The days of Florence being a mighty republic ruled by one family for generations may be long over, but the influence of the Medici is felt in every corner of the city. It’s for this reason that although the Medici family no longer governs Florence, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These tours were fantastic and provided great insight and further knowledge to the Medici and Florence. Both guides were amazing at the depth of knowledge and humour . Thank you to you all!

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Uffizi, Vasari Corridor and Palazzo Vecchio Walking Tour

Salvatore D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Angelo was the best tour guide I've ever had! Quite funny and entertaining, he walked through the darker history of Florence from the Medici to WW II. Thank you Angelo for making our trip, one we will remember always.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

alexchiriac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a dream tour for an art or history buff. I was lucky to have an almost private tour of the Palazzo Vecchio, there was only another couple on the tour that morning. Our guide Roberta was really knowledgeable and a lot of fun to listen to. She made the Palazzo Vecchio come alive with tales of the Medici family and artistic rivalries between Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. I have visited the Palazzo before but really felt this tour gave it another dimension. Funnily enough however my personal highlight was after the end of the visit to the Palazzo when we had a quick coffee break. Roberta directed us towards one of the fancier cafes in Piazza de la Signoria and explained how we can get an excellent cappuccino for a bargain price by drinking it standing at the bar, rubbing shoulders with locals. A great introduction to what real Florentines do on their morning break!
After the quick refreshment Roberta took us to the Uffizzi where we joined a much larger group for the second part of the tour to the Vasari Corridor. This required a lo of organisation and squeezing past bewildered tourists in the gallery. Once we entered the corridor it felt really special and exclusive to get a glimpse of the huge collection of artists' self-portraits. Maurizio, our guide for this section, was also very knowledgeable however he did not have Roberta's lightness of touch and tended to overload us with information.
Overall this was a fantastic morning and quite intense, lasting from 9am to almost 1pm. It is a bit pricey but this is due to the Vasari Corridor fee and I did think the whole experience was worth it.

Doing what: Florence Medici Tour: Uffizi, Vasari Corridor and Palazzo Vecchio Walking Tour

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We met our guide, Chiara, for a private walking tour around Florence. Chiara studied art history and has been giving tours of Florence for 19 years. Another amazing tour guide, who speaks Italian, English, French, Spanish, and German though she doesn't give tours in German, she admitted and is learning Portuguese. The knowledge she shared about the history of the city, the powerful Medici family, and the breathtaking artwork in Florence really provided great perspective and background.


We visited the Piazza del Duomo - when approaching it is quite a shock, come from in between two buildings toward the square, step out into the open and boom! there is 3rd largest church in the world, which was 5 times bigger than any other church in the world when it was built starting in 1296.

We next walked to the Galleria dell'Accademia, which contains work by Ghiotto, some by Botticelli, 4 incomplete works by Michelangelo, and the prize of the Accademia, Michelangelo's David. We were lucky again to be here in the off season, as the crowds were not bad, and we were able to leisurely enjoy the room containing Michelangelo's works and discuss the David with our great tour guide.

Also located in the Academia, in a wing nearly empty most people go to the small museum just to see David, is a musical instrument museum. It was a small exhibit, but included several instruments made by well known luthiers such as Amati, Guarneri, and, of course, Stradivari. Of several of Stradivari's instruments on display, the most interesting is a one-of-a-kind tenor viola, made for you guessed it the wealthy Medici family.

Overall it was a fantastic tour with a fantastic guide. Chiara was very friendly and had a great knowledge of the artwork and history of the area. My Dad and I both commented that while we could have seen all of these things on our own, we would not have gotten much out of them without an expert guide. It makes all the difference. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Daniel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Medieval times were dark and mysterious, but our tour guide helped us unravel some of the family fights and history in Florence before the Medici. My favorite part was trying the original flavors of Gelato at the Santa Trinita Gelateria.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Fred USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Michele (how he told us it was spelled, though he pronounced it Me-kel) was excellent. One of the "ideas" of the tour is to emulate the famous "Jack the Ripper" evening walking tours in London, and Michele did his best to do that. Of course, the Medicis killed lots more people than Jack ever did, but they did it in pre-sensationalist-newspaper days and so there were no gory stories and hype written anywhere that could be preserved (though I'm sure the rumor-mill of the day did much the same). Fortunately, after mentioning the deaths (and their usual politically complicated contexts), Michele moved right on to explain the city and its sights, and the little peculiarities -- 15-story towers in pre-elevator days, little "wine windows" -- that make it so interesting. And the 2.5-hour tour ended with a stop for excellent gelato (included in the price!) where we got to sit and speak with Michele for a while and learn what it is like to live in Florence (a difficult place economically).

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Neko

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I really enjoyed this. The guide was excellent. It was a good thing to do on our first day in Florence because it gave us an overview of the city. Read your Medici history before you go and you will get a lot out of this walking tour!

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

doodly

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A good walking tour for those interested in learning about Florentine medieval history. It was a small group of 7 people, and a interesting guide who was passionate about Florentine history, especially the Medici family and epic Italian love stories! we went off the beaten track, going to lesser known places in the city. we also learnt information about well known sites, like Ponte Vecchio, they most tourists dont know. The tour was unique as the guide used multiple resources to discuss florentine history including videos and pictures, different from other tours we have done so this was good. The tour finished with a delicious gelato and a great night view of Ponte Vecchio.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Barbara W USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

The guide spent too much time on historical minutiae and dates that eventually become muddled in the listener's mind. Visitors are interested in the family stories of the Medici and others. I would have liked to have visited Santa Croce, and perhaps just strolling the back streets of Florence. We spent time hiking over to the Pitti Palace, but were not taken in. That time was wasted. Discussing current life in Florence would have been interesting, such as the flooding in 20th century. More time was spent walking that visiting inside historic spaces.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

Would have liked to go inside the Duomo, and I wanted to hear more about the Medici family's influence in the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Florence Renaissance Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery

Iryna F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Guide did not add information beyond what we already knew from reading description of tour. A private guide should give extra info, the other participants in the tour knew more than she did and were often correcting her knowledge of the Medici family. She also failed to introduce herself, I have no idea what her name was.

Doing what: Florence Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message