No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2787 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Geoffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely recommend. Freddie and Lavi were fantastic. The cooking class was a great lesson in more is less--restraint in cooking. Carmella was awesome. Food was great. The walking tour before was a special bonus. Everyone made it fun!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Geoffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely recommend. Freddie and Lavi were fantastic. The cooking class was a great lesson in more is less--restraint in cooking. Carmella was awesome. Food was great. The walking tour before was a special bonus. Everyone made it fun!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

mary sue a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

DELIGHTFUL! Val and Marti were informative on the walkabout Florence, and the chef was pure fun and energy. A wonderful way to spend a day in Florence. And the food was delicious!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an amazing way to spend an afternoon. We went in the evening, departing at 3 p.m., and had a phenomenal time thanks largely to the excellent information from - and personality of - Serena. We stopped at multiple Vineyards, spoke in great detail about Chianti Classico and other reds. Easy and fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Norman O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The whole experience was fantastic. The chef was very talented and the courses were amazing.
It was top notch in every way. Fabiano was a sweetheart.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

stc1120

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highlight of our tour of Italy!! Alessandro was fantastic and the description was exactly what was described and so much more!! It happened to be the Annual Chianti festival in Greve and Alessandro was nice enough to ask us if we wanted to stay in the town a little longer so we could all enjoy the winery samples that were being offered. YES please!!! The in-depth explanation and tours of the wineries was perfect and everything was top quality, profession and fun!! I was nervous about meeting at the train station but everything ran smoothly, their location was clearly marked and they even waiting a little longer for a couple running late. We got to enjoy the countryside without worrying about drinking to much or navigation. Alessandro and our driver took care of everything for us. My husband even has a lactose allergy and Alessandro worked with the restaurant to make sure he could eat everything! A fantastic tour and experience that I have already recommended to friends that are planning their trip to Italy. Would definitely recommend. This tour was hosted by Walkabout Tours in Florence and we will definitely make sure that any tours we book are hosted by them on our next trip.
Thank you Alessandro for making part of our honeymoon such a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Randall B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Chefs were great and found the session very informative and entertaining! Strongly recommend people do the cooking class.

Do wish the recipes were shared exactly as presented as there were variations from the book handed out a the conclusion. And of course - now that we are home, we are anxious to try them ALL.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour experience ever! There, I said it. The experience was possibly one of the best that we have ever had on any vacation. We took the Walkabout Tours Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse on September 10, 2016 with Freddy as our guide. Freddy showed us wonderful hospitality and gave us a great walking tour as we bought our ingredients for the meal. The farmhouse was very much modern and comfortable for handling our group during our meal prep. Our group was made up of folks from the US, Australia, and the UK. It was a fun filled afternoon while we each took turns making our meal. Finally, we sat together in an outdoor dining room that overlooked a beautiful valley in the hills of Florence. We then had our favorite meal of our vacation, drank incredibly delicious Chianti Classico, and finally finished the meal with our own handmade Tiramisu. Overall, my wife and I felt that the value of this tour was well worth the cost and time. Freddy and crew made us feel completely welcome and provided an experience that we will always treasure. This tour should be on everyones to-do list when coming to Florence. You wont regret it!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So much fun. One of the highlights of our trip to Italy.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Out of all the many things we've done in Florence over the years, this was by far our favorite! From start to finish, it was both fun and interesting. Our tour guide Valeria, was exceptional. Funny, kind, and informative! The walking tour through Florence as we gathered our ingredients was just long enough. The kitchen, outdoor pizza oven, and THE VIEW were all amazing at the Tuscany farm! With Chef Carmella's help, we made and enjoyed delicious food with people from many different parts of the world. Do this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Chukwuma E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour. The wine and the food were amazing. Guide was fantastic too.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day trip was excellent and that was with it raining all day. The wine was great. The food was phenomenal. Our guide Gloria was just amazing. She was really knowledge and interesting and definitely helped to make the trip

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Robert G C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a wonderful tour. Great fun, great food, and exceptional group leaders. Lavinia, Valeria, and Carmela were first rate. Best group tour experience I've been on in a long time.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Kathlien P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an incredible Tuscan kitchen experience w/ some Chianti and breathtaking views to match! Special thanks to the beautiful, bright and bubbly Martina for making it a memorable day! Shoutout to Chef Isak too for sharing his handy hacks in the kitchen! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to try something new!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sanford G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was amazing. Our guides Freddie and Lavina were fantastic. This was a great day. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

azcstle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My Mom and I took a 3 week European vacation, including Italy, Czech Republic, Germany, and England ... this class was the ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT of our entire vacation! We had so much fun buying groceries in the Florence Marketplace, with our guide Elisa, before heading to the beautiful farmhouse to spend the rest of the day cooking, drinking, eating, and hanging out with a group of about 24 people. Our awesome Chef, Carmela assisted us in cooking more food than we thought we could possibly eat, including bruschetta, beef ragu, pasta, pizza, tiramisu, and more! Thank you Elisa, Carmela, and Walkabout Florence! We can't wait to come back and do it again. Buon Appetito!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Alison E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was fantastic, great drivers - really friendly and accommodating - even let me charge my cell phone on the way in the van, the guides at our stops were just awesome too, very informative and friendly. wouldn't hesitate to book another tour!!!

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip with Chianti Dinner: Siena and San Gimignano

Laurence D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sandra and Valeria were fabulous. We learned a lot about Italian cooking in a beautiful setting. It was a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Benedikte K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This hit the mark in every aspect, what a fantastic evening. You must book this and see for yourself. Our guide Fabian is a really fun guy but also very professional so he knew just what to do to keep us all happy. The bus ride up to the venue was easy, the place itself is so well set out and in a beautiful spot overlooking Florence. The chef Isaac is great, very easy to listen to as he expanded what we would be eating. If you think the menus sounds a little straight forward just wait until you see and taste the food. I can honestly say that this was one of the best meals we have had in a long time, everything was full of flavour and cooked to perfection. Then you get the fine quality matched wines with glasses seasoned by Fabian and a we were lucky to have a liqueur at the finish, made by Isaac- if this doesn't blow the top of your head off- nothing will! So a big MILLE GRAZIE from us, we will remember the night for a long time.
This experience is worth every cent and truth is a lot more so again I say JUST BOOK IT!

Just be aware that there is a walk from the office to the bus and then a steep downhill walk at the venue, no problem for us but was for another person who struggled and needed some assistance.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Edwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An excellent experience! Wow! I highly recommend this tour.
Exactly as described. Our tour was on September 17 with a small group and in a small bus.
Gloria, our guide, and Salvatore, our driver, were professional, friendly and very accommodating.
Gloria, a local herself, is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about this subject. She is very articulate and her delivery is informative, detailed and very convincing. She gladly answered our questions--and then some. Also, unlike other tours we've been on, at the end of the journey, never once did she solicit gratuities for herself or the driver. All she asked for was reviews. A classy operation.
Walkabout is a smaller company with great attention to detail.
The tour covers a part of the Chianti region in Tuscany. We visited 3 vineyards and wineries, and sampled 9 wines in total 3x3. In addition, we had a stop in Greve, a charming small town famous for its wine and meat products--which we also sampled.
Sampling at each stop was paired with various foods cheeses, meats, etc.. Also for lunch we visited a farm and restaurant where the wine sampling was paired with a full meal of appetizers, sides, pasta and a variety of grilled meats. All high quality.
This restaurant has stunning views and is the type of place celebrities visit seriously.
I only hope we can take part in their other tours in the future, especially with Gloria. Excellent job!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Jean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable.
Beautiful atmosphere and lots of food and drink for the whole day.
Loved it,
Thank you

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

bocagirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour. It was the second one we took with the Walk About Tour company and it was beyond my expectations. We started with our lovely guide Valeria who took us for a walking tour of Florence while we shopped for the groceries we needed for cooking. Valeria was incredibly knowledgeable and at the same time treated you like family. We went to the farmhouse in Tuscany which was incredible! The scenery was breathtaking. Carmela, the chef, was fun and passionate about cooking and teaching us to make each dish. Loved hearing her sing and watching her dance as she demonstrated the dishes to us. We made all aspects of the meal together including bruschetta, pork, homemade pasta with ragu, pizza and of course tiramisu and gelato. At the end we got to sit on the covered patio overlooking the countryside to enjoy our meal as a family. What an incredible day! If you are wondering whether you should do this tour, don't...just book it as fast as you can.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Russell I United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

David and Allen were not only competent chefs, but were also passionate, knowledgeable and quite entertaining. We came away from class knowing how to make homemade pasta, a couple of sauces and tiramisu...not mention what to look for at the local market. This was great fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

saramaloney86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing from beginning to end. Fabian our guide for the evening was friendly, funny and very knowledgeable. Not once were we rushed at any part of the tour. The country side was breathtaking at sunset. Wine and dine at it's finest! I highly suggest this tour! Request Fabian, you won't regret it!!

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vallerio was our awesome tour guide for the wine tour around Tuscany. This tour was so much fun, how could it not be with wine tastings starting at 10:30 in the morning! We toured three different wineries all very unique from each other and had a nice variety of tastings. Lunch was very good as well and Vallerio was very knowledgable on wines and on the area and was an all around nice guy to be with for a few hours. The bus ride was great as well and we saw a lot of interesting countryside with lots of photo opportunites. By far, this was our favourite tour while in Italy!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message