Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Palazzo Vecchio

Historic Palazzo Vecchio ('old palace') has been at the political heart of Florence for more than 7 centuries. With its late-medieval crenellated roofline and soaring defensive tower, it dominates the lovely buildings and sculptures of Piazza ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide was the reason we enjoyed the tour so much. She knew so much and really wanted to be sure we saw and heard everything about the history of Palazzo Vecchio and the tower. The aperitivo was so pleasant that we had dinner at the same restaurant the next evening.

Doing what: Florence Palazzo Vecchio and Arnolfo Tower Sunset Tour with Optional Dinner or Aperitivo

Leonard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an exceptional tour. Our guide Elisa was fantastic. She was a very knowledgeable and informative. We were a little disappointed b/c the tower itself was closed but we were able to go to the level just below that and had beautiful views of Florence and the Duomo. Highly recommend this tour at sunset. Other than the view from Piazzale Michelangelo this is best view at sunset.

Doing what: Florence Palazzo Vecchio and Arnolfo Tower Sunset Tour with Optional Dinner or Aperitivo

LAILA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The decision to book this tour was probably the best decision taken during our Florence trip. Having your own guide gives you the attention and level of detail and knowledge that you want. When you have possible the best guide ever, Ms. Anna Ristori, you cannot go wrong. She proved to be a wealth of information and knowledge about EVERYTYHING: history, art, culture, and even shopping and the best places to eat. Despite the fact that she literally poured out information, she was also extremely generous with all of our questions and we had lots of them Florence is quite a crowded city with tourists vying for the best spot to appreciate a work of art; Ms. Ristori took great pains to ensure that we had the best spot from which we could appreciate what we were looking at and also to be comfortable and hear her explanations clearly over the noise ofthe crowds. Most importantly, she is a kind and considerate person - my mother is quite elderly and cannot walk easily nor stand for long periods. Ms. Ristori made sure that my mother was always comfortable, found places for her to sit when we had been standing for a while. At the Uffizi Gallery, she made sure that my mother had access to the elevator and talked to the people in charge to make sure they were available to help, if need be. Cannot thank her enough!! She is the best. I do not know if you can ask for her by name. Also special thanks to our driver who assisted my mother getting in and off the car, and who himself was extremely kind and knowledgable. Thanks to both!

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

LAILA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The decision to book this tour was probably the best decision taken during our Florence trip. Having your own guide gives you the attention and level of detail and knowledge that you want. When you have possible the best guide ever, Ms. Anna Ristori, you cannot go wrong. She proved to be a wealth of information and knowledge about EVERYTYHING: history, art, culture, and even shopping and the best places to eat. Despite the fact that she literally poured out information, she was also extremely generous with all of our questions and we had lots of them Florence is quite a crowded city with tourists vying for the best spot to appreciate a work of art; Ms. Ristori took great pains to ensure that we had the best spot from which we could appreciate what we were looking at and also to be comfortable and hear her explanations clearly over the noise ofthe crowds. Most importantly, she is a kind and considerate person - my mother is quite elderly and cannot walk easily nor stand for long periods. Ms. Ristori made sure that my mother was always comfortable, found places for her to sit when we had been standing for a while. At the Uffizi Gallery, she made sure that my mother had access to the elevator and talked to the people in charge to make sure they were available to help, if need be. Cannot thank her enough!! She is the best. I do not know if you can ask for her by name. Also special thanks to our driver who assisted my mother getting in and off the car, and who himself was extremely kind and knowledgable. Thanks to both!

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

erical

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We completed this tour on a very wet day in Florence which meant we were unable to view Florence from the Arnolfo Tower. we were offered a viewing the next day but unfortunately this was not convenient for us.Regardless our tour guide was very good with a genuine love of what she was doing. It was a small group which always helps. I would have rated this tour a 5 if we had been able to complete the tower tour.

Doing what: Florence Palazzo Vecchio and Arnolfo Tower Sunset Tour with Optional Dinner or Aperitivo

Niraj M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

we did not opt for the apetivo. The guide dutifully picked us up outside the Gucci cafe and got our tickets .She showed us around the Vecchio place but conveniently forgot to mention that the tower would not be accessible because of a fashion event. Eventualy we requested the guard to let us up the tower which he did after he confirmed with the booking office downstairs . The guide took us up the tower and left us...that's it. We could not go further up the tower because of the event later in the evening . On return my wife visited the booking office and she was berated saying that the visitors were informed to visit the tower first as it would close early and then visit the palace rooms.
But the View from the tower is spectacular and the tickets easily available at the booking office on the ground floor.

Doing what: Florence Palazzo Vecchio and Arnolfo Tower Sunset Tour with Optional Dinner or Aperitivo

MRS C D H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I thought I did rate this and commented. The museum was great, but the tower was closed and another room. I did say that you should check whether these places are opened as we did pay for this in the tour.
Nt sure whether the secret passage was included or separate this was closed too.

the dinner was ok.

Doing what: Florence Palazzo Vecchio and Arnolfo Tower Sunset Tour with Optional Dinner or Aperitivo

Karola B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The value for money was terrible. Our guide, while a lovely woman, spoke rather limited English. I asked the tour to be mindful of our three children aged 14,11 and 8 when tailoring the tour, which didn't really happen. I expected, for a full day private tour, a nice intro explanation into Florence's history and how it became the capital of the Reneassance. Instead we got sporadic highlights of a church here, a palazzo there. It even got to a point when asking about a gorgeous hillside building, we got the response it was a historical structure! The best part was the Uffizzi and the Accademia tour as our guide clearly appreciated art but didn't make up for the rest. The lunch at the selected restaurant was efficient and good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message