Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio (Sant’Ambrogio Market)

Florence's most famous and popular market is the aptly named Mercato Centrale – but it's by no means the only market in the city. Another ideal spot to pick up picnic supplies, see what's fresh before you browse local menus or simply enjoy the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was so much fun. We started out with two guides Olivia and Sarah that split the group and took each group through the City showing up some of the History and where to buy the ingredients for our cooking class in the City and at the Market Place. After a short ride we met a wonderful and sweet chef Carmilla who taught us how to make Bruscetta, homemade noodles, pizza dough, Roast Pork and potatoes, Tiramisu, Gelato and then was taught how to make pizza by two kind gentlemen. What a fun time and highly recommend this adventure to all.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Loretta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour---a full day of some sightseeing tour of market, cooking in a professional kitchen on an Estate just outside of Florence, and of enjoying the five course meal at the end of the day along with wine pairings. Our guide Martine was warm,enthusiastic, and delightful throughout the day of discovery and learning. It was so much fun to be part of this tour group--no surprises, as everything was well organized, professional, and trustworthy. The BEST tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

CHRISTOPHER R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class-local market tour in Florence. Our guide Gloria was great and gave our group a tour of Florence with interesting historical references as we traveled to the local market, while also arranging for us to get coffee at a local patisserie on the way. Then, we jumped on the bus, crossed the Arno River, and arrived at the Tuscan farmhouse. What a great afternoon! We made bruschetta, pizza, pasta, sauce ragu, desserts, and more, while enjoyed wine pairings. We all contributed to the meal preparation, and I especially liked making the pizza where Gloria captured a me on my iPhone video flipping the pizza!.The location was beautiful, with stunning views of the area to the south of Florence. All in all, a great day and experience for us!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This class was my favorite thing about my Florence Vacation! It is so much more than just a cooking class. There is a bit of a walk to start out but we are given a lot of Florence history and walk around many historic buildings. Our guide, Molly, was fantastic! She is not native to Florence but she has sure done her homework. She is from Britain so no problem with English. We went to a street market to buy fresh vegetables. included in the price of the Class, there is no money needed We visited a bakery and saw an old herbal pharmacy. We went to the central market for meat, freshly ground and cut as we order it, and we sample cheese that we also buy. It was a wonderful introduction to Florence for our first day. Then we get on a bus for the country. We meet up with another group so there was 30 total. On the way to the farm house, we were given an idea of what we would be doing and what to expect when we got there. There was a bit of walking and stairs. the kitchen was a great set up for multiple cooks and prep areas. We worked in groups at times and singles at times. We all chopped vegetables for the pasta sauce. We made brushetta, We made individual pasta that was all cooked together. Every 2 people made a pizza that was cooked out in a brick oven. We sat outside and had pizza and beer. It was delicious!! The pork from the butcher was put in to cook and also the potatoes. Then we made tarimisu and gelato. Each person made their own. We were served dinner by our tour guides with the food we cooked all day. There was plenty of Chianti flowing all day. It was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing although we did a lot of work, but everyone helps. The cook was so much fun singing and dancing. The scenery was beautiful and the food was wonderful. An unforgettable experience! They will be emailing the recipes and we each get to keep our aprons! There is a place to put purses and bags when we get there.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mimosa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Molly was an exceptional guide through the markets of ,Florence, providing history and context and lots of interesting insights into the food culture of Florence. She was friendly and knowledgeable and the tour through town gave us an understanding of the food we cooked and savoured in the beautiful Tuscan farmhouse. Carmela, the chef, was a real character and a good teacher. The roast pork was particularly memorable. We also got to enjoy a spectacular view of Florence from the top of the hill on our way back. This was a great and delicious experience!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When I first saw how much it was, I wasn't sure if it would be worth it, but it was a bargain for all I did in a day. The market was so fun to walk through and Olivia, our tour guide, was friendly and passionate about this city. All the food was delicious and it was a wonderful day spent in the Tuscan Hill side.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

JUDIE United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was done by Walkabout tours and we had a wonderful tour. Our guides, Sandra and Martina were great and besides getting so much interesting and informative info about Florence and the history, the tour of the market and shopping for groceries was great. We loved the cooking class and learned a lot of techniques and loved actually making homemade pasta from scratch and cooking with the chef. It was by far our best tour and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour, was met by Olivia and given a tour of the city till we reached the Mercato Centrale where we bought fresh produce for cooking, it was very interesting and informative. We then took the bus to a beautiful farmhouse and cooked delicious food with Carmella, it was a super trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Olivia and Elisa were great hosts. Thanks very much

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family signed up for this tour after hearing rave reviews from a friend, and it proved to be our favorite activity of our vacation. The day began with a walking tour of Florence highlighting the best food and markets all while purchasing the necessary ingredients to cook dinner later that day. We then headed into the Tuscan Countryside to the Farmhouse where we were greeted by Chef Carmela. We cooked various types of food including appetizers, main courses, dessert and pizza! At the end of the day we savored in the fruits of our labor yum!. We highly recommend this tour because it presents a unique and fun opportunity to experience the best of Florence and Italy. Special thanks to Chef Carmela who shared the art of real Italian cooking, and to our tour guide Gloria whose eminent knowledge and fun-loving demeanor made the day all the more enjoyable. Thanks for a very memorable day!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Allyson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of our time in Italy! Our guides Olivia gave an excellent tour of Florence and market experience before heading out to the estate. We learned so much about Florence but also eating and drinking like an Italian. She and Gloria, along with the chefs were great teachers and so engaging! The food was amazing and we have already made one of the recipes that we learned! I would recommend to anyone going to Florence to make one day for this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Kathryn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Olivia, was wonderful and we really enjoyed our day in chef, Carmela's, lovely kitchen. The class was fun and informative, but not difficult. The meal was delicious and the view spectacular. I was disappointed, however, that there was no market tour on Sunday the markets are closed on Sunday, but it would have been nice to know this in advance. I would definitely recommend taking this tour/class on a Monday when the museums in Florence are closed, but the markets are open!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

davis_keith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour during our trip. Our guide, Elisa, was fantastic - funny, friendly, upbeat, and full of local knowledge. The tour included a small walking tour through Florence that was great for local tidbits of info that you wouldn't get on typical tours, grabbing an espresso at a cafe, buying vegetables from a small market, and then more supplies at the central market. Then, we hopped on a bus to go the farmhouse - a pretty short drive not too far from Michaelangelo piazza. The farmhouse was gorgeous, with a great view overlooking Florence. The chef her name escapes me at the moment was a bundle of energy she doesn't speak much English, so the guides translate for you, but she is fun and enthusiastic about her food. We spent several hours cooking and eating we made bruscheta, pasta with bolognese, pork loin, potatoes, gelato, and tiramisu. They even brought in special chefs to help us prepare our own pizzas, which we cooked in the outdoor wood-burning pizza oven. It was a long day, with basically no down time - it seemed like we were busy preparing food or eating our food we ate three times - once for the pizza, once for the pasta, and once for the pork. If you have the chance to do this tour, do it.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Colleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Of all the things we did in Florence, this was by far the highlight of our trip. We learned how to make Bruschetta, Bolognese sauce, pork loin with roasted potatoes, fresh pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato. Of course everything we made, we ate at the end and all was wonderful. Our tour guides Gloria and Lavinia were amazing, speaking perfect English and so very bubbly and gracious. Our chef, Carmella was wonderful as well. The day began with a walking tour of Florence and the most interesting historical information given by our guides. Then we started collecting the food at various stops along the way, sampling items such as truffle oil, Parmesan cheese, etc. The tour of the Mercato Centrale was amazing. We stopped about half way to rest at the Castello di Verrazzano where we received amazing coffee. Then up to the farm...this was the most well organized and efficient process I have ever experienced. You could take part in as much or little of the cooking experience as you wish. There were chairs all around, which made it very comfortable when we got tired. We were eating and drinking throughout the day, the pacing was wonderful. The culminating activity was a feast at the end of all the amazing foods that we made. The view from the farm was absolutely breathtaking. There are some steep steps that you will have to go up and down when coming and leaving the farm. The only thing I wish they would change is giving us the recipes sooner via email. We were told that we would get them in 3 weeks after the tour. I really wanted to begin making some of these items upon returning to the US while it is fresh in my mind and I'm still waiting for the email. I can't recommend this trip highly enough, it was an amazing day from start to finish!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Erica E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This cooking class was unbelievable. From the walk to the market, with our fabulous tour guide Molly to the moment we entered the property in Tuscany. The chef, Carmen, was professional, educational, entertaining, and beautiful. The food was of course EXCELLENT. We cooked and ate and cooked and ate and cooked and ate.........Excellent and unforgettable experience in Firenze! I tell all of my friends about our fabulous time, great people and our new love for this city....

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Ally B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour/cooking class was absolutely wonderful, I would do it again in a heartbeat! Sandra our guide was fantastic. She was so funny, friendly and knowledgeable, and the local market tour at the start of the day was so much fun. I learned so much while walking with Sandra, and then stopping to get all of our fresh ingredients for the cooking was amazing. The views from the farmhouse are incredible, its worth the trip alone just for that. But then the cooking! And the eating! It was all so delicious! I seriously cannot say enough wonderful things about this day! DO IT! You won't regret it!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

kelsey.brunton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I like to do a cooking class when traveling abroad. And I this was a great class! The farmhouse is absolutely stunning and you will enjoy every minute there. It's the best experience and opportunity you'll have to make all of the Italian classics. Grilling the bruschetta bread, tossing the pizza dough, rolling the pasta, and whipping the gelato - it's the Italian food lovers dream!! I should say that it was a fairly large group with 20 to 30 people but the space could accommodate everyone easily.

We had an amazing time with Elisa and Laviana. They were so generous with their time and such fun hosts. Thank you both!

The local market tour in Florence was excellent! It's worth the extra money. We learned about the history of Florence, stepped into an old church, and learned about bread and ordering coffee in Italy. This was a really fun part of the day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my favorite day of my 20-day trip. The trip to the central market to pick up ingredients was so much fun. The tour guides had such wonderful fun-chemistry with each other. We made several dishes, were given lots of wine and were even presented with certificates. The food was generous and included pizza, bruschetta, pasta with ragu sauce, roast pork, roasted potatoes, gelato, and another dessert that was terrific, but I can't remember the its name. The class area was state-of-the-art and comfortably accommodated everyone in the group. Everyone was encouraged to dig in and help make the food, but no pressure was put on anyone. What a exceptional day!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Brianna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Out of my 36 days in Europe this was my favourite day!! Our guide Lavi took us around Florence to the different markets to pick up our ingredients. We stopped at a coffee shop and she paid for our coffee. Then at the villa we made pasta, pizza, bruschetta, tiramisu all from scratch and then ate it!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I did this tour while in Florence on our honeymoon. It was definitely worth the price and highly recommended. You start the tour walking the streets of Florence learning about the history and incorporating food in all the information. We then stopped for a coffee and learned about how Italians drink coffee. Next you head to the market to get ingredients for the cooking class. After you get everything you head up to the farmhouse in Tuscany. The farmhouse is gorgeous and I loved being up in Tuscany. The cooking class is taught by Carmela, a true Italian chef who has a great personality and was such a character. The two guides Sandra and Gloria also assist and help as well as a few other helpers throughout the cooking. All the food turned out great and I'm so happy to have learned some new tricks about making great authentic Italian food. Sandra, our group guide on the walking tour was great and very personable. She also had a ton of knowledge about Florence and I definitely would recommend checking out this tour if you're in Florence and have an interest in Italian Food!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Johanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

During our 2 weeks in Italy this was THE Hilight of our trip ! it's a 7 hours worth every minutes. Visiting Florence, the Café, just the visite at the market we didn't do because of the rain but than at the farmhouse ! wow wow wow ! what an experience we cooked bruschetta, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, gelato all that in a magnific environnement and with a lot of Chianti vino ! I already recommanded it to friends who goes in August and they signed up for the class. We just wait for the recipes to impress our friends and family here in Québec ! I also have photos if you tell me how to do I will join them. Thanks again, good service, on time, good guides A

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was truly amazing! The staff at Walkabout Florence was excellent. Julian, our tour guide, was not only a local, but also had U.S. Background that made him very easy to follow and understand. He spoke both fluent English with slang and Florenzian. Since the market was closed that day he took it upon himself to give us a guided tour of the city on our way to the bus. We learned so much from him. All in our group were in awe of the tour, the food, really the whole experience. The chef was amazing and loves giving classes even though she did not speak English Molly and Julian translated and were able to help us with the cooking. The pizza chefs were top notch as well. We were stuffed when we left and enjoyed food and wine the whole day we were in the tour. I would not miss this tour if you are considering it for your time in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

beverley.gutierrez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was by far my favourite during my month long trip in Europe. Our guides, Molly and Julian were extremely knowledgeable, fun, enthusiastic and brimming with positive vibes.

The day started off with a really interesting walking tour to a local market to gather our ingredients for the cooking class. Led by Molly, she gave us an informative history of the Florentine food culture. We then made our way to a breathtakingly beautiful Tuscan farmhouse where we spent a super fun day with chef Carmella along with Molly and Julian who guided us through 6 delicious courses.

I highly recommend this memorable tour and have no hesitation in encouraging others to join it. Molly, Julian and Carmella make a great team who deliver a truly genuine, authentic tour with a lot of heart. It definitely had a familial feel about it with lots of laughter in the kitchen :

Thanks for the brilliant day Molly, Julian and Carmella!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

azhornitsky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite of the 9 tours that we took throughout Italy this was by far our favorite! I loved the walking food tour, learning the history of food in Florence and going to the market to get fresh food for us to cook with. Our guide, Lavina, was beyond great! She was a local and gave a great insight in to daily life of someone living in Tuscany. We then joined the other guide, Eliza, and went to the farmhouse to begin our cooking adventure with Carmela the chef. We learned a lot of techniques and loved the atmosphere the class created, everyone felt like a friend by the end of the class. A lot of laughing and even more eating! I definitely recommend this!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

lizanneperry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! I loved the entire day from start to finish. The walking tour around town and the markets was really interesting and informative and the cooking class fun and tasty. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in learning more about the Italian way of cooking. Yum!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

nanbrown2012

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! The walking tour of the markets was very interesting and we liked some of the places enough to go back again. The farmhouse was lovely and the chef, Carmella was warm, patient and friendly. She made learning fun. Sandy, our guide, was knowledgeable and easy to understand.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message