Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kcelledge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very beautiful and the clock demonstration was very informative.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

JOANNE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was fine. : More info on each country's minimum spending for Tax Refund would be even better.

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience. The only downside is the long hours on the road, but well compensated by the awesome destination and the very well managed tour. Our guide Peter was quite attentive, knowledgeable, and considerate. A huge bonus on this trip was first-day snow at the Black Forest! Strasbourg was beautiful and the sun came out for great photo opportunities.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

murtaza P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

it was a very memorable experience for the entire trip and one of the main reason was our tour guide Mr Lax he was very help full and would go out of his way to help all the tourist for anything , hence we never felt any inconvenience for any thing , and would also suggest Viator team that apart from the accommodation and transport that they provide , it is also very important and necessary to have a friendly and jolly tour guide to make any tour a successful like Mr Lax.
Overall a trip worth the every penny spent.

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour to beautiful Strasbourg and the Black Forest is a must! We were also lucky that it snowed! Our guide Peter was also amazing and very accommodating with our needs. We got to have original Black Forest cake too! Even though the snow delayed our drive into Baden-Baden and it was dark, he still took us around and told us interesting stories about the area. I highly recommend this tour and better yet, if you got Peter for a guide.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joshua G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent value-for-money tour! Most of my friends Ones from India living in London try to squeeze in a European tour from operators who cater almost exclusively to Indians, but I chose this since I wanted to get more of a feel for the various cuisines and meet new people. The guide was very helpful in getting us introduced to the rest of the group and feel comfortable This tour operates in conjunction with 2 other tours, so your companions will keep changing, but keep in mind that the sheer number of countries and people you'll be exposed to requires that you do your own research regarding the local cultures.
Also, I'd recommend getting enough currency converted before starting on this tour, since you'll need Hungarian Forints, Swiss Francs and Czech Kroners, apart from Euros and you dont always get a good rate at short notice when you arrive at the center of the capital.
The hotels in the tour were all quite good, but especially good were the ones in Hungary and Slovakia.
This tour is very highly recommended to those who want to see 'Old Europe', and if you can get arrange couple of days of Paris and Versailles on either weekend before or after this tour, you can consider this a fantastic all-around European experience!

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

keith.dixon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed the whole tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Partha S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was excellent and the tour guide Anna was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Tahani M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was amazing because of such a great guide Mr. Piter. He is the best guide I had for all my trips in Europe.... If you are near Frankfort do not miss it... I came From Mannhiem to join this trip. I saw Baden Baden, Black Forest, Strasbourg.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Arijit G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Was a very good tour, and it and #39;s definitely recommended if you have the time to spare when in Zurich. The bus ride was very comfortable, and the tour guide provided interesting information along the way.
Improvment - we got to spend just about 2 hours in Titisee. Ideally wanted a bit more time here.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Tarun

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good experience. Rhine falls are beautiful. Very good tour guide.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Dr. Narendra Kumar S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This tour was nice and organized, but I paid more money for this tour than others agencies. Viator claim the lowest price but I paid highest. When I book the tour, the price for single traveler was 781 USD on their website but I was charged 823 USD 40 USD more.
Apart from hectic schedule, I enjoyed it and learn about European cities.

Doing what: 7-Day European Highlights Tour From Frankfurt: Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria And Switzerland

Adriana Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Lovely tour, visited many beautiful places with a very experienced guide.
Baden Baden is a charmy resort town, Black Forest has pine trees and lakes in perfect harmony, Strasbourg is a gordious old town.
Only point is short time to see it all, Strasbourg deserves an entire day.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joseph M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour guide was horrible. Did not talk on the bus at all. The demo for clocks was lame. Was told to only eat and shop in three places or we would get ripped off. That is so unprofessional. We did not eat where she told us to and had an excellent meal. She rushed us walking there. The three of us and the other two people we invited hated it. The best part which we really enjoyed was the Rhine falls. They were beautiful and amazing!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Ken W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Peter was an excellent guide. I'd love to have him for any tour!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

omnangalia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WE ARE MORE THAN HAPPY

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fast drive through Autobahn, reached Badenbaden, avery fairy tale like town , beautiful bridges, buildings , garden baths and a large casino.A winding ride through dense forest we reached Black forest a serene place with a lake surrounded by coniferous forest. Authentic black forest cake and cuckoo Clock are the things to look for here . On the other side of the hills across Rhine river crossed into Strasbourg France .The cathedral and toy train ride through the old town was lovely.Peter our guide was very friendly and good swift driver who brought us back in time for dinner.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

draltammar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour and very knowledgeable tour guide

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Norma-Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the Black Forest. Bought a cuckoo clock. Guide was good.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Samira B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was a great trip. A visited alot of beautiful points. The tour guide was also really helpful. Justttt greatttt

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

sanrionjb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed this tour and I am glad I did it, though I must say of the 5 tours I booked through Viator while in Switzerland, this one was my least favorite. I had never been to the Black Forest before and I'm glad I took advantage of this opportunity, though the town was very, very touristy. It was fun looking in the shops, learning about the clocks, and having some black forest cake, but I prefer stops with more cultural opportunities and historic sites. I enjoyed the Rhine Falls and thought the views were very pretty. I've been to Niagara and Iguazu so friends told me to not bother going here, but I am glad I did. Of course it is incredibly small compared to other falls, but still beautiful and scenic, and the boat ride was fun. I wish we had more time there to walk around as I saw there was more to do there in the brochure. If I ever go back to Switzerland, I plan to go back here on my own to spend more time. Also, honestly, the guide for this tour was my least favorite of my tours I did in Switzerland- provided very little information about the area, especially compared to the guides I had on other tours, and did not seem as professional.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Louise E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day with many stops for interesting sites--the Baden-Baden Casino, the Strasbourg Cathedral with the Astronomical Clock, Gutenburg Square, and a lovely place for a late afternoon lunch. The architecture of the area is unique. The flowers are beautiful.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message