Visitors to Florence will no doubt walk along and cross over the river that runs through the city center; and while it’s possible to see the city these days without paying much attention to the river, that wasn’t always the case. The Arno River was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 248 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour. We completed this on our first night in the city and it was a great introduction to beautiful Florence.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Gina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great introduction to Florence! Met Elisa, our guide, outside the Florencetown tour company office which was easy enough to find. There were only 8 of us and we left for the Arno just a minute or two late. We did have to walk through Florence fairly fast. Once we got to the Barchetto, it was smooth sailing! Elisa was very friendly and knowledgeable. Since our cruise was at 7pm, it was almost sunset so it was quite scenic and the 45 minute ride was just super relaxing and lovely. The small glass of prosecco was a nice touch.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was very enjoyable and a nice vantage point to see things from different perspective. Guide was great.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour was very fun and entretaining. The guide was incredible and she was very helpful, we had to call my grandfather because he was only going to meet us at the Accademia and she let us use her phone and helped us get in touch with him. The Gelato place was delicious and skiping the line at the Accademia was very helpful.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Aine Ahearne Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour - great way to get to know the history of the city. Our guide Alexia was excellent funny and informative.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Davidkingsland2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Bike tours are the way to go...and when they include gilato...a sure win.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Raymmond S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just excellant, nothing more needs to be said.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

H M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highlight of our Florence visit.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

LAURA-MAY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walking tour was a brilliant introduction to Florence where we saw the beauty of this city in the evening and was given a download on the complex families of Florence. Tour guide Elisa? was knowledgeable and friendly. Gelato was absolutely delicious and we, certainly, kept in mind of the tour-guide's advice on this Italian's specialty.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Akshay N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Angelo is a great guide, who is knowledgeable, energetic, fun, and a genuine story teller. His grasp on the dark side of Florence is absolute, and when he mixes it with his wit and humour the tour just becomes epic. It was well worth the and the gelato that we got in the end was the cherry on the cake. We went to the gelato place every night after that.
I would recommend this tour to anyone who does not mind walking for two hours and then enjoying a nice gelato.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Delphyne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved this tour!! I had Prosecco and took this in the evening which was wonderful! The man operating the Barchetto was amazing as he offered more information and gave us some tips for local things near our hotel. Please use him more often!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

rgarnett928

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much fun! Learned so much about Florence and our guide, Angelo, was so entertaining and fun. We loved learning about the lesser known aspects of Florentine life. Wouldn't miss this one!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Ravi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was highly knowledgeable. Took us to unknown places and showed us history within the lanes of Florence which is difficult to access on our own. total value for money. Would like to do it again

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really the best way to see Florence in a short time. My 7 yo son did fine despite the crowded streets and hot weather. As promised- helmets, water bottle, ear phones provided. Gelato was good too. David tour was less fun but still necessary to see. Really hot waiting in line to get inside

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Ramona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This should be your first tour when you arrive in Florence! I will book this tour again with the same guide!!! The Gelato at the end was a plus. Thank you

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting and fun tour. Angelo our guide was very engaging, with perfect English. I expected the gelato at the end to be lame, but was actually one of the best we've had in Italy. We went back there the next day for more.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Gaynor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Angelo tells a great tale!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Elefteria O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Angelo who gives this tour is amazing! He is super nice, entertaining and a little bit mysterious -

I really recommend this tour as it gave me a whole new perspective on Florence and its history!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Totally fun, exciting behind the typical areas and very interesting stories

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing DARK, FUNNY, AND ADULT, tour. Wonderfully, historical and entertaining.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Ephakey15

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Oh my gosh! This tour is fantastic! I did this my first night in Florence and what a great introduction to the history of the place. This tour isn't about art or the beauty of Florence but gives you a great guide to the different families of medieval Florence and how the city was constructed. The tour guide is fantastic and has such enthusiasm for the topic, then to top it off you get a gelato at the end from an amazing gelateria. 100 recommend!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

PATRICIA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so nice and fun thanks to our guide. Had champagne and learned things as we went down the river. So relaxing and interesting, loved it!!!!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, Angelo was a very good guide who really enjoyed telling about the history of Florence

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Alexandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic! We did this on our first night there and it was a great way to explore an unfamiliar city. If you are a lover of medieval politics like I am, then this tour is definitely for you, but the material is not so arcane that it would leave the other members of your party disinterested. Plus, the gelato at the end is definitely some of the best I have ever had in Italy. Angelo was a spectacular guide to Firenze! :

For the other planners and itinerary leaders out there: the timing of this tour also has a logistical advantage. It starts at 7:45 PM, which gives you plenty of time after the other attractions close to grab dinner. In our case, we got into Florence later in the day, so having something interesting and engaging to do before the day was over definitely helped us to feel as though we had still accomplished something, despite the long day of travel.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Colin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great introduction to Florence, well informed genuine guide.
Not too much walking and a gelato to finish!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message