No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2949 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hugo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Cooking, eating and culture go hand in hand. Everything you need to know is in this tour. Our nonna/instructor Carmela was very passionate about food and even though she did not speak a drop of English we could all understand and follow. Also the cooking class is held at a picturesque Tuscany farm house over looking luscious rolling hills.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Maureen B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a highlight of our trip to Florence. An amazing dinner in a beautiful setting.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

7citylights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip. .We were treated royally, luxurious views, kitchen modern and impeccable. , food was amazing. The grounds on the Tuscan hills were splendid. Our dining room was all glass looking out onto the hills. Lavigna and Carmela pulled out all the stops for us.t

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Alena B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great walking tour to start the day with our guide Gloria. Little insiders knowledge into the food and culture of Florence. The farmhouse location is beautiful and the food is delicious and plentiful. A day of fun, food and wine :)

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Robyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely fantastic time! It's a great way to see Tuscany in a day and feel like you got the experience! Totally worth it and would do it again!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What an amazing day! Starting with a short walking tour of Florence, and purchasing the ingredients to the later cooking lesson at a picturesque farmhouse in Tuscany, the whole experience was absolute quality. Our four hosts ( Martina/ Lavinia- our guides, the lovely Italian Chef and Isak the Chef from Seattle) were of the highest quality. Their attitude was way above any expectations and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. I am positive that every single person had a day to remember. With out a doubt this is one of the best tours I have ever been on- an absolute must for any visitor to the wonderful city of Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had such a great time on this cooking tour! It was my fathers 60th birthday present, the 5 of us came from Dubai, London and South Africa. It is probably one of the best things I have ever done in Europe and I can recommend it to anyone in or around Florence. The guides Martina and Lavi were professional, charming and funny and really helped to make the experience more memorable. There was a beautiful dog Falco at the farmhouse! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mr DK L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A fabulous day with wonderful guides, Livinia and Martina. It was well organised, informative and a lot of fun. We enjoyed eating it nearly as much as we enjoyed preparing it.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I've been coming to Florence for years and have taken any number of tours and enjoyed various experiences. This was the highlight of my last trip as well as one of the most memorable ever! Great fun, food, wine, learning experience, beautiful sights and lovely people. Carmella rocks and so does Livi. Best of Florence for sure.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Dana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was Gloria and she was amazing! She was born and raised in Chianti, and provided a lot of local knowledge that can't be taught of out a textbook! We learned tons about the land, about the history, about the grapes - I would highly recommend this tour. I live by Napa/Sonoma in California and have taken many wine tours, and this was probably one of the most enjoyable to date. Plus you can't beat the views! We went in early September and were fortunate enough to visit a winery that was actively harvesting. Wish we could go back!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We started the day meeting at the walkabout office in Florence. There we met Lavi and the rest of the group that would be on the tour. We walked with Lavi to the vege store, bakery and the central market to buy the food that we were going to prepare at the farm house. On the walk Lavi gave us some information on Florence. She showed us where MichaelAngelo lived and told us other interesting history facts about Florence. Lavi by the way, is beautiful, smart and speaks beautifully. She showed us how to shop for certain items and when we were done shopping we went to the farmhouse to start our cooking lesson. The kitchen was a professional kitchen, adjacent dining room had all glass windows over looking a beautiful landscape above Florence. It was the perfect setting. We met Carmella one of the chefs who was from Italy who sang in Italian and danced while teaching us how to cook. she was a real live wire. Issac a chef who was from the US translated for us what carmella was saying, and teaching us to cook as well. He was charming and had a great sense of humor. We made brushetta, pizza taught by Carmellas neice who owned a pizza place in florence baked it in the wood burning oven that was on the property. We made fresh pasta, bolognese sauce, pork roast, potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. Lets not forget we drank wine and beer with our food too. This class is a must. It was the highlight of our trip. A relaxing day, instead of the running around sight seeing. I cant say enough about Liv, Carmella and Issac all tutti bene!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Beata S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing and the highlight of our trip to Florence. We had Freddy as our guide and he was hilarious. He was personable and so easy to get along with. He helped us get so many incredible photos from Tuscan backdrops to views of Florence from outside the old city walls. He then took us to this beautiful vineyard and villa where we tasted some of the best wine we had on our entire trip. We even got to sample some wine he helped harvest himself. It was an awesome experience that I will highly recommend to anyone traveling to Florence. You have to request Freddy!

Doing what: Tuscan Country Bike Tour from Florence Including Wine and Olive Oil Tastings

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time. Our guide, Lovinia's, passion for her culture and her city were energizing and engaging. This was a fun day, educational, and really improved my understanding of life in Tuscany.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Mandy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I had a great time on this tour! The guides, walking tour of the markets, and the food were all fantastic. It's a good way to spend a day in Florence.

Only thing to mention to either WalkAbout or Viator is that I never received the recipes that we were promised would be emailed to us. Can you please send?

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anna-Claire W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing! It by far my favorite thing we did on our 10 day trip to Italy. Our tour guide, Margaret, was fantastic! She was so sweet and genuinely wanted us all to have a good time. At the end of the tour she took time to visit with us 1 by 1 to help us with anything we needed.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Ross P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a brilliant time. Our guide Matthew was knowledgable and extremely helpful. The two wineries we visited were lovely and the lunch afterward was some of the best food we and #39;ve tasted. Also had good company with the other couple that joined us. All in all was an unforgettable experience

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Chelsea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I debated whether or not we should pay this much for a tour cooking class. We had so many other things we wanted to do and were trying not to go overboard. Then, we finally pulled the trigger! Some of our best memories from our honeymoon are from this cooking class! The food was delicious and they serve a good amount of beer and wine once you sit down to eat. The Tuscan farmhouse is owned by Walkabout Tours and it has the most beautiful kitchen and dining area overlooking the rolling Tuscan hills. It's really breathtaking and located about 20 minutes from downtown Florence. We couldn't believe how quickly the landscaped changed in a short drive away from the city. Once you arrive, you jump right into the first recipe but you have more downtown later in the day to mingle with the other people in your group. The walking tour was pretty slow-moving and the tour description makes it sound like you'll have ample opportunity to taste food during this portion of the tour. We had a couple of nibbles tuscan bread and parmigiano cheese. Be sure to eat breakfast because you don't want to miss any of the great information Martina shares about Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Corinne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic time! Our tour guide Val was knowledgeable and Professional Bravo Val !! Chef Carmela knows her stuff and made us all welcome to join in the process of making the magnificent meal!! The venue is breathtaking and our group was tons of fun!!! If I get the chance to go back I would do this one again!! LOVED IT !!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

So fun. My boyfriend and I had a great time!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

ben_cohen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mum and I head along to this tour expecting to have a decent day but not expecting the absolutely brilliant hospitality we received. Lavinia from Walkabout Tours took us on a short walking tour, concentrating on food, of the area near Piazza della Signoris. She was an excellent guide throughout the whole day, as were the chef teachers esp Carmella! at the Farmhouse. The farmhouse itself is more of a villa, set up by the tour company specifically for this tour. It has a lovely view and even during our winter tour we ventured from the indoor kitchen classrooms to the outdoor woodfire oven for the pizza part of the tour. Before the tour we were told 4 drinks pp, but perhaps due to the positivity of the day and the star people in our group still in contact with new friends weeks later!, the guides relaxed the maximum limit of drinks and Chianti Classico and delicious Peroni flowed all day. The classes themselves were the perfect level of information, with simple instructions to make bruschetta, pizza, roast pork arista, handmade pasta, tiramisu and gelato provided. Over 5 weeks spent in Italy, this was one of the highlights. Thank you!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

AWinston

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my trip to Florence!

The tour was so much more than I expected! We started with a city tour from Martina. She pointed out interesting historical facts about the city and took us to local market to select food that we would later cook. She was very attentive to our group and made sure that everyone was having a good time and was involved. After the tour we took a bus to the estate where we met Carmela and Isaac. Over the next few hours we learned how to make a traditional ragu sauce, fresh pasta, roast pork, bruschetta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato. The food was accompanied by a delicious chianti and Peroni.
The kitchen that we cooked in was from a dream. Exposed beams, plenty of windows, and a professional range. There was also a dining pavilion that we used to make the pasta and to enjoy our meals that looked over the hills of Tuscany into Florence. I wanted to take it all home with me.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Phyllis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so much fun. Our guide Lavinia walked us through Florence food markets to buy ingredients, and that was fun and instructive itself. The farmhouse was in the hills above Florence in a beautiful setting. There we met 2 chefs and 2 professional pizza makers who taught us how to make bruschetta, pasta, Ragu sauce, pizza, roast pork and potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. We had 2 teenagers and an 11 year old in our family group, and they were full participants. The day was skillfully planned so that we started the dishes that took longer to cook first and then spent time making and eating the quicker dishes to fill in the time. The day ended in a formal dinner setting in which we ate our meal and were presented with our certificates for completing the cooking class. Each dish was served with wine. It was a great day spent learning about Italian food culture. This was one of the best days we had in our trip to Roma and Florence. You can't go wrong with this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour. Wish we had done it earlier in the trip. We did it on our last night in Florence. Tuscan Villa was amazing, food was delicious, and the drinks were...powerful. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Matt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed our time together -- getting to know a little more about Firenze and then cooking together. Our guide was excellent being careful to include everyone and attending to everyone's needs. The cooks were fantastic and we all left with wonderful memories. We highly recommend this to anyone who wants to cook, eat, and mingle.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sora S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was just amazing!! Highly and highly recommend. We got to shop for the ingredients in the morning and head out to the farm house which has incredible view. The foods we made are delicious and authentic.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message