Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

ANDRES C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both activities, Heidelberg half-day trip and Frankfurt City tour, were great. Both guides were very accommodating too. It was just the direction indicated on the voucher as its shortcoming. The direction was a total incomplete. They only indicated near main entrance of the Frankfurt Central Station. They should also include landmarks such as nearby hotels Hotel Continental and Le Meridien Park Hotel or take right across main entrance of the Central Station. The direction was really vague. Good thing, there is a Tourist Information Office before exit of the main entrance of the Central Station. Because of their help, I was able to locate the meeting/departure point.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver/guide was super nice. That's the best thing I can say about the trip. I felt it was tremendously overpriced for the value. We were given a short tour of Heidelberg Castle ruins and then taken to the town and left on our own for an hour and a half. As far as the Rhine Valley sail, it was very nice, but it was followed by a sub-par dinner drinks, even water, cost extra! and a cheesy wine-tasting in a creepy, musty room. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Lynsey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The actual tour was ok but it should be spelled out that this tour is not done by Viator but a third party, who does not advertise Viator anywhere. It took us forever to actually find the location of the tour in a city that we had never been in. Viator should have stated where the tour begins and by who. The third party who did the tour was also very rude and not very helpful with answering our questions. Thank goodness that actual things we saw on the tour were good or else this whole trip would have been a bust.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Xochitl S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Guide was great and I appreciated the effort to jam both events into one day, but both things could easily take up the better part of a day. Also there should be an option to pay less if you do not drink, which I do not.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

OUTSTANDING, Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. LOVE VIATOR!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

MARINA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting tour with a knowledgeable guide. The weather was bad, unfortunately--it rained all the time.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Frederick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour administered by ETS was great. My wife and I had a great time in Heidelberg. Our tour guide, Adrian, was funny and was also very knowledgeable of the place. The place was picture perfect and rich in history and tradition. We even learned from Adrian that our Philippine national hero, Dr. Jose Rizal, stayed in Heidelberg for a number of years. I definitely would recommend this tour to any traveler going thru Frankfurt.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Larry Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip. Unfortunately, the vehicle was small, old and cranky. I had to sit away from my husband throughout the journey. This was made up by including Salsburg in the day trip. Guide/driver was very knowledgable and tried hard to ensure all aboard got to see what they paid for. Overall, a very erwarding day trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Robbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great day trip to Heidelberg. The guide was very funny and knowledgable. The castle was very impressive with a great history. It would have been nice to spend a little more time in the Old Town but overall it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Daniel F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall a full and fun day. It's two separate trips - you return to Frankfurt after the Heidelberg part, and then go to the Rhine. Our guide, Adrian, was fun and informative.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Xante K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The guide was good and it was beautiful. Unfortunately the bus broke down, we waited for hours for the bus to be fixed and missed the second half of the tour. Despite the refund, it's disappointing

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Irene

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Scene is beautiful, but most of the time is on the road, don't have enough time to explore the place

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day of touring took the double tour of Heidelberg castle and Rhine valley what a way to spend a day seeing the castle ruins and taking a boat ride up the majestic Rhine river, great memories !

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was great. We especially enjoyed the boat trip and the tour of the castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

harshanandana t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was worth every penny.. Excellent tour guide Mr. Peter was very friendly has a nice sense of humour understands what we need and very cooperative would definitely recommend Viator for this tour

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

salah.masri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice tour with good information about the town of Heidelberg.
Well organized with accurate timing.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Hooi Koon Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Our tour guide Peter was very friendly.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

h.r.allison.89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We throughly enjoyed this tour of the Heidelberg area! The town was lovely, and the tour guide was excellent! Even though we left late, he did a great job of showing us the highlights of the castle and are. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Claudio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Rothenburg is something out of a fairy story!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rocky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent and the old city tours were great.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another wonderful tour, great guide but perhaps he drove a little too fast on the U barn. Also we didn't spend enough time in the Black Forest or in Baden, Baden. This trip neede to be longer and lunch should have been organised as part of the tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

sf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide. We go the best possible value for our afternoon in Heidelberg.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Theressa D Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Adrian, was very funny, informative, courteous and a great guide for this tour.
The rain was awful but it lightened up when we arrived at Heidelberg grounds. I'm sure the views are even prettier in the sunshine. We actually thought we would get a tour in the castle, but it was only the outside grounds and a view of the huge wine barrel inside.
Poured rain in the town, but we did our best to walk the streets and see a little. You do not have enough time to sit at a cafe and see the town. It's one or the other, before you must return to the bus.
1 note and maybe this is a North American thing we're Canadian, but bus drivers are not permitted to smoke on the bus even when it's stopped and everyone is off. We returned to our bus from the Castle grounds and choked on the air in the bus. It was obvious the driver had been smoking the entire time we were on the tour. The bus stunk. The bus was also old, broken seat belts, arm rests etc.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message