Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 232 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

azcstle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My Mom and I took a 3 week European vacation, including Italy, Czech Republic, Germany, and England ... this class was the ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT of our entire vacation! We had so much fun buying groceries in the Florence Marketplace, with our guide Elisa, before heading to the beautiful farmhouse to spend the rest of the day cooking, drinking, eating, and hanging out with a group of about 24 people. Our awesome Chef, Carmela assisted us in cooking more food than we thought we could possibly eat, including bruschetta, beef ragu, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and more! Thank you Elisa, Carmela, and Walkabout Florence! We can't wait to come back and do it again. Buon Appetito!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

KRA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Julian, Molly and Chef Isak with Walkabout Florence were amazing! This was one of my favorite days in Florence. The tour around Florence was informative and going to the different markets to buy our ingredients was great fun for this foodie. The views from the house in Tuscany were spectacular! As a culinary graduate and owner of a catering company, I thought the instruction and recipes were top notch. It was such a fun day and I met lots of new friends. If I had one negative comment, it would be that there is no pre-warning in the description of the tour about how much walking is involved both during the walk around Florence and to the house in Tuscany. All in all, I would do this class again. foodieheaven

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Tony O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although there was no Local market tour the tour was magnificent. Molly, our guide, was very informative and her interaction with the non- English speaking cooking instructor Carmella was excellent - one of our best days of our holiday.
Very hands on and great food.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Dominic S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gloria and Lavi were wonderful guides and Carmella was a great teacher. We started with a walking tour of Florence and the market which was both fun and interesting. The cooking class at the farmhouse in Tuscany was incredible fun and the food was delicious. Don't bother making dinner reservations for later, you will be stuffed.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable tour. Fun time shopping in marketplace as well as learning how to make some Tuscan classics. Delicious meal to top it all off. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Marlene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family of four mom, dad, two teens booked this tour last minute, and we're so glad we did. We had a great day, it was one of the highlights of our European trip. We loved that it was a small group, our guide Olivia was knowledgeable and fun, and we learned a lot on our walking tour through the markets to buy ingredients. Then a short bus ride to the estate just outside the city. It was a gorgeous spot, with beautiful views. Carmella, our chef/teacher, was engaging and energetic, and the cooking was so much fun, my teens loved that you could participate as much or as little as you wanted, so they got involved in the bits that interested them, and hung back at other times. The food was great, the experience was fun, it was a great day all around. We would highly recommend this class to others.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sandy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous full day, more than a cooking class. The guides Julian and Molly and Chef Isaac made the day fun and relaxed. The cooking was amazing but the eating was so much better, so much great fresh produce purchased on a market tour early in the day. Great value for money

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Lawrence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were not sure what to expect from this tour which started with a walking adventure through the markets and attractions in Florence. Our host Sandra who was later joined by Valeria was wonderful fun of information and excitement about Florence and cooking which in turn made the tour very pleasant. We enjoyed our walk and tasted food as we went to different places, even though our feet were dead from several days of walking prior to this. A good tour guide can make even sore feet seem to disappear when they are so full of life and encouraging. We were taken by a comfortable bus to the villa where they have the most wonderful landscaped place with the best kitchen of Chef Carimela. There we spent a glorious afternoon learning how to prepare food and eating it. You must try their wine and buy a bottle to take home as well. We make bruschetta, pizza, pork and roasted potatoes, our own pasta and meat sauce, tiramisu and gelato all from scratch. It was a wonderful day and we fully enjoyed the pace and structure of the event. Walkabout Florence hosted this day and we applaud our hosts and chef!!! We returned to Florence but comfortable bus and await to have our recipes sent to us so we can continue to cook Italian at home.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Ed K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is absolutely wonderful. We both found the complete experience a highlight of our travels and HIGHLY recommend it to anyone considering a similar activity. Our tour guides took us on an exciting adventure purchasing the raw materials we would use later in the day whilst highlighting interesting landmarks as we walked thru the food stores and Market. Chef Carmello was both brilliant in showing us the Tuscan style of cooking as well as exciting in her delivery.
A truly great event

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

junebaby48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Since I am a foodie and love to cook, I loved this experience. The farmhouse was in a beautiful setting and a dream kitchen for anyone who loves to cook. The area we ate and made pasta was a dream and very conducive to talking with the group. The one thing I was not happy with was the groups size. I had thought there would be less people and each of us would be able to have hands on with all the dishes. I would be willing to pay a little more for a more private class. I did enjoy myself but would enjoy more a smaller group. I also am sorry it was a holiday so we missed the market. Definitely would do again. Our guides were fun and kept the group engaged. The chef and her staff were wonderful and Carmella was very funny and entertaining as well as a great chef and teacher.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

ebasford Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely one of the best tours I've done. Sandra and Gloria we're both professional and fun, making sure everyone had a wonderful time. The walking tour to the markets and the cooking lessons in the fabulous Tuscan hills with great food will be something I will remember forever.
Thanks for the wonderful tour!!!
Elizabeth

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

stewythere1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My fiance and I were so very impressed with the tour and the entire day. From the minute we walked into Walkabout Tour and met Sandra - we were thinking, this is going to be great! It is clear to see, she loves her profession and is proud to share the legends and historical facts about the city as we moved through the streets to the market and up to the farmhouse. The tour is so well organized. We met Gloria and the other half of our tour participants as we boarded the bus and off we were to see Carmella. What a character and a lovely woman - authentic, spirited and fun! I cannot say enough about the great time we had, the food we made and ate and the drink. There was not one thing I would change about this adventure. Sandra was just top notch! We will have this memory for a long while, and will do this again when we return to Florence. Thank you Sandra, Gloria and Carmella. This is a must do in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Carla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was out of this world!!! Started with a great guide, Julien and a walking tour of the market and some local landmarks. After a short bus ride, we arrived at the farmhouse for food preparation. We have lots of fun with the other group and their guide, Valeria. Carmela, the chef that worked with us was wonderful. Can't wait to get the recipes via email so I can cook them at home.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Camille K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour definitely gives you the full bang for your buck! The morning is a 2 hour your across the city where Lavi stopped along the way pointing out different food facts with just a hint of Florence history. The tour ended at the central market where we picked up the meat and final ingredients for our cooking day. Then the short bus ride outside of city center brought us to a beautiful view of Florence. The estate where you spend the day cooking and drinking was beautiful, clean and had amazing views! The cooking lesson was the perfect balance of preparing our own food and not waiting too long for certain steps like the pizza dough to rise, for example. Lavi and molly were fun and energetic and great at translating for Carmella! We loved it all!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Voyage de Noce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our experience with this tour was great! The walk in the city and the market were relevant to food and Gloria was very knowledgeable. The second part was amazing as well! Lavinia and Gloria make such a great pair and were great hosts. We had lots of great food and wine, and everything was delicious! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laurie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am so glad I decided to book this for my daughter and myself. I've taken a lot of tours in my travels but this one was by far the best. Our guides Valeria and Mollie were amazing and you could tell how much they loved their jobs. Valeria did an amazing job taken us around Florence to buy staples for our class. I've been coming to Florence for 20 years and learned so much from her. The next day we went back into the market back tracking to all the places she brought us too!

The cooking class was incredible. Set high in the hills the view was breathtaking and the cooking facility so top notch. Making so many fabulous dishes in the company of such wonderful people we met was a day we will never forget. Can't wait to get the recipes and recreate them for our family back home! Thanks again for such a wonderful experience. We will forever cherish these memories.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was so much fun. We started out with two guides Olivia and Sarah that split the group and took each group through the City showing up some of the History and where to buy the ingredients for our cooking class in the City and at the Market Place. After a short ride we met a wonderful and sweet chef Carmilla who taught us how to make Bruscetta, homemade noodles, pizza dough, Roast Pork and potatoes, Tiramisu, Gelato and then was taught how to make pizza by two kind gentlemen. What a fun time and highly recommend this adventure to all.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Loretta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour---a full day of some sightseeing tour of market, cooking in a professional kitchen on an Estate just outside of Florence, and of enjoying the five course meal at the end of the day along with wine pairings. Our guide Martine was warm,enthusiastic, and delightful throughout the day of discovery and learning. It was so much fun to be part of this tour group--no surprises, as everything was well organized, professional, and trustworthy. The BEST tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

CHRISTOPHER R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class-local market tour in Florence. Our guide Gloria was great and gave our group a tour of Florence with interesting historical references as we traveled to the local market, while also arranging for us to get coffee at a local patisserie on the way. Then, we jumped on the bus, crossed the Arno River, and arrived at the Tuscan farmhouse. What a great afternoon! We made bruschetta, pizza, pasta, sauce ragu, desserts, and more, while enjoyed wine pairings. We all contributed to the meal preparation, and I especially liked making the pizza where Gloria captured a me on my iPhone video flipping the pizza!.The location was beautiful, with stunning views of the area to the south of Florence. All in all, a great day and experience for us!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This class was my favorite thing about my Florence Vacation! It is so much more than just a cooking class. There is a bit of a walk to start out but we are given a lot of Florence history and walk around many historic buildings. Our guide, Molly, was fantastic! She is not native to Florence but she has sure done her homework. She is from Britain so no problem with English. We went to a street market to buy fresh vegetables. included in the price of the Class, there is no money needed We visited a bakery and saw an old herbal pharmacy. We went to the central market for meat, freshly ground and cut as we order it, and we sample cheese that we also buy. It was a wonderful introduction to Florence for our first day. Then we get on a bus for the country. We meet up with another group so there was 30 total. On the way to the farm house, we were given an idea of what we would be doing and what to expect when we got there. There was a bit of walking and stairs. the kitchen was a great set up for multiple cooks and prep areas. We worked in groups at times and singles at times. We all chopped vegetables for the pasta sauce. We made brushetta, We made individual pasta that was all cooked together. Every 2 people made a pizza that was cooked out in a brick oven. We sat outside and had pizza and beer. It was delicious!! The pork from the butcher was put in to cook and also the potatoes. Then we made tarimisu and gelato. Each person made their own. We were served dinner by our tour guides with the food we cooked all day. There was plenty of Chianti flowing all day. It was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing although we did a lot of work, but everyone helps. The cook was so much fun singing and dancing. The scenery was beautiful and the food was wonderful. An unforgettable experience! They will be emailing the recipes and we each get to keep our aprons! There is a place to put purses and bags when we get there.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mimosa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Molly was an exceptional guide through the markets of ,Florence, providing history and context and lots of interesting insights into the food culture of Florence. She was friendly and knowledgeable and the tour through town gave us an understanding of the food we cooked and savoured in the beautiful Tuscan farmhouse. Carmela, the chef, was a real character and a good teacher. The roast pork was particularly memorable. We also got to enjoy a spectacular view of Florence from the top of the hill on our way back. This was a great and delicious experience!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When I first saw how much it was, I wasn't sure if it would be worth it, but it was a bargain for all I did in a day. The market was so fun to walk through and Olivia, our tour guide, was friendly and passionate about this city. All the food was delicious and it was a wonderful day spent in the Tuscan Hill side.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

JUDIE United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was done by Walkabout tours and we had a wonderful tour. Our guides, Sandra and Martina were great and besides getting so much interesting and informative info about Florence and the history, the tour of the market and shopping for groceries was great. We loved the cooking class and learned a lot of techniques and loved actually making homemade pasta from scratch and cooking with the chef. It was by far our best tour and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour, was met by Olivia and given a tour of the city till we reached the Mercato Centrale where we bought fresh produce for cooking, it was very interesting and informative. We then took the bus to a beautiful farmhouse and cooked delicious food with Carmella, it was a super trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Olivia and Elisa were great hosts. Thanks very much

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family signed up for this tour after hearing rave reviews from a friend, and it proved to be our favorite activity of our vacation. The day began with a walking tour of Florence highlighting the best food and markets all while purchasing the necessary ingredients to cook dinner later that day. We then headed into the Tuscan Countryside to the Farmhouse where we were greeted by Chef Carmela. We cooked various types of food including appetizers, main courses, dessert and pizza! At the end of the day we savored in the fruits of our labor yum!. We highly recommend this tour because it presents a unique and fun opportunity to experience the best of Florence and Italy. Special thanks to Chef Carmela who shared the art of real Italian cooking, and to our tour guide Gloria whose eminent knowledge and fun-loving demeanor made the day all the more enjoyable. Thanks for a very memorable day!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message