Central Florence is split by the Arno River. The main sights - the Duomo, the Uffizi, the Accademia - are on one side of the river, while the neighborhood known as the Oltrarno is on the other. “Oltrarno” actually means “beyond the Arno,” or “the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vickie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

we did this tour in October and really enjoyed it. The group was around 17 of us but we were all given ear buds and receivers so we could clearly hear our guide. We walked quite a bit but certainly manageable to any able bodied person. Not a good tour for those who have difficulties walking.

I loved how our guide was informative and helpful and open to questions. Her recommendations of places to visit, eat and tour on our own afterwards was also a treat.

The gelato stop was a nice treat but long lines.

This was my first Viator experience and won't be my last.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Pamela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour and a great introduction 6 Florence

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Carla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

our guide Gemma was wonderful. she took us to quaint local places with great food and atmosphere. highlight of our trip to Florence!

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

Nikkiday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We're so happy that we booked this tour. Historic Florence is teeming with tourists and walking through the crowds takes so much time. A bike tour makes it so much easier. You get a good overview of area in a much shorter space of time... especially when you have a guide that knows where she's going. Marzia was our guide and she was excellent. When you're visiting such a historical city, it's invaluable having someone who can bring the history to life for you. The same goes for the Academia Gallery. She provided context and we viewed the gallery in a manageable period of time. She was worth her weight in gold. Actually, she was worth more than her weight in gold. She was short. :
In fact, we so enjoyed the Florencetown tour, we booked another two tours!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Brisco330

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Linda did an excellent job of talking about the wines of Tuscany and we got full value for or money. Sadly, we were there were only two of us on the tour.

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

mimicogal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

After our initial disappointment that we missed the bike tour our bus from the port of Livorno was stuck in traffic - word to the wise ..allow more than two hours transit time from port excursions we were relieved that Florencetown accomodated us by rushing us to a walking tour in progress. Valentina, our guide was delightful. She was friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and say to understand. She invited questions and happily did her best to answer any questions we had. We visited many important sites including, Piazzas Santo Spirito, Republica, Vecchio, a view of and travel across Ponte Vecchio. I gained incredible understanding of the Medici family and political history of Florence. We were treated to a delicious gelato at a lovely little gelateria near Palazzo Pitti. In the afternoon we joined Valentina again for a tour of the Accademia - Florencetown arranged our tickets and we were able to get in very quickly. Valentina gave us lots of descriptive background on the paintings and sculptures that we saw. She guided us around the David sculpture with fine detail and description. Finally we ended our tour in the gothic section of the gallery where we were guided through a comparison of the changes in gothic and Renaissance pieces. Overall - Bravo! We had an excellent experience.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Beatrice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Adrienne took our group of six to three bars in central Florence, two fairly close to the Piaza Republica and the other across the river in an area where locals are more likely to visit. At each place we sampled local wine and appetizers. Really delightful evening and tour. Adrienne did a great job ...we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

Roberta R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely marvelous. The dinner was wonderful and the concert was even better. The musicians we fantastic performers and the church is a lovely venue for the music. I recommend this tour to anyone who likes classical music. The value is terrific. My only criticism is that we were not told there are steep steps down into the restraurant. We had an elderly Italian friend with us and the steps were almost impossible for her. I would like to have known this beforehand and we could have chosen a different restraurant. Overall, a wonderful evening!

Doing what: Florence Concert and Dinner

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved learning about the history of Florence, and our tour guide knew an awful lot about it. I'll be looking for Viator tours the next time I'm travelling abroad.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic Tour!

Our guide was Luca who was incredibly knowledgeable about local wines and wines throughout Italy. He took us to three wine bars where we sampled different wines, bruschetta, meats, cheese and brioche buns with truffle!

I would recommend this tour, it is the perfect length, very informative and an all round good time. Bring on my next trip to Florence!

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

Patricia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour and guide was understandable and informative. Lots of walking but most enjoyable.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Amanda. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was so friendly and informative. The walk was quite easy to do. I would do this one again.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour was very fun and entretaining. The guide was incredible and she was very helpful, we had to call my grandfather because he was only going to meet us at the Accademia and she let us use her phone and helped us get in touch with him. The Gelato place was delicious and skiping the line at the Accademia was very helpful.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Davidkingsland2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bike tours are the way to go...and when they include gilato...a sure win.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Valentina delivered a very relaxed and friendly tour. It was just right.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Krystal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was an expert in all areas of wine and apps and really showcased a wide selection for us. She gave us a lot of history and information on the Italian culture and really made us feel like locals instead of tourists!

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

Megan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Marzia was excellent! Very upbeat and informative. We really enjoyed the tour and it added a lot of color to our Florence experience.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really the best way to see Florence in a short time. My 7 yo son did fine despite the crowded streets and hot weather. As promised- helmets, water bottle, ear phones provided. Gelato was good too. David tour was less fun but still necessary to see. Really hot waiting in line to get inside

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Valentino did a great job navigating the group through Florence. She gave us a lot of details on the city. It also doesn and #39;t hurt that she took us to a great Gelato place half way through. I recommend this tour and the lemon cream flavor gelato.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

firpark91

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was excellent value. Opted for set menu which was excellent and it just got better when we arrived at concert. Beautiful setting and the singing was superb. Quite emotional at times. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Florence Concert and Dinner

Uma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was every penny. A great experience. Excellent dinner followed wonderful concert. Both tenor and soprano were very good. The pianist who was also the producer of the show was fantastic.

Doing what: Florence Concert and Dinner

Uma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience. The dinner was excellent and the concert was very very good. It was also for a worthy cause and we enjoyed every moment. A memorable evening.

Doing what: Florence Concert and Dinner

DivaJeri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much fun. Went back to every place multiple times. Loved Lucca!

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

Mrs L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wow !!!!! Met on time by a lovely girl named gema only me and friend on tour , very informative and excellent food samples and wine well worth the money

Doing what: Aperitivo Tour of Florence

Edward I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A good tour, and a good way to get oriented around Florence, Ivana was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message