Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip was amazing! The Black Forest and Strasbourg were both sites to see. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. He helped make the tours, Thanks Peter! Cathy, Melissa, and Sonya

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

harshanandana t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was worth every penny.. Excellent tour guide Mr. Peter was very friendly has a nice sense of humour understands what we need and very cooperative would definitely recommend Viator for this tour

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

suem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Peter Pierre was fantastic he was very attentive and took the time to ensure all the guests were happy.
We started at Strassbourg which is just beautiful we had plenty of time to look around and to buy some lunch and souvenirs.
The Black forest was definately worth seeing and the original recipe for Black Forest cake is definately worth trying when there.
It is a long day being 10 or more hours but very relaxed and again I would recommend the local provider ETS for this tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Hooi Koon Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Our tour guide Peter was very friendly.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Vernon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful. Scenery was breathtaking.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Bhadrayu T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed both destination of this tour , tour guide Raymond was excellent and being with such a wonderful Tour guide we enjoyed more !!!!!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Marina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fun! Our guide was very personable and entertaining. He deserves a 10 on the NPS scale.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour but not long enough to enjoy all parts of tour. Very informative guide but he drove too fast on the U barn. Lunch should have been part of this tour and longer time in the Black Forest is what we would have liked.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Siang Leng T Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itself was great and comes allows us to see many attractions in a short period of time. Most evenings you get to the hotel at 7pm, and you may wish to join other travelers to explore the city at your leisure as the Hotels tend to be within 15 minutes taxi to the city. Do join the optional tours offered and/or pay to enter some of the attractions time permitting. Often, its a dilemma between grabbing some proper lunch, sight-seeing or shopping given you only have about 90 to 120 minutes for most of the attractions.

Overall, you can't go wrong at this price!

Our tour was unfortunately soured by a less than professional tour manager, but Viator was great to take immediate actions following online feedback submitted. However, the tour group that we travelled together with was great and we had a lot of fun!

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

bhkim410

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice and excellent small group tour. We enjoyed it.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Amit T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour was very average. There was no fault in the transport or the guide but the town visited in the Black Forest was very artificial. You don and #39;t want to travel two hours into Germany to see an artificial town. The views during the journey were amazing though.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Jenifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyable day tour. It only gives a taste of the black forest when coming from Frankfurt, due to the distance, but what we saw was very beautiful. Baden Baden extremely interesting and beautiful place to stop along the way. We thought that peter was an amazing guide,interesting commentary, easy going and never made us feel rushed.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Srikanth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is awesome very professional and very good hotels has been provided...bit hectic but amazing experience ..

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Trudy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the perfect day trip into the countryside of both Switzerland and Germany. AND the Rhine Falls were amazing! Add the boat ride that gets you close to the falls and it is perfect!!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Sudha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Strasbourg is a must do. The trip started on time and ended on time, everything was well organized, the locations are beautiful. Our guide was Willy, he was funny all the while but he did get rude when people didn't follow his instructions. Over all the trip was lovely, I just wish I could get a little more time at the lake at blackforest and a little more time to shop in Strasbourg, but I understand it s tight schedule.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

daniel s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Danielle was excellent. She walked us through Baden- Baden and pointed out the sights. After lunch she drove us through the various vineyards in the area. Great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Baden-Baden and Black Forest Day Trip from Strasbourg

GOPAL S India

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

-We enjoyed the drive throughout.
-Rhine Falls boat ride is a must see for everyone.
- Though rain played spoil sport, overall the tour operator did justice to the tour. The guide who looked like Henry Kissinger ! gave us enough insight and good sense of humour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Patrick Ping K L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Black forest was a let down. The Black Forest was more for bringing business to cookoo clock and watch merchants than sightseeing. Rhine falls is just OK, nothing special.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Kamryz United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Both Blakc forest and Rhine Falls were great experience. Very well organised tour

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Valerie G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience could've been better. One, the weather, which was nobody's fault BUT two, an American couple waited until we were on the way out of the city to mention to the driver that they had to be at the airport an hour before we were due to come back. Instead of asking them to leave the tour, the rest of us had our day shortened to accommodate their needs. This meant no canal cruise in Strasbourg. To top it off, we actually had to leave even earlier in case there was a traffic jam and they missed their plane. They were only waiting for their connection and had no right booking such a long day tour. Peter was a fabulous tour guide, but needs, in future, to cater to the majority not to idiots that potentially ruin everyone else's day. No-one was happy about it. However, disregarding this, and the weather, the tour is to be recommended. They could maybe consider something a little more substantial than a single sandwich for lunch.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Pamela T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The Black Forest village was very nice with lots of small shops to visit for souvenirs. The Rhine Falls were spectacular - a smaller version of Niagara Falls and the boat ride to the base of the falls was fun - be prepared to get wet. I enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message