Although the Black Forest is located in the sunniest area of Germany, its name dates from a time when thick tree cover shielded the forest floor from light. There are more clearings now but the country’s largest and most renowned forest remains a 3D ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Peter was an excellent guide. I'd love to have him for any tour!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

omnangalia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WE ARE MORE THAN HAPPY

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fast drive through Autobahn, reached Badenbaden, avery fairy tale like town , beautiful bridges, buildings , garden baths and a large casino.A winding ride through dense forest we reached Black forest a serene place with a lake surrounded by coniferous forest. Authentic black forest cake and cuckoo Clock are the things to look for here . On the other side of the hills across Rhine river crossed into Strasbourg France .The cathedral and toy train ride through the old town was lovely.Peter our guide was very friendly and good swift driver who brought us back in time for dinner.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

draltammar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour and very knowledgeable tour guide

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Norma-Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the Black Forest. Bought a cuckoo clock. Guide was good.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

sanrionjb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed this tour and I am glad I did it, though I must say of the 5 tours I booked through Viator while in Switzerland, this one was my least favorite. I had never been to the Black Forest before and I'm glad I took advantage of this opportunity, though the town was very, very touristy. It was fun looking in the shops, learning about the clocks, and having some black forest cake, but I prefer stops with more cultural opportunities and historic sites. I enjoyed the Rhine Falls and thought the views were very pretty. I've been to Niagara and Iguazu so friends told me to not bother going here, but I am glad I did. Of course it is incredibly small compared to other falls, but still beautiful and scenic, and the boat ride was fun. I wish we had more time there to walk around as I saw there was more to do there in the brochure. If I ever go back to Switzerland, I plan to go back here on my own to spend more time. Also, honestly, the guide for this tour was my least favorite of my tours I did in Switzerland- provided very little information about the area, especially compared to the guides I had on other tours, and did not seem as professional.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

bje_33

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour is highly recommended, our guide was excellent, his local knowledge together with a great personality helped this day memorable. The town of Titsee is beautiful, we had plenty of time here 2 hrs on our own to see the town and experience the Black Forest Cake, a must here!
We then travelled to the Rhine Falls, again a beautiful place, the only negative here was the time we had, which was a very rushed 30 minutes, we were given the option of a boat ride up to the Falls, a reasonable 6 Euros is a must also. In short the tour was well worth the price, however the later stages were very rushed and was evident in the bus drivers driving.
What would make tour a five star in my opinion is either leaving a half hour earlier or cutting back the Titsee time allowance so the Rhine Falls could be enjoyed, and not having to arrive when everthing is closing.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Maznat84

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A very enjoyable tour..pity it was raining. Wished we had more time at Lake Titisee

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Michael V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Lovely drive and knowledgeable tour guide. Really enjoyed the day and would book with this company again!

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Taline H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Amazing trip to Freiburg and the Black Forest.
Definitely worth it. Freiburg is an enchanting town, right out of a fairy tale book so is the lake area around the black forest region.
Beautiful landscapes on our way back to Strasbourg, passing thru breath-taking villages and vineyards.
Our guide Danielle was very knowledgeable and helpful, she made sure to follow our own pace and make the best out of the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Freiburg and Black Forest Day Trip from Strasbourg

Rons

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Black forest is a beautiful relaxing place. Really enjoyed this trip. The Rhine falls and the boat trip very close to the falls was a thrilling experience.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Mazher

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was one of the best trips I took. Our guide Peter was excellent. He must have been 60 year or 65 years old and still active in his suite and tie, very professional, calm and knowledgeable guide with excellent control on the vehicle at high speed.

We started our day with a drive to Baden Baden and we enjoyed the drive. After arriving in Baden Baden we were shown the important parts of the city including the Casino.

From Baden Baden we went to Black Forest, we were given sandwiches and water by Peter while departing Baden Baden. We had our lunch at Black Forest, had the Black Forest cake and its very yummy, We spent some time at the lake. Its one of the most beautiful places in Germany and worth a visit. Take as many pictures as possible as its really a picturesque location.

From Black Forest we sent to Strasbourg, walked around the city, took the mini train / mini tram from the Cathedral to see the historical part of the city. This was the best part in Strasbourg. Its a short trip to the city, dont forget to buy some souvenirs all along the tip from every place you visit.

The price of this tour is little on the higher side but if Peter is your guide, its totally worth it.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

DC

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Ok tour just hopped it could start earlier so that you could spend more time at Titisee and be back with daylight to appreciate the Rhein Falls.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Ann R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This trip was a waste of time and money. It is not a tour of the Black Forest it is a forced shopping trip to a Cuckoo Clock shop with time for lunch. Otherwise it was a long bus ride. The only interesting part was the 15 minutes spent at the Rhine Falls. The guide, Anna, was dressed unprofessionally in a tee shirt and shorts, with no name tag. She was rude and confrontational. The four of us were extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Isma Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful places... The guide wasnt reallly nice though.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

MARINA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was excellent! We were very lucky with our guide Peter--he was knowledgeable, helpful, and an excellent driver. He even too k us to Strasburg, France, which was a pleasant surprise.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ziling O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such a fun day out with the loveliest tour guide driver Tomas and Michael! Informative commentary throughout the journey, great sense of humour and some traditional German/Swiss music to make our trip even more authentic, scenic drive into the beautiful Black Forest with breathtaking views, plenty of time to sit back and relax by the lake enjoying the sunshine followed by another scenic ride towards the magnificent Rhine Falls, where some had the boat trip experience getting real close to the falls. We absolutely loved the day. Thank you :

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Keith J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was excellent! Hans was our wonderful guide and we were very fortunate to be in a group of 4 plus Hans. Baden-Baden is a pretty and quaint town with interesting things to see, but one of the highlights was Lake Mummelsee and the famous Black Forest cake..mmm devine! We even had time to cross the border into France to visit Strasbourg, another highlight! Absolutely loved the scenery along the way, which never failed to impress! We had the best day with Tony, Jill and Hans who was helpful, easy going and never made us feel rushed. Lovely memories of a perfect day out from Frankfurt!!!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Santosh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lovely Places. Titisee and Rhine falls experience was really amazing. Tour was organized very well. Enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

sourabh.karmakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice and well organized trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Larry Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip. Unfortunately, the vehicle was small, old and cranky. I had to sit away from my husband throughout the journey. This was made up by including Salsburg in the day trip. Guide/driver was very knowledgable and tried hard to ensure all aboard got to see what they paid for. Overall, a very erwarding day trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Judith J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this trip, and Peter was a very good guide. I would suggest having a step stool available in the van for short visitors as I found climbing in and out of the vehicle very difficult.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message