No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2695 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tanya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our favorite activities during our Italy vacation. So glad we did this and Sandra was great! Cost was a good value given the amount of time and food that we consumed. We feared that there was too much group vs individual food preparation, but it ended up being ok. Well worth doing!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Vera B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were in Europe for a month, and this day was one of our absolute favorites. We had excellent wine, amazing food, and the driver Francesco? seemed to go out of his way to make sure we saw some extra bits of beauty in the Chianti region not that it's hard to find! For instance, he drive by the Machiavelli family villa so we could see it. Our guide, Martina, was probably half the reason it was so great. She is obviously proud and passionate about her homeland, not to mention knowledgeable, and that helped make our experience much richer. She gave honest advice on wine and food, both on the tour, and back for the rest of our Florence time. The first villa she took us to was beautiful, and we spent a lot more time there, and learned so much more, than we expected. The lunch was just plain delicious and a breathtaking view. The ride is bumpy, but if you're going into the Chianti region, that's a must. The roads are a little crazy, but our driver handled them expertly. Both my husband and I could not recommend this specific tour more highly!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Marlene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family of four mom, dad, two teens booked this tour last minute, and we're so glad we did. We had a great day, it was one of the highlights of our European trip. We loved that it was a small group, our guide Olivia was knowledgeable and fun, and we learned a lot on our walking tour through the markets to buy ingredients. Then a short bus ride to the estate just outside the city. It was a gorgeous spot, with beautiful views. Carmella, our chef/teacher, was engaging and energetic, and the cooking was so much fun, my teens loved that you could participate as much or as little as you wanted, so they got involved in the bits that interested them, and hung back at other times. The food was great, the experience was fun, it was a great day all around. We would highly recommend this class to others.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jonell C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the most memorable and fun days we've ever experienced! My husband, daughter and I had an amazing time during this experience. From the short ride to the farmhouse including a mini tour of famed sites along the way to the cooking and the eating!, we had a blast. Our tour guide, Julian, was superb. He is extremely personable, knowledgeable and fun. The chef, Carmella, was just lovely and managed to communicate highly effectively without speaking any English. The food was fantastic. We were stuffed by the time we left. There was also plenty of water and wine throughout the day, as well as beer during the pizza lesson. We loved every moment and would not hesitate to do it again. Thanks, Walkabout Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sandy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous full day, more than a cooking class. The guides Julian and Molly and Chef Isaac made the day fun and relaxed. The cooking was amazing but the eating was so much better, so much great fresh produce purchased on a market tour early in the day. Great value for money

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Gregory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a day! Started off with a walk through some of the more significant historical areas of the city centre with detailed explanation from Julian en route to a variety of shops where the vegetables, meat, cheese and everything else we required for our day was purchased. We jumped on to a small bus and were soon out of Florence into the countryside 10 minutes or so. What a fabulous farmhouse/kitchen we were presented with panoramic views and spacious preparation, cooking and dining areas. We prepared, cooked and ate bruschetta, pasta, ragout, pizza, roast pork and potatoes, tiramisu and gelato and it tasted fabulous if I don't say so myself. To refresh us while we prepared and ate, Chianti Classico and Perroni filled our glasses. We had Isaac our chef to guide us, Julian and Molly our guides to assist us, two pizza chefs to show us how to prepare and cook real pizza and great support staff who presented us with an immaculately clean kitchen at the start and throughout the day. Everyone participated, ate and laughed through the day. An excellent day that will long be remembered. Thank you Walkabout Florence tours. Aussie Aussie Aussie. Oi Oi Oi.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Rachael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a perfect day trip from Florence. We tried wine from 3 different wineries and tried a variety of foods as well. The short stop at the small town was a great opportunity to see small town Italy. Our guide was great and explained everything I would expect and more. He was obviously very knowledgeable and wanted to share what he knew.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

lourdeswarn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We highly recommend this tour. Our tour guideMartina was fabulous. She was very friendly, informative and she went out of her way to ensure the day was enjoyable for all that attended. What a sweet, passionate and knowledgeable person. We had a great time touring the three places. The lunch, wine tasting and views were incredible. The driver did an excellent job navigating through the narrow roads. We had a great 12 days in Italy and this was a day we really enjoyed.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome experience and I highly recommend a cooking class during your trip to Florence. After we did this pizza/gelato class we tried to book a different one but they were all filled up. My 7 year old nephew loved the class, and it was his favorite day of the entire trip. My parents, and my husband also really enjoyed. It was definitely one the highlights of our trip as well. The cook was awesome and friendly and funny.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Tracy South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic experience, my two younger kids 6 and 9 had fun too :- a must do !!!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

caseyandtaureon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our family of four had such a good time! Giuseppe involved out two girls 6 and 4 in the Gelato making process and although shy at first, they absolutely loved it. The class is informative, yet, very relaxed and heaps of fun. What a great way to spend an evening!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an awesome tour with Alex. Our tour consisted of three picturesque wineries one with a great restaurant and a small town. They are not stingy with the wine. Combined with the quality of the food and the transportation, I think the trip ends up being a good value.

My girlfriend and I mistakenly showed up to the rendezvous an hour late but the Walkabout Florence office was happy to get on the phone with our cab driver and got us quickly linked back up with the group.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent, going over countryside to fascinating places that no-one but a local would be able to find. Alex from Walkabout tours was very knowledgeable, friendly and a lot of fun. The wines tasted and the food with them were lovely.
We would do this tour again and again!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour by Walkabout Tours was brilliant! Sandra and Gloria were excellent guides, very knowledgeable and told tales of Florence and the food region that one would never find in a book.
The class with Carmela and the pizza chefs was so much fun!
All round a fantastic day of food and wine!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

4barb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

totally enjoyed this tour lunch was great

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Another great experience! I have done this tour twice now and both of the guides are AMAZING. I highly, highly recommend this tour. This is something you just can't miss.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

judith A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This night was a highlight. Fabulous food, amazing wine and great staff. Just brilliant and would do it again and again

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

babs12564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing trip into Tuscany! Martina was an excellent tour guide, funny, engaging and very passionate about wine and the beautiful countryside! Great wine and scenery, lovely lunch! Highly recommend this tour a truly wonderful day!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Maxwell B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome cooking class! We learned a ton, ate well and had amazing views of Florence. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

oferagid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My daughter and I had a cooking course 2weeks ago in Florence with walkaboutflorence. It was a fabulous day very interesting and well organized. The team was great especially our guid Olivia and the Cook Isaac. We learned about the local culture and history and learned how to make amazing tasty food. The setting was absolutely beautiful.
Certainly a highly recommended experience!
Ronit Agid
Toronto,
Canada

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Justine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic evening with fantastic guide Paula. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Jessica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing day! Stefano our tour guide did a wonderful job and had a great personality! You could really tell his appreciation for wine, Florence, and sharing knowledge about the region. The vineyards we went to were breath taking and the wine and food was delicious. Very satisfied. Thank you Stefano!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Renee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Simply Amazing!!!! We spent the better part of the day with Valerio as our guide. His knowledge of the area, the wines, the history was amazing. He filled our rides with great conversation and more information than we could have ever needed. His appreciation of the wines showed...he wasn't just putting in the time! Loved it!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Clinton K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Sandra, Gloria and Chef Carmella were fantastic! The class was well paced and easy to follow. Everything was set up and ready to go. Delicious!!! My favourite part was the singing! Thank you for making my special day even MORE special! Bonus is that now even my husband can make bruschetta at home! The gift that keeps on giving!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Lawrence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were not sure what to expect from this tour which started with a walking adventure through the markets and attractions in Florence. Our host Sandra who was later joined by Valeria was wonderful fun of information and excitement about Florence and cooking which in turn made the tour very pleasant. We enjoyed our walk and tasted food as we went to different places, even though our feet were dead from several days of walking prior to this. A good tour guide can make even sore feet seem to disappear when they are so full of life and encouraging. We were taken by a comfortable bus to the villa where they have the most wonderful landscaped place with the best kitchen of Chef Carimela. There we spent a glorious afternoon learning how to prepare food and eating it. You must try their wine and buy a bottle to take home as well. We make bruschetta, pizza, pork and roasted potatoes, our own pasta and meat sauce, tiramisu and gelato all from scratch. It was a wonderful day and we fully enjoyed the pace and structure of the event. Walkabout Florence hosted this day and we applaud our hosts and chef!!! We returned to Florence but comfortable bus and await to have our recipes sent to us so we can continue to cook Italian at home.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message