Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 348 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

OUTSTANDING, Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. LOVE VIATOR!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

MARINA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting tour with a knowledgeable guide. The weather was bad, unfortunately--it rained all the time.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Robbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great day trip to Heidelberg. The guide was very funny and knowledgable. The castle was very impressive with a great history. It would have been nice to spend a little more time in the Old Town but overall it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Daniel F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall a full and fun day. It's two separate trips - you return to Frankfurt after the Heidelberg part, and then go to the Rhine. Our guide, Adrian, was fun and informative.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day of touring took the double tour of Heidelberg castle and Rhine valley what a way to spend a day seeing the castle ruins and taking a boat ride up the majestic Rhine river, great memories !

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was great. We especially enjoyed the boat trip and the tour of the castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

harshanandana t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was worth every penny.. Excellent tour guide Mr. Peter was very friendly has a nice sense of humour understands what we need and very cooperative would definitely recommend Viator for this tour

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

salah.masri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice tour with good information about the town of Heidelberg.
Well organized with accurate timing.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Hooi Koon Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Our tour guide Peter was very friendly.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

h.r.allison.89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We throughly enjoyed this tour of the Heidelberg area! The town was lovely, and the tour guide was excellent! Even though we left late, he did a great job of showing us the highlights of the castle and are. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Claudio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Rothenburg is something out of a fairy story!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rocky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent and the old city tours were great.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another wonderful tour, great guide but perhaps he drove a little too fast on the U barn. Also we didn't spend enough time in the Black Forest or in Baden, Baden. This trip neede to be longer and lunch should have been organised as part of the tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

sf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide. We go the best possible value for our afternoon in Heidelberg.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Theressa D Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Adrian, was very funny, informative, courteous and a great guide for this tour.
The rain was awful but it lightened up when we arrived at Heidelberg grounds. I'm sure the views are even prettier in the sunshine. We actually thought we would get a tour in the castle, but it was only the outside grounds and a view of the huge wine barrel inside.
Poured rain in the town, but we did our best to walk the streets and see a little. You do not have enough time to sit at a cafe and see the town. It's one or the other, before you must return to the bus.
1 note and maybe this is a North American thing we're Canadian, but bus drivers are not permitted to smoke on the bus even when it's stopped and everyone is off. We returned to our bus from the Castle grounds and choked on the air in the bus. It was obvious the driver had been smoking the entire time we were on the tour. The bus stunk. The bus was also old, broken seat belts, arm rests etc.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Morgan C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Heidelberg is beautiful and the guide was very knowledgeable about the town's history. However we didn't get enough free time after our castle tour. I would have liked more time to enjoy lunch there and walk around Heidelberg, I felt a little rushed to get back to Frankfurt. Overall good tour and friendly, helpful guide.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Amanda T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Heidelberg was amazing but extremely rushed. The guide had great knowledge of the city and castle and #39;s history but there was hardly any time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Nirmala G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Megan A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A good taste of Heidelberg. It was nice not having to worry about the transportation. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the rating does not in anyway reflect his passion or performance. I would gladly have spent a whole day with him. It was just very quick. 1/2 day if you are rushed though is ok

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Nicole M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Tour guide and driver were great, however we expected much more for the price we paid based upon the write up.
There was wasted travel time as it was really two half day tours, not one full day trip. Dinner was lackluster, the wine tasting wasn and #39;t at a winery and they only gave you thimbles worth.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Tianhao L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

It's even a travel company run the tour. As it's a very poor car and no air conditioning in the car. Don't take this tour. Not worth the money.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jules

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Not worth the money I paid for it from Australia. Viator have just cobbled together a bunch of providers who operate independently and all require separate vouchers and pick up points. The hop on hop off bus was the most disappointing with surly bus drivers and very little information on the sites.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

craigshannon2624

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything went well on this trip. Maybe could have used a little less humor and a lot more information.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message