our very own meal of pasta with bolegnese sauce, pork, potatoes and desserts that we made and it was all delicious.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

WILLIAM R. G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is the third time i have taken this tour. It is that good. Lavi and Gloria provide you a terrific tour in Florence, especially the Central Market. The location in the hills of Florence is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It was very informative seeing the fruit and vegetable market as well as the central market where we purchased the cheeses and meats needed for our meal.
Our guide was quite knowledgeable on the history of Florence, cooking methods and provided us the correct way to pronounce the foods in Italian in which we were making and not how we American's pronounce it.
The food was very delicious!!! The scenery was awesome!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Michelle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It's been over two weeks we just got back from our vacation and I am still reeling over how much fun I had in this class. It was the highlight of our trip. Lavinia, Olivia and Carmela were the most informative, knowledgeable, and enjoyable instructors I have ever had and I've taken a few dozen classes. We made bruschetta, pizza, pasta from scratch, pork loin with yummy potatoes, tiramisu and gelato. I am looking forward to receiving the recipes so that I can try them at home -- maybe incorporate a couple for Thanksgiving. The market-bakery-vegetable tour was amazing. The farm house and surrounding view were incomparable. If I ever get back to Florence again, you can bet I am going to plan my trip around another one actually more of these cooking classes.

Thank you, ladies, for a wonderful day.
Michelle and Jim from Southern California

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The cooking class was so much fun! Martina, who was our walking tour guide, was fun and lively throughout the walking tour which included the San Lorenza market. We learned several great techniques for food food preparation that I have already reproduced at home ragu and handmade pasta Even my mother thought they were fantastic, she may be a little biased, I am sure. However, I was able to recreate the recipe just based on the methods learned in class. I would recommend this class to everyone that has an interest in coking italian style and is looking for a great time out from the crowds in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Can I give 15 stars?? This was the highlight of my trip. Just amazing. We started with going to the market to get produce, where Lavi shared the value of ingredients to Italians and their healing powers. Then we were off to get fresh bread, then fresh cheese and then fresh meat. I'm never buying mediocre ingredients again!! Next we were off to the farmhouse, and the adorable Carmela!! She showed us how to cook pasta from scratch, ragu sauce, pizza, bruschetta, tiramisu and gelato. All that food! And wine! I didn't eat until noon the next day. I had a blast, learned alot and have a better appreciation for food and using the right ingredients. Lavi and Val were great guides, so sweet and kind. I highly, highly recommend doing this when you're in Italy.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Beatrice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding! Our tour guide Gloria began the day with a walking tour of Florence - to an area where we visited some small produce stores followed by a visit to the city market. Meats, cheese, bread and tomatoes were selected and purchased for use in our cooking class. We were then transported to a farmhouse in Tuscany - a beautiful setting - where we spent the day preparing bruschetta, pasta, pizza, gelato, tiramisu and more. Chef Carmela was delightful and we all enjoyed the wine, food and the fun of the day. Highly recommend this activity to anyone who visits Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message