Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ricky H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a fantastic time we had with Walkabout Tours . I booked the class so our 13yr old son could join in and it was the best thing we did in Florence. From the start of the tour with our guide Lavinia Lavi walking through the the streets of Florence buying our food for the Cooking Class and Lavi talking about the history of the place to meeting up with Gloria and the rest of the class and going to the Farmhouse. Chef Carmella and her staff were wonderful. The whole day was fantastic, we would definitely book another tour with Walkabout Tours and would love to go back and do another Cooking Class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

john.lassitter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful experience! Our guides, Molly and Gloria, gave a fantastic tour of the city while we shopped for the ingredients for our cooking class. Then, we arrived at the kitchen, and our chef, Carmela, taught us how to cook a wonderful Italian meal. The day was relaxing and mixed with good food, humor, and new friends. A must while in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I spent 5 days in Florence and this class was the highlight of our trip. Freddy, our tour guide was informative, hospitable, and funny.

The Farmhouse is gorgeous. The chef is adorable Italian lady. The cooking atmosphere is fun and playful. I highly recommend this tour if you are in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Göran S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thank you Lavinia, Gloria and Isaac! Very warm and friendly people, excellent local knowledge with a good sence of humor. And cooking skill of course. Excellent guides and cook.

Fantastic organization. Everything was planned and ready when it was supposed to.

First class facility for the cooking class on the hills overlooking Florence.

The bruschetta was heavenly. Striking, in a good way, was the difference in what the pizza tasted like compared to all other pizzas we have eaten through out the years. Nothing comes even close to the deliciousness of this one.
Homemade pasta, roasted pork and desserts. The perfect end to a fantastic day.

We had a wonderful time.

Goran and Natalie

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laurie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am so glad I decided to book this for my daughter and myself. I've taken a lot of tours in my travels but this one was by far the best. Our guides Valeria and Mollie were amazing and you could tell how much they loved their jobs. Valeria did an amazing job taken us around Florence to buy staples for our class. I've been coming to Florence for 20 years and learned so much from her. The next day we went back into the market back tracking to all the places she brought us too!

The cooking class was incredible. Set high in the hills the view was breathtaking and the cooking facility so top notch. Making so many fabulous dishes in the company of such wonderful people we met was a day we will never forget. Can't wait to get the recipes and recreate them for our family back home! Thanks again for such a wonderful experience. We will forever cherish these memories.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Art

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super Tour. There were 2 separate groups to start the tour. Our Guide Elisa and the second guide Sandra where super. We walked thru the center of Florence and picked up the supplies we needed for the cooking class. Then onto the bus to the Farmhouse where we meet our Chef Isaac. The class it self was superb Learning how to make Italian dishes would do it again if we are ever back in Florence. Thank you once again Elisa and Sandra

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

CHRISTOPHER R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class-local market tour in Florence. Our guide Gloria was great and gave our group a tour of Florence with interesting historical references as we traveled to the local market, while also arranging for us to get coffee at a local patisserie on the way. Then, we jumped on the bus, crossed the Arno River, and arrived at the Tuscan farmhouse. What a great afternoon! We made bruschetta, pizza, pasta, sauce ragu, desserts, and more, while enjoyed wine pairings. We all contributed to the meal preparation, and I especially liked making the pizza where Gloria captured a me on my iPhone video flipping the pizza!.The location was beautiful, with stunning views of the area to the south of Florence. All in all, a great day and experience for us!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This class was my favorite thing about my Florence Vacation! It is so much more than just a cooking class. There is a bit of a walk to start out but we are given a lot of Florence history and walk around many historic buildings. Our guide, Molly, was fantastic! She is not native to Florence but she has sure done her homework. She is from Britain so no problem with English. We went to a street market to buy fresh vegetables. included in the price of the Class, there is no money needed We visited a bakery and saw an old herbal pharmacy. We went to the central market for meat, freshly ground and cut as we order it, and we sample cheese that we also buy. It was a wonderful introduction to Florence for our first day. Then we get on a bus for the country. We meet up with another group so there was 30 total. On the way to the farm house, we were given an idea of what we would be doing and what to expect when we got there. There was a bit of walking and stairs. the kitchen was a great set up for multiple cooks and prep areas. We worked in groups at times and singles at times. We all chopped vegetables for the pasta sauce. We made brushetta, We made individual pasta that was all cooked together. Every 2 people made a pizza that was cooked out in a brick oven. We sat outside and had pizza and beer. It was delicious!! The pork from the butcher was put in to cook and also the potatoes. Then we made tarimisu and gelato. Each person made their own. We were served dinner by our tour guides with the food we cooked all day. There was plenty of Chianti flowing all day. It was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing although we did a lot of work, but everyone helps. The cook was so much fun singing and dancing. The scenery was beautiful and the food was wonderful. An unforgettable experience! They will be emailing the recipes and we each get to keep our aprons! There is a place to put purses and bags when we get there.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Taylor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the first thing I booked for my tour in Italy and could not have been more impressed. I was a little hesitant at first since I was by myself and everyone else in the class was traveling with a friend or loved one but Elisa, the rest of the team, and the group really settled my nerves. We were too busy learning and laughing to ever feel like I was singled out! I learned so much more about Tuscan cooking and the city of Florence than I could get anywhere else. Plus, the farmhouse is set up high and you're able to really see the city centre of Florence - it's an indescribable beauty! I cannot thank this crew enough for an amazing last day in Italy! Definitely book this tour!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

JUDIE United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was done by Walkabout tours and we had a wonderful tour. Our guides, Sandra and Martina were great and besides getting so much interesting and informative info about Florence and the history, the tour of the market and shopping for groceries was great. We loved the cooking class and learned a lot of techniques and loved actually making homemade pasta from scratch and cooking with the chef. It was by far our best tour and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

jrostad2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Would definitely recommend! Our tour host Olivia was very knowledgeable and fun. The cooking class was tons of fun. The cooking instructor only spoke Italian, but this just enhanced the experience. Olivia and GloriaI think translated everything. Lots of hands on experiences and lots of food and wine! Well worth the cost! Do it if you have a day in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laura L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of our trip in Florence. We had an incredible time making pasta, tiramisu, and eating it too! The chefs were great teachers and were very hands-on and fun throughout the process. We even got a book at the end with recipes, things to do in Florence, and where to eat during our trip. I would recommend this class to anyone looking for a half-day cooking class that won't suck up the entire day in Florence, for those visitors only having a select amount of days in this area.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

o.izteleuov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

OMG!!! This was the most fascinating experience I ever had. Guys, guys, if you have Florence in you trip plan, book this cooking class. You will have amazing cooking experience with some history related to Toscan cuisine. 10/10 will come again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Prepare yourselves for a most AWESOME experience. This was probably the most fun my wife and I had while in Italy. The day starts off with a walking tour of the city where your tour guide goes into the finer details of Florence that you would otherwise have missed. Our Guides, Gloria and Martina were absolutely incredible. You will walk through Florence and get a little bit of history and appreciate the beauty of the town, all while going shop to shop, picking up ingredients for your appetizer / lunch / dinner. That's right, a lot of eating, so don't make dinner reservations on the day you go on this tour.

After a fun and informative tour of the city we were bussed up to the farmhouse that has the most amazing view over the city. The view is truly incredible, the pictures alone fall short of capturing the beauty. Once you arrive you will meet Carmella, the Chef, who guides you through making some very tasty dishes. Carmella is so full of energy and such a happy person, she is an incredibly fun teacher. Carmella, Gloria, and Martina worked in perfect harmony to provide us an amazing experience. To label this as just a cooking class is short selling the entire event. If you are in Florence this experience is one that you cannot pass up

To Gloria, Martina, and Carmella, thank you so much for everything, we couldn't of hoped for a more wonderful experience!!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

kelsey.brunton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I like to do a cooking class when traveling abroad. And I this was a great class! The farmhouse is absolutely stunning and you will enjoy every minute there. It's the best experience and opportunity you'll have to make all of the Italian classics. Grilling the bruschetta bread, tossing the pizza dough, rolling the pasta, and whipping the gelato - it's the Italian food lovers dream!! I should say that it was a fairly large group with 20 to 30 people but the space could accommodate everyone easily.

We had an amazing time with Elisa and Laviana. They were so generous with their time and such fun hosts. Thank you both!

The local market tour in Florence was excellent! It's worth the extra money. We learned about the history of Florence, stepped into an old church, and learned about bread and ordering coffee in Italy. This was a really fun part of the day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I did this tour while in Florence on our honeymoon. It was definitely worth the price and highly recommended. You start the tour walking the streets of Florence learning about the history and incorporating food in all the information. We then stopped for a coffee and learned about how Italians drink coffee. Next you head to the market to get ingredients for the cooking class. After you get everything you head up to the farmhouse in Tuscany. The farmhouse is gorgeous and I loved being up in Tuscany. The cooking class is taught by Carmela, a true Italian chef who has a great personality and was such a character. The two guides Sandra and Gloria also assist and help as well as a few other helpers throughout the cooking. All the food turned out great and I'm so happy to have learned some new tricks about making great authentic Italian food. Sandra, our group guide on the walking tour was great and very personable. She also had a ton of knowledge about Florence and I definitely would recommend checking out this tour if you're in Florence and have an interest in Italian Food!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Johanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

During our 2 weeks in Italy this was THE Hilight of our trip ! it's a 7 hours worth every minutes. Visiting Florence, the Café, just the visite at the market we didn't do because of the rain but than at the farmhouse ! wow wow wow ! what an experience we cooked bruschetta, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, gelato all that in a magnific environnement and with a lot of Chianti vino ! I already recommanded it to friends who goes in August and they signed up for the class. We just wait for the recipes to impress our friends and family here in Québec ! I also have photos if you tell me how to do I will join them. Thanks again, good service, on time, good guides A

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was truly amazing! The staff at Walkabout Florence was excellent. Julian, our tour guide, was not only a local, but also had U.S. Background that made him very easy to follow and understand. He spoke both fluent English with slang and Florenzian. Since the market was closed that day he took it upon himself to give us a guided tour of the city on our way to the bus. We learned so much from him. All in our group were in awe of the tour, the food, really the whole experience. The chef was amazing and loves giving classes even though she did not speak English Molly and Julian translated and were able to help us with the cooking. The pizza chefs were top notch as well. We were stuffed when we left and enjoyed food and wine the whole day we were in the tour. I would not miss this tour if you are considering it for your time in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

azhornitsky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite of the 9 tours that we took throughout Italy this was by far our favorite! I loved the walking food tour, learning the history of food in Florence and going to the market to get fresh food for us to cook with. Our guide, Lavina, was beyond great! She was a local and gave a great insight in to daily life of someone living in Tuscany. We then joined the other guide, Eliza, and went to the farmhouse to begin our cooking adventure with Carmela the chef. We learned a lot of techniques and loved the atmosphere the class created, everyone felt like a friend by the end of the class. A lot of laughing and even more eating! I definitely recommend this!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Uma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The cooking class experience was great. My daughter and I had a wonderful time learning the secrets of making authentic Italian Pasta, Pizza, Bruschetta, Tiramisu and gelato ice cream. Our guides Julian, Val and Carmella were amazing. The venue on a hill top was a superb location. The Pizza chefs were very friendly and inspiring. They taught us everything very well. On the whole, it was a memorable experience and we recommend it to everyone visiting Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This day was so much fun, one of the highlights from our 2 weeks in Italy!!! And a nice break from visiting the great architecture and history and crowds in Florence. Molly and Julian were fantastic hosts, so energetic and funny, they made the day for all of us. Molly shared some interesting history of Florence and Tuscan cuisine that we hadn't learned elsewhere. And we met some nice fun people from all over the world, enjoyed wine and learned some culinary skills suitable for all skill levels, while having many laughs.
Note - we took a Vespa tour with a separate tour company and there was a cooking class in progress at that location. It was not the amazing setting and kitchen that we had, and lacked the energy and level of activities that we experienced. So if you are looking at cooking classes, choose this one...

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an amazing day !! I would recommend this cooking class to all that visit Florence .
The Knowledge of the Guide Martina was first class as she walked us around the ancient streets of the city and the location and beautiful surroundings of the cooking class venue was breathtaking , Thankyou

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Denise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This outing was one of the best experiences I've had. The walking tour in Florence was interesting and informative, and fun! The cooking class was in a beautiful setting and was very well done. I enjoyed the cooking, the chef and instructor, Carmella, was excellent and engaging. The tour guide, Lavinia, was outstanding. Everyone involved with this tour through Walk About Florence was warm, friendly, intelligent and helpful. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time at the cooking class! Our guide/chef, Giuseppe, was wonderful, as were the rest of the staff at the cooking school. It was a great evening and one of the highlights of our time in Florence!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful staff - lots of fun and very informative. Learned many things and ate the food we cooked after - some of the best we had in Florence - along with some lovely Classico Chianti

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message