Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 380 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip to Heidelberg was amazing. Our guide Adrian was very knowledgeable and the walking tour of the castle was both entertaining with his stories as well as highly informative. The old city was charming. Overall a very enjoyable excursion

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

lethompson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip. The weather was perfect and our guide Adrian was excellent. Our driver Alex did a great job of getting around the very narrow streets and avoiding cars...especially one going the wrong way. We did Heidelberg then the Rhine River cruise and dinner, and wine tasting. It was lot of fun and I would do it again.
LT Canada

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Heidelgerg has a lot of history, therefore a knowledgeable guide becomes very important to get the best experience. Adrian was an excellent guide. The photos I took acquired more meaning with the provenance that Adrian supplied. When he found out that I was from the Philippines, Adrian knew that in 1886, the Philippine national hero, Dr Jose Rizal, trained in Heidelberg as an ophthalmologist. Not many Filipinos know that. It was a memorable experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

joel de jesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was patiemt, knowledgable and funny

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ricardo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved the whole day trip from start to finish, beautiful sightseeing and the driver was a very nice person

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Huned L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Heidelberg is a beautiful city. We saw the castle, the bridge, and some of the town. But, it is our driver Rouf that really made this a wonderful experience. He had some amazing stories and interesting facts to share. He was kind enough to drop us at our hotel near the airport at the end also. An amazing experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Sunanda S India

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. I had a day to spare at Frankfurt so this made perfect sense. Both tour guides Heidelberg/Frankfut were friendly, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. They engaged everyone in the group really well. It was time well spent.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Laurence H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Hotels were very good and in nice locations. The Romantic Road was rather a rushed experience - would have liked more time in the pretty towns. Diversion to Munich didn't help. Not a very good audio guide second half of the trip it wasn't working at all. People at head office were helpful when our plane was cancelled not fault of Viator

Doing what: 4-Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

rose.mcegan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Too rushed. We did the afternoon tour but in October the sun goes down too early and you're left in the dark.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Steve A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

First, the tour was not what it was advertised to be. The bus driver was on of the worst drivers ever. Dozing off, all over the rode, nearly crashing into other vehicles. Had to wake up the tour guide to ask if the driver was under the influence. One of the scariest bus rides I have ever been on. The wine tasting was a joke, they gave a size taste of wine. I would never book another tour through them. 1/2 star for the tour guide who was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

jlhaustx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was great wish we had more time to tour the city. and maybe inside the castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

ANDRES C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both activities, Heidelberg half-day trip and Frankfurt City tour, were great. Both guides were very accommodating too. It was just the direction indicated on the voucher as its shortcoming. The direction was a total incomplete. They only indicated near main entrance of the Frankfurt Central Station. They should also include landmarks such as nearby hotels Hotel Continental and Le Meridien Park Hotel or take right across main entrance of the Central Station. The direction was really vague. Good thing, there is a Tourist Information Office before exit of the main entrance of the Central Station. Because of their help, I was able to locate the meeting/departure point.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Roger P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

If you like a lot of free time to explore on your own, this is the package for you. I will say that the drive to Hohenschwangau could have been shortened. I realize it's based on designated stops for the coach, but the stops between Rothenburg to Hoenschwangau other than the final church were pretty much out of the way bathroom stops to pick up other riders. Seemed like a 2 hour drive was stretched out to 7 hours.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver/guide was super nice. That's the best thing I can say about the trip. I felt it was tremendously overpriced for the value. We were given a short tour of Heidelberg Castle ruins and then taken to the town and left on our own for an hour and a half. As far as the Rhine Valley sail, it was very nice, but it was followed by a sub-par dinner drinks, even water, cost extra! and a cheesy wine-tasting in a creepy, musty room. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Lynsey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The actual tour was ok but it should be spelled out that this tour is not done by Viator but a third party, who does not advertise Viator anywhere. It took us forever to actually find the location of the tour in a city that we had never been in. Viator should have stated where the tour begins and by who. The third party who did the tour was also very rude and not very helpful with answering our questions. Thank goodness that actual things we saw on the tour were good or else this whole trip would have been a bust.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Xochitl S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Guide was great and I appreciated the effort to jam both events into one day, but both things could easily take up the better part of a day. Also there should be an option to pay less if you do not drink, which I do not.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

H M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

A nightmare. This is but a series of uncoordinated tours with uncoordinated companies who know nothing of the 4-day voucher arrangement. One of the companies, the supposedly nice romantic route bus tour, left us stranded in one of the cities while they kept driving with our luggage inside. We had to pay a stranger to drive us in his private car to catch up with the bus. When we did so, the driver blamed the other passengers for not telling him we were missing. When we finally arrived to one of the destinations, we had to faced a terrible hotel with black mold in the bathroom. Believe it or not, the driver we had to deal with the next day was much more rude than the previous one: he even told us dont expect from me any tourist treatment, I operate as a public transportation driver and will not make any stop or give you any audio equipment Sure enough, he didn't stop one time and I had to hold it for hours because the WC on the bus was so nasty, it was nauseating. Stay away from this rip-off and rent yourself a car. You will enjoy much better all the Romantic Road has to offer and be left with less regrets about having left home.

Doing what: 4-Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Steven D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It was an 11-hour day but unfortunately 6 hours of that was spent on an old, poorly-equiped bus. The trip to Heidelberg wasn't too bad - 1.5 hours but the the on-bus toilet was not operational. The tour guide Adrian was poorly presented scruffy old clothes, hair and not even an identifying badge. It seemed he and the bus driver Alex had their own deals going to avoid parking the bus in designated areas so we had to wait for pickup at two different spots in Heidelberg.
The real problems began when we left Heidelberg. We diverted to pickup two more customers in Heidelberg, with the bus going down side-streets and getting stuck, having to reverse etc. We lost about 45 minutes. Then we were told by the guide the bus would take us back to the office in Frankfurt to drop off some customers and pickup others for the boat ride. It seemed the company just strung together two tours at their convenience not ours. We got off the bus in Frankfurt after a further 1.5 hours no bathroom break again! and got straight back on for the transfer for Kaub. This took a further 2 hours, all the while the guide telling us there was a possibility we might miss the last boat departure scheduled at 5pm. Thankfully they held the boat for 20 minutes so we got on. The boat cruise was good but light was fading fast. At the restaurant we were served a choice of a quarter chicken and fries or vegetables and fries - very poor. We moved to another room for a quick wine tasting that consisted of 5 plastic thimbles each with a splash of wine. It was embarrassing. We then got back in the bus for our return to Frankfurt that was then diverted to the cargo area of the airport to drop-off the two customers who had a car transfer back to Heidelberg. We have taken many Viator trips around the world - and never had such a terrible experience. A very bad way to end our stay in Germany and a waste of money.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

OUTSTANDING, Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. LOVE VIATOR!!

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

MARINA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting tour with a knowledgeable guide. The weather was bad, unfortunately--it rained all the time.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Frederick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour administered by ETS was great. My wife and I had a great time in Heidelberg. Our tour guide, Adrian, was funny and was also very knowledgeable of the place. The place was picture perfect and rich in history and tradition. We even learned from Adrian that our Philippine national hero, Dr. Jose Rizal, stayed in Heidelberg for a number of years. I definitely would recommend this tour to any traveler going thru Frankfurt.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Larry Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip. Unfortunately, the vehicle was small, old and cranky. I had to sit away from my husband throughout the journey. This was made up by including Salsburg in the day trip. Guide/driver was very knowledgable and tried hard to ensure all aboard got to see what they paid for. Overall, a very erwarding day trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Robbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great day trip to Heidelberg. The guide was very funny and knowledgable. The castle was very impressive with a great history. It would have been nice to spend a little more time in the Old Town but overall it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message