Your time in France is not complete without a visit to the world-renowned Palace of Versailles (Château de Versailles), located just 15 miles (25 km) southwest of Paris. This impressive estate, built by Louis XIV as a symbol of absolute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8417 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Frederick H K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a guide that was very knowledgeable and gave us much information. He just had to SLOW DOWN. The included train ride made this tour e this tour very accessible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

pola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the tour guide and other tour participants early in the morning in the train station and boarded the train to Versailles. The Palace was just a short walking distance from the train station in Versailles. The tour guide walked us through the difference rooms fully explaining the history of the place. We also went to the beautiful gardens. We were given our return tickets and we took the train by ourselves and at our own pace back to Paris. Another must do tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met our tour guide, William in the morning in Paris and our tour group took the RER train out to Versailles. We then headed to a small shop and each of us selected our own bicycle for the tour. William was amazingly organized with our group and was able to answer everyone's questions as we selected our bikes. We then rode our bikes to a village open air market to stock up on picnic supplies that we would have for lunch later in the afternoon. The market was stocked with farmers carrying every type of cheese, wine, baguettes, rolls, vegetables, meats, cooked sausage and chicken that you could ask for! We stored our picnic food in baskets attached to our bikes and rode on to Versailles. William kept our riding speed reasonable as we had ages from the very young to the middle age on our tour. Being on Bicycles allowed us to cover much more ground and see the gardens and small courts that you do not see on walking tours. William was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the French court and political intrigues of Versailles. We enjoyed eating our lunch in the same area and enjoying the same view of the palace that the French court would have seen in their day! Make sure you wear comfortable shoes and clothing for riding the bicycles. I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

rashik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was good, a bit of a wait when we got there but overall great experience. The bus ride there and back was good, it was new and well maintained.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Gary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was wonderful. He whisked us up into the Hall of Mirrors so we would get there early. When our group arrived there were only 2 other people there. Perfect! We came back later by ourselves and it was very busy. He was incredibly well informed, a true enthusiast and very French, which all added to the experience. We visited in December so I wasn't sure we really needed 3 hours int he gardens, it turned out that 4 hours would have been better! This is the wa to see Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

sue.badman1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful day. Great guides comfortable bus. This is a must do trip. Monet and #39;s garden and home is just beautiful. Lunch is in the most picturesque setting and Versailles is awe inspiring. It is a full day with never enough time to see everything ( there never is) but we got a real feel for the palace

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Jo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Olmer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide. will definitely use viator again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

michellelewien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guides were absolutely amazing..! Loved this trip! Worth every cent, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is an all day trip and absolutely worth every penny. Loved everything we saw. Even though we went in September, there was still plenty of flowers blooming @ Monet's garden. I'm sure it's even prettier in the blooming months. Versailles is massive. You will not see everything on this tour at least at a leisurely pace. I would recommend seeing Versailles alone and not on this tour if you want to see everything, including wondering the massive grounds. The lunch stop at Moulin de Fourges restaurant, a picturesque mill on the banks of the Epte River was a nice peaceful break. The food and wine served was very good.

Definitely recommend this tour. Lots of walking!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of our best memories on our France vacation. Fun and informative for the entire family. Paddy was a great guide!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

chrism.ruff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, just enough time to see the inside. We also did the garden trolley tour, just amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

marciewelker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was on time, exactly as explained in your offering. The tour representative was very knowledgeable and polite. A very good value for the money.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic! What a place, what a story. But it wouldn't have been that outstanding without the history behind this beautiful castle. So much history, so wonderfully told. Can't say enough about our viator tour to Versailles...professional through out , right on time, knowledgeable, very experienced, even accomodated us with a different, closer drop-off point for our way to our home. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Versailles. How lucky were we , the sun shone and there was just us on the tour , heaven .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Johnny was a great guide! We had an absolutely beautiful day and saw some great areas that we wouldn't have seen if we were not on a bike. The local market was such a cool experience. One of the highlights from our entire European trip! I would take this tour again the next time I go to Paris! Great, great day even though it was cold out!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Kelleye B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have to admit, that while we took this tour in 2012 and LOVED it, we were unable to make it to this tour this time due to a terrible mishap. The company however was GREAT about it, and when we explained we'd had to miss it as we were at the US Embassy they were very understanding. So the tour was wonderful in 2012, and the tour company was outstanding in 2016.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Cindy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Sonya Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wally was wonderful. You are really short-changing yourself if you only do a half day to see the palace. It is the second half beyond the main structure where you get to understand the scale of everything. I highly recommend that you take the time to see the grounds, Grand Trianon and Petit Trianon.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very good informative tour. Just the right length to see all the main rooms and much of the gardens Very informative and interesting guide who had incredible knowledge of the history of the palace, with many interesting stories giving a real insight to how they lived back in those times. Recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the lectures during the tours of both Giverny and Versailles. We also were pleasantly surprised by the lunch location. The lunch was excellent but the location was amazing.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message