So much can be said for Rome and the surrounding south of Italy. But those who would sing the praises of its cobbled alleyways, ancient aqueducts, and bustling air of Italian joie-de-vivre, can only help but fall in love with its sister, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Phoebe C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour to end our vacation with! Jose was a very knowledgable tour guide and has a great sense of humor, even at 0700!!! He told us where to go to get awesome pictures and even more great views! We were able to go to four out of the five fishing villages and were lucky enough to have good weather! The bus was very comfortable and our driver got us safe to and from Florence! Great tour, great experience, great tour guide, great day!!! Highly recommend to others to do this tour....just check the weather first!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

tksstav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We too three different day tours from Florence and this would have to be the second best, close to number one. Very interesting. Tour guide did a great job in keeping it informative and interesting.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Wendy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My friend and I were looking for a quick tour of the city since we used Florence as a home base for a couple day trips. To our surprise the two hour bike tour was our favorite part of visiting Florence! The tour guide ivanka was awesome and she even bought us a gelato that was included in the nominal tour price. There were 6 of us in the group and the only advice I have is to watch out for the scooters and the stupid people texting and walking. We went at 6pm and was perfect because the ponte vecchio was beautifully lit up at night : definitely would do it again!!

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

Theresa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fun, informative, and a wonderful experience overall. Our tour guide, Yaris, was great. We'd highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for an all-day trip from Florence to the Cinque Terre area!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Semi-Private Day Trip from Florence

Pamela United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When we arrived in Florence it was raining for our originally scheduled tour, and the office was able to change it to the next day. We had a great time. Our guide was incredible. I just wish we could remember her name. We loved the tour and have recommended it to several friends who are going to be in Florence soon. We were able to see all of the highlights of the city and learn a lot about the history. I highly recommend this tour to everyone!!

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

Brian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the seven days my wife and I were in Florence we took the Viator Emilia-Romagna Day Trip with Museo Ferrari Admission and Food Tours and it was an outstanding day one of the highlights of our 12 days in Italy. We only had seven people on the tour and we had an excellent driver/guide, Luca Marrocchella who spoke perfect English. Luca first drove us to the town where the Ferrari museum is located and before going to the museum we were able to drive a Ferrari Formula One simulator and choose which Formula One race course we wanted to drive. For an additional fee, we could also drive one of several models of Ferrari out on the street. Driving the simulator was good enough for me feeling driving the simulator was well worth the price of the day tour. We then had free time at the Ferrari museum before driving to a country restaurant for an excellent meal with wine. Then on to a tour of a family Balsamic winery where learning the production process was extremely interesting. Following the Balsamic tour, we visited a family Parmigiano cheese producer a large producer of Parmigiano in Italy. The lady who owns the cheese facility did not speak English, however, Luca was able to interpret the explanation of the cheese process and also have all of our questions answered. Luca made this overall day tour one which we will not forget - we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Emilia-Romagna Day Trip with Museo Ferrari Admission and Food Tours from Florence

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the bus tour, once I got on board. I would suggest making this a single day experience. Don't book any other tours that day. Our only problem was that the starting time for the buses is 9 am, but that is from the train station. We were waiting at a stop near the end of the line at 845 am and the bus didn't arrive in our area until after 930 am. If this is your first time in Florence,I would suggest riding the A line twice, and the B line twice, maybe getting off here and there. If you get on top in the front row the picture taking is AWESOME!

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Molly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

BRILLANT day!!! Tour guide was excellent and we learnt so much on our drive there and back from Florence. Definitely worth the money to go in a small group of 8. Only did 3 villages but got the boat ride which was fantastic. Highly recommend this Tour

Doing what: Cinque Terre Semi-Private Day Trip from Florence

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cinque Terre is beautiful, and in order to see so much of it in one day, going with a guide and bus ride from Florence is a major headache saver. Because it is difficult to get from one of the Cinque Terre cities to the other, and it is a long trip from Florence, it was well worth our time and money to have a tour guide take care of all of those details. Our tour guide Antonella was very informative and kept us on pace. There is not much to do in most of the Cinque Terre cities other than look around, but in the city you stop for lunch, we highly recommend renting a chair and umbrella and going into the water.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

jlucastillo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to experience Florence in a day. Be warned, the leather shop they take you at the end of the tour is a tourist trap, even with the 20 discount if you pay cash. You are much better off buying in the small shops outside.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant day - Can't remember our tour guides name, but he was wonderful. Long drive from Florence, but well worth it! Don't miss Cinque Terre - there's nowhere else like it.
PS - If you can book during the summer months you get the boat trip, which is only 10 mins between islands, but the views are amazing!!

Doing what: Cinque Terre Semi-Private Day Trip from Florence

Chuck United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour. Our tour guide, Jakamo, knew the areas very well and was a really valuable part of the tour. Each town was unique and really gave us a good sense of Italy that we couldn't have gotten in Florence or as part of a large group, and the winery visit was a nice addition. Definitely a fun and interesting day.

Doing what: Siena, San Gimignano and Chianti Wine Region Small Group Day Trip from Florence

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Seeing the Cinque Terre wasn't even listed as an optional excursion on our Northern Italy tour, but on our bucket list a long while. We took this day trip on the scheduled free day on our tour. The weather was perfect, and we saw 4 villages. A must see, but VERY crowded, which was a little anxiety producing in the beginning, because we worried about getting separated from our guide. But he was wonderful, and didn't leave a location until we all identified ourselves. We enjoyed the colorful villages, and beautiful coast line, Even though it is several hours from Florence, time on the road was scenic, and passed quickly. A long day, but very reasonably priced, and very worthwhile. If you are considering this , we also closely monitored the weather conditions before we booked this tour.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Norma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fun day with a great tour guide seeing the sights of Florence!!

Doing what: Florence Segway Tour

Orestes E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Liked the 3 route options given- allows for better choices; the 90 min walking tour of Florence at 6pm was perfect for a hot summer day. Pisa, Sienna Chianti and San Gimigliano tours were great too! Our Sienna walking tour guide was very knowledgeable as she and #39;s a history and arts major graduate.

Doing what: Florence City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

murphyjp Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our Electric Bike tour of Florence and surrounding countryside. Our guide, Gabriel, was very attentive, ensuring we had smooth passage around both the streets and country roads, and was very knowledgeable about beautiful Florence. The Electric bikes made some of the more challenging hills almost effortless and suitable for most people who have had some previous experience riding bikes. The glass of wine enjoyed at a local wine bar was a fitting end to the trip and rounded the day off beautifully.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A fun and informative trip. It was well worth it to get some facts about Florence and Anneca
Was a lovely tour guide. I would strongly recommend this bike trip for a first day in Florence .

Doing what: Florence Bike Tour

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rachel was awesome. We love segways and have done them 5 times before. Florence is a network of cobblestoned alleys and streets that do not run parallel. As well as the usual tourist crowds, we had a marathon in the main square, a demonstration happening with a police escort plus a cruise ship in town with extra tourists. Rachel managed to navigate around all these obstacles and gave us the history on all the main attractions plus free time in Santa Maria Novella square which was a blast. This is an awesome way to see a great ancient city and have fun at the same time. Thank you Rachel. A couple of minor suggestions. Toilet facilities at the office would be welcome, a complimentary bottle of water would be great and allow extra time to find the meeting point, not easy but that is typical of Florence. We got a lot of stunned and envious looks from people as we went along with a few people wanting to make a book for themselves. We saw more on the segways in two hours than you would all day on foot.

Doing what: Florence Segway Tour

rschantz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour and I would definitely recommend this day trip from Florence for anyone who likes wine, or even just likes a drive through the hills of Chianti and into the area south of Siena. Our tour guide, Luca, was a delight, and very knowledgeable. He was very pleasant and personable, and was outgoing and friendly. We stopped at 2 outstanding wineries - one in Chianti Castellina and another near Montalcino. We also stopped in Greve and saw the main square of this typical Chianti town. Luca was a great driver and was open to doing whatever the group wanted. He never tired and kept all of us very engaged. There was never a dull moment -- everyone on the trip a small group got to know each other, and we had a great time as a group, and a great shared experience with Luca. The wineries we stopped at were wonderful - and it was such a treat to sample wines that would grace the tables of fine Florentine restaurants. Our hosts at these wineries treated us like family and were clearly professionals at making wine. These wineries were family run, and had a charm that only a family organization can give. But these wineries made top-flight wines, and a lot of wine.

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip from Florence Including Chianti Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michelle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour for our first day in Florence! Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Guergana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very vibrant and so different. We loved the places, but unfortunately, the places like this are full of people like us. Too crowded. You have limited time, only to taste some of the best parts of this region. The boat trip connecting some of the villages was wonderful. Unfortunately, the bus we travelled to and from Florence was old, not very clean, and with no good AC. It was a very hot day so it was very uncomfortable to travel. Our guide Luca was very friendly and polite, but not very good as a tourist guide I am afraid. You can't learn much from him. Also, the groups are huge and that's what makes it so unwieldy to move around.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Day Trip with Transport from Florence

Jewel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stefano was our wonderful tour guide for our Florence trip.. The guide who gave us a tour of the magnificent duomo Brunelleschis Dome, Giottos Bell Tower and Accademia Gallery was very thorough and quite interesting. Loved Michelangelos David sculpture, Madonna and Child by Botticelli and the sculptures by Michelangelo Quattro Prigioni depicting prisoners trying to escape from the marble from which they are carved. Both guides spoke English and spanish very well. We enjoyed touring the city and had a relaxing Florentine lunch. Lots of time for shopping 1 and half hour. The bus was very clean and the scenic drive was spectacular. This day tour is not to be missed!

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

M Carter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The day we took our tour it was rainy so we did not get to take the boat from Manarola to Vernazza. However the tour was still great and conveniently the quickest way from Firenze to Cinque Terre. Overall it is the best way to see CT from Florence.

Doing what: Cinque Terre Semi-Private Day Trip from Florence

Misti C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of this tour for me was seeing the church where St. Francis ministered in the 1200's. That said, there were a lot of other beautiful sights along the way. It's important to know that both of the towns visited are hilltop towns, so not only is there a lot of walking- it's uphill. Was fine for us, but may not be ideal for someone elderly or with any sort of mobility issues. Our tour guide was nice, and the one who showed us around Assisi was knowledgeable. We enjoyed the tour overall - maybe would have liked to have more time in Cortona. It was raining the whole day, so that was a bit of a downer, but that wasn't the tour or guide's fault of course. This is a good and fairly inexpensive tour that will take you places from Florence you may not have had the opportunity to access.

Doing what: Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The best of all of our tours during our 12 days in Italy, this is not to be missed! Gabriele was fantastic. He adjusted each of the bikes, and showed us how to use them. The electric bikes take a bit a getting used to, but are amazing and take all the work out of going up hills. We started at the bike shop in old-town Florence and made our way up to an olive farm in the hills near Friesole called Fattoria di Maiano. Gabriele was careful to take routes away from cars where possible and keep tabs on us. He also explained interesting sites and landmarks along the way. Don't try to be macho, wear a helmet, trust me! From there, we biked over to Piazza Michelangelo for some incredible views of Florence, and a bit further up to the Benedictine Monastery of San Miniato al Monte, where we took in the amazing church and heard the Gregorian chants for Vespers. The monks opened the shop afterwards and we bought some snacks. Gabriele was funny and entertaining, but creative and persistent with inevitable equipment issues, and took us to a local wine bar afterwards.

Doing what: Florence Electric Bike Tour with Farm and Wine Bar Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message