Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo dell'Opera del Duomo

Despite the name, Florence’s Museo dell’Opera del Duomo has nothing to do with opera music - “opera” also being the Italian word for creative works, in this case the artwork that was once inside the cathedral. The Museo dell’Opera del Duomo is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lstrayhorn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you can handle the steps this tour and the special access is well worth it! Part of the Duomo you cannot see in any other way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Lois

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

LOVED this tour. Our guide was great and the Duomo climb was not as strenuous as I thought it might be. The views from the top were amazing. Our guide made sure to point everything out ... getting a birds-eye view of the city was a perfect way to see the entire city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

j.fergusson31 New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed the tour and the operators and tour leader were friendly and accommodating. The Skip the Line got us into an area of the Duomo that other groups were unable to access. Don't underestimate the steep stairs and enclosed spaces....we had a couple in our tour that were unable to complete the climb. Well worth it if you can get to the top though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the experience. Tour guide excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Darlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We almost missed this tour and thankfully the tour operator called us and reconnected us with the group. We really appreciated this. The guide was knowledgeable and provided a lot of interesting information. The 450 steps to the top are challenging and when one of group could not make it, they were able to reconnect with group at the bottom and continue. The Baptistery was beautiful and the guides coverage of not only the doors but the mosaic ceiling was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

ljp529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Duomo is so beautiful, I highly recommend this tour! Climbing the Dome is well worth it. It is tiring, but the view from the top is spectacular. The Baptistry was also very interesting. We also stopped for gelato, which was apparently included in the tour. :).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Shirley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots of information from the guide and since the lines were super long, skipping them was perfect.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Pamela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a treat! Perfect tour! This climb is well worth it... Unique as you wind your way to the top but well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

jeffrey b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide Christina was amazing. The tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this! Christina was a wonderful guide and this was one of the best things we did. The views from the top of the dome are amazing and so worth the climb!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

kevingaither

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth it. It and #39;s crowded coming down which is a bummer. If you and #39;re claustrophobic this isn and #39;t for you. But for amazing views of Florence I and #39;d strongly recommend. We loved it. 463 steps up!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

MR D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour, guide Kristina was very informative and although there are a lot of stairs to climb, there was no hurry and you could do it at your own pace. The views from the top are worth the climb alone. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this tour. The tour guide was friendly, helpful and very well informed. She managed some chaotic fellow tourists with tact and good humour.
The views from the dome were amazing and helped me understand the lay out of the city
Wonderful to escape the lines and see things, especially the frescoes inside the dome, close up with an informative guide.
Don't do the trip if you can't climb
The ice cream at the end was good!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Andy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marco brought the city to life. Very funny guy too. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Todd D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing views at the top and the climb wasn and #39;t that bad. It and #39;s 463 steps and my wife was dreading it. However, she made it up just fine. You don and #39;t have to be in good shape to do it, but there and #39;s many very tight spaces. Very memorable tour. Don and #39;t miss the basilica and museum afterwards.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a terrific experience! The guide, Valentina, was superb. She was knowledgeable and interesting, with a fun personality. She escorted us through the cathedral and the baptistry and climbed with us through layer upon layer of the dome, explaining the history, the architecture, and the art as we went. She helped us take the perfect photos and pointed out landmarks from the top. An excellent tour and tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

catherinerhoff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! We got to see things that were off limits to general public, we saw the best of the best, our guide was fabulous! Highly knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Brittney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! We loved our tour guide and seeing the beautiful Duomo. The gelato was great, too! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Ronald y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

amazing experience walking up the 400 steps was quite hard but views brill

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Deirdre W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Is one of those things you have to do if you are in Florence, definitely Yes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Seeing Florence from the top of the Duomo was breathtaking! The stair climb was fun, although there were some very tight spots! Especially with other tours coming down while we were going up. But to see the dome fresco so close up was well worth the climb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour, wonderful views, and excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very worthwhile! Skip the massive line, backstage access, very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Overall, a very good value.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message