Frankfurt ATTRACTIONS See all

Goethe House & Museum (Goethehaus)

The Goethe House & Museum is the site where the great German writer Johann Wolfgang von Goethe was born in 1749. Goethe’s former house is a fantastic and tangible example of the living style of the 18th century Frankfurt's gentry. The house was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeff E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Rhine valley very picturesque. Nice lunch in a very uniquely decorated restaurant, with local wine tasting immediately after. Surprise opportunity for an optional cable car ride down the hill into Rudeshiem, which was fun.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

ANDRES C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both activities, Heidelberg half-day trip and Frankfurt City tour, were great. Both guides were very accommodating too. It was just the direction indicated on the voucher as its shortcoming. The direction was a total incomplete. They only indicated near main entrance of the Frankfurt Central Station. They should also include landmarks such as nearby hotels Hotel Continental and Le Meridien Park Hotel or take right across main entrance of the Central Station. The direction was really vague. Good thing, there is a Tourist Information Office before exit of the main entrance of the Central Station. Because of their help, I was able to locate the meeting/departure point.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Paul G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good tour. Very friendly tour guide. We also almost too perfect weather in that the only frustrating point was that the air conditioning on the bus could not keep up to what would have been a desired comfort level for most of us. It was 32C outside and by the time we got to the cruise I was tired mostly from the heat I think. I did enjoy the various stops we had along the way which is more than I what I saw on a similar tour I did when visiting in 2010.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Ken W W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Ok, but, a little too rushed due to a late start .
Also, this should have been and ENGLISH ONLY tour OR hshould have a recording to follow in several languages like the buses.
It was bit disappointing.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Lynsey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The actual tour was ok but it should be spelled out that this tour is not done by Viator but a third party, who does not advertise Viator anywhere. It took us forever to actually find the location of the tour in a city that we had never been in. Viator should have stated where the tour begins and by who. The third party who did the tour was also very rude and not very helpful with answering our questions. Thank goodness that actual things we saw on the tour were good or else this whole trip would have been a bust.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

OUTSTANDING, Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. LOVE VIATOR!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

KAREN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Michael and the driver were great, lovely scenery. The city bus driver was also very kind and helpful

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

arm60

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Meet up for the Hop on Hop off. The ride went through the city in about 45 min. The audio pointed out city highlights, pretty straight forward. Meet back at initial spot for bus ride to Rhine River cruise. Our tour guide, Michael was great. Very engaging with all the folks on the bus. Stopped at Assmanshausen for lunch. The gal who greeted us was so organized and had tables all ready. Between her and the helper took care of us and everyone else perfectly. I enjoyed my chicken meal. The wine tasting was right after lunch,right next door. Michael explained the process of the different winessweetness and whites. Walked across the street and caught the boat for the cruise. As this was in the afternoon, there were many people on the boat already. The day was very HOT and like others who were waiting in line scrambled to find a decent seat. No luck and we ended up in the middle of the boat. Many of us from the tour ended up in the same general area. We were so hot sitting there temp 90. Not all the windows worked, no air ventilation and really could not see all the historical castle sites. Michael tried to cheer up folks. After ride we stopped in a town for a quick visit. I was a bit disappointed, since the Rhine River was a big part of this excursion. This would have been much better if we're there early and then have a later lunch so we could enjoy the cruise.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Suomineito

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The boat ride was lovely and the tour guide was great but the general experience wasn't great. The lunch was a cheap chicken and chips and the wine tasting was 4 tiny plastic cups of wine in a dingy backroom of the restaurant. Hardly worth the money.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Shirley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great!

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Keith J J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The city highlights tour was a great introduction to Frankfurt, although we feel that these two tours shouldn't be combined. At the end of the tour we were rushed off the city tour bus and escorted to the Rhine Valley bus because we were running late. Felt that we kept everyone waiting which made us feel uncomfortable! The drive from Frannfurt and Rhine River cruise was fantastic. Lunch and wine tasting was lovely with great venues and company. We had the perfect tour guide, thank you to Michael unsure of the German version. Beautiful scenery in every direction and a very memorable afternoon! Would definitely recommend the Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting Tour!!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Claudio H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The city tour is basically the local hop on, hop off. The Rhine Valley Cruise is well worth it though. Don't buy the wine at the Wine Tasting. You can get the same wine at half the price later on.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Maria R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We did a lot in this tour. However, we had already done a tour of Frankfurt on our first day. Since we moved to Mainz, we could have started out your and got picked up in Mainz. Probably less expensive.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Lori T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Very good advertisement, not such a good tour. The bus tour was quite boring, the city of frankfurt is pretty dull and really no reason to drive around it. The lunch was chicken, and was better than expected.The boat tour was boring, saw a few castles but didn't know anything about them and couldn't hear the loud speaker because everyone was talking. wine tasting is not like wine tasting in the states, it was a few tiny sips of wine. It was a very long boring day, would not go again.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Jose M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The worse tour you can book, in a dirty old bus with no headphones and with a guide speaking that you could not hear. Viator this company is the worse I have had in all my life.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Harsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip.
Value for money.
You must do it once in your lifetime.
The tour guide was very nice and friendly.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Deleana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so worth the money. The city tour was just enough to give an overview. The motorcoach was very comfortable and our guide was FANTASTIC! The wine tasting and lunch was great and well orchestrated. The Rhine River cruise was wonderful and educational. We had a beautiful day so that made it an A

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Amanda M F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The city tour was too short and not very comfortable but the Rhine cruse and tasting was amazing. George was hilarious and patient with everyone. He was very knowledgeable about everything we saw.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Deborah O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the trip on the Main. The crew were extremely helpful was the commentary on the various interesting landmarks. I would certainly recommend the trip to any potential travellers.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Loved the tour and seeing all the castles along the river. We enjoyed having time to shop on our way back. We would recommend taking the ride down to the boat, it gave you a beautiful view on the way down. Michael and Gunther were great. the only part of the tour we did not like was the City Highlights part of the tour. We thought Michael did a better job of pointing out city sights then the bus narration and the City Highlights Tour before hand was a waste of money. It was a 45 minute ride around the town and it did not even go by many of the historic places or explain them very well.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Todd Z

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The Frankfurt tour covered the sights. Frankfurt is not a huge city so this didn't take long. The Rhine was a fun trip with a nice lunch stop after which we boarded the boat for a a really scenic cruise. Overall a comfortable and enjoyable time.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Phill United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

you could skip city highlights but the Rhine cruise is a must...
breathtaking views plus an excellent host,shame about the the weather though but there's nothing you can do about that !

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message