Stand on the northern shore of the River Neckar and you can see why Heidelberg is such a popular spot for overseas visitors to Germany. This classic view of the city encompasses the old stone bridge with its salt-and-pepper shaker towers guarding ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 388 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

miss_e_clifton

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Coach was a minibus that was not heated at all in the middle of winter, so we all froze the entire day. There was no canal tour in Strasbourg. Because another couple had booked Heidelberg too we went there at 8pm meaning we didn and #39;t get back until 10pm. In a freezing minibus. Guide didn and #39;t give name.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Yasmeen N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a fantastic experience for the first half. The Heidelberg tour guide was very good and she gave us some very good information and despite it being very cold and snowing we enjoyed this part of the tour tremendously.
For the City Tour they just put us on the Hop on Hop off bus which was not the greatest. The sound track was poor and all in all not much fun.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Judy F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This tour goes morning and afternoon. In the winter I would choose the morning tour. We unfortunately only landed in Frankfurt at lunch time and could only do the afternoon tour - in the dark. Although the castle was lovely at night, you didn't get to see the surrounding city or the view from the castle - that you would have got during the day. The Heidelberg Markets were a must see though - lots of great stalls and food stalls. Tried my very first hot beer! It was different. We met some lovely people. I would recommend it, but as I say the morning tour would probably be better.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Sue H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Our guide seemed to be in a rush to get us there, get us home and get us through the tour, a cold packaged sandwich and water were offered to us. I loved sseeing the little city of Heidelberg, very quaint, beautiful castle, glad I went, I wish our driver had been more engaging

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Fabienne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was wonderful. Beautiful trip. Will do it again!!!!

Doing what: Heidelberg and Nuremberg Tour from Frankfurt

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience and wonderful tour guide! We had probably 7 or 8 on our tour which was a nice size. It was December so we were able to take in the Christmas market while there. Castle was very interesting and glad we had the tour to take us through all the different styles and rebuilds. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

kpetroll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was awesome. Everything went smoothly. Heidelberg was a really cool city to visit and I would recommend it to anyone. The half day was perfect and I felt like we had the perfect amount of time to spend in the city. The castle tour took about an hour and we had an hour or so to spend walking around the city. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rene Z USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour and very informative from Frankfurt. Would highly recommend for a half-day tour. Driver was prompt and courteous and gave us a sandwich lunch in Heidelberg.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip to Heidelberg was amazing. Our guide Adrian was very knowledgeable and the walking tour of the castle was both entertaining with his stories as well as highly informative. The old city was charming. Overall a very enjoyable excursion

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

lethompson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip. The weather was perfect and our guide Adrian was excellent. Our driver Alex did a great job of getting around the very narrow streets and avoiding cars...especially one going the wrong way. We did Heidelberg then the Rhine River cruise and dinner, and wine tasting. It was lot of fun and I would do it again.
LT Canada

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Heidelgerg has a lot of history, therefore a knowledgeable guide becomes very important to get the best experience. Adrian was an excellent guide. The photos I took acquired more meaning with the provenance that Adrian supplied. When he found out that I was from the Philippines, Adrian knew that in 1886, the Philippine national hero, Dr Jose Rizal, trained in Heidelberg as an ophthalmologist. Not many Filipinos know that. It was a memorable experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

joel de jesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was patiemt, knowledgable and funny

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ricardo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved the whole day trip from start to finish, beautiful sightseeing and the driver was a very nice person

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Huned L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Heidelberg is a beautiful city. We saw the castle, the bridge, and some of the town. But, it is our driver Rouf that really made this a wonderful experience. He had some amazing stories and interesting facts to share. He was kind enough to drop us at our hotel near the airport at the end also. An amazing experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Sunanda S India

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. I had a day to spare at Frankfurt so this made perfect sense. Both tour guides Heidelberg/Frankfut were friendly, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. They engaged everyone in the group really well. It was time well spent.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Laurence H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Hotels were very good and in nice locations. The Romantic Road was rather a rushed experience - would have liked more time in the pretty towns. Diversion to Munich didn't help. Not a very good audio guide second half of the trip it wasn't working at all. People at head office were helpful when our plane was cancelled not fault of Viator

Doing what: 4-Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

rose.mcegan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Too rushed. We did the afternoon tour but in October the sun goes down too early and you're left in the dark.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Steve A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

First, the tour was not what it was advertised to be. The bus driver was on of the worst drivers ever. Dozing off, all over the rode, nearly crashing into other vehicles. Had to wake up the tour guide to ask if the driver was under the influence. One of the scariest bus rides I have ever been on. The wine tasting was a joke, they gave a size taste of wine. I would never book another tour through them. 1/2 star for the tour guide who was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

jlhaustx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was great wish we had more time to tour the city. and maybe inside the castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

ANDRES C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both activities, Heidelberg half-day trip and Frankfurt City tour, were great. Both guides were very accommodating too. It was just the direction indicated on the voucher as its shortcoming. The direction was a total incomplete. They only indicated near main entrance of the Frankfurt Central Station. They should also include landmarks such as nearby hotels Hotel Continental and Le Meridien Park Hotel or take right across main entrance of the Central Station. The direction was really vague. Good thing, there is a Tourist Information Office before exit of the main entrance of the Central Station. Because of their help, I was able to locate the meeting/departure point.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Roger P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

If you like a lot of free time to explore on your own, this is the package for you. I will say that the drive to Hohenschwangau could have been shortened. I realize it's based on designated stops for the coach, but the stops between Rothenburg to Hoenschwangau other than the final church were pretty much out of the way bathroom stops to pick up other riders. Seemed like a 2 hour drive was stretched out to 7 hours.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver/guide was super nice. That's the best thing I can say about the trip. I felt it was tremendously overpriced for the value. We were given a short tour of Heidelberg Castle ruins and then taken to the town and left on our own for an hour and a half. As far as the Rhine Valley sail, it was very nice, but it was followed by a sub-par dinner drinks, even water, cost extra! and a cheesy wine-tasting in a creepy, musty room. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Lynsey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The actual tour was ok but it should be spelled out that this tour is not done by Viator but a third party, who does not advertise Viator anywhere. It took us forever to actually find the location of the tour in a city that we had never been in. Viator should have stated where the tour begins and by who. The third party who did the tour was also very rude and not very helpful with answering our questions. Thank goodness that actual things we saw on the tour were good or else this whole trip would have been a bust.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message