No matter where you go in Italy, you're sure to encounter fabulous meals about which you may literally write home. Florence, Tuscany’s historic capital, however, offers its own creative ways to please your taste buds that will have you talking for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2762 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An excellent experience! Wow! I highly recommend this tour.
Exactly as described. Our tour was on September 17 with a small group and in a small bus.
Gloria, our guide, and Salvatore, our driver, were professional, friendly and very accommodating.
Gloria, a local herself, is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about this subject. She is very articulate and her delivery is informative, detailed and very convincing. She gladly answered our questions--and then some. Also, unlike other tours we've been on, at the end of the journey, never once did she solicit gratuities for herself or the driver. All she asked for was reviews. A classy operation.
Walkabout is a smaller company with great attention to detail.
The tour covers a part of the Chianti region in Tuscany. We visited 3 vineyards and wineries, and sampled 9 wines in total 3x3. In addition, we had a stop in Greve, a charming small town famous for its wine and meat products--which we also sampled.
Sampling at each stop was paired with various foods cheeses, meats, etc.. Also for lunch we visited a farm and restaurant where the wine sampling was paired with a full meal of appetizers, sides, pasta and a variety of grilled meats. All high quality.
This restaurant has stunning views and is the type of place celebrities visit seriously.
I only hope we can take part in their other tours in the future, especially with Gloria. Excellent job!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Jean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable.
Beautiful atmosphere and lots of food and drink for the whole day.
Loved it,
Thank you

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

bocagirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour. It was the second one we took with the Walk About Tour company and it was beyond my expectations. We started with our lovely guide Valeria who took us for a walking tour of Florence while we shopped for the groceries we needed for cooking. Valeria was incredibly knowledgeable and at the same time treated you like family. We went to the farmhouse in Tuscany which was incredible! The scenery was breathtaking. Carmela, the chef, was fun and passionate about cooking and teaching us to make each dish. Loved hearing her sing and watching her dance as she demonstrated the dishes to us. We made all aspects of the meal together including bruschetta, pork, homemade pasta with ragu, pizza and of course tiramisu and gelato. At the end we got to sit on the covered patio overlooking the countryside to enjoy our meal as a family. What an incredible day! If you are wondering whether you should do this tour, don't...just book it as fast as you can.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Russell I United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

David and Allen were not only competent chefs, but were also passionate, knowledgeable and quite entertaining. We came away from class knowing how to make homemade pasta, a couple of sauces and tiramisu...not mention what to look for at the local market. This was great fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

saramaloney86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing from beginning to end. Fabian our guide for the evening was friendly, funny and very knowledgeable. Not once were we rushed at any part of the tour. The country side was breathtaking at sunset. Wine and dine at it's finest! I highly suggest this tour! Request Fabian, you won't regret it!!

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vallerio was our awesome tour guide for the wine tour around Tuscany. This tour was so much fun, how could it not be with wine tastings starting at 10:30 in the morning! We toured three different wineries all very unique from each other and had a nice variety of tastings. Lunch was very good as well and Vallerio was very knowledgable on wines and on the area and was an all around nice guy to be with for a few hours. The bus ride was great as well and we saw a lot of interesting countryside with lots of photo opportunites. By far, this was our favourite tour while in Italy!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had such a great day, being taken for a walk around Florence then going off to class. The company was great as was the food. Lovely way to spend a day in beautiful Florence :

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Randy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After spending 2 1/2 weeks visiting France, Spain and Italy, this tour was and will be one of our most remenbered.
We spent 2 days in Florence and the first evening was on this tour. Starting off not knowing anyone and by the end we were all having a great time. Angel the guide was so involved in his presentation truly made the evening. The Chef made good on his end with great presentation and great food for us to taste. All the explanation of the wines we tasted and how they come about. The location and atmosphere truly amazing.
We would highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting Florence.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Gregorio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a fabulous, informative and entertaining tour with great food and wines

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Matt K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Stefano was outstanding and made the day all that much special! We learned so much about wines, the specific region they're produced in and the wine making process and grading from him., who is especially knowledgeable. We visited three wineries that were all excellent.

When we took the Tuscany tour during our visit to Italy last year we had the pleasure of having Stefano as a tour guide so it was a great reunion!

Highly recommend this tour and the guide!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Gary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

They team who hosted us was great, very nice and hands on. The making of pizza was a great family experience. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Ashlea Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was SO fun! We really enjoyed the atmosphere and Davide was such a great instructor. Definitely would recommend doing some sort of cooking class while in Florence, but we did especially enjoy this one!

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Carly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a fantastic job! Its a must do tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Julie C. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour. Lots of fun and plenty to eat and drink. Freddy and Valeria were great guides. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Stephane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing! The place, the meal, the wine and the guide we're perfect. Worth every euro.

Doing what: Wine and Dine in the Tuscan Countryside Including a Night Tour of Florence

Dennis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic experience!!! Lorenzo, our tour guide was prompt, and friendly. He took us on a quick walking tour through the city, and brought us to Davide's kitchen. Davide was an excellent host. He taught us the secrets to making a delicious pizza, and then put our knowledge to the test. We started by creating the dough, and while we let it rise, we made a chocolate base for our gelato. Once the gelato base was ready and poured into the gelato maker, we returned to our rising dough, and stretched it to the perfect size and dressed it with herbs, sauce, and various meats and cheese to our taste. The best part of the class was when our pizzas came out of the oven, and we got to eat them! For dessert, we ate the gelato we had created earlier. Delicious!
Overall, this was a very enjoyable experience, and is one I would highly recommend, and would even do it again.

Doing what: Florence Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Gelato and Pizza

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was unbelievable! First off, Alessandro was an amazing guide - he was very knowledgeable and also very personable at the same time! The scenery was beautiful and the wineries were great. The wine tasting pours were definitely generous and the food was some of the best in a 2 week stay in Italy!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Michele T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The cooking class my daughter and I took in Florence was fabulous! Alan and Guseppe were very knowledgeable and taught the class with a lot of humor. We started the class with a trip to the market where we bought the meat and learned a lot about the local products. Then we made 2 pastas and 2 sauces as well as tiramisu. The food was amazing and I look forward to making the recipes at home. Also the book they leave you with is very informative. I wish I had it earlier in our trip. Take this class! It was fun!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class with Florence Market Tour in Florence

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Elisa and Carmella were amazing! Highlight of our time in Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Sophie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the highlight of my 6 week trip in Europe!!! Beautiful scenery, amazing wine and my favourite was the delicious food we got to eat.
Our tour guide, Alessandro, was the best and so friendly and knowledgeable...I think he deserves a pay rise!
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Florence/Tuscany. I can't wait to do this tour again someday.

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

KRA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Julian, Molly and Chef Isak with Walkabout Florence were amazing! This was one of my favorite days in Florence. The tour around Florence was informative and going to the different markets to buy our ingredients was great fun for this foodie. The views from the house in Tuscany were spectacular! As a culinary graduate and owner of a catering company, I thought the instruction and recipes were top notch. It was such a fun day and I met lots of new friends. If I had one negative comment, it would be that there is no pre-warning in the description of the tour about how much walking is involved both during the walk around Florence and to the house in Tuscany. All in all, I would do this class again. foodieheaven

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Tony O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although there was no Local market tour the tour was magnificent. Molly, our guide, was very informative and her interaction with the non- English speaking cooking instructor Carmella was excellent - one of our best days of our holiday.
Very hands on and great food.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Dominic S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gloria and Lavi were wonderful guides and Carmella was a great teacher. We started with a walking tour of Florence and the market which was both fun and interesting. The cooking class at the farmhouse in Tuscany was incredible fun and the food was delicious. Don't bother making dinner reservations for later, you will be stuffed.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Valérie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day with this cooking class tour! While we had fun, we learned to make a big italian meal that I was able to replicate once at home for my guests... this is a wonderful souvenir from this day and from Italy! Thank you Julian and Walkaboutflorence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Nancy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely wonderful day. Our two guides, Sandra and Valeria, met us in the city and took us on a walking food tour, picking up bread, meat, cheese, along the way. Then off to the outskirts of Florence, where we were greeted by Chef Carmella. We began with making bruschetta, then learned to make ragout, tagliatelle, roast pork, and two desserts. While these were all cooking or chilling, we went out to the pizza ovens and made our own pizzas. Carmella is a wonderful teacher, and Sandra and Valeria were very helpful. The food was wonderful, as was the wine, and we returned to Florence vowing never to eat store bought pasta again.
One area of improvement. The aprons we were given are not washable. We did not know that, and washed ours. The green logos were pretty much taken off in the wash. I would strongly recommend regular cloth aprons. We are gutted about ours.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message