Italians are known for their food, and each province has its specialties. But Florence is widely hailed for its Tuscan-style cuisine, seemingly sent from Heaven itself. And while eating out is a singular pleasure, it can get expensive and leave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour experience ever! There, I said it. The experience was possibly one of the best that we have ever had on any vacation. We took the Walkabout Tours Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse on September 10, 2016 with Freddy as our guide. Freddy showed us wonderful hospitality and gave us a great walking tour as we bought our ingredients for the meal. The farmhouse was very much modern and comfortable for handling our group during our meal prep. Our group was made up of folks from the US, Australia, and the UK. It was a fun filled afternoon while we each took turns making our meal. Finally, we sat together in an outdoor dining room that overlooked a beautiful valley in the hills of Florence. We then had our favorite meal of our vacation, drank incredibly delicious Chianti Classico, and finally finished the meal with our own handmade Tiramisu. Overall, my wife and I felt that the value of this tour was well worth the cost and time. Freddy and crew made us feel completely welcome and provided an experience that we will always treasure. This tour should be on everyones to-do list when coming to Florence. You wont regret it!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

azcstle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My Mom and I took a 3 week European vacation, including Italy, Czech Republic, Germany, and England ... this class was the ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT of our entire vacation! We had so much fun buying groceries in the Florence Marketplace, with our guide Elisa, before heading to the beautiful farmhouse to spend the rest of the day cooking, drinking, eating, and hanging out with a group of about 24 people. Our awesome Chef, Carmela assisted us in cooking more food than we thought we could possibly eat, including bruschetta, beef ragu, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and more! Thank you Elisa, Carmela, and Walkabout Florence! We can't wait to come back and do it again. Buon Appetito!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Ashlea Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was SO fun! We really enjoyed the atmosphere and Davide was such a great instructor. Definitely would recommend doing some sort of cooking class while in Florence, but we did especially enjoy this one!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Michele T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The cooking class my daughter and I took in Florence was fabulous! Alan and Guseppe were very knowledgeable and taught the class with a lot of humor. We started the class with a trip to the market where we bought the meat and learned a lot about the local products. Then we made 2 pastas and 2 sauces as well as tiramisu. The food was amazing and I look forward to making the recipes at home. Also the book they leave you with is very informative. I wish I had it earlier in our trip. Take this class! It was fun!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Dominic S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gloria and Lavi were wonderful guides and Carmella was a great teacher. We started with a walking tour of Florence and the market which was both fun and interesting. The cooking class at the farmhouse in Tuscany was incredible fun and the food was delicious. Don't bother making dinner reservations for later, you will be stuffed.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Valérie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day with this cooking class tour! While we had fun, we learned to make a big italian meal that I was able to replicate once at home for my guests... this is a wonderful souvenir from this day and from Italy! Thank you Julian and Walkaboutflorence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Leisha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

David was a great teacher and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the market and cooking class! It was great to have valet parking when we arrived at the office in Florence (extra 41€).

We would definitely choose another cooking tour with this company. Wish we had time for the Pizza/Gelato class!

Doing what: Chianti Semi-Private Cooking Class at a Tuscan Villa with Market Visit

sloss.mesha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I wish I could give this class 10 stars! Amazing! I did multiple activities during 3 weeks in Italy and this topped the list for sure. Explored Florence with our super friendly guide Sandra, gathered fresh ingredients, learned to cook from the awesome Carmela, and then ate our delicious creations!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Cristina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a FABULOUS experience! Valeria, Sandra and Carmela are INCREDIBLE, so attentive and eager to make your experience special. Loved the brief tour of gourmet Florence on our way to buy ingredients. Super fun and delightful cooking class. My husband and I laughed, cooked and made friends. PERFETTO!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Gregory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a day! Started off with a walk through some of the more significant historical areas of the city centre with detailed explanation from Julian en route to a variety of shops where the vegetables, meat, cheese and everything else we required for our day was purchased. We jumped on to a small bus and were soon out of Florence into the countryside 10 minutes or so. What a fabulous farmhouse/kitchen we were presented with panoramic views and spacious preparation, cooking and dining areas. We prepared, cooked and ate bruschetta, pasta, ragout, pizza, roast pork and potatoes, tiramisu and gelato and it tasted fabulous if I don't say so myself. To refresh us while we prepared and ate, Chianti Classico and Perroni filled our glasses. We had Isaac our chef to guide us, Julian and Molly our guides to assist us, two pizza chefs to show us how to prepare and cook real pizza and great support staff who presented us with an immaculately clean kitchen at the start and throughout the day. Everyone participated, ate and laughed through the day. An excellent day that will long be remembered. Thank you Walkabout Florence tours. Aussie Aussie Aussie. Oi Oi Oi.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome experience and I highly recommend a cooking class during your trip to Florence. After we did this pizza/gelato class we tried to book a different one but they were all filled up. My 7 year old nephew loved the class, and it was his favorite day of the entire trip. My parents, and my husband also really enjoyed. It was definitely one the highlights of our trip as well. The cook was awesome and friendly and funny.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Maxwell B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome cooking class! We learned a ton, ate well and had amazing views of Florence. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Ricky H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a fantastic time we had with Walkabout Tours . I booked the class so our 13yr old son could join in and it was the best thing we did in Florence. From the start of the tour with our guide Lavinia Lavi walking through the the streets of Florence buying our food for the Cooking Class and Lavi talking about the history of the place to meeting up with Gloria and the rest of the class and going to the Farmhouse. Chef Carmella and her staff were wonderful. The whole day was fantastic, we would definitely book another tour with Walkabout Tours and would love to go back and do another Cooking Class.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

john.lassitter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful experience! Our guides, Molly and Gloria, gave a fantastic tour of the city while we shopped for the ingredients for our cooking class. Then, we arrived at the kitchen, and our chef, Carmela, taught us how to cook a wonderful Italian meal. The day was relaxing and mixed with good food, humor, and new friends. A must while in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I spent 5 days in Florence and this class was the highlight of our trip. Freddy, our tour guide was informative, hospitable, and funny.

The Farmhouse is gorgeous. The chef is adorable Italian lady. The cooking atmosphere is fun and playful. I highly recommend this tour if you are in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Göran S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thank you Lavinia, Gloria and Isaac! Very warm and friendly people, excellent local knowledge with a good sence of humor. And cooking skill of course. Excellent guides and cook.

Fantastic organization. Everything was planned and ready when it was supposed to.

First class facility for the cooking class on the hills overlooking Florence.

The bruschetta was heavenly. Striking, in a good way, was the difference in what the pizza tasted like compared to all other pizzas we have eaten through out the years. Nothing comes even close to the deliciousness of this one.
Homemade pasta, roasted pork and desserts. The perfect end to a fantastic day.

We had a wonderful time.

Goran and Natalie

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laurie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am so glad I decided to book this for my daughter and myself. I've taken a lot of tours in my travels but this one was by far the best. Our guides Valeria and Mollie were amazing and you could tell how much they loved their jobs. Valeria did an amazing job taken us around Florence to buy staples for our class. I've been coming to Florence for 20 years and learned so much from her. The next day we went back into the market back tracking to all the places she brought us too!

The cooking class was incredible. Set high in the hills the view was breathtaking and the cooking facility so top notch. Making so many fabulous dishes in the company of such wonderful people we met was a day we will never forget. Can't wait to get the recipes and recreate them for our family back home! Thanks again for such a wonderful experience. We will forever cherish these memories.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Art

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super Tour. There were 2 separate groups to start the tour. Our Guide Elisa and the second guide Sandra where super. We walked thru the center of Florence and picked up the supplies we needed for the cooking class. Then onto the bus to the Farmhouse where we meet our Chef Isaac. The class it self was superb Learning how to make Italian dishes would do it again if we are ever back in Florence. Thank you once again Elisa and Sandra

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

CHRISTOPHER R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class-local market tour in Florence. Our guide Gloria was great and gave our group a tour of Florence with interesting historical references as we traveled to the local market, while also arranging for us to get coffee at a local patisserie on the way. Then, we jumped on the bus, crossed the Arno River, and arrived at the Tuscan farmhouse. What a great afternoon! We made bruschetta, pizza, pasta, sauce ragu, desserts, and more, while enjoyed wine pairings. We all contributed to the meal preparation, and I especially liked making the pizza where Gloria captured a me on my iPhone video flipping the pizza!.The location was beautiful, with stunning views of the area to the south of Florence. All in all, a great day and experience for us!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This class was my favorite thing about my Florence Vacation! It is so much more than just a cooking class. There is a bit of a walk to start out but we are given a lot of Florence history and walk around many historic buildings. Our guide, Molly, was fantastic! She is not native to Florence but she has sure done her homework. She is from Britain so no problem with English. We went to a street market to buy fresh vegetables. included in the price of the Class, there is no money needed We visited a bakery and saw an old herbal pharmacy. We went to the central market for meat, freshly ground and cut as we order it, and we sample cheese that we also buy. It was a wonderful introduction to Florence for our first day. Then we get on a bus for the country. We meet up with another group so there was 30 total. On the way to the farm house, we were given an idea of what we would be doing and what to expect when we got there. There was a bit of walking and stairs. the kitchen was a great set up for multiple cooks and prep areas. We worked in groups at times and singles at times. We all chopped vegetables for the pasta sauce. We made brushetta, We made individual pasta that was all cooked together. Every 2 people made a pizza that was cooked out in a brick oven. We sat outside and had pizza and beer. It was delicious!! The pork from the butcher was put in to cook and also the potatoes. Then we made tarimisu and gelato. Each person made their own. We were served dinner by our tour guides with the food we cooked all day. There was plenty of Chianti flowing all day. It was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing although we did a lot of work, but everyone helps. The cook was so much fun singing and dancing. The scenery was beautiful and the food was wonderful. An unforgettable experience! They will be emailing the recipes and we each get to keep our aprons! There is a place to put purses and bags when we get there.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Taylor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the first thing I booked for my tour in Italy and could not have been more impressed. I was a little hesitant at first since I was by myself and everyone else in the class was traveling with a friend or loved one but Elisa, the rest of the team, and the group really settled my nerves. We were too busy learning and laughing to ever feel like I was singled out! I learned so much more about Tuscan cooking and the city of Florence than I could get anywhere else. Plus, the farmhouse is set up high and you're able to really see the city centre of Florence - it's an indescribable beauty! I cannot thank this crew enough for an amazing last day in Italy! Definitely book this tour!!!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

JUDIE United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was done by Walkabout tours and we had a wonderful tour. Our guides, Sandra and Martina were great and besides getting so much interesting and informative info about Florence and the history, the tour of the market and shopping for groceries was great. We loved the cooking class and learned a lot of techniques and loved actually making homemade pasta from scratch and cooking with the chef. It was by far our best tour and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

jrostad2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Would definitely recommend! Our tour host Olivia was very knowledgeable and fun. The cooking class was tons of fun. The cooking instructor only spoke Italian, but this just enhanced the experience. Olivia and GloriaI think translated everything. Lots of hands on experiences and lots of food and wine! Well worth the cost! Do it if you have a day in Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laura L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of our trip in Florence. We had an incredible time making pasta, tiramisu, and eating it too! The chefs were great teachers and were very hands-on and fun throughout the process. We even got a book at the end with recipes, things to do in Florence, and where to eat during our trip. I would recommend this class to anyone looking for a half-day cooking class that won't suck up the entire day in Florence, for those visitors only having a select amount of days in this area.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

o.izteleuov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

OMG!!! This was the most fascinating experience I ever had. Guys, guys, if you have Florence in you trip plan, book this cooking class. You will have amazing cooking experience with some history related to Toscan cuisine. 10/10 will come again!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message