Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazzale Michelangelo

If you want to catch those iconic, sweeping views of Florence you've seen in postcards, head to Piazzale Michelangelo. From an elevated position overlooking the city, the fabulous views take in the city's fortified walls, the River Arno, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gail S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had such a great time on this tour the bikes made it all so easy. Alessia hope that's spelt right was a great guide, she took good care of us all whilst negotiating the streets through Florence. The views from the organic farm, Plazza Michelangelo and the church were stunning. The tour ended at a wine bar with delicious food and wine. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

PETER M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Buses on time and good commentary, doesn't go right through the city centre because of the pedestrianisation. Take the night time bus up to Michelangelo piazzale for the views over Florence.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Roslyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get full tour of Florence. Be sure and take the route to Fiesole and Piazza Michelangelo- fabulous views!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Victoria was our guide and was extremely informative and personable. Biking is the only way to more fully cover this beautiful city. The view from Piazzale Michelangelo was incredible. This was one of our top excursions in Fierenze.

Doing what: Panoramic Sunset Bike Tour

ohiospartan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fun tour. It had been years since the wife and I had ridden a bike so it definitely took practice time. Alicia was great and allowed us the practice on the pedestrian street in front of their shop. Since their shop is off the beaten path, there were no pedestrians in our way. These bikes are motorized, so when you pedal it runs the motor for a few seconds and accelerates the bike. So you do not want to be pedaling if you are going to do a sharp turn. So we practiced and then took off. The start of the tour is along a busy road along the river and has a lot of cars and scooters. But we just followed Alicia and stayed to the right or in some situations we were in the road like a car or scooter. Most of the tour was on bike paths or country roads. The organic farm was interesting as well as the Piaza Michelangelo overlooking the city. We then went to the highest point in Florence and had a very scenic break. Then back to the shop, where we dropped the bikes and then Alicia took us to a bar around the corner for cold drinks, bread, meat and cheese. I highly recommend Alicia at FloRent thru Viator.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent way to see any city and Florence is no exception. You can cover 3 routes around the city and into the hills to the village of Fiesole over 24 hours. Excellent views of Florence from the stop at Piazzale Michelangelo.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour through Florence, climbing up to piazza di michelangelo very, very scenic! and ending with gelato and a quick trip back to the center of the city. I would consider this light to moderate exercise, as the grade of the hill is not too steep, and the bikes had gears. The guide was informative and very willing to take our picture at the various stops. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Panoramic Sunset Bike Tour

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The best of all of our tours during our 12 days in Italy, this is not to be missed! Gabriele was fantastic. He adjusted each of the bikes, and showed us how to use them. The electric bikes take a bit a getting used to, but are amazing and take all the work out of going up hills. We started at the bike shop in old-town Florence and made our way up to an olive farm in the hills near Friesole called Fattoria di Maiano. Gabriele was careful to take routes away from cars where possible and keep tabs on us. He also explained interesting sites and landmarks along the way. Don't try to be macho, wear a helmet, trust me! From there, we biked over to Piazza Michelangelo for some incredible views of Florence, and a bit further up to the Benedictine Monastery of San Miniato al Monte, where we took in the amazing church and heard the Gregorian chants for Vespers. The monks opened the shop afterwards and we bought some snacks. Gabriele was funny and entertaining, but creative and persistent with inevitable equipment issues, and took us to a local wine bar afterwards.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was exceptional and our tour guide Lenora was amazing with her knowledge of Florence, her detailed explanation of Michelangelo David and other works of arts at the Academia was very enlightening, her enthusiasm brought with it a contagious appreciation of these wonders of the world that can never be felt by viewing a picture on television or book, please pass along mine and my Girlfriend appreciation for a great tour

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the Piazzella di Michelangelo, the panoramic view of the city was amazing! The art and history of Florence is well worth the visit and in our opinion, there is no better way to experience it than with a professional guide. Our guides, both on the bus and at the Galleria dell' Accademia, were very knowledgeable, professional, and informative. The artistic talents of Michelangelo are incredible, and nothing is a better example of that than his famous David. Seeing it in person and up close was the opportunity of a lifetime. I highly recommend this tour. An additional benefit is that it's also a great way to beat the long line for entry to the Galleria dell' Accademia.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

dnmlanc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I wish I could rate this tour and our tour guide Alicia spelling? a 6 5 is not high enough!! She was so kind and informative and made sure we understood the easy electric bikes thoroughly before we left. These bikes made the ride through the Tuscan hills so easy! Anyone can do this trip and should. Seeing the hills, mansions, and hilltop farms made us understand why so many people love Tuscany. We enjoyed seeing the city from the Michelangelo plaza and the Wine Bar was wonderful!! Alicia keeps the tour small to give personalized attention and we really appreciated that - it was like a private tour! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat! Thanks for a wonderful time.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

CLAUDE J P D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful and enlightening...spending a day with the likes of David, Leonardo, Michelangelo, Botticelli, Dante, ....what more could you ask for on a beautiful summer day? One of the many highlights of our Italian tour.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Angelica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour and opportunity to see the lovely Tuscan countryside when in Florence. We booked this on our first day in Florence, and it afforded us a great opportunity to orient ourselves to the city and escape the oppressive crowds of tourists in the downtown core. We met in front of a coffee shop near the Piazza della Signoria and Alyssia led us the block or two to their bike office. It took only a couple of minutes to get the hang of them in their quiet street as we had never tried them before. Although it was a scorching hot day, the e-bikes allowed us to sail in the breeze and up into the hills of Fiesole with minimal effort. You wont believe how easily you ascend relatively steep terrain! In addition to visiting the organic olive oil farm Fiesole which, unluckily for us was closed, due to it being a Sunday, we whipped over to the opposite heights and views from Piazzale Michelangelo, as well as the monastery: San Miniato al Monte. There we heard the hauntingly beautiful Gregorian chant tones emanating from the church which had begun evening vespers. There is a little shop there which sells goods made by the monks. We were able to take some astounding pictures throughout due to our birds eye views. We had ample opportunities to take breaks, drinks, and pictures. To cap it off, we were given wine and snacks at the foot of Ponte Vecchio. Alyssia was a lovely, friendly tour guide and we really appreciated the way she shared information about her life in Italy. We wish her and her partner much success in their business.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Allison E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vanessa, our guide, was WONDERFUL! The whole tour from start to finish was like a dream. The perfect mix of touring and leisure. Riding through the city on our bikes was not only fun, but informative as well. The trip up to the Piazza Michelangelo was not too hard - very relaxing actually and scenic. Getting to the top was the best reward - what a view! Once we got back down we were treated to the most delicious gelato - YUM! It was the best we had on our visit to Italy. Can't say enough good things about Vanessa, this tour and company. If I could give six stars, I would!

Doing what: Panoramic Sunset Bike Tour

genecordova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Florence. It was great fun riding the Electric Bikes and the tour itself was amazing! You will visit a olive tree farm and also go to the top of Fllorence to Michelangelo's Piazza and the views are fantastic. Our guide was excellent and so very personable. She told us much about history and also made us feel right at home. The wine and snack at the end of the tour is a great way to wrap up the day. We HIGHLY recommend this tour! You will NOT be disappointed.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Gregor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were only in Florence for one day, the bus was a great way to see the whole city, especially seeing Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo, before getting off to walk around specific areas.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an excellent way to get an overview of Florence. Being able to transfer from an A tour to a B tour was a real plus.We used it all day and went back at night to the sunset at Piazza Michelangelo.We highly recommend this tour to become acquainted with Florence and to plan your other outings. The English audio was well done!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jeanne Marie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Carolina was very knowledgeable about our favorite city in Italy! The bus tour gave us a beautiful overview of the city and the walking tour gave us a closer look. Loved seeing the statue of David and learning so much about Michelangelo .. His life and his work

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

mnorozco09 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a great way to see the main sites of Florence when you're tired of walking and need some relax time. My favorite part of the route was the drive up to Fiesole and Michelangelo Piazza. Such amazing views of Florence! I highly recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first tour using Viator. It was truly wonderful, with an intelligent, knowledgable guide, who had an obvious passion for his city, and all of the wonder that is Florence. We started on a hill overlooking the city; and, what a view of Florence! Our guide was able to point out numerous landmarks from this viewpoint. We had plenty of time to view Florence from many angles and heights. From there, we returned to our bus, and historical buildings and areas were pointed out to us. The bus dropped us off, not far from the Academia and we were able to walk through a part of the city near the Duomo and famous shopping areas, piazzas. His antidotal comments were fabulous, and you felt like you had an "inside track" to his city. The tour culminated at the Academia and the David, among other beautiful works, by Michelangelo, and it was magnificent! After the tour, we were able to visit other areas within this magnificent building. It was a very worthwhile tour, especially for those new to Florence. We were impressed by our guides' s amazing knowledge base and friendliness.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Mlep8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour to see big part of Florence. The access to the Accademia was so easy and all the details our guide gave us about the history of Michelangelo and the statue of David were amazing. Very good and complete tour.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Michelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was a wealth of information and that made all the difference. We had a nice panoramic view from Piazzi Michelangelo and the full day included a great lunch at a local place bookended by both the Uffizi and Academy tours. Well worth it!

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Fernando USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I fell in love with this city. The Hop-on Hop-off took us to all the areas we wanted to see in 3 days. Make sure to get off at "Piazzale Michelangelo" where you will have an amazing panoramic view of the city. I took one of the best pictures of Florence from this plaza.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

MARY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Good tour and interesting introduction to michelangelo's David.

Doing what: Florence Sightseeing Tour with Skip-the-Line Options to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message