Frankfurt ATTRACTIONS See all

Goethe House & Museum (Goethehaus)

The Goethe House & Museum is the site where the great German writer Johann Wolfgang von Goethe was born in 1749. Goethe’s former house is a fantastic and tangible example of the living style of the 18th century Frankfurt's gentry. The house was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Man Yin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! We enjoyed it very much, thank you George and the driver. Thanks

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

jpasp Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Skip the city highlights tour, the double deck bus has seen betterdays. Walking tours would be a better alternative. The Rhine Valley is majestic, and the castles along the Rhine are excellent photography subjects. There is so much history and culture to absorb in just a few hours, so it's a great preview to a longer stay, maybe in one of the castles. The package came with lunch, but food was not spectacular.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

mmberg50

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This tour was a total rip off. My husband and I were the only ones in our group. We started with a short walk to the main train station where the tour guide talked briefly about the building. We then walked outside and waited for about ten minutes for the hop on hop off double decker bus. The tour guide has us get on the bus and listen to the tour on the buses ear phones which didnt work very well. We rode around for about 20 minutes then the tour guide had us get off and gave us a 30 minute walking tour of the downtown area. Actually, this was more of a running tour. The tour guide was so rushed we rarely had time to take pictures and at one point, she was so far ahead of us we almost lost her in the crowd. We finally figured out what the hurry was when she had us meet the hop on hop off again and we rode on the bus for another 30 minutes listening to the tour with ear phones that again didnt work very well. We finally got off again at the train station. If I had known that most of the two hour tour would be on the hop on hop off bus, I would certainly not have paid 62 for both of us. It would have been a lot cheaper to just take the bus tour and avoid the quick running tour after the tour guide.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience. Tour guide was welcoming and enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

rose.mcegan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Needed more time for the wine tasting portion of the excursion.
Meeting point for this tour is very sketchy and not in a nice area of the city.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Sunanda S India

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. I had a day to spare at Frankfurt so this made perfect sense. Both tour guides Heidelberg/Frankfut were friendly, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. They engaged everyone in the group really well. It was time well spent.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

leb8680

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Mostly a disappointment. We started as a group by joining a hop-on-hop-off bus. Since there were already many people on board we could not sit together and did not receive a commentary from our guide. Since he did not provide headsets to listen to the recorded commentary we sat as the bus moved. Did finally leave the bus for a short 30 minute walk of the old town, which as our only real tour. We were able to use the bus after the tour, and with headsets did receive a narrated tour. Could have been much better for the price.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

chris1817

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This tour was selected primary based for the wine tasting of local Rhine Valley vineyards. We got for tiny thimble sized tasting of local wine. I get more of a sample from my local restaurant for a single wine than we got for the entire tasting! Incredibly disappoint and a waste of time and money. You can take a train from Frankfurt and do the boat ride yourself for a faction of the cost and use the extra money to buy a local wine to enjoy.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Jeff E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Rhine valley very picturesque. Nice lunch in a very uniquely decorated restaurant, with local wine tasting immediately after. Surprise opportunity for an optional cable car ride down the hill into Rudeshiem, which was fun.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

ANDRES C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both activities, Heidelberg half-day trip and Frankfurt City tour, were great. Both guides were very accommodating too. It was just the direction indicated on the voucher as its shortcoming. The direction was a total incomplete. They only indicated near main entrance of the Frankfurt Central Station. They should also include landmarks such as nearby hotels Hotel Continental and Le Meridien Park Hotel or take right across main entrance of the Central Station. The direction was really vague. Good thing, there is a Tourist Information Office before exit of the main entrance of the Central Station. Because of their help, I was able to locate the meeting/departure point.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Paul G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good tour. Very friendly tour guide. We also almost too perfect weather in that the only frustrating point was that the air conditioning on the bus could not keep up to what would have been a desired comfort level for most of us. It was 32C outside and by the time we got to the cruise I was tired mostly from the heat I think. I did enjoy the various stops we had along the way which is more than I what I saw on a similar tour I did when visiting in 2010.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Ken W W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Ok, but, a little too rushed due to a late start .
Also, this should have been and ENGLISH ONLY tour OR hshould have a recording to follow in several languages like the buses.
It was bit disappointing.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Lynsey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The actual tour was ok but it should be spelled out that this tour is not done by Viator but a third party, who does not advertise Viator anywhere. It took us forever to actually find the location of the tour in a city that we had never been in. Viator should have stated where the tour begins and by who. The third party who did the tour was also very rude and not very helpful with answering our questions. Thank goodness that actual things we saw on the tour were good or else this whole trip would have been a bust.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

OUTSTANDING, Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. LOVE VIATOR!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

KAREN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Michael and the driver were great, lovely scenery. The city bus driver was also very kind and helpful

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

arm60

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Meet up for the Hop on Hop off. The ride went through the city in about 45 min. The audio pointed out city highlights, pretty straight forward. Meet back at initial spot for bus ride to Rhine River cruise. Our tour guide, Michael was great. Very engaging with all the folks on the bus. Stopped at Assmanshausen for lunch. The gal who greeted us was so organized and had tables all ready. Between her and the helper took care of us and everyone else perfectly. I enjoyed my chicken meal. The wine tasting was right after lunch,right next door. Michael explained the process of the different winessweetness and whites. Walked across the street and caught the boat for the cruise. As this was in the afternoon, there were many people on the boat already. The day was very HOT and like others who were waiting in line scrambled to find a decent seat. No luck and we ended up in the middle of the boat. Many of us from the tour ended up in the same general area. We were so hot sitting there temp 90. Not all the windows worked, no air ventilation and really could not see all the historical castle sites. Michael tried to cheer up folks. After ride we stopped in a town for a quick visit. I was a bit disappointed, since the Rhine River was a big part of this excursion. This would have been much better if we're there early and then have a later lunch so we could enjoy the cruise.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Suomineito

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The boat ride was lovely and the tour guide was great but the general experience wasn't great. The lunch was a cheap chicken and chips and the wine tasting was 4 tiny plastic cups of wine in a dingy backroom of the restaurant. Hardly worth the money.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Shirley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great!

Doing what: Frankfurt City Tour

Keith J J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The city highlights tour was a great introduction to Frankfurt, although we feel that these two tours shouldn't be combined. At the end of the tour we were rushed off the city tour bus and escorted to the Rhine Valley bus because we were running late. Felt that we kept everyone waiting which made us feel uncomfortable! The drive from Frannfurt and Rhine River cruise was fantastic. Lunch and wine tasting was lovely with great venues and company. We had the perfect tour guide, thank you to Michael unsure of the German version. Beautiful scenery in every direction and a very memorable afternoon! Would definitely recommend the Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting Tour!!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Claudio H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The city tour is basically the local hop on, hop off. The Rhine Valley Cruise is well worth it though. Don't buy the wine at the Wine Tasting. You can get the same wine at half the price later on.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Maria R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We did a lot in this tour. However, we had already done a tour of Frankfurt on our first day. Since we moved to Mainz, we could have started out your and got picked up in Mainz. Probably less expensive.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message