Florence ATTRACTIONS See all

Pitti Palace (Palazzo Pitti)

The Pitti Palace was built by rivals of the powerful Medici family in the mid-1400s. A century later, the Medicis took over the huge Renaissance palace, and it was the home of Florentine rulers until the early 20th century. Today, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Terrific guide. Amazing details shared. Really knew her art!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Dee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you come to Florence for the best, then you can't miss this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Luciana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved our guide, she was very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

sean_calif

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our two top tours taken of the many we booked. all due to a wonderful guide named Frederica. Bright, sharp, well spoken young woman who made the tour enjoyable and informative. No real lines to skip, honestly, but the tour was worth it,,,,,definitely wouldn't have come away knowing so much on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

NATALIE W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Pitti Palace is beautiful. Enjoyed the explanation of the art work, without the tour guide, we would not have understood what we were looking at. Would recommend this tour. Although not part of this tour the best part of our day was the Boboli gardens, which you pay extra for, but would highly recommend. It's an opportunity for some quiet time in a very busy city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Marc B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Our guide was excellent but unfortunately we did not get to see many of the rooms requested and for that reason we were somewhat disappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Linda K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This was mildly interesting. Guide was good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

sanford M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

AMAZING GUIDE - SHE MADE THE TOUR MEANINGFULL - WAS OBVIOUS SHE LOVED WHAT SHE WAS DOING. SHE GETS 10 STARS.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

gestaudt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our tour with Roberta who was extremely knowable. The time flew past quickly as she gave us great background on the Medici and the art they collected. It was a most enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

erical

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On a wet day in Florence we completed this visit which was a pleasant change from the busy and crowded streets we were trying to navigate.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and it was a worthwhile tour with less than 10 participants. The art was lovely and the history of the building was great to learn. I would suggest that it would be great to include the gardens as part of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant Palazzo. Highly recommend Roberta as a guide, she is passionate and very knowledgable and a lovely sense of humour. Such a privilege to see the legacy left by the Medici dynasty.
As a tip, if you pre-book a guided tour and are using a e-voucher don't go to the ticket office. The ticket office will only issue you with a ticket if you are not taking a guided tour. Look for a 'tour guide', holding a folder, near the entrance line. You will be issued with a paper ticket by that person and introduced to your tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgable and enthusiastic. She told stories about the Medici family that related to the paintings we were seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Brenda C B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had never seen this section of the Pitti Palace before and was so thrilled to see it. Our guide is an art expert and was full of information. The Pitti is much more beautiful in the interior than Versailles. Of course the exterior grounds and exterior architecture of Versailles are superior, yet the Pitti wins the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Elizabeth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. We would never have appreciated the real and hidden wonders of the Pitti Palace without him. It was great and I will not hesitate to recommend the tour to my friends.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Vincent F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative of the history and culture of Florence. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting the city.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Moira F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Roberta, the guide, was terrific. For a start she identified us as her guidees amongst a sea of fellow touristsas soon as she walked up to the front of the Pitti Palace. The next two hours were spent lapping up her knowledge and enthusiasm. They flew by. By the end we felt both educated and entertained. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

thichvu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very good

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Audra T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was good. We had already done a night tour and there was A LOT of the same information. The way Viator describes the tours, it appears as though you are getting two different tours. Not really.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Alice.ho

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was pretty good, took us through this 2 hour walking tour to a few of must-go places in Florence and provided useful information, history, background....etc.
I highly recommend this walking tour, especially for the first-time visitors in Florence to help them determine what they want to see in more depth within a short stay.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

ronald s

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

There really wasn't any line to skip. The guide did a very good job of explain the Pitti history as we toured. Thanks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

William C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour guide was fine, but it was more difficult to hear her as this operator does not use wireless headphones. She had to speak up over other people and it wasn't always easy to hear. She appeared knowledgeable and was pleasant. It was worth doing, but if I did it again, it would be with an operator that uses the headphones which we had for two other walking tours with another well known operator in Firenze.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Victor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was excellent. She had vast knowledge of art and history and it showed. Wonderful tour of a wonderful museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Pitti Palace and Palatine Gallery Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message