Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo dell'Opera del Duomo

Despite the name, Florence’s Museo dell’Opera del Duomo has nothing to do with opera music - “opera” also being the Italian word for creative works, in this case the artwork that was once inside the cathedral. The Museo dell’Opera del Duomo is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jeffrey b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide Christina was amazing. The tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this! Christina was a wonderful guide and this was one of the best things we did. The views from the top of the dome are amazing and so worth the climb!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

kevingaither

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth it. It and #39;s crowded coming down which is a bummer. If you and #39;re claustrophobic this isn and #39;t for you. But for amazing views of Florence I and #39;d strongly recommend. We loved it. 463 steps up!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

MR D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour, guide Kristina was very informative and although there are a lot of stairs to climb, there was no hurry and you could do it at your own pace. The views from the top are worth the climb alone. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this tour. The tour guide was friendly, helpful and very well informed. She managed some chaotic fellow tourists with tact and good humour.
The views from the dome were amazing and helped me understand the lay out of the city
Wonderful to escape the lines and see things, especially the frescoes inside the dome, close up with an informative guide.
Don't do the trip if you can't climb
The ice cream at the end was good!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Andy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marco brought the city to life. Very funny guy too. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Todd D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing views at the top and the climb wasn and #39;t that bad. It and #39;s 463 steps and my wife was dreading it. However, she made it up just fine. You don and #39;t have to be in good shape to do it, but there and #39;s many very tight spaces. Very memorable tour. Don and #39;t miss the basilica and museum afterwards.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a terrific experience! The guide, Valentina, was superb. She was knowledgeable and interesting, with a fun personality. She escorted us through the cathedral and the baptistry and climbed with us through layer upon layer of the dome, explaining the history, the architecture, and the art as we went. She helped us take the perfect photos and pointed out landmarks from the top. An excellent tour and tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

catherinerhoff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! We got to see things that were off limits to general public, we saw the best of the best, our guide was fabulous! Highly knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Brittney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! We loved our tour guide and seeing the beautiful Duomo. The gelato was great, too! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Ronald y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

amazing experience walking up the 400 steps was quite hard but views brill

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Deirdre W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Is one of those things you have to do if you are in Florence, definitely Yes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Seeing Florence from the top of the Duomo was breathtaking! The stair climb was fun, although there were some very tight spots! Especially with other tours coming down while we were going up. But to see the dome fresco so close up was well worth the climb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour, wonderful views, and excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very worthwhile! Skip the massive line, backstage access, very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Overall, a very good value.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Bennedetta was the best guide ever! Super nice and extremely knowledgeable! I would highly recommend this to anyone who is in good physical condition and is NOT claustrophobic in any way. You are climbing 463 steps of carved stones in very narrow stairwells that get smaller the higher you go. If that's not a problem, it's well worth the physical effort when you reach the top and the journey down is nothing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Probably the best thing we did in Florence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice small group of 6 people. Guide very warm and interactive, as well as knowledgeable. Excellent English skills. On the climb up to the top of the dome he made sure we could keep up and kept us together through the crowded places. The gelato at the end was a great touch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Marion D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour! We got to go behind the scenes where no one else was allowed! Excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Edward M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonio was absolutely great and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow! What a great tour. I did the tour on Sept 12th. The meeting point was easy to find. Only a short 5min walk to the Duomo. Our guide was Vanessa. She was very knowledgable and informative, without giving us too much information. The walk to the top of the Duomo is not easy, but if you're reasonably fit, you will get there. The steps are small and the area is confined. Sometimes you have to wait on the stairs whilst people coming down have to pass. The climb is well worth the effort. A bonus is being able to access the Terrace mid way through the climb. The views over the city are great from the top, and there is plenty of time to take it all in before the decent. The close up views of the paintings inside the Duomo are unforgettable, and the guides help in interpreting them is very helpful. To top it off after the Duomo tour there's a look inside the Baptistry next door. Overall, a great afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Philip E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour and our guide so much. She went over and beyond to relate the history of each location and the art. Ending with gelato was an inspired choice too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Gabriela was wonderful! Her passion for her town engaged all of s! The tour was well organized and timely. We will remember it forever! We took the time to locate the meeting p,ace ahead of time. Good thing because it was difficult o find.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

bob_mich.bethke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A long climb up, but so worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message