Your time in France is not complete without a visit to the world-renowned Palace of Versailles (Château de Versailles), located just 15 miles (25 km) southwest of Paris. This impressive estate, built by Louis XIV as a symbol of absolute ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8432 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Highly informative and very convenient to be on the special private tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Melissa Rush

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was fabulous!!! She had so much personal information about many different places in Versailles. There is so much to look at and to learn about it's a bit overwhelming. We had our 3 older children with us. It's a great tour, worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was on our list of places to see when my wife flew over for her vacation. We were picked up at our hotel on time, there were 8 in our group, our guide was able to easily speak 3 languages to talk to all of us. Easy admittance into Versailles, we did the morning half day and had a few hours to wander around. Inside Versailles we had plenty of time to visit all open areas with time for heading outside to see the grounds. Our tour guide was wonderfully prepared to answer questions. Was able to see The Petite Statue of Liberty on our way back to the hotel.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I loved this tour, so much I recommended this to all my friends and family. The local guide was amazing, the driver brilliant and the overall service could not have been higher.

However, and it is a big however, I will never use Viator again after today and I will be advising everyone to use other tour operators. Having booked a different tour in October 2016 for February 2017 and planning a whole long weekend around it, including flights and Hotels, we found out from the local operator not Viator itself that the tour wasn't running. I had to call America as my request for them to call me did not receive a response, I receive no form of apology, no explanation, the only alternative offered was after I asked if they could help and I was offered a different tour for almost twice the price. Needless to say, I declined and I will now be as vocal about avoiding Viator as I was pro them until today. Furious.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Vadim A Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very convenient and inexpensive way to see Versailles

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

PATRICIA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed this tour. It was well organised and our tour guide well informed and knowledgeable on the history of the Palace of Versailles. An amazing place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

ashton_neufeld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. The bus was comfortable and our tour guide was great. In the winter months they do not the fountains going so the garden tour was still okay. Everything was beautiful and our guide was great.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Frederick H K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a guide that was very knowledgeable and gave us much information. He just had to SLOW DOWN. The included train ride made this tour e this tour very accessible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

pola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the tour guide and other tour participants early in the morning in the train station and boarded the train to Versailles. The Palace was just a short walking distance from the train station in Versailles. The tour guide walked us through the difference rooms fully explaining the history of the place. We also went to the beautiful gardens. We were given our return tickets and we took the train by ourselves and at our own pace back to Paris. Another must do tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met our tour guide, William in the morning in Paris and our tour group took the RER train out to Versailles. We then headed to a small shop and each of us selected our own bicycle for the tour. William was amazingly organized with our group and was able to answer everyone's questions as we selected our bikes. We then rode our bikes to a village open air market to stock up on picnic supplies that we would have for lunch later in the afternoon. The market was stocked with farmers carrying every type of cheese, wine, baguettes, rolls, vegetables, meats, cooked sausage and chicken that you could ask for! We stored our picnic food in baskets attached to our bikes and rode on to Versailles. William kept our riding speed reasonable as we had ages from the very young to the middle age on our tour. Being on Bicycles allowed us to cover much more ground and see the gardens and small courts that you do not see on walking tours. William was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the French court and political intrigues of Versailles. We enjoyed eating our lunch in the same area and enjoying the same view of the palace that the French court would have seen in their day! Make sure you wear comfortable shoes and clothing for riding the bicycles. I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

rashik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was good, a bit of a wait when we got there but overall great experience. The bus ride there and back was good, it was new and well maintained.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Gary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was wonderful. He whisked us up into the Hall of Mirrors so we would get there early. When our group arrived there were only 2 other people there. Perfect! We came back later by ourselves and it was very busy. He was incredibly well informed, a true enthusiast and very French, which all added to the experience. We visited in December so I wasn't sure we really needed 3 hours int he gardens, it turned out that 4 hours would have been better! This is the wa to see Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

sueb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful day. Great guides comfortable bus. This is a must do trip. Monet and #39;s garden and home is just beautiful. Lunch is in the most picturesque setting and Versailles is awe inspiring. It is a full day with never enough time to see everything ( there never is) but we got a real feel for the palace

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Jo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Olmer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide. will definitely use viator again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

michellelewien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guides were absolutely amazing..! Loved this trip! Worth every cent, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is an all day trip and absolutely worth every penny. Loved everything we saw. Even though we went in September, there was still plenty of flowers blooming @ Monet's garden. I'm sure it's even prettier in the blooming months. Versailles is massive. You will not see everything on this tour at least at a leisurely pace. I would recommend seeing Versailles alone and not on this tour if you want to see everything, including wondering the massive grounds. The lunch stop at Moulin de Fourges restaurant, a picturesque mill on the banks of the Epte River was a nice peaceful break. The food and wine served was very good.

Definitely recommend this tour. Lots of walking!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of our best memories on our France vacation. Fun and informative for the entire family. Paddy was a great guide!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

chrism.ruff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, just enough time to see the inside. We also did the garden trolley tour, just amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

marciewelker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was on time, exactly as explained in your offering. The tour representative was very knowledgeable and polite. A very good value for the money.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic! What a place, what a story. But it wouldn't have been that outstanding without the history behind this beautiful castle. So much history, so wonderfully told. Can't say enough about our viator tour to Versailles...professional through out , right on time, knowledgeable, very experienced, even accomodated us with a different, closer drop-off point for our way to our home. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message