Frankfurt ATTRACTIONS See all

Frankfurter Dom

Frankfurter Dom is the main church of Frankfurt. From the 14th century onwards, kings of the Holy Roman Empire were elected in this Catholic church. From the mid-16th century to the late 18th century, emperors were crowned here. The cathedral ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 315 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

really enjoyed this tour. Took a taxi from our hotel to the main central point at the railway station to hop on the bus. Very easy to find and well sign posted for tourists. Great tour and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Yasmeen N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a fantastic experience for the first half. The Heidelberg tour guide was very good and she gave us some very good information and despite it being very cold and snowing we enjoyed this part of the tour tremendously.
For the City Tour they just put us on the Hop on Hop off bus which was not the greatest. The sound track was poor and all in all not much fun.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Judy F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We arrived at the ticket office and were promptly told we were late which we weren't and taken to where the City Tour bus went from. I could have just booked that myself! Anyway after 40 mins on this bus we had to go back to the ticket office and meet our driver for the rest of the tour. We were the only 2 on this tour as it was near Christmas, so we had a car not a bus. That was nice. Our driver/tour guide was knowledgeable and easy to get on with. We travelled an hour or so to near the Rhine River Valley where we had lunch and wine tasting in this eccentric old restaurant. The owner is a collector - boy there wasn't much room for much else. The food was ok and included in the tour as was the wine tasting. However the wine tasting was a lot to be desired. Thimble size tasting glass and only 4 varieties. This was given by our driver as the lady at the restaurant was either too busy or there wasn't enough of us to warrant her time. We then caught the River Cruise from just outside the Restaurant. It was half way up the actual cruise, so we only got commentary from the time we go on to where they turned around. On the way back we got off at a different stop this time there was no commentary on the sights - so we were at a bit of a loss to know what things were. All in all, it was a pleasant day but I'm not sure whether I would recommend it or do it again. Maybe it might be better in the summer - the choice is yours!

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

lyndi3434

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The description of the tour was not very forthcoming. The bus tour around Frankfurt was descent however we were only on the bout tour for 80 min out of the 9 hour trip. Our guide was great but I wasn't thrilled about being on a bus the majority of the day. We also did not get a wine tasting because we were told that it was seasonal again, that was not in the tour description. The actual boat tour was great but it was way too short for the amount of time it actually took to get to the river.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

raeleneshields

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent tour. Very informative and relaxing. Rhine Valley Cruise was sensational and the 'Ice' Wine is beautiful tasting.
Thoroughly enjoyed the whole day. Thank you :

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Roy S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was truly exceptional. Had a wealth of knowledge about Frankfurt and about many of the historical facts most visitors wouldn't know about the city. We highly recommend this tour for others visiting the city.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

romazzino

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Good tour, nice route.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

kpetroll

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great for the price. We ended up going once around the city and listening to the information. I would recommend to bring your own headphones. We only got off once and didn't get back on. It took about an hour to go around the city but everything was right on time. If you want to get off and on, just remember that the stops don't go out of order. So if you are on one side of the city, you will have to wait a really long time to get the the opposite end. We ended up just walking home, but it was great! Still a really inexpensive way to travel and learn about Frankfurt.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rosa R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour, and our guide Peter was very kind explaining us all the more importants points and history of Frankfurt.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Man Yin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! We enjoyed it very much, thank you George and the driver. Thanks

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Shirley A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The pre-recorded on-board commentary was quite good.
On other Hop-On/Off tours I've been on, the driver announced when we were coming up to the next stop - the driver we had on this trip didn't make a single announcement, nor did he slow down near any of the stops - this lead us to think that there was quite a distance between the stops!

Tip: When riding on the upper level, the front seat on the left is quite a distance from the electronic box to plug in your headset ... if you want to sit back in your seat, sit on the right side of the bus!

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

jpasp Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Skip the city highlights tour, the double deck bus has seen betterdays. Walking tours would be a better alternative. The Rhine Valley is majestic, and the castles along the Rhine are excellent photography subjects. There is so much history and culture to absorb in just a few hours, so it's a great preview to a longer stay, maybe in one of the castles. The package came with lunch, but food was not spectacular.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

mmberg50

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This tour was a total rip off. My husband and I were the only ones in our group. We started with a short walk to the main train station where the tour guide talked briefly about the building. We then walked outside and waited for about ten minutes for the hop on hop off double decker bus. The tour guide has us get on the bus and listen to the tour on the buses ear phones which didnt work very well. We rode around for about 20 minutes then the tour guide had us get off and gave us a 30 minute walking tour of the downtown area. Actually, this was more of a running tour. The tour guide was so rushed we rarely had time to take pictures and at one point, she was so far ahead of us we almost lost her in the crowd. We finally figured out what the hurry was when she had us meet the hop on hop off again and we rode on the bus for another 30 minutes listening to the tour with ear phones that again didnt work very well. We finally got off again at the train station. If I had known that most of the two hour tour would be on the hop on hop off bus, I would certainly not have paid 62 for both of us. It would have been a lot cheaper to just take the bus tour and avoid the quick running tour after the tour guide.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience. Tour guide was welcoming and enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Pamela O New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A short trip compared to others but very useful orientation

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

rose.mcegan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Needed more time for the wine tasting portion of the excursion.
Meeting point for this tour is very sketchy and not in a nice area of the city.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Anna B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

good, friendly staff

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sunanda S India

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. I had a day to spare at Frankfurt so this made perfect sense. Both tour guides Heidelberg/Frankfut were friendly, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. They engaged everyone in the group really well. It was time well spent.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

leb8680

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Mostly a disappointment. We started as a group by joining a hop-on-hop-off bus. Since there were already many people on board we could not sit together and did not receive a commentary from our guide. Since he did not provide headsets to listen to the recorded commentary we sat as the bus moved. Did finally leave the bus for a short 30 minute walk of the old town, which as our only real tour. We were able to use the bus after the tour, and with headsets did receive a narrated tour. Could have been much better for the price.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Michael S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Not really much to see compared to similar cruises in Paris or Budapest.

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

chris1817

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This tour was selected primary based for the wine tasting of local Rhine Valley vineyards. We got for tiny thimble sized tasting of local wine. I get more of a sample from my local restaurant for a single wine than we got for the entire tasting! Incredibly disappoint and a waste of time and money. You can take a train from Frankfurt and do the boat ride yourself for a faction of the cost and use the extra money to buy a local wine to enjoy.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

gerald p

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Just not worth it.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message