So much can be said for Rome and the surrounding south of Italy. But those who would sing the praises of its cobbled alleyways, ancient aqueducts, and bustling air of Italian joie-de-vivre, can only help but fall in love with its sister, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Norma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fun day with a great tour guide seeing the sights of Florence!!

Doing what: Florence Segway Tour

Orestes E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Liked the 3 route options given- allows for better choices; the 90 min walking tour of Florence at 6pm was perfect for a hot summer day. Pisa, Sienna Chianti and San Gimigliano tours were great too! Our Sienna walking tour guide was very knowledgeable as she and #39;s a history and arts major graduate.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

murphyjp Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our Electric Bike tour of Florence and surrounding countryside. Our guide, Gabriel, was very attentive, ensuring we had smooth passage around both the streets and country roads, and was very knowledgeable about beautiful Florence. The Electric bikes made some of the more challenging hills almost effortless and suitable for most people who have had some previous experience riding bikes. The glass of wine enjoyed at a local wine bar was a fitting end to the trip and rounded the day off beautifully.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A fun and informative trip. It was well worth it to get some facts about Florence and Anneca
Was a lovely tour guide. I would strongly recommend this bike trip for a first day in Florence .

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rachel was awesome. We love segways and have done them 5 times before. Florence is a network of cobblestoned alleys and streets that do not run parallel. As well as the usual tourist crowds, we had a marathon in the main square, a demonstration happening with a police escort plus a cruise ship in town with extra tourists. Rachel managed to navigate around all these obstacles and gave us the history on all the main attractions plus free time in Santa Maria Novella square which was a blast. This is an awesome way to see a great ancient city and have fun at the same time. Thank you Rachel. A couple of minor suggestions. Toilet facilities at the office would be welcome, a complimentary bottle of water would be great and allow extra time to find the meeting point, not easy but that is typical of Florence. We got a lot of stunned and envious looks from people as we went along with a few people wanting to make a book for themselves. We saw more on the segways in two hours than you would all day on foot.

Doing what: Florence Segway Tour

rschantz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and I would definitely recommend this day trip from Florence for anyone who likes wine, or even just likes a drive through the hills of Chianti and into the area south of Siena. Our tour guide, Luca, was a delight, and very knowledgeable. He was very pleasant and personable, and was outgoing and friendly. We stopped at 2 outstanding wineries - one in Chianti Castellina and another near Montalcino. We also stopped in Greve and saw the main square of this typical Chianti town. Luca was a great driver and was open to doing whatever the group wanted. He never tired and kept all of us very engaged. There was never a dull moment -- everyone on the trip a small group got to know each other, and we had a great time as a group, and a great shared experience with Luca. The wineries we stopped at were wonderful - and it was such a treat to sample wines that would grace the tables of fine Florentine restaurants. Our hosts at these wineries treated us like family and were clearly professionals at making wine. These wineries were family run, and had a charm that only a family organization can give. But these wineries made top-flight wines, and a lot of wine.

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip from Florence Including Chianti Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michelle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour for our first day in Florence! Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Guergana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very vibrant and so different. We loved the places, but unfortunately, the places like this are full of people like us. Too crowded. You have limited time, only to taste some of the best parts of this region. The boat trip connecting some of the villages was wonderful. Unfortunately, the bus we travelled to and from Florence was old, not very clean, and with no good AC. It was a very hot day so it was very uncomfortable to travel. Our guide Luca was very friendly and polite, but not very good as a tourist guide I am afraid. You can't learn much from him. Also, the groups are huge and that's what makes it so unwieldy to move around.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Jewel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stefano was our wonderful tour guide for our Florence trip.. The guide who gave us a tour of the magnificent duomo Brunelleschis Dome, Giottos Bell Tower and Accademia Gallery was very thorough and quite interesting. Loved Michelangelos David sculpture, Madonna and Child by Botticelli and the sculptures by Michelangelo Quattro Prigioni depicting prisoners trying to escape from the marble from which they are carved. Both guides spoke English and spanish very well. We enjoyed touring the city and had a relaxing Florentine lunch. Lots of time for shopping 1 and half hour. The bus was very clean and the scenic drive was spectacular. This day tour is not to be missed!

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

M Carter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The day we took our tour it was rainy so we did not get to take the boat from Manarola to Vernazza. However the tour was still great and conveniently the quickest way from Firenze to Cinque Terre. Overall it is the best way to see CT from Florence.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Misti C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of this tour for me was seeing the church where St. Francis ministered in the 1200's. That said, there were a lot of other beautiful sights along the way. It's important to know that both of the towns visited are hilltop towns, so not only is there a lot of walking- it's uphill. Was fine for us, but may not be ideal for someone elderly or with any sort of mobility issues. Our tour guide was nice, and the one who showed us around Assisi was knowledgeable. We enjoyed the tour overall - maybe would have liked to have more time in Cortona. It was raining the whole day, so that was a bit of a downer, but that wasn't the tour or guide's fault of course. This is a good and fairly inexpensive tour that will take you places from Florence you may not have had the opportunity to access.

Doing what: Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The best of all of our tours during our 12 days in Italy, this is not to be missed! Gabriele was fantastic. He adjusted each of the bikes, and showed us how to use them. The electric bikes take a bit a getting used to, but are amazing and take all the work out of going up hills. We started at the bike shop in old-town Florence and made our way up to an olive farm in the hills near Friesole called Fattoria di Maiano. Gabriele was careful to take routes away from cars where possible and keep tabs on us. He also explained interesting sites and landmarks along the way. Don't try to be macho, wear a helmet, trust me! From there, we biked over to Piazza Michelangelo for some incredible views of Florence, and a bit further up to the Benedictine Monastery of San Miniato al Monte, where we took in the amazing church and heard the Gregorian chants for Vespers. The monks opened the shop afterwards and we bought some snacks. Gabriele was funny and entertaining, but creative and persistent with inevitable equipment issues, and took us to a local wine bar afterwards.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Adele G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour I think was extra special as we were the only 2 people on it at this time of day early start so we had our own private guide an tour - saw everything relevant in Florence to the Dan Brown book and Guila our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable she made the tour. Now home and reading the book again makes it even more vivid and brings the book to life

Doing what: Dan Brown 'Inferno' Tour of Florence

pammyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We went on this tour on our last day in Florence and we all agreed that it was the best way to end our trip. It was a beautiful day for seeing this amazing collection of coastal villages. A little disappointed that the boat tour was cancelled because of the choppy seas but all in all a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Alice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very good. The tour took us all over Florence. It gave us a good start for the rest of the day on our own.

Doing what: Renaissance Florence Walking Tour

Stacy M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fantastic day with Gabriel touring around Florence. We particularly loved riding up in the hills. Bikes are super easy to operate and Gabriel is a delightful guide.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Hung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The local tour company selected by Viator is top notch the morning hotel pick-up was right on time, and the day trip to Florence from Rome was excellent, especially the tour guide in Florence was well prepared and knowledgeable, as matter of face, she was from Florence with ultimate knowledge about the history of Florence.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

COLIN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well worth doing the first day in Florence. We stayed on the bus first for the complete tour of one hour, then went round again in order to get off and on the bus at the places we wished to see more. It was excellent.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The city sightseeing hop-on hop-off tour was excellent. The stops are convenient and the bus was clean and audio working well. English-speaking attendants and polite and courteous. No complaints! Priced fairly and an excellent way to get about the city of Florence. A three day ticket isn't much more than a one or two day ticket and it is well worth it as a means of transportation around the city.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience, we almost decided not to do this tour due to the time commitment as we were only in Florence for 3 nights. Cinque Terre was one of the highlights of our Italy holiday. Tour guide was knowledgeable and genuinely interested in each of his guests. Breathtaking scenery, would absolutely recommend thus one.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceptional tour of the Cinque Terre. We only had one day to see the area and this tour was a perfect blend of convenience, information, and relaxation. Adrianno speling? was our guide from Florence and he was fabulous!!!! He had everything timed out and met us when/where he said he would be every time. This tour exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice day trip to see some of the more influential areas of Florence. The tour guide was very passionate about the city and was a great resource. We got to see the statue of David, then we saw some of the town squares. Lunch was very good with several portions of pasta, then a meat and potato dish, and finally dessert. Finally we had about an hour on our own to shop or frequent one of the town pubs. Very good experience.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

nancy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A delightful way to get out of the busyness of Florence and see a lot in a day! The tour of Siena was great, although it would have been nice to go inside the duomo. San Gimignano is a great little town. The dinner was absolutely wonderful. And our tour guide, Elizieo, was very kind and full of interesting information about the area, history, etc.

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip with Chianti Dinner: Siena and San Gimignano

Chris M Gilmore G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am so happy that we decided to book this trip. We only had a few more days in Florence and were pretty exhausted from all the activities of the past three weeks, so had sort of decided that we had had enough. So glad that we changed our minds. The villages were beautiful and delightful to visit. So much fun to travel by bus, boat and train. The tour guide was great - didn't talk us to death! We had lots of time on our own in each village to explore and go where we chose. I highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Leslie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing bike tour! My friends and I did this tour the first day we were in Florence. A perfect way to see several Florence sights in a small amount of time, gain knowledge about the history of the city and get a great idea of where you may want to spend more time. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message